Coaches' Box (new AFL game in development)

got a problem with the new update
cant get past the pre season things
can only do one season
get the error
[microsoft][odbc microsoft driver]field 'tbl.PlayerTeam cannot be a zero-length string

Hi, I just saw this thread and thought I'd d'load it. I'm too lazy to read over all the posts, would anyone mind giving me a quick runthrough? and updated lists?
Cheers,
Ablettjnr

Coaches Box said:
v0.0.0.3 up now. Thoughts appreciated.

http://www.devimg.net/?View=543

Lots of new features added, still a lot of work to be done

General
Can create more than one game
Match Engine
Centre man was also running behind the ball, changed to run in front
Added Flood option
Computer coach selects flood under certain circumstances
Added health Column to match stats
Health effects performance
Post Season
Created re-sign players
Created National Draft
Created Pre-Season Draft
Update player ratings based on potenital/age
Roster
Total Possessions column
Potential column
Age Column
Prefered Position Column
Last Position Column
Team Select option
Total row shows ratings average
Player View
Added release option
Started ratings history graph
Match
Re-arranged match screen
Changed score board
Database
Latest Rosters

Gday mate,

Have played 2 matches of the update and it is excellent. There are just a few things I would like to mention though:

* is it possible to give the players a rating out of 10 like in CM to give us an indication of how they went?

* Can you add a button or column for contracts. So far it seems like I have to click on every player to see how long they are contracted which takes a fair while.

* Will we be able to see our salary cap and how much room we have as I am scared to resign to many players and then get to another player and realise I cant sign him.

* I may be silly but can you explain what the potential column means to me. For example I have Joel Corey whose overall rating is 83 and his potential column is 80. Sorry but I dont know how this works.

* I noticed when you click on auto generate that it doesnt necessarily give you your best team. What does the auto generate base itself on?

* Is it also possible to have an average possession column?

Mate this is an awesome game and keep up the great work! Look forward to your feedback! :)

Leafie
v0.0.0.4 is up now

caveman
Great idea on performance ratings, I'll have to give it some thought how to rate a player.

potential is straight from the 2005 FF database that is going around right now. I'm not happy with the way I have developed Potential increases/decreases and will be changed.

Auto Generate will be changed soon. It currently combines a couple of ratings and using them determines where they should play (centres combine speed, goal ground acc, health and clearance). I intend to make this user configurable so the coach can define what he thinks is important in each position. This will then override the Overall rating as it isn't used in any calculations during the game.

Your other ideas will also be implimented as i think they will improve the game. Thanks for the feedback and keep it coming.

just a few questions on the potential, is the amount of increased ability due to potential, caused by how much they play, or how they train, or both? Also does all the increase occur at the end of the year, like TAR if that is the case id like to put in a request, that the plays ability increases a bit each weak (even if most weeks its 0). And it should depend on, how well they played (its more likely to increase if they have a really good game, or a really bad game, their overall skill should increase, but their form should fluctuate. Also if its a final there should be more of an increase, or if its a close and or important game it should also increase. It should also depend on the amount of gametime they have.

Hope u take these suggestions on board and improve an already awesome game!

Good ideas macca69 and i will take them onboard

SirBloodyIdiot
Hope your still around. i think I have found how to get the game working for you. You need to go to

Control Panel->Administrative Tools->Data Sources (ODBC)

click Add

choose Microsoft Access Driver (*.mdb)

enter MS Access Database as the Data Source Name and then click OK.

Let me know if that helps.

also, when picking the team, in the players column, you should have access to their overall ability, their form, position, stats, and every attribute column.

like this
Player Overall Form Position Desired Attribute Desired Stat
Aaron edwards

then below on a dropdown list there should be all the attributes for this game eg marking kicking etc

then in another dropdown list there should be all the stats u have available
eg goals marks kick ets

hope u understand what i mean

btw this really is a great game, i hope to see it in the stores someday.

macca69
A bit like the Rosters tab, but also containing current match information, will do.

I just started as West Coast, few of the ratings were off, but seemed close enough, but then i picked my team using autogenerate and this is what it looked like.

