Colbert

Originally posted by Carlos

My point is that to give up so much, i would have expected us to get a gun player, not a 3rd or 4th string anything.

Firstly, my understanding of roowatch's post was that he was 3rd or 4th best, not 3rd or 4th string.

As for the rest, the simple fact is that you thought we over-rated him from the start. It's as simple as that. Some of us were extremely happy to have him, some were probably neutral, and some, including yourself, thought it was a bad idea.

It is your opinion that has been vindicated, because the return on our investment has been considerably below expectation. I think that is 95% because of injury, where my guess is that you would put it at around 50% injury and 50% he wasn't much good anyway.

I hope, as I'm sure you do, he gets a bit of luck with fitness and proves me right by demonstrating the football ability our club saw in him when the trade was affected. Unfortunately, the chance is that we'll never know.

Now agree to disagree, and go and do some work before we both get the sack!

Originally posted by roobear

I hope, as I'm sure you do, he gets a bit of luck with fitness and proves me right by demonstrating the football ability our club saw in him when the trade was affected. Unfortunately, the chance is that we'll never know.

Now agree to disagree, and go and do some work before we both get the sack!

He plays in the blue and white stripes so of course i hope he gets some luck and can get over these terrible injuries and can strike form, whatever that means in terms of his talent and ability.

My main point in all of this is that people should be fair in criticising the usual scape goats (Clayton, Cochrane, Makepeace) but then getting excited when Colbert takes 4 marks and has 3 handballs for the game and is lauded as having been a contributor.

And yes, i agree to disagree and will be the first to admit that he is a champion if he can prove he is one.

And indeed, back to work!!:D

I'll admit I was in two minds when we traded for Leigh. I was rapt we got a player of his rep but thought we should have been in the first of a three year rebuilding program at the end of the 1999 season. (I actually reckon we should have started at the end of 1998, but that's another issue). We could have been trading players for early draft picks, while we still had a bloody good list capable of at least finishing in the top 4. Scott Welsh's desire to go home provided a perfect opportunity for us to get the ball rolling and we could have traded another couple of players for draft choices. As it was, we began our rebuilding phase at least a year too late.
I think it's fair to say Leigh has been disappointing. He'd be the first to admit that, particularly given that he accepted a reduced contract at the start of this year.
As it is we probably have another year of aggressive trading to go, and hopefully in the next few years we will reap the benefit of these early draft choices. The question is, will Colby be a consistent contrubutor to our next great era? I certainly hope so but I have my doubts!

as this post has been running for a while ill summarize

1. daphne i sit with pagan patrons members and have done so since before colbert started.

2. we all hope colbert gets over whats ailing him and get the chance to show why we picked him up

3. and at .5 million contract we could of picked up a couple of players who would now be playing regular footy

4. and finally back to the magoos with colbert for ground time.

minus the botchy reco colby would have definately been a star.... and if he wasn't in the games totally elite players he's definately a marketable player, something which we need now that carey and mckernan are gone....just imagine if everything went rite having: carey, mckernan, colbert, stevo, pickett, archer, king, harvey, grant.....all very different people, but all marketable in their own rite...

too bad things didn't work out to be like that rosy picture which we wish had've been painted...

It seems that Colby was highly rated by some "experts" once.

I quote from the AFL 98 Guide

"An outstanding all-round player, he appears destined to become Geelong's next captain and at 22 has the football world at his feet. He is not unlike Collingwood's Gavin Brown - a great mark for his size, has no shortage of courage, and has skills and talent to burn. Probably the classiest act going round at Geelong".

And remember Hocking was still a quality player at this time.

Wonderdog

Super post Wonderdog. Sums it up perfectly.

For god's sake Carlos 14 other friggen clubs were chasing this bloke when he came on the market. Are you suggesting you had more foresight than 14 AFL recruiting managers (including Neville Stibbard who stated at the time that Leigh in his view was the best player to appear in the past 5 AFL drafts)?

