Universal Love Collingwood for the Millennials.

My family had a box at Vic Park within 10 years of arriving to Melbourne from Athens in 1972.

I remember crying myself to sleep after the 1979 grand final against Carlton, I still can't get myself to link to a video (F U Carlton). We made the grand final in 1980 as well, and unfortunately there was no happy ending there either. :(

My earliest memory of Collingwood live was watching someone called Billy Picken taking speckies, and a blond giant called Peter Moore (Darcy's dad) dominate with his athleticism.

In 1991 I watched every game live. That year we had our defence with Gary Pert, Craig Kelly, Michael Christian, Mick Gayfer, Shane Morwood, and a bloke called Ron McKeown to pick from. Tough as nails and they had to be because gorillas like Tony Lockett (St Kilda), Dunstall (Hawks), and Jacovich (Melb) roamed the forward line. We keep talking about Millane, Daics, Brown, Wright and rightfully so because each is a Collingwood legend but we shouldn't underestimate how important those defenders were.

Footy is not the same today, it's less tribal and more corporate. Don't get me wrong though, it is still unique to our country and unbelievably popular given how small our population is on a global level.

My family had a box at Vic Park within 10 years of arriving to Melbourne from Athens in 1972.

I remember crying myself to sleep after the 1979 grand final against Carlton, I still can't get myself to link to a video (F U Carlton). We made the grand final in 1980 as well, and unfortunately there was no happy ending there either. :(

My earliest memory of Collingwood live was watching someone called Billy Picken taking species, and a blond giant called Peter Moore (Darcy's dad) dominate with his athleticism.

In 1991 I watched every game live. That year we had our defence with Gary Pert, Craig Kelly, Michael Christian, Mick Gayfer, Shane Morwood, and a bloke called Ron McKeown to pick from. Tough as nails and they had to be because gorillas like Tony Lockett (St Kilda), Dunstall (Hawks), and Jacovich (Melb) roamed the forward line. We keep talking about Millane, Daics, Brown, Wright and rightfully so because each is a Collingwood legend but we should underestimate how important those defenders were.

Footy is not the same today, it's less tribal and more corporate. Don't get me wrong though, it is still unique to our country and unbelievably popular given how small our population is on a global level.

I’ve heard a few things about Billy Picken. I need to do a bit of research on him. Liam Picken’s dad, right? Hence the F/S?
I had no idea that Gary Pert actually played for Collingwood! Thank you!!

I’ve heard a few things about Billy Picken. I need to do a bit of research on him. Liam Picken’s dad, right? Hence the F/S?

Yep, it's Liam's dad. :)

It wasn't a mark...….

97338946.jpg

Vic Park the outer
A few recollections. Mainly feral.
The urinal blocked and overflowing by quarter time. The running gag of getting Monky to come and fix it. (he was a plumber by trade).
The bloke who was always there in full Collingwood kit, including footy boots and strapping, but with the unusual addition of vampire teeth.
Malthouse, when he coached West Coast, wearing a rain jacket to come down the race, because he used to get spat on.
Beer cans flying in the direction of the opposition full forward.
Umpires needing an escort to get off the ground.

On Ablett's mark over Pert, I was there that day and I wasn't the only one screaming that he never controlled it. It was such a spectacular leap, though, and he brought that ball down from the sky to the dirt, so it began to feel mean-spirited to deny the legitimacy of it. But after all these years I think it's clearly not a mark, even if I enjoyed Ablett using Pert as a stairway to the stars.

Agreed JB. Even if simply judged as a human feat that was simply spectacular.

I liked Pert (back then anyway) so wasn't happy to see him used like that. :)

I reckon it's fair to say that Pert was underrated as a Collingwood full back, probably because he played for Fitzroy; he was an excellent reader of the play and very skilled. He'd lost some pace after his knee reco.

Agreed JB. Even if simply judged as a human feat that was simply spectacular.

I liked Pert (back then anyway) so wasn't happy to see him used like that. :)

I reckon it's fair to say that Pert was underrated as a Collingwood full back, probably because he played for Fitzroy; he was an excellent reader of the play and very skilled. He'd lost some pace after his knee reco.

Pert was an excellent backman, for sure. Even in that situation where Ablett leaps over him, Pert's positioning was such that Ablett had to do something extraordinary just to make the contest.