First of all there shouldn't be 6 talls in the forward line. Second we shouldn't play all 4 ruckmen. Also Braun, Stenglein and Hunter should EASILY be in the best team. Wilkes hasn't played an AFL game and he is in our best team. There are a few more debatle issues with the lineup, but these are the main ones, i dunno if this team is based on the ratings, or is just a randomly picked team, but IMO the autogenerate button should pick the best 22 based on their overall skill, not form, potential or injuries, thats for the coach to change IMO. If the autogenerate is based on only overall skill, then id be happy to fix up west coasts list because that is a fair way off from our real team and i just want this game to be as realistic as possible. Keep up the good work mate.

there should also me pre-season administrative tasks, sponsors, player and staff contracts etc. Also there should be a pre-season, and a WAFL, SANFL, VFL and stuff with stats available from there. Which is helpful if u wanna draft some1 from there and u can see the stats of your players not in the senior team. There should also be VFL, SANFL etc teams of the year, as well us under/18 national and state sides.

When u get to the game play screen there should be 2 boxs and u have the choice of 1 of which is sim match and play match, then at the bottom of the screen there should be play matches, which similates/watches the matches based on your above choice.

Just a few points-

*need to be easier to change line-ups.
*while you are coaching a game it would be good if it automatically stopped at the breaks.
*brownlow medal etc.
*better clock

That's just what I think.

macca69
All player ratings are taken from the latest FF database I was given. If you want to change them then you can open your database in Microsoft Access and change the player you want in tblPlayer. I don't have a player editor as yet.

Auto Generate uses a couple of different fields to determine who plays where. If you can come up with a solution to what player should play where then I will be happy to impliment it.

musha_13
Thanks for the ideas.

Gday guys,

Call me stupid but I still dont get the potential rating. If I have a player whose overall rating is 83 and his potential is 80 what does that mean.

I dont know if this means he cant improve because he is higher than the potential number. Can someone please explain in simple terms? :)

For now he can still improve. The way i have worked it for now until i develop a better system is as follows

If a player has a potential of 80 then they have 80% chance of increasing their ratings.
An increase is calculated

increase_percentage = random(100-80) / (100-80)
new_rating = old_rating + (((100-old_rating)*increase_percentage)/3);

decreases are based on age

hope this makes sense. I don't like the way it is done, but that is how it is calculated for now until i develop consistency, conditioning, games played and form into the calculation.

Will there be a NTSC version for the USA and Canada. Think export!!!

Gday mate,

Just noticed that I had finished both the drafts and I only had 36 players in my squad. There needs to be an option to top up my squad or something as all I could do was cancel the whole draft and start it again.

Obviously you need to have a minimum of 32 players on your list because there is 3 picks in each draft.

Cant wait to be able to play a full season mate!

After the playing the game a bit longer there are a few things I would like to see:

* When a game is finished a list of goal kickers and possibly a rating for the game. Obviously the same for the opponents.

* It would be great to incorporate team logos to make the presentation heaps better. Maybe you could set it up so you have your own logos but give us the option of changing them. (This would be great if we have the option of setting up different leagues)

* When looking at the team lineup having the option to look at the players stats right there so we dont have to keep clicking to roster and then back to line up.

* Mate if you could set it up so there is an editor or even if you incorporated different leagues and we as coach could change clubs that would be awesome. Check out either Championship Manager or Football Manager to see how great it is with the different leagues!

Let me know what you think! :)

keep the ideas coming. Different leagues is where i would like to be once the game is completed.

Does anybody know how currently players could be ranked? (like channel 10 does)

channel 10 ranking system is one of the worst ive ever seen

even the commentators are like 'hmmm thats odd' sometimes. and they suck 2 btw

i guess u would tally up a score for each player with points coming from kicks, handballs marks etc. ofcourse stuff like tackles n contested marks would count more den say a handball. kind of like how they tally up the dream team points

New database file available for download. This contains the full 22 round schedule.

I think u need to introduce whether a player is a Key-position-player, small, or 3rd tall type and when using the auto-generate u should only have a minimum and a maximum amount of player types in your 22.