Congrats Swans

Swans were far too good, but do you guys at any stage wish the team would change its gamestyle when need be?
tonight you played a young, tired Lions team that you were always going to beat yet you still let the game become a defensive scrap.

your team had the opportunity to run us off our legs from the first bounce and get some real confidence, instead you just worked away and kicked a few late ones.
deserved winners but not the greatest way to do it, premiership teams are ruthless not content, especially against bottom 4 sides.

konstas_87 said:
Swans were far too good, but do you guys at any stage wish the team would change its gamestyle when need be?
tonight you played a young, tired Lions team that you were always going to beat yet you still let the game become a defensive scrap.

your team had the opportunity to run us off our legs from the first bounce and get some real confidence, instead you just worked away and kicked a few late ones.
deserved winners but not the greatest way to do it, premiership teams are ruthless not content, especially against bottom 4 sides.

No, they aren't "ruthless" when they don't need to be. Sydney were looking for a solid win, no need to go out there and get injuries whilst being "ruthles", we'll save that for the finals.

Anyway, other game thoughts.. boring as hell. Adam Goodes was alright, ROK wasn't too bad.. um, Teddy was good.

Nick Davis looked very lean.. haha. He had a few nice posessions but i almost felt the team were relluctant to pass it to him. Basically me and my sister watched him very closely the whole night. Definately getting him in 2 weeks before finals is so much better then just throwing him right in. He hasn't played any real competition in the past 6 weeks so yeah. He looked fast and really like he was trying, so kudos to him.

BUT, the highlight of the night.. Leo Barry and Darren Jolly carrying Baz off. Haha, Leo is the cutest.

roostersgal4eva said:
Congrats on tonight game & to Hall for his 200th

Good Luck for the finals :(:thumbsu:

Ta rooster. Said it after the first clash this year, I reckon there's plenty for Lions fans to be excited about moving forward with that list of new faces. Sorry about young Rowe, mate. Shocking luck.

As for the game...(shudder). Not exactly a highlight of my footy life. Found it amusing that this $400M production called the AFL was upstaged by a small paper plane flying onto the ground at one stage of the match. :p

natlovestheswans said:
No, they aren't "ruthless" when they don't need to be. Sydney were looking for a solid win, no need to go out there and get injuries whilst being "ruthles", we'll save that for the finals.

Anyway, other game thoughts.. boring as hell. Adam Goodes was alright, ROK wasn't too bad.. um, Teddy was good.

Nick Davis looked very lean.. haha. He had a few nice posessions but i almost felt the team were relluctant to pass it to him. Basically me and my sister watched him very closely the whole night. Definately getting him in 2 weeks before finals is so much better then just throwing him right in. He hasn't played any real competition in the past 6 weeks so yeah. He looked fast and really like he was trying, so kudos to him.

BUT, the highlight of the night.. Leo Barry and Darren Jolly carrying Baz off. Haha, Leo is the cutest.

I thought Baz was going to go the biff at one point there. He reeeeeeally didn't want to get carried off the ground. But Leo just wouldn't take no for an answer. :D

Tuco said:
I thought Baz was going to go the biff at one point there. He reeeeeeally didn't want to get carried off the ground. But Leo just wouldn't take no for an answer. :D

Yeah, i know you could see he didn't want to be but good on Leo! The cutest part was it was the height difference between Leo and Jolly, with Baz having one leg much higher than the other, haha.

Oh, i loved Tadhg's goal aswell.. always love seeing him get a goal.

konstas_87 said:

Agree with you konstas the swans were **** poor last night,**** delivery,**** decision making and just over all we played pretty crappy football.The only good thing to come out of it is that we won and we played ****,i can only imagine if we turned up to play we would have smacked em.If we play like that in the finals we wont get any where.IMO Hall needs a rest i think he is injured.

Warwick said:
Well done swans. Seeing as though the lions aren't going to win the flag, i am hoping that the other team from a non-dominant AFL state gets up. Annoys the hell out of all Victorians, South Australians and West Australians - which can only be a good thing!

Cheers, mate. Can't tell you how much joy your team gave me in that regard during your three-peat. :thumbsu:

natlovestheswans said:
Yeah, i know you could see he didn't want to be but good on Leo! The cutest part was it was the height difference between Leo and Jolly, with Baz having one leg much higher than the other, haha.

Oh, i loved Tadhg's goal aswell.. always love seeing him get a goal.

Hall was soo reluctant to get carried off. He was embarassed too! I was laughing cos he looked soo cute embarassed. and i noticed the drastic height difference. Hall was lopsided cos Darren is too tall and leo is short! lol... i thought that Leo will pass out, cos he looks tiny carrying Hall [sort of] off the stadium. Hall was soo reluctant, they only walked a few metres and he jumped off! :(

natlovestheswans said:

I agree! Swans were sort of playing like the way they did against Geelong. So unswans like, i wasn't impressed at all. The score was quite a big margin, but we don't deserve it. But a win is a win.

They sort of improved on their overuse of the handling of the ball, they didn't dance around with it. Which is sort of a good sign. If Swans continue to play like how they did last night against Carlton, i'll be dead worried.

Adam Goodes was explosive [as always] in the first half! and was sort of quiet in the 2nd half, but was impressive. Teddy is playing great!!! He's pretty good at defence, he's good. :) Bevan played slightly better as well, he finally disposes the ball and SOME were effective. Jolly? Effective taps but didn't get the clearances. And Nick Davis... i was keeping an eye at him as well. Many of there players weren't trying to kick it to him, but he played alright. He ran around alot...some effective passes and kicks. Played an okay game. I think spending 6 weeks in the reserves downgraded his own capibility to play senior footy... he should've come back against the Cats.