While on the subject of NS I recall a ripper observation he made in a conversation I had with him last year. We were talking about Corey Jones and Drew Petrie after the first Tigers game last year and how well they were progressing. He said that if you're fair dinkum you should really wait until young players play 50 games as it can take that long for them to adjust and get their confidence up to senior footy.

I reckon he's spot on and it's why we will likely see Skull, Cochrane and Rawlings make good steps forward this year and Harris, Smith and Petrie move forward quickly in coming years.

Originally posted by Pres

He said that if you're fair dinkum you should really wait until young players play 50 games as it can take that long for them to adjust and get their confidence up to senior footy.

Does that mean we'll have to wait 13 years for Shannon Watt to have an impact? ;)

Hi all,

As a Geelong Member, this is a topic close to my heart, as you can all imagine!

I have no doubt that Leigh will never get back to what he was like, and this is no critisism to North Melbourne for picking him up, they saw a good thing and took it, can't blame them for that, but this is karma what is happening to him. His hamstrings are dodgey now because they took the cartlidge from them to put in his knee, doesn't make much sense to me

People say to us Geelong people "get over it". But you can't, not when your captain walks out on you, and the only lame excuses he has the guts to give is that he had no respect from the senior players and that he wanted to play finals footy, when the real reason is far more catostophic to his ever precious reputation.

I hate him, I will not hide that, but I sit back and chuckle when I think about what we got for him, (Cameron Mooney, Spriggsy and Corey Enright) and the fact that he has done nothing just makes it all the more sweeter.

One thing that does get me mad is Denis Pagan continually sticking up for him, send him back to the seconds to get some form and match practice. It's not fair on the rest of the team them continually playing a half fit player and keeping another person out all because he is a favourite of the coach. If it was anyone else, they would have been dropped weeks ago.

Finally, he had decided in April 1999 that he was leaving Geelong and continued to play along with a sharade by coming out with pearlers such as when we had lost 10 in a row, the the record he says "stick with us, we will all get through this form slump together".

Unfortunately for North Melbourne, you were the team that he had decided to head to.

Originally posted by Baldy#9
People say to us Geelong people "get over it". But you can't, not when your captain walks out on you, and the only lame excuses he has the guts to give is that he had no respect from the senior players and that he wanted to play finals footy, when the real reason is far more catostophic to his ever precious reputation.

I completely respect your right to express your opinion, but a lot of Geelong supporters talk about this 'real reason'. Yet nobody says what it is. Care to elaborate?

let's just say he and Wayne Carey have a lot in common. Not saying anymore, protecting the other person invloved. That should be enough for you to go on with :)

Hi all,

As a Geelong Member, this is a topic close to my heart, as you can all imagine!

I have no doubt that Leigh will never get back to what he was like, and this is no critisism to North Melbourne for picking him up, they saw a good thing and took it, can't blame them for that, but this is karma what is happening to him. His hamstrings are dodgey now because they took the cartlidge from them to put in his knee, doesn't make much sense to me

Funny, all you hear from team mates and the coaching staff at North are what a great bloke he is and what a great club man he is. He even volunteered to give back some of his money because his perfomances weren't up to it. This pretty much contradicts what you and most cats fans have to say about Leigh.

I'd love to hear from you what the real reasons were for him leaving, but I'd have a suspision that the "real" reasons for Colbert leaving reflects more poorly on your clubs morals than his.

let's just say he and Wayne Carey have a lot in common. Not saying anymore, protecting the other person invloved. That should be enough for you to go on with :)

Similar to what Barnes and Hocking's Missus had in common? :rolleyes:

I hate him, I will not hide that, but I sit back and chuckle when I think about what we got for him, (Cameron Mooney, Spriggsy and Corey Enright) and the fact that he has done nothing just makes it all the more sweeter.

Mooney ... ha
Spriggsy ... he'll do a lot this year
Enright ... OK player but nothing to chuckle about there. Did only marginally better than Colbert last year and Colbert played with several injuries.

