Cloke is Soft

agree, he finally showed up to play today, though he played like a player lacking confidence.

dropped far to many sitters and his kicking was disgraceful. he did present all day, and was an excellent target.

if we were playing better opposition, his and Rocca's basic errors would have costed us the game today.

Im tipping after 13 marks and more than 20 possies dropping him will not even be a consideration. There are things he needs to work on but today was a 100% improvement on his other 4 games this year. He worked is A$$ off today and got some reward for his efforts

I know and I agree, Ant, but..

agree, he finally showed up to play today, though he played like a player lacking confidence.

dropped far to many sitters and his kicking was disgraceful. he did present all day, and was an excellent target.

if we were playing better opposition, his and Rocca's basic errors would have costed us the game today.

Thats my point. Had we been playing a WCE and we had lost by 2 points then T Cloke's lack of confidence could of cost us a very important 4 points. We are playing Adelaide next, they aren't a push over so we need to make sure our big forwards go into that game with full confidence. Thats all Im saying about Travis Cloke, he just didn't seem to have confidence in his own ability today and you cannot play AFL footy like that.

I remember one instance in today's game where he kicked short to Rocca on a lead from 50 on the run, it was a bad kick, but he should've just had a ping at the open goals! T Cloke kicks 4 out of 5 from 50.

Travis Cloke got a heap of it today, and if it wasn't for his simple errors and poor kicking, would've been one of, if not best.

Lets just forget about his short-comings for the minute and remember that he presented, took marks and contested. It's when we dont have the footy, thats where he needs to learn!

I can't believe dropping him is even being mentioned. The kid has a good game, maybe his best in the black and white, and you want to drop him to get some confidence? :confused: Sounds like a sure-fire way to destroy a young bloke's confidence to me.

He had a good day today, and yes his kicking was terrible and he dropped some absolute puds but there were some other really positive signs. He chased hard most of the day, and on at least one occasion he was rewarded for his hard work.

As much as I hate to agree with Bobby Walls, his game today is the type of game that could make the kid. If he sits back and looks at his game today, he'll know that he can mix it in the big league which will only help him in the future.

Thats my point. Had we been playing a WCE and we had lost by 2 points then T Cloke's lack of confidence could of cost us a very important 4 points.

I'm sure Q Lynch's lack of confidence cost the Eagles games when he was 20 years old. In fact it probably cost them a flag because they didnt have faith to select him in the 2005 GF. Give Cloke time.

I know and I agree, Ant, but..

Thats my point. Had we been playing a WCE and we had lost by 2 points then T Cloke's lack of confidence could of cost us a very important 4 points. We are playing Adelaide next, they aren't a push over so we need to make sure our big forwards go into that game with full confidence. Thats all Im saying about Travis Cloke, he just didn't seem to have confidence in his own ability today and you cannot play AFL footy like that.

I remember one instance in today's game where he kicked short to Rocca on a lead from 50 on the run, it was a bad kick, but he should've just had a ping at the open goals! T Cloke kicks 4 out of 5 from 50.

I would have thought the misses by Rocca were worse than Trav's given his level of experience & the fact he was the FF & closer to goal, perhaps he should be sent back to Willy to get some confidence.....

Wouldn't the fact that Trav played his best game in the B&W with 24 touches & 13 marks go some way to improving his confidence? Further, I dare say that dropping him after such a performance would do more harm to his confidence than good.

BTW - Cloke does not kick 4/5 from 50, he is much worse than 50%.

A crazy notion and one that MM would never consider after that game by TC. Sure he makes erors under pressure, but was a good mobile target all day and his spoils and contesting were excellent. Not to mention, we hardly have anyone who could have done what he did banging the door down right at the moment.

I liked his game and his work rate. If he works on his skills he will be very valuable. He was also playing on in-form players.

Dont believe I am seeing the same player some of you see. A young developing KPP who has a dip and has heaps of potential would be a better tag. Coming on +++ this year so far.

