Signd Sealed Saint

Victorian Bushrangers
I'm sure everyone's had this before. But i can't really say anything apart from "oh where do you get ur material from, what a new thing to say!" or "do you live in the past". But i dont really have much more apart from that. So i usually get owned when this happens. What do you guys say?

For me personally in SA when people have a go regarding the "one premiership" versus "97-98" flags or the 04 Port flag I remind them that I've been supporting the saints longer than their clubs have been in existence and that it remains to be seen if their club will last as long as the saints have. Unfortunately that's not going to work in Melbourne but it is handy over here.

Unless you've seen it, it doesn't really cut it.

There's no point a 15 year old Hawthorn fan banging on about their success as they've not seem one of them.

I'm currently on duck eggs, as I've not seen the Saints get up yet.

Similarly Carlton fans getting all misty eyed about the treble in 1906-08 are kidding themselves. The 16-1 comment is hilarious - do they think the players sit there playing poker and Bryce Gibbs goes "geez we're great cause we've won 16 flags" to which Fev says "yeah, the Saints have only won one so they can suck on this" *producing enormous wanger once again*

There's no point a 15 year old Hawthorn fan banging on about their success as they've not seem one of them.

Similarly Carlton fans getting all misty eyed about the treble in 1906-08 are kidding themselves. The 16-1 comment is hilarious - do they think the players sit there playing poker and Bryce Gibbs goes "geez we're great cause we've won 16 flags" to which Fev says "yeah, the Saints have only won one so they can suck on this" *producing enormous wanger once again*
The 16-1 argument was the sole argument of my ex-housemate. You'd give him crap about the state the Blues were in and all he'd pull out was "we've won 16 flags". Over and over again.

Ask him about who he thought played well in 1906. Has he got a long white beard like Kildonan?

my best mate is a saints fan - this year his line is: who won the last flag? (being the NAB cup...). Before we won last years flag it was: who has won since colour tv came in & who has won since decimal currency?
Bloody annoying!
It's easy to follow a team that has had regular success, like Essendon used to.....it's supporters of Saints, Dogs, Dees and (until 07) cats, who know what "loyal" is.
Good luck Sunday boys.

It's easy to follow a team that has had regular success, like Essendon used to.....it's supporters of Saints, Dogs, Dees and (until 07) cats, who know what "loyal" is.

And that's it right there. That's the comeback.

We only have a very small effect on what happens on field. Therefore we are only responsible for it in a very small way.

Despite all the disappointments, we have stuck fat.

Essendon winning 16 premierships is an achievement. It was tough for the playing group to do that.
Barracking for Essendon is not an achievement. It isn't tough at all.
Barracking for St Kilda for 40 years - that is an achievement.

Ask him about who he thought played well in 1906. Has he got a long white beard like Kildonan?
ha ha, no. But all he knew about footy was that they'd won those flags. Typical conversation: "gee the blues looked crap today mate, structures up in the air etc". Answer: "look at all the flags we've won - we've been soooo good over the years... unlike st kilda".
There is truly no point in arguing with idiots like that. Nothing you can do.

Ah yes the Saints grand final, I remember it well, watching the grainy black and white picture on the three in one ( It was really cool because it had Sterio on the record player ) those pies really should think about an alternative strip. If only my mum had let me stay until the end instead of dragging me off to change that soiled Nappy and putting me in the cot.

Seriously I don't know if I saw it or not but I'm sure I didn't pay much attention.

ha ha, no. But all he knew about footy was that they'd won those flags. Typical conversation: "gee the blues looked crap today mate, structures up in the air etc". Answer: "look at all the flags we've won - we've been soooo good over the years... unlike st kilda".
There is truly no point in arguing with idiots like that. Nothing you can do.

Or he could use those flags to wipe away his tears as he watches the history channel, by himself, alone. While the good teams are playing finals.

its easy here in WA.... if freo say it... its a case of... thats 1 more than you buddy!!!

if west coast say it "everytime youve won a premiership its been after players being caught with drugs or some kind of big scandel, the umps feel sry for you and favour you over the line"

and our individual honours stand out like dogs b#lls...

"theres only one tony lockett"

with port and north its also quite easy... " in 10 years we will still be st kilda saints, what will you be?"

collingwood and geelong supporters you dont even bother talking too because even if you win they still claim theyre better than you and wont listen to 1 word you say.

I simply tell them it's just as well. For when the Saints win their next flag, the celebrations will be so massive that productivity across the country will plummet and I'll be there leading them on.

I don't care what anyone says, we're the best team on earth and no one, NO ONE, supports their team like the sainter supporters do.

^^ Well said!

Generally, i'll gently remind the people who say it that "those who must continually look to the past, have a very bleak future".. I also refer these morons to http://www.nameagame.com.au, where they can re-live all that premiership glory over and over again...

It generally comes from Essendon/Carlton/Collingwood supporters. The others, i don't pay much attention to.. But in each teams case

Adelaide is an IVF baby of the AFL, their 20 year "history" is SFA comapred to 100+ years. We started in this comp, and they need to be named after a major city just to survive. 2 flags from a 2 team state , wow... Imagine we has only 1 other team to compete with? .. And plus, they are South Australian. No flags >>>> being south australia

Brisbane: another IVF baby, who were a rabble before they claimed Fitzroy's 8 flags and were handed 3 of their own with handy draft concessions and extra salary cap money. I dare say, with an extra 700,000 in out cap, we may have held onto a little bloke called Tony Lockett and who knows how many we'd have won in 97/98..