I wasn't really aware of how intmidating Vic Park was until I went to see us play Richmond there in the mid 80's with a mate who was a Tigers supporter. He was a pretty tough guy, but he was genuinely uncomfortable amidst 25000 Pies fans baying for blood. I don't remember whch year, but Mike Richardson was starring and we led by as much as 12 goals in the 3rd. He begged me to leave at 3/4 time. It was a great day aside from the obligatory parking ticket that I seemed to win every time I went to Vic Park in that period.
It must be this game from 1984:- https://afltables.com/afl/stats/games/1984/041419840804.html

Mike Richardson only played 2 games for Collingwood vs. Richmond at Victoria Park; the other one was low scoring and quite even in the 3rd quarter.

I wasn't really aware of how intmidating Vic Park was until I went to see us play Richmond there in the mid 80's with a mate who was a Tigers supporter. He was a pretty tough guy, but he was genuinely uncomfortable amidst 25000 Pies fans baying for blood. I don't remember whch year, but Mike Richardson was starring and we led by as much as 12 goals in the 3rd. He begged me to leave at 3/4 time. It was a great day aside from the obligatory parking ticket that I seemed to win every time I went to Vic Park in that period.
I only ever got the one parking ticket and they didn't tick what it was for so never paid it and didn't ever hear anything from them.:D

This thread has been a joy to read.

I used to love standing on beer can mountains at Vic Park as a little girl, just so I could catch a glimpse of Daics. He was magic and I just adored him. Vic Park was loud, it was intense but it was home and I loved it there. Waverley on the other hand was Antartica on the other side of the city. So ****ing cold you would leave thinking you’d never be warm again.

For all that is said on here about Nathan Buckley as a coach it should never be forgotten that as a player, he was incredible.

He put his team on his back and carried them to successive grand finals. His will to win and be the best he could be was immense.

I was at a high school in the Richmond zone back in the 70s and 80s and it was not fun having to put up with Richmond and Carlton supporters sticking it up the Pies while we lost grand final after grand final. One grand final you might not know about was the 1980 night grand final. It mght not have been as big a tragedy as a day grand final but that one scarred me for life. Was at the game.. i heard the siren... what do i mean? watch this...

it sums up my childhood Collingwood supporting... heartbreak after heartbreak. This was a genuine robbery!
Also back in those days, once the siren went or a player kicked 100 goals we ran onto the field!! everyone did!

Great thread

For me the game that truly sparked the black and white fire, but in a moment of heartbreak, was the 1994 Qualifying Final against the Eagles in Perth

As a 10 year old at the time, that's the earliest I can recall actively barracking/praying for a win

Then the sun...the dropped mark by Micky McGuane...Tony Shaw's tears. I was still hooked

I was a kid from the sticks so didn't get to many live games, saw Hawthorn beat us at Waverley a fair few times in the 90s. Saints as well actually. Sadly never got to a game at Vic Park

I was at a high school in the Richmond zone back in the 70s and 80s and it was not fun having to put up with Richmond and Carlton supporters sticking it up the Pies while we lost grand final after grand final. One grand final you might not know about was the 1980 night grand final. It mght not have been as big a tragedy as a day grand final but that one scarred me for life. Was at the game.. i heard the siren... what do i mean? watch this...

it sums up my childhood Collingwood supporting... heartbreak after heartbreak. This was a genuine robbery!
Also back in those days, once the siren went or a player kicked 100 goals we ran onto the field!! everyone did!

That’s bs. I can’t believe that. Not many commentators talk about it. Probably coz it’s north Melbourne, but my goodness. Robbery.

Was born Collingwood, know no other way.
Wandered into change rooms after training at Vic Park when I was 7, Peter McKenna came and spoke to me as did Len Thompson and others.
I was hooked, idolised those men, still do. Was 1970.
My all time fav though has to be Daicos, the buzz that was felt when he got near the ball was unbelievable.
Current player fav at the moment is Maynard, old school tough. Hope he comes good, looks like a good club man and Tuddy tough.
Good thread my friend and you have ended up part of a great cub.

I think the hardest thing to explain to millennials is the Vic Park experience. It really was a relic from the past that somehow existed into the 90's and in many ways framed the heart and soul that was and in some ways still is Collingwood. It was true home ground advantage where the Collingwood tribe was in full fierce force. It was hostile, confrontational and inclusive all at the same time. It was a ground opposition supporters often preferred to not attend, out of fear, knowing they would lose, standing room only with some seriously on edge humans and facilities that had to be seen to be believed.