Its the same old argument that prematurely condemmed us for taking the Shaws and the Clokes, too much expectation and not enough time before rash judgements are made. Sorry for getting off point but I think the below is relevent to the argument

These guys were all taken in the 30's and 40's in the draft and the returns in the end will be outstanding, in my reckoning the ledger so far is

Brayden- a miss
Cam- Condemmed by injuries
Jason- Solid servant of club gave value at least appropriate to his place in the draft
Rhyce - V solid player continues on the way up, should have a long strong career
Travis- Developing faster than his KPP peers, a likely key to the team for the next decade
Heath- The jackpot, looking to have the potential to be elite

So leave them alone and give them time!!!!

I thought Travis played his best game for us yesterday by far. He was presenting and taking marks (dropped a few, but its bound to happen). But what I noticed was when he kicked a goal, his confidence went up, then when he missed his next shot, he loked down and out again. He just needs a game where he kicks so many goals, and makes all of his marks count. After he gets a game like that, I reckon no one will be able to stop him.

But it was good to see him up and about yesterday, looked good without being great in my opinion.

I thought Travis played his best game for us yesterday by far. He was presenting and taking marks (dropped a few, but its bound to happen). But what I noticed was when he kicked a goal, his confidence went up, then when he missed his next shot, he loked down and out again. He just needs a game where he kicks so many goals, and makes all of his marks count. After he gets a game like that, I reckon no one will be able to stop him.

But it was good to see him up and about yesterday, looked good without being great in my opinion.

Spot on. I think when it comes a time that he believes he is good enough to compete with anyone out there, then you will see his best. His confidence is up and down. When it stays up he will rip sides apart.

I would have thought the misses by Rocca were worse than Trav's given his level of experience & the fact he was the FF & closer to goal, perhaps he should be sent back to Willy to get some confidence.....

Wouldn't the fact that Trav played his best game in the B&W with 24 touches & 13 marks go some way to improving his confidence? Further, I dare say that dropping him after such a performance would do more harm to his confidence than good.

BTW - Cloke does not kick 4/5 from 50, he is much worse than 50%.

Rocca's presence alone gives Collingwood confidence. Rocca can get 7-8 possession but does another million things right to be one of the best for the Pies.

T Cloke IS just 20, thats my point, he isnt the star of the team. He lacked confidence today in some plays. You cant have that from your leading forward. And everyone keeps mentioning he had his best game in the B&W.. so? If you bring Shane Watson back and he plays his best game, does that mean his spot is cemented next week?

I know T Cloke wont be dropped, and I am happy with 13 marks and 24 possessions but his lack of confidence needs to be taken care of. Id rather he kick 4 and set up 3 and get just 10 possessions, full of confidence then kick 3-4 behinds and lack confidence, although he did get a few assists.

I agree that Cloke played his best game this year by far. I think if he had of made a few less mistakes and kicked two more goals, he may have contended with Shaw for the Medal. He was clearly having an impact on the game. We just need to see some better goal kicking from him. As MM said in the papers, he's very young for his position and has a lot to learn. Think back to Rocca when he started out. I remember a lot of people saying he should be played at CHB to learn the caper and adjust to AFL level, but the club persisted and he's been critical to the team ever since. Cloke reminds me of Rhyce Shaw in that he's a confidence player who is prone to the rush of blood. As he gets used to the speed of the game and grows in confidence the mistakes will be less and his worst games won't be that bad.

I know T Cloke wont be dropped, and I am happy with 13 marks and 24 possessions but his lack of confidence needs to be taken care of. Id rather he kick 4 and set up 3 and get just 10 possessions, full of confidence then kick 3-4 behinds and lack confidence, although he did get a few assists.

His defensive spoiling was excellent a couple of times. He made a contest to Fletchers long bombs from full back and then managewd to win the ball back himself. 13 marks is more then most CHF's will get this round. Surely a better game then his counterpart at Essendon. A bit of perspective guys.

Cloke is Soft