Carlton: Not too much here, as like essendon, they have won flags consistently over their history. I tend to just rip out "11-0", or whatever the current streak is and remind them that they are tanking cheats.

Collingwood: Simple. Since we won our flag, ask them how many they have won... Answer: 1! Lol, winning 12 flags in the early part of this century is hardly anything to hang your hat on. Since the 60's, they are just as successful as we are. That burns em nicely.

Essendon; see carlton

Freo: lol... this ones easy

Geelong: Meh, not much, they are the reigning premiers so what can ya say?

Hawks: Also tough... Won flags in 'recent' times...

Melbourne: LOL.... Skiing.. etc etc.. too easy... look where all their flags got them; 16th with **** all members and money. Flags does not equal survival

Roos: the name chaning hand out babys of the comp... in eveyr finals series in the 90's, every prelim, 2 flags, and still no members and are struggling. once again; flags does not = survival

Power: Pfft, IVF baby.

Richmond: 9th...9th..9th..9th..

Syd;: Cheating, salary concession pricks. Swans have 1, and we have 1. they can claim sth melbourns all they like, none of their supporters were even alive when sth won their last

WCE: Meh, 3 flags since the AFL began... Gotta respect that, never had it too easy. Plus, their fans dont use the 1 flag remark much. If they do, they are on drugs :P

WB: Lol, in the same boat as us, but 25 yrs younger. Cept their flags is 54, at least we got 12 year on em lol.. plus, they got no money.

We'll never win this argument, but WHEN we win the next one, every single one of these sonsofbitches who have paid out on us, will be hearing from me! Because when we do, the past will eman squat; WE WILL BE THE PREMIERS... let's hope its 2008 :P

P.S: Also handy to remind people we have the greatest goal kicker ever, more brownlows than most, AND WE HAVE SIR ROBERT HARVEY.

Enough said.

Go Saints

Our motto is "Strength through Loyalty", not "Jumping on a bandwagon". I'd point out that more than pretty much any other team, the VFL/AFL have consistently made life difficult for us - what the Kangas have gone through particularly over the last 10 years is what we've gone through for almost our entire existence. If other clubs had had as much fired at them as we have - especially rich clubs like Essendon, Collingwood and Carlton - they'd not be in the competition at all. If we'd had the kinda treatment they've had, we'd have 16 flags too. We are Phar Lap held down by too many weights.

Just say, "your ugly", or something equally as immaterial and I am sure the subject will change. Either that or punch their face or sleep with their girlfriend (or boyfried if they are a Carlton supporter).

Haha good thread, cheers interpol on being nice to my club lol. You guys are alright :)

Im on the Saints bandwagon for the finals series, cos my club ...well... have just been shit this year to put it nicely. And you guys arent arrogant pricks like a couple of the others in the top 4.

Haha i like the brownlow argument, my mate used to do that when i'd lose soccer on xbox, "at least your player got man of the match" as if its some form of consolation lol.

Yep sure cant go past the "only as good as your last match" argument either. Seeing your teams had a good season it'll work against most. On that basis my teams better still though :p

Tell 'em to worry about their own team. Ask them why they're concerned about the saints when they don't follow them and are they a closet saint?

To Essendon fans I said that Harvey had four times as many Brownlows as Hird, and to Collingwood I said he had six times as many as Buckley. Loved references to Hird's half a Brownlow.

Ask what they did to influence their team's past premierships, and why they take such pride in other peoples' achievements.

Calling them a knob also works.

Haha good thread, cheers interpol on being nice to my club lol. You guys are alright :)

Im on the Saints bandwagon for the finals series, cos my club ...well... have just been shit this year to put it nicely. And you guys arent arrogant pricks like a couple of the others in the top 4.

Haha i like the brownlow argument, my mate used to do that when i'd lose soccer on xbox, "at least your player got man of the match" as if its some form of consolation lol.

Yep sure cant go past the "only as good as your last match" argument either. Seeing your teams had a good season it'll work against most. On that basis my teams better still though :p

Haha, no probs mate. I ain't got a prob with the eagles, i mean, yeah, they have a few in-house issues.. but meh, we had steven lawrence so nobody is perfect

Eagles never relied on extra salary cap $$, and we (vics) poached half your players early on, opposite to that filthy swans now who can't create their own FF, they just steal ours! lol

Plues, we want benny*! .. well i do anyways

*contingent on gardy being given the arse

Swans are easy to deal with.
How screwed is their future for the Swans. After all their concessions earlier on-
Their players will all be going to the retirement village soon, and after this year the draft will be F.A.
They are in the finals but no-one in Sydney is interested.
There will be a second Sydney team which will decrease the interest in Sydney.

Pies Supporters. - At least I have teeth.

To A pie supporter: At least our only flag was over you bogans by 1 point. id rather win a grand final by 1 point than 100 against you pricks..

GO THE MIGHTY SAINTERS!!!!!