Club 18

G'Day guy's can some one explain to me the concept of Club 18 footy and the standard required.:thumbsu:

Basically a 3rd senior team, arising from the fact that many Ammo clubs are Old Boy teams and therefore retain plenty of players. Clubbies ensure that everyone gets a go! A very social standard at the lower end, however sides like the Crocs (Old Xavs) pretty handy teams!

Whilst on this topic, which clubs will be running Clubbies this season, and are there any sides not coming back from 06? We intend to return after a year off!

Cheers,

Basically a 3rd senior team, arising from the fact that many Ammo clubs are Old Boy teams and therefore retain plenty of players. Clubbies ensure that everyone gets a go! A very social standard at the lower end, however sides like the Crocs (Old Xavs) pretty handy teams!

Whilst on this topic, which clubs will be running Clubbies this season, and are there any sides not coming back from 06? We intend to return after a year off!

Cheers,

Kew will be having a Club 18 side in 07.

obviously kew have more numbers now because of the merger between them and north kew.

oldtimer, because of the merger, have new coaching staff been put in place to avoid any allegations of favouritism? e.g. kew coach picking mostly kew players.

obviously kew have more numbers now because of the merger between them and north kew.

oldtimer, because of the merger, have new coaching staff been put in place to avoid any allegations of favouritism? e.g. kew coach picking mostly kew players.

Smudger, coach of seniors has only been at Kew 1 year, 1 assistant coach has been at Kew 1 year and other assistant coach has been at Kew 9 games. North Kew's senior coach has gone to another club and their reserve coach from last year is concentrating on playing. From this point of view definitely no favourites. Reserve Coach is Kew's from the last couple of years and the club 18 coach is from North Kew. Committee is also 4 and 4 from each club.

Not many North Kew have been down as yet (approx 12 - 14 so far), however, last year Kew had about 10 - 12 missing on a game each week. Clubbies were going to get off the ground last year at the last miunte, however, Beaumaris entered a side before we had a chance.

Smudger, coach of seniors has only been at Kew 1 year, 1 assistant coach has been at Kew 1 year and other assistant coach has been at Kew 9 games. North Kew's senior coach has gone to another club and their reserve coach from last year is concentrating on playing. From this point of view definitely no favourites. Reserve Coach is Kew's from the last couple of years and the club 18 coach is from North Kew. Committee is also 4 and 4 from each club.

Not many North Kew have been down as yet (approx 12 - 14 so far), however, last year Kew had about 10 - 12 missing on a game each week. Clubbies were going to get off the ground last year at the last miunte, however, Beaumaris entered a side before we had a chance.

good to hear oldtimer. hopefully the merger proves to be the right decision for both clubs!

Does this mean that if Beauy were the 10th team in Clubbies (3) last year that with all these new sides such as Kew, us (Carey), this new Asian team etc...a fourth Clubbies section will be required?

I'd say so, last year the fixture had already come out and in Div 3 there were 9 sides, Beauy made up the 10th.

yeah I know what you mean oldtimer.
they pretty much became Prahran's Clubbies.
some interaction but not as much as would be ideal.

best of luck with yours and with the merger.

So, anyone else proposing Clubbies teams this year? Apart from the usual suspects I mean.

Weren't BT planning to get a side up in the near future? And Ormond?

Cheers,

So, anyone else proposing Clubbies teams this year? Apart from the usual suspects I mean.

The Reds will look to have 2 again this year.

Not sure about Old Essendon though. After winning the flag in Club 3, they would obviously want to drop down a grade to win another one, but there is no Club 4. Some sort of a dilemma for the boys from Keilor :D

Is there a starting age limit required to play Club 18??

Nah, its not like a super rules comp.

We use our clubbies to give games to blokes who have missed reserve or unders games, then we have the old boys or the blokes who no longer could be arsed with training, but still want a kick to top up when they are avaialable. Having 8 on the bench is great to let everyone have a go, especially for the un fit blokes who can only go for 8 minutes at a time.

The Reds will look to have 2 again this year.

Not sure about Old Essendon though. After winning the flag in Club 3, they would obviously want to drop down a grade to win another one, but there is no Club 4. Some sort of a dilemma for the boys from Keilor :D

Mappa are you boys still sooking about the boys from keilor because they beat you in another grand final. Surely you boys should be able to put at least one decent team together with the numbers you guys have down there.

Surely you boys should be able to put at least one decent team together with the numbers you guys have down there.
Sooking ... no. Shaking our heads .... maybe.

Also, with a Grand Finalist in Club 3, and a team in Club 2 that lost by 1 point in the Elimination Final, I'd say that was at least TWO decent teams. ;)

Sooking ... no. Shaking our heads .... maybe.

Also, with a Grand Finalist in Club 3, and a team in Club 2 that lost by 1 point in the Elimination Final, I'd say that was at least TWO decent teams. ;)

Are you shaking your head because every time your boys make any grand finals the boys from Keilor Hill seem to have the edge on you?:D

Mappa i dont follow clubbies but how many times have the reds taken home the silverware in clubbies?

Are you shaking your head because every time your boys make any grand finals the boys from Keilor Hill seem to have the edge on you?:D

Mappa i dont follow clubbies but how many times have the reds taken home the silverware in clubbies?

From 2002 - 2004 when we had 1 team, and 2005 - the present where we have 2 teams, we haven't brought home any silverware. We have been in the finals almost every year though, and for a "community club" such as ours, without the cushioning of a school to help out and get players from, that's not a bad effort in my book.

Understandably (I think) the boys in the "Perspirationals" (our Club 3s) were pretty p***ed off that a team that finished in the GF the year before were allowed to drop a division, when usually you go UP !!! I played against OE in 2005 and they were very good. How they got permission to go down is beyond me. In saying all that, you still have to win the games you play, and beat the opposition you are up against on the day, and they did that, so fair play to them

Mappa
I wouldn't think there much is of a difference between a community club and a school club with regards to clubbies, most clubs preference is there 1's and 2's and there overflow goes into the 3rd's (clubbies) which in most cases isn't enough players to fill a team especially if your team isn't winning game's. You guys seem to have the numbers year to year if you can put two clubbies teams on the track, so what's letting you guys down if you can't win a GF.

I heard a wisper that OEG aren't fielding a clubbies team anymore, maybe you might want to do a bit of recruiting since they have the wood on you guys in Grand Finals

I've heard that there are 10 new teams looking to field clubbies in 07, anyone want to shed some light on this (other than those mentioned of kew and old carey)?

With all the discussion surrounding the drought I was surprised to hear that there were 10 new teams being proposed (though some may not get the numbers and pull out before 1 March to avoid any fines). Looking into my crystal ball, maybe the VAFA might keep the 3 grades and add an extra couple of teams to each one (assuming some teams drop out as per most years) and shorten the season by a few weeks which would mean a fair draw with each team playing the others only once?

I've heard that there are 10 new teams looking to field clubbies in 07, anyone want to shed some light on this (other than those mentioned of kew and old carey)?

With all the discussion surrounding the drought I was surprised to hear that there were 10 new teams being proposed (though some may not get the numbers and pull out before 1 March to avoid any fines). Looking into my crystal ball, maybe the VAFA might keep the 3 grades and add an extra couple of teams to each one (assuming some teams drop out as per most years) and shorten the season by a few weeks which would mean a fair draw with each team playing the others only once?

Who are the other 8 teams then? speak now!

Club 18