Opinion Commentary & Media VII

This is horrendous if so.

Makes an absolute joke of ‘wanting to stamp it out of the game’ if they’re then promoting it.
Don’t you guys remember back in 2009-2011 when Ziebell would get 3 a three match ban going for the ball and then they would include footage of the incident in promotional videos indicated how hard and fast the game is?

The AFL has history being hypocritical, duplicitous flogs.

elite ******* content from north.

what a man, what a player. legit miss him
Played at my local club about 2-3 years ago, my brother played with him and boof was his favourite player.

One night LT said to my brother who’s your favourite player, to which my brother was like you mate - linds was like who else, “boomer” was the response,

Nekminnit the lads are out the front FaceTiming boomer.

Bloody legend linds!

Hawks under the media pump - seems a bit unfair after one bad week when their other losses have been pretty honourable. I’d say it’s unlucky with our game coming up but it sounded as though Mitchell was going to go hard with them anyway.

Both of them are die-hard North fans, and were before they began working for the club.

Now they no longer work for the club, they're 'just' fans once more.

Do you know many NMFC fans who weren't upset today?
No I didn't know many NMFC fans who weren't upset.

However as 2 former employees of the club they know full well what it's like to be on the other side of what the club is having to deal with on social media. We've already had our President driven off Twitter because of the abuse she received.

So even though they are 'just' fans perhaps as 2 former employees of the club they could try and bring something positive to the conversation rather than adding to the pile on. Troy Makepeace, who is also 'just' a fan, does this really well, he finds a really good balance of being critical of games, tactics etc. but always looks to finds the positives.

I see Corn had a crack at us this morning for lining up for Rhys Stanley at the end of the game because it was only his 200th.

Sums us up apparently although I’m not entirely sure what he means.

I see Corn had a crack at us this morning for lining up for Rhys Stanley at the end of the game because it was only his 200th.

To be honest is he wrong?

It has to stop somewhere. 200 games is a good milestone but I think lining up for players should absolutely be reserved for retiring players and 300 games.

We're far too nice as a team and I hate to say this but this sounds exactly like something Smiles McDonald would orchestrate.

And further on Cornes - he was constructive last week saying we need to move Sheezel further forward and that we're much better off with delivering the ball inside 50. We saw on the weekend how effective Sheezel is in that role. He even highlighted the role Miers plays for Geelong as something Sheezel could do for us.

People will say oh we can't lose him from defense but the facts are our defensive set-up is not working, while Sheezel's disposal and calm head helps it's not really amounting to anything in terms of stopping the ball coming back in. He's also not a defender.

Kingy showed vision of Fisher & Stephens which was pretty embarrassing for them. Also said Corr needs to show more leadership. Was also mentioned that we are being let down by our senior leaders. Well derrrr
I love Kingy and this is accurate but has he once ever highlighted the terrible job his mate Rawlings has done?

Corn would have had a crack at us if we didn't line up. His 'take' is to bag the person / club for not doing the opposite of the thing they did regardless of whether it's right or wrong thing to do.

Kingy showed vision of Fisher & Stephens which was pretty embarrassing for them. Also said Corr needs to show more leadership. Was also mentioned that we are being let down by our senior leaders. Well derrrr
Kingy has been on this for a while. Our kids are playing out of their weight class and being let down by our leaders / senior players. Our leaders who cannot execute basic skills, who make basic structural errors, the list goes on.

Article on HS saying hawthorn's plight is because of a compromised draft system.not allowing them to flourish....

Surely this is a piss take yeah?
Hawthorn's plights? Yet when it comes to north they did it to themselves?

I just want to shut off all media and fast forward even 6 months to see how north is tracking then.

Article on HS saying hawthorn's plight is because of a compromised draft system.not allowing them to flourish....

Surely this is a piss take yeah?
Hawthorn's plights? Yet when it comes to north they did it to themselves?

I just want to shut off all media and fast forward even 6 months to see how north is tracking then.

I read that and thought you have to joking.

I’ve been saying this for years have a clean draft, put some restrictions around free agency and you’ll see how much fairer the competition is.

Fair clip from Euge too

Sorry but I was no fan of Brad Scott particularly towards the end when he was trying to get himself more time but there was only one sacking that was terrible.

Drew Petrie was finished at that point. Absolutely the right decision to move him on. West Coast picked him up but he was done by that point.

Firrito was a 50/50 one for me - if we were truly rebuilding, I sort of get it but the trades we were trying to make suggested a six of one half a dozen of the other approach. If we'd moved him on and not made the other moves we did (and tried to do) it would've made somewhat more sense.

Harvey was absolutely the wrong decision and a pathetic one which was ridiculously disrespectful to Harvey. He was still one of our best players. There was absolutely no sense in moving him on when we had other older players who were struggling. Putting him in the same basket as Petrie who was clearly done at that point was disingenuous by those involved at the club.

Sacked is a strong word as well. Didn't we just not offer them new contracts? We didn't march them out the door.

Fair clip from Euge too

All three of those guys (Rob, Heath and Eugene) were great servants of the club, but it achieves absolutely nothing to keep banging on about decisions that happened years and years ago. It's done, we know it all turned to shit, but it's long past the time to move on.

It's a pity pressure ratings aren't readily available to the average punter. However, as a proxy - we've averaged only 57 intercepts after 5 rounds, whereas the comp average is 68. And most of ours seem to occur deep in defence. We can't force the opposition to turn it over enough - we typically only get it back deep in defence (or after they kick a point).

Sorry but I was no fan of Brad Scott particularly towards the end when he was trying to get himself more time but there was only one sacking that was terrible.

Drew Petrie was finished at that point. Absolutely the right decision to move him on. West Coast picked him up but he was done by that point.

Firrito was a 50/50 one for me - if we were truly rebuilding, I sort of get it but the trades we were trying to make suggested a six of one half a dozen of the other approach. If we'd moved him on and not made the other moves we did (and tried to do) it would've made somewhat more sense.

Harvey was absolutely the wrong decision and a pathetic one which was ridiculously disrespectful to Harvey. He was still one of our best players. There was absolutely no sense in moving him on when we had other older players who were struggling. Putting him in the same basket as Petrie who was clearly done at that point was disingenuous by those involved at the club.

Sacked is a strong word as well. Didn't we just not offer them new contracts? We didn't march them out the door.

I agree all except Boomer were finished.

He could suit up to play this year and would still be our best...at 46 years old.

Kane Cornes can (and often does) have terrible motives for the things he says, but that doesn't make them wrong every time. He is right about Sheezel moving forward, as we saw in QTR1 yesterday. He was right about the club having intense culture problems - that's a rare thing we almost all agree on. I am not saying he is right about everything, or even close, but he is clearly right about some. Dismissing him as 'Kane Cornes' is a worthless as believing everything he says because he is Kane Cornes.

Harvey stayed around the footy club forever after his playing days ended. He obviously didn't have a problem with the place whilst he was cashing in his cheque for whatever he was doing.

Firrito and that sort of player and person is the type we miss.

Saying our current predicament is because a few blokes with an average age of 35 left is just lazy.