• Thread starter Thread starter demon2

Sylvia Saint said:
He also thought Brock McLean was a dud.
No he didn't. He just didn't rate him as highly as some of the other players in the draft. I think he had him as a late first rounder - hardly dud material.

It was only whinging Melbourne supporters (and boy are there a few of them) that took it the wrong way and cracked the sads.

Anyway, hopefully these knobs don't prevent Colin from doing his reports. I find them incredibly informative and really enjoy reading them each year.

FFS for those who think they can do a better job, devote the time, and be half as accurate then try it yourself :mad:

jabso said:
The only thing holding Colin back from being a club's top recruiter is that he doesn't want to scout along the club's lines. He has his own format and I don't see why clubs wouldn't let him use his own format/tools.

How do you know?

jabso said:
He has said it. He apparently does a bit of work for a few clubs but nothing full time. He said atm he doesn't want to join a club full time for those reasons.

Thanks for that, I know several so called scouts who work for Clubs and they wouldn't have anywhere near the knowledge that Wisbey has.

-Buzz- said:
No he didn't. He just didn't rate him as highly as some of the other players in the draft. I think he had him as a late first rounder - hardly dud material.

It was only whinging Melbourne supporters (and boy are there a few of them) that took it the wrong way and cracked the sads.

Anyway, hopefully these knobs don't prevent Colin from doing his reports. I find them incredibly informative and really enjoy reading them each year.

Actually he rated him a late second rounder at best. At the time alot of pies supporters were calling McLean's pick stupid and using Wisbey's profile to back their 'opinions' up hence why Melbourne people were defensive about it. At least get your facts right.

Wisbey actually also said that he hoped McLean did make, so far I'm sure he'll be happy to know that his prediction was wrong.

Demonheart said:
Actually he rated him a late second rounder at best. At the time alot of pies supporters were calling McLean's pick stupid and using Wisbey's profile to back their 'opinions' up hence why Melbourne people were defensive about it. At least get your facts right.

Wisbey actually also said that he hoped McLean did make, so far I'm sure he'll be happy to know that his prediction was wrong.

just reading it again, the description still seems pretty accurate. also mclean wasnt that good in his first year.

theorangeapple said:
just reading it again, the description still seems pretty accurate. also mclean wasnt that good in his first year.

How many games did you see Melbourne play this year?

MagpieGreg said:
Wisbey is a Gun

Sure he thought McGough was a champion (likened him to Micheal Voss), Jason Cloke was a terrific player (called him Jakovich type ) and Delsanto was a dud (thought he would not make the grade), but these errors happen.

The point is he writes long winded profiles, and anyone who writes so much must know what they are talking about.

Thats my opinion anyway.

He's compared their style of play only, not who he thinks they may become.

MagpieGreg said:
Sure he thought McGough was a champion (likened him to Micheal Voss),
Likened his handball to Michael Voss. Wiz & I both still reckon McGough's a good player. So must the Saints!

MagpieGreg said:
Jason Cloke was a terrific player (called him Jakovich type ) .
He was wrong in that regard. Clokey might be servicable if he can get fit.

MagpieGreg said:
Delsanto was a dud (thought he would not make the grade),
He had doubts over his physicallity and ranked him as a third rounder. Those doubts have pretty much been put to rest, although he didn't look too flash for mine in the very physical finals against the Lions and Port (granted he's about 21!).

Sylvia Saint said:
He also thought Brock McLean was a dud.
I wouldn't see ranking someone as a top thirty pick "a dud"!

FIGJAM said:
I wouldn't see ranking someone as a top thirty pick "a dud"!

His actual words were "late 2nd round pick at best." With 3 priority picks in that year that makes it a 30+ pick, and in a draft that was widely accepted (even by Wisbey) that the talent droppped off after pick 20 then you start to get the idea of what he was getting at.

Having said that his knowledge of u/18 players is about 1000% better than mine ;)

Demonheart said:
How many games did you see Melbourne play this year?

i saw at least 5 games with McClean in them. he wasnt poor but his performaces were hyped much too highly. sam butler and beau waters were much better IMO. both got over 20 possesions on about 5 occasions between them and both averaged 14 possesions. everything wisbey said on mclean was accurate.

jabso said:
The only thing holding Colin back from being a club's top recruiter is that he doesn't want to scout along the club's lines. He has his own format and I don't see why clubs wouldn't let him use his own format/tools.

what? its detox tuesday, try it.

I object to him being described as some sort of guru, when it's pretty clear he isn't. if he wants to do this, good for him no skin off my nose.

But let's not make him into something he isn't.

jabso said:
He has said it. He apparently does a bit of work for a few clubs but nothing full time. He said atm he doesn't want to join a club full time for those reasons.

yeah I don't want to date Beyonce and Kylie concurrently because it conflicts with my artisitic sensibilities.

wanna buy a bridge?

has anyone found his/the website where one could possibly find his articles/write ups?

theorangeapple said:
i saw at least 5 games with McClean in them. he wasnt poor but his performaces were hyped much too highly. sam butler and beau waters were much better IMO. both got over 20 possesions on about 5 occasions between them and both averaged 14 possesions. everything wisbey said on mclean was accurate.

Mate i know you have hardcopy of some of the 2001 stuff so its tough to whack it up. You mention Butler and Waters from last year. Have you got anything from Wisbey on them one/two you could send this way or chuck up?

theorangeapple said:

I'm happy with McLean, you're happy with Butler and Waters. I think McLean has already improved since coming to the club so there's one thing straight off that I think Wisbey was wrong about.
After about 3 more years we'll all know for certain.

Demonheart said:
His actual words were "late 2nd round pick at best." With 3 priority picks in that year that makes it a 30+ pick, and in a draft that was widely accepted (even by Wisbey) that the talent droppped off after pick 20 then you start to get the idea of what he was getting at.

Having said that his knowledge of u/18 players is about 1000% better than mine ;)
Late second round fits in close to the top 30. Colin rated Julian Rowe and Ricky Dyson in the early thirties, and those two have had promising debuts, so perhaps last year's draft wasn't as shallow as people think.

Wiz also said that at the start of the season, he'd have easily had Brock in his top 5. Through the course of the the year though, he noted no improvement from the year before and Brock had no injuries to justify his lack of improvement.

I saw Brock a couple of times in the U18 games. I thought he looked to be a very good player. Quite a strong build and the question there is always how much natural improvement is there left in him.

I think Rowe, Dyson and McLean will all end up being some pretty good AFL footy players. One might have cost more than the others, but it's fairly irrelelvant now.

any1 know when and where the rest of his analysis's are coming up??????/? :D

it would be good if everybody stoped pestering him on the bullet in board. HE WILL RELEASE WHEN HE IS READY!

I hate his rantings, long winded and mostly aimless. His opinion on some players defy logic. Goalden Hawk does a far better job.