No doubt there was some bad elements in there which wasn't helped with full strength beer and a thirsty working class crew on a Saturday arvo. People will remember the bad like the Winmar incident and some of the treatment meated out to umpires and opposition players. It was there and why this environment could never exist today. I would never take my kids there, which makes me wonder WTF my dad was thinking.

A 30k Vic Park crowd could quite easily match a 70k MCG crowd, it was intimidating and close, the crowd felt like they were in the game as much as the players. At the 'G you really do just feel like a spectator. We were a 5 goal plus better side there, the crowd would often will us home, the players would always vouch for that.

I will never forget a game against Adelaide when they were first entering the competition - their first visit to Vic Park. They were no GWS Giants start ups they were a solid club from the get go, but they had never seen anything like Vic Park before, I could tell as I was sitting next to the only bay of Adelaide fans in the joint. They were and still are committed fans, travelling interstate by bus (in those days), lovely happy well to do people (to start the day anyway). I will never forget the look of horror and shock on their faces that day.

We destroyed the Crows that day 100+ win, if it isn't still our biggest win over the Crows I would be surprised. It was the biggest win I have ever seen Collingwood have in person - probably should check some stats but I can't be bothered, but thats not the point. Not only was their team dismantled they too were dismantled as the Collingwood army let them know how long the CFC had existed and had been doing this to teams a long time before any of them were born. It was an education for them and me as I learnt many many colourful phrases and terms as a young fella and watched as they gradually melted into their seats and dreamt of sunny Glenelg beach.

They really had no where to go either as it wasn't like they could leave early and catch the bus home back to Adelaide early and if they wandered the streets of Collingwood they likely would have been mugged and robbed, so to their credit they stayed and took it. It was a full 4 quarter onslaught and I am not talking just about the footy, a small wedge of Adelaide supporters surrounded by rabid maggies fans who knew the game was over about 5 minutes in and needed to vent their weekend rage on someone.

Having witnessed some Adelaide home games they now have as hostile crowd as anyone these days. I do wonder if we scarred those poor happy go lucky people from the sleepy city of Adelaide. I think they all went home harbouring a great deal of resentment and hate for the black and white (and Victorians) , stewing on it for a 10 hour bus ride and after that day bred it back into their people to give back some of what they received.

It really was a working class crowd from tough backgrounds and the Pies would unite them and give us all something to feel better about in our miserable lives (nothing like inflicting misery on bunch of up themselves Crows to improve your weekly outlook). It is a powerful thing that this club used to do and what the club was built upon and why it has the following that it does. It is a hard thing to explain but something that you felt very tangibly at Vic Park for some reason. In many ways that feeling is still there bubbling under the corporate surface but can potentially be lost on the new generation of supporter.

For me thinking about it now feels a bit like catching up with mates you used to get into trouble with many years ago, you will always have the bond of shared experience and you don't have to say anything to each other you just know and you can't explain that to partners or current friends other than tell pieces of the stories. You will never do that shite again as times have changed but you do miss it and it won't ever be recreated.

Vic Park experiences defined the outlook of a lot of supporters and galvanised us, i am not sure what does that these days. As we sit in our comfy seats at the 'G (yes they are fckn recliners compared to Vic Park) and watch our team from afar sipping our mid strength beer and enjoying lovely toilet facilities and amenities we are not missing Vic Park (apart from the full strength beer) but we are missing what that ground used to do for us - draw us together and make us a formidable wall of black and white that was to be feared.

I think the hardest thing to explain to millennials is the Vic Park experience. It really was a relic from the past that somehow existed into the 90's and in many ways framed the heart and soul that was and in some ways still is Collingwood. It was true home ground advantage where the Collingwood tribe was in full fierce force. It was hostile, confrontational and inclusive all at the same time. It was a ground opposition supporters often preferred to not attend, out of fear, knowing they would lose, standing room only with some seriously on edge humans and facilities that had to be seen to be believed.

No doubt there was some bad elements in there which wasn't helped with full strength beer and a thirsty working class crew on a Saturday arvo. People will remember the bad like the Winmar incident and some of the treatment meated out to umpires and opposition players. It was there and why this environment could never exist today. I would never take my kids there, which makes me wonder WTF my dad was thinking.

