Congratulations

• Thread starter Thread starter jo172

PortProudWA said:
Freo just love South Aussies dont you!! Another two, pity about the nine young WA lads that were overlooked!! Must be a sad day for young ones coming though the WAFL that follow Freo and never get picked up by them, give's them a lot of hope dosent it :( !!

Notice Port didnt even go near one WA player this year, properly be a long time before they even look this way again. And with 16 players going from SA, and only 6 from WA, proves just how good our SANFL is. The WAFL could take a leaf out of the SANFL books.

Pity Freo didnt take a leaf out of WCE and stick to WA lads. Out of their 4 picks, 3 are from WA!!

If they dont come from SA in the first place, you'll take after Port have made something of them ;) .
i totally understand port and adelaide giving preference to SA players in the draft, even if they arent quite as good as players from other places.

the reason why stenglien and carr have come home and pavlich, shammer, waters and butler have actively refused to is the same problem adelaide and port will always have with interstate player retention.

adelaides a f***ing hole

zero said:
adelaides a f***ing hole

Ding ding ding.
We have a winner.
Why would you ever want to move back to that place, the only reason I can ever see Pavlich or Schammer leaving is due to media pressure and abuse.
That is about it.
We have better weather
Better lifestyle
Better chicks
Better beaches
Better pubs/clubs

We have it all over here.

oh i can see pav or shammer moving home for family reasons, or to play out their careers, and the fact is that will always happen. but our standard or living will always give us an advantage in player retention.

I never come on here to rubbish certain people or attack people personally. Only ever talk about football, unlike certain Fremantle supporters who come on the port board calling people slags and other names.
Why cant you talk football, is that so hard.....or does it make you feel big to resort to attacking people on on a personal basis?? Yes I talk about Freo, because I live in Western Australia dosent mean I have to follow your team, just as people who live in all other states follow all different teams. Footy would be pretty boring if we all followed the same team wouldnt it!!

I never rubbish people because of where they were born or where they choose to live either....funny I thought this was a football board....to talk football. I like Big Footy because it gives you views from people from other clubs, can let you see out side the square you live in.

For those of you who feel big from attacking me personally hope it gets your rocks off. I would just love for you to come and say it to me personally. Come see me Round 1, I'll be there. Block 140, Row A, Seat 9. Come out from behind your screen. I have nothing to hide.......unlike some!!

I have no interest in attacking you personally, just your aggressive posting style. Admittedly your post in this thread was not abusive, but that is rare. I am sure approximately 10% of the words in your overall posts have to be modified by the swear filter.

Your posts are written to needle Freo supporters, and I suppose you have found your mark with me. You are the only opposition supporter that irritates me on the Freo board.

The majority of other opposition posters that post here do so purely for football talk, and I couldn't care less about the few that blatantly troll - they just don't register.

I mean, in a NATIONAL DRAFT, clubs are going to select the best available players that meet their requirements. Clubs are hardly going to select a player that is of no use to them, just because they are from the same state, when there are suitable players available from other states. Whether those players may decide to return to their home state in the future is part of the risk factor that is considered.

If you are being serious and not trolling, why would you not discuss recruitment zones or the like. Why would you suggest that our club should be selecting WA raised players if they are not the best option for us.

Port have drafted their share of interstate players and gained players that have been developed by other clubs. I can only presume that your comments are a result of Port being burnt by players wanting to return to their home state - well, that's the way the system works, and if that happens to Freo so be it.

But your suggestion that we draft WA raised players only regardless of talent/prospect is either trolling or stupidity. Given that you have stated you are only here for serious football discussion, there can be only one conclusion.

purplesoul said:
I mean, in a NATIONAL DRAFT, clubs are going to select the best available players that meet their requirements. Clubs are hardly going to select a player that is of no use to them, just because they are from the same state, when there are suitable players available from other states. Whether those players may decide to return to their home state in the future is part of the risk factor that is considered.

Port have drafted their share of interstate players and gained players that have been developed by other clubs. I can only presume that your comments are a result of Port being burnt by players wanting to return to their home state - well, that's the way the system works, and if that happens to Freo so be it.

But your suggestion that we draft WA raised players only regardless of talent/prospect is either trolling or stupidity. Given that you have stated you are only here for serious football discussion, there can be only one conclusion.

Agreed.

When you are selecting at the numbers that Freo were you are really looking at getting that bit of luck. Therefore I reckon you are obliged to take the player you think is the 'best' no matter where thay are from.

Freo are yet to be really burnt on a go home factor player as Port have, although as of yet it has not done us any harm (see Premiership). I would be happy to see Port pick the best available player still, but can understand the reasoning that it if 2 players are equal in your estimations, go with the home lad. But you cannot honestly tell me that if Port had the number 1 pick in the draft they would overlook the 10 best players if they were not SA boys to take an SA boy??

