Clint Jones

• Thread starter Thread starter Fehring

Very impressed by Jones last night.

I said a couple of weeks ago that I'd like to see him use his lightning pace in a more attacking manner. Just getting the ball and running with it. I thought he did that a bit more tonight. He was also good in close as Fehring mentioned.

Obviously anyone who has watched him play would not have a question mark over his work ethic and defensive pressure and we saw that again last night.

I know his obvious weakness is his disposal but I've got to say I'm a fan. Players like Thommo and Powelly weren't the greatest kicks either but they were very good players for us and hopefully CJ can be the same.

he frustrates the p155 out of me. at the game last night we were calling him "panic button" each time he got his hands on the ball.

yeah he was good again sainter.. ;) looking the goods as we go into the new season.. big fan if he can keep improving..

the question is though should we hit the "panic button" every time you post bubble?

it was a very nice sight to see him runing down players all night long wasnt it.

I'm also a bit of a fan ...
thought he played really well last night .. great running / tackling / pressure :thumbsu:
also thought his kicking has improved on last year ...

he frustrates the p155 out of me. at the game last night we were calling him "panic button" each time he got his hands on the ball.
No worries, we'll take him off your hands.

Agree with BBG - he did sh!t himself with the footy on more than one occasion. But geez his running and tackling were great. His kicking was better than last year - just needs to find an option more quickly if he's going to stay at this level.

To be honest i have not been a huge fan of him. However, his form on Friday night and during the NAB cup does warrant him pushing for senior selection in round one.

I'm excited to see him and Armitage take bigger roles in the midfield this year, with Attard coming back in 2009.

Agree with BBG - he did sh!t himself with the footy on more than one occasion. But geez his running and tackling were great. His kicking was better than last year - just needs to find an option more quickly if he's going to stay at this level.

I thought he made some fantastic moves with the footy, one was in the final 10 mins when he won the ball and shot off back towards defensive goal to initiate a transfer of play. Great stuff. He is a real goer. He's got my vote.

Yes but he also won a free (I think with another of those glorious tackles), then freaked out, played on, got himself into all sorts of a tangle, then JUST managed to squeeze himself out of getting tackled himself and losing the ball! Every time he disposes he makes the easy look difficult.

Don't get me wrong, I like the kid and want him to play - I've been one of his supporters when everybody else has moaned and groaned about him. It's just he's better than many say, but some of their criticisms are valid. This is less directed to you L2M4G, and more a general statement - he looks like he's going to be one of those players who is a blessing and a curse all at once when he's on the field.

Let's all hope the blessings outweigh the curses (and I think ultimately they will)...

Yes but he also won a free (I think with another of those glorious tackles), then freaked out, played on, got himself into all sorts of a tangle, then JUST managed to squeeze himself out of getting tackled himself and losing the ball! Every time he disposes he makes the easy look difficult.

Don't get me wrong, I like the kid and want him to play - I've been one of his supporters when everybody else has moaned and groaned about him. It's just he's better than many say, but some of their criticisms are valid. This is less directed to you L2M4G, and more a general statement - he looks like he's going to be one of those players who is a blessing and a curse all at once when he's on the field.

Let's all hope the blessings outweigh the curses (and I think ultimately they will)...

Fair call mate. I just love a player who has a real crack when their skills aren't the greatest. Probably why I have time for Jason Blake and find it very difficult to stomach Aaron "Fiona".

Equally fair call.

I've watched all NAB Cup games from the distance, and I must say I am impressed with CJ improvement from last season. Yet, he manages to get on my nerves every time he's got the ball with time and space. You just can see he wants ot get rid of it quickly instead of wisely, because he's uncomfortable with it. He knows his diposal is not yet at AFL level, and his confidence on himself on this department shows. Still, I am confident he will work it out with time, perseverance, work and dedication in training (hopefully). If he does turn it around, he will be an amazing footballer to watch on the forthcoming seasons. And he's got the best player to learn about these "habilities" at his side: Mr. Robert Harvey!
Keep on the good work, CJ!

the question is though should we hit the "panic button" every time you post bubble?

Hit what you want mate, or don't read my crap if that suits.

(Squiz starts with a supergoal here ;)) I agree CJ is improving, his run, pressure & tackling is great, and then ... disposal time. His split second decisions before his disposal just aren't aren't up to minimum AFL standard as yet.

He needs to dispose of the ball to our advantage by giving himself a little more space (he has the speed) so he can take that extra bit of time to "look/evaluate/execute". He has all this potential to really make it at the AFL level with improved decision making & disposal.

I am ok when he has backup going into packs after the ball carrier, but when he is on his own & he gets the ball - then my fingers go to the temples in the early "Oh no - not Loewe kicking for goal" fashion.

Sure, I can appreciate he has only played a few games, he is still 24 with 6 real games under the belt. He could keep improving out of sight. He could have a lot of miles left in his legs like Thomo starting a little later in his career. He even has a little of the Hamill swagger. That's gotta be a hit at the disco.

...Every time he disposes he makes the easy look difficult...Let's all hope the blessings outweigh the curses (and I think ultimately they will)...

...He knows his diposal is not yet at AFL level, and his confidence on himself on this department shows. Still, I am confident he will work it out with time, perseverance, work and dedication in training (hopefully). If he does turn it around, he will be an amazing footballer to watch on the forthcoming seasons. And he's got the best player to learn about these "habilities" at his side: Mr. Robert Harvey! Keep on the good work, CJ!

I am hoping ... I am.

Hmmm, that seems to be Lyon's game plan with potential midfielders - Gram being an obvious case in point.

if clinton jones can become a better kick he should take over sam fishers role as a loose backman. Could you imagine the run this kid could make from the back line with his pace. not to meantion the goals he'd stop with his strong tackling and 1 percenters

Will he play most games this season in a back pocket ?

No chance. His shoddy disposal would be far too costly in defence. If he gets a game it will be in the forward line.

Jones is the epitome of a turnover machine. He chases and harrasses and tackles to make the opposition turn the ball over, and then he gives it straight back to them when he tries to kick it.

Yeh, he won't play back.

FWIW MSG - I am sick of you constant Jones bashing

I concur.

In reality there were some hairy times when he had a couple of free kicks on the wing, however the results weren't 'too' costly. He will definitely learn from those situations... And it is the pre-season so what better time!

His hard running (helping our defenders and forwards) was awesome. I especially liked how he burnt off Davey on more than one occasion. Now that is pace and run and carry ability that no-one else in the side has shown to date!

Do we really need that Fiona rubbish here?

He's coming off a career best season. I still think he's got more improvement in him and I'm all for people having an opinion on individual players but lets leave that kind of disrespect for the Richmond supporters.

As for Jones, there are people who have had a problem with him since day one and everybody is entitled to their opinion but hopefully he can prove the critics wrong.