Spriggs and Enright will be fair players in the future but all Mooney is good for is piggybacking dual premiership players. I doubt he will get that chance again.

Colbert ... Underdone, had a bad game, created two of our ten goals with his attack on the ball, will get better.

I'd leave it a little bit longer before I come gloating about who got the better of the deal.

Moomba

Oh Pulleasse! This one's way up there with the the "Hay drug bust "BS. Just proves if somethings repeated often enough some fools will believe it! And don't start saying you know someone who knows someone because you actually know jack!!

Come on, your full of it. You can still tell us without naming anyone.

Originally posted by moomba
Mooney is good for is piggybacking dual premiership players. I doubt he will get that chance again.

Hehehehe, hey has there ever been any other player in Grand Final history with no stat, yet still have a Grand Final medallion hanging around their neck? ;)

Moomba, you are so deluding yourself if you seriously think that you are gonna come out on top from this trade.

Mooney has more of a chance at being a Premiership player at Geelong than Leigh has of being one at North...he has time on his side, somehting that Leigh is fast running out of. Another couple of years and he will be battling to walk the arthritis in his knee will be so bad.

I didn't say that I know someone who knows someone, wasn't gonna say that, cause that is not where I heard it.....could it possibly be possible that I know the other person involved???

Moomba, you are so deluding yourself if you seriously think that you are gonna come out on top from this trade.

Mooney has more of a chance at being a Premiership player at Geelong than Leigh has of being one at North...he has time on his side, somehting that Leigh is fast running out of. Another couple of years and he will be battling to walk the arthritis in his knee will be so bad.

I didn't say that I know someone who knows someone, wasn't gonna say that, cause that is not where I heard it.....could it possibly be possible that I know the other person involved???

Response to paragraph 1.

Whatever you reckon. I guess we'll just have to wait and see.

Response to paragraph 2.

I think I've got as good a chance of playing in a winning a premiership than Mooney. Colbert has definately got a better chance than me and Mooney. Once again I guess we we will just have to wait and see.

Response to paragraph 3

You are talking a heaping pile of steaming cat sh it.

Moomba

Baldy#9

and that person goes the name of what in the big footy site, just in case he is online

Goose!

if he was a friend why did you open your trap in the first place

Be gone before someone drop's a house on you

you witch:eek: :eek: :eek:

Im a regular guest on this site, and never wanted to join up, being content to remain just a reader, not contributer as it were.

As a Geelong supporter for the all my 53 years on this planet, I feel compelled to admit to my satisfaction at this post.

Geelong was thought to have lost alot with Colbert's departure. But I think it had quickly become evident at which side sufferered the REAL lost.

We got several great players from the deal and you got a player which has more than struggled.

With the benefit of hindsight, its clearly evident that the North Melbourne Football Club has made a grave mistake by obtaining the disgraced, bung-kneed Colbert.

Colbert's disloyalty and absolute contempt of the traditions of my club, have produced what I think is known as Karma.

I apologise for how this might sound, but to a long-suffering Geelong supporter, this is bliss!!

Off-load him now Kangas. He has no heart, no itegrity and whats more inportant - ability.

Originally posted by BobbyD63
Im a regular guest on this site, and never wanted to join up, being content to remain just a reader, not contributer as it were.

Colbert's disloyalty and absolute contempt of the traditions of my club, have produced what I think is known as Karma.

I apologise for how this might sound, but to a long-suffering Geelong supporter, this is bliss!!

Off-load him now Kangas. He has no heart, no itegrity and whats more inportant - ability.

So Geelong chose as its captain, a player who has "no heart, no integrity and whats more inportant (sic) - ability."

Are these incompetent administrators still at Geelong?

Or perhaps with your 'little tirade', you should be thankful Lovely Leigh left Geelong to get on with its more important duties - like losing GFs.

Colbert