Anyway, good luck with Josh, he was a good servant to this club, and will be to yours. I am dissapointed he chose to leave, but that is sport. Players will always come and go and will be replaced by others. No point harping on about it really, what's done is done.

manureid said:
When you are selecting at the numbers that Freo were you are really looking at getting that bit of luck. Therefore I reckon you are obliged to take the player you think is the 'best' no matter where thay are from.

Freo are yet to be really burnt on a go home factor player as Port have, although as of yet it has not done us any harm (see Premiership). I would be happy to see Port pick the best available player still, but can understand the reasoning that it if 2 players are equal in your estimations, go with the home lad. But you cannot honestly tell me that if Port had the number 1 pick in the draft they would overlook the 10 best players if they were not SA boys to take an SA boy??

Anyway, good luck with Josh, he was a good servant to this club, and will be to yours. I am dissapointed he chose to leave, but that is sport. Players will always come and go and will be replaced by others. No point harping on about it really, what's done is done.

Good post manureid. I am sure that is how most sensible football supporters would look at it.

manureid said:

Freo are yet to be really burnt on a go home factor player as Port have, .

Remember Jeff White?

IAgree with the rest

PortProudWA said:
For those of you who feel big from attacking me personally hope it gets your rocks off. I would just love for you to come and say it to me personally. Come see me Round 1, I'll be there. Block 140, Row A, Seat 9. Come out from behind your screen. I have nothing to hide.......unlike some!!

We have tried to have a catch up at the game but people normally dont turn up.
But yes I would take your challenge, I normally catch up with freo_fan at half time if your interested.

If Bogan Josh's only reason for coming to Fremantle was to play for his brother and nothing whatsoever to do with Fremantle the club, why then does Matty want to play here?

Why didn't they broker a deal by which Matty went to Poort - and don't tell me it wasn't bruited around as a possibility, joking or otherwise.

Don't rush screaming to your keyboard to respond. I'll tell you.

They are East Fremantle boys. A lot is made of the Poort Adelaide Football Club having painted words aove their door. The East Fremantle Football Club, Western Australia's most successful football club, also have words painted above their door. Words that say "We expect success".

Both Matthew and Josh were raised in this tradition. They have blue and white blood coursing in their veins.

If you choose to overlook this, you shouldn't be surprised whn people's eyes glaze over when all the hoo-ha about the great Poort Adelaide Tradition is dragged out.

Our legacy, our tradition, was split and sundered but there are still blokes who give a bugger about it.

Luke McPharlin's grandfather played CHF for Old Easts. Aaron Sandilands' old man was a faithful servant of Moss Street. Clem Michael's dad was such a genius for Sowfs even I have to recognise it. Graham Polak celebrated his 16th birthday by kicking a bag for the Sharks.

It's all there.

Josh didn't just want to play footy with his brother. He came home.

The Mission Man said:
If Bogan Josh's only reason for coming to Fremantle was to play for his brother and nothing whatsoever to do with Fremantle the club, why then does Matty want to play here?

Why didn't they broker a deal by which Matty went to Poort - and don't tell me it wasn't bruited around as a possibility, joking or otherwise.

Don't rush screaming to your keyboard to respond. I'll tell you.

They are East Fremantle boys. A lot is made of the Poort Adelaide Football Club having painted words aove their door. The East Fremantle Football Club, Western Australia's most successful football club, also have words painted above their door. Words that say "We expect success".

Both Matthew and Josh were raised in this tradition. They have blue and white blood coursing in their veins.

If you choose to overlook this, you shouldn't be surprised whn people's eyes glaze over when all the hoo-ha about the great Poort Adelaide Tradition is dragged out.

Our legacy, our tradition, was split and sundered but there are still blokes who give a bugger about it.

Luke McPharlin's grandfather played CHF for Old Easts. Aaron Sandilands' old man was a faithful servant of Moss Street. Clem Michael's dad was such a genius for Sowfs even I have to recognise it. Graham Polak celebrated his 16th birthday by kicking a bag for the Sharks.

It's all there.

Josh didn't just want to play footy with his brother. He came home.

Beautifully said...

We will get burnt. I will break down and cry, if someone like murphy or cambell starts to show promise at FF next year and then decides to go home

BB gun said:
We will get burnt. I will break down and cry, if someone like murphy or cambell starts to show promise at FF next year and then decides to go home

Port recieved just rewards for Carr.
We plucked Murphy from nowhere, when he does perform we will recieve more than we handed over for him.
My fear isnt that he will return home, my fear is that we were wrong about him.

as PORTPROUDWA may not know we have more success in recruiting WA boys
through our rookie draft and elevating them onto our senior list names such as
ARRON SANDILANDS
ROBERT HADRILL
ROGER HAYDEN
LUKE WEBSTER
HAPPY GILMORE
BRAD DODD
and DODDY (first name has slipped my mind)
THESE ARE JUST TO NAME A FEW.
so PORT PROUD should really do her homework before having to slag of our
draft criteria.