A 30k Vic Park crowd could quite easily match a 70k MCG crowd, it was intimidating and close, the crowd felt like they were in the game as much as the players. At the 'G you really do just feel like a spectator. We were a 5 goal plus better side there, the crowd would often will us home, the players would always vouch for that.

I will never forget a game against Adelaide when they were first entering the competition - their first visit to Vic Park. They were no GWS Giants start ups they were a solid club from the get go, but they had never seen anything like Vic Park before, I could tell as I was sitting next to the only bay of Adelaide fans in the joint. They were and still are committed fans, travelling interstate by bus (in those days), lovely happy well to do people (to start the day anyway). I will never forget the look of horror and shock on their faces that day.

We destroyed the Crows that day 100+ win, if it isn't still our biggest win over the Crows I would be surprised. It was the biggest win I have ever seen Collingwood have in person - probably should check some stats but I can't be bothered, but thats not the point. Not only was their team dismantled they too were dismantled as the Collingwood army let them know how long the CFC had existed and had been doing this to teams a long time before any of them were born. It was an education for them and me as I learnt many many colourful phrases and terms as a young fella and watched as they gradually melted into their seats and dreamt of sunny Glenelg beach.

They really had no where to go either as it wasn't like they could leave early and catch the bus home back to Adelaide early and if they wandered the streets of Collingwood they likely would have been mugged and robbed, so to their credit they stayed and took it. It was a full 4 quarter onslaught and I am not talking just about the footy, a small wedge of Adelaide supporters surrounded by rabid maggies fans who knew the game was over about 5 minutes in and needed to vent their weekend rage on someone.

Having witnessed some Adelaide home games they now have as hostile crowd as anyone these days. I do wonder if we scarred those poor happy go lucky people from the sleepy city of Adelaide. I think they all went home harbouring a great deal of resentment and hate for the black and white (and Victorians) , stewing on it for a 10 hour bus ride and after that day bred it back into their people to give back some of what they received.

It really was a working class crowd from tough backgrounds and the Pies would unite them and give us all something to feel better about in our miserable lives (nothing like inflicting misery on bunch of up themselves Crows to improve your weekly outlook). It is a powerful thing that this club used to do and what the club was built upon and why it has the following that it does. It is a hard thing to explain but something that you felt very tangibly at Vic Park for some reason. In many ways that feeling is still there bubbling under the corporate surface but can potentially be lost on the new generation of supporter.

For me thinking about it now feels a bit like catching up with mates you used to get into trouble with many years ago, you will always have the bond of shared experience and you don't have to say anything to each other you just know and you can't explain that to partners or current friends other than tell pieces of the stories. You will never do that shite again as times have changed but you do miss it and it won't ever be recreated.

Vic Park experiences defined the outlook of a lot of supporters and galvanised us, i am not sure what does that these days. As we sit in our comfy seats at the 'G (yes they are fckn recliners compared to Vic Park) and watch our team from afar sipping our mid strength beer and enjoying lovely toilet facilities and amenities we are not missing Vic Park (apart from the full strength beer) but we are missing what that ground used to do for us - draw us together and make us a formidable wall of black and white that was to be feared.
Brilliant. Congratulations.
FWIW the team of the last 5 years playing home games at Vic Park would have played finals every year. They wouldn't have won one, but Vic Park hid a helluva lot of sins (imagine Kardinia Park to Warp Factor 6)

Awesome post mate......so much better than I could articulate.

I still get goosebumps to this day walking into Victoria Park.

Amazing post. I almost feel bad for the poor bastards. Almost.

A bit of a random one, but I remember being at a local footy game in Coburg, Collingwood were playing West Coast at the MCG and I was listening on the radio. They were first and we were last, but we won the game!

I think I was at this game, it was a Sunday from memory 2005 or 6. The crowd was small. First time I went to the MCG, Dad and I flew down from Canberra for my birthday. They let us on the ground after the game.

The perfect example between now and the days of Vic Park would be last years Adelaide game. I reckon there were more Adelaide fans than Collingwood, they certainly made more noise, and the affect showed on the players. Nine goal leads weren't often given up at Vic Park.

I went to Vic Park in its later years, but I must say there was always something special about the place when Pies got on a roll.