Cousins to Richmond?

Why do you think the Eagles were so quick to dump him. They were facing a mass walk-out of their sponsors if they didn't.

Correct me if im wrong thwe eagles had no choice.. It was either cousins or loss of premiership points or draft picks. not sponsorship..

The penalties were part of it, but it seems very "coincidental" that ANZ withdrew their sponsorshipo and SGIO started a review of their sponsorship at about the same time.

But that's about more than just Ben Cousins. It's a result of a prolonged period of bad press for the Eagles.

I think he should sort himself out personally and take 12 months off but if he was allowed to nominate then we have to take him. It would be stupid of Richmond to not take him as a player.

If the police did there job properly he wouldnt have been arrested and he would still be on the eagles list flying to the states for more rehab.

For the AFL to say they may charge him for bringing the game into disrepute is a joke, as he did nothing wrong as he hasnt been found guilty, the police laid a false arrest. If the AFL charge him then they should be questioned over other actions that happened during the year such as the Fevola and Didak incidents.

We'd have to have a big chat with our sponsors beforehand and get their thoughts on the matter.

Truth is, the WCE copped the blame for Cousins becoming damaged goods under their system (plus all the other rumours of other players), but the side who picked him up next wouldn't have anywhere near the same pressure. If Cousins fell off the bandwagon playing at another club, the public perception would be that it wasn't that club's fault, just his...he can't be reformed. Wallace would have no trouble at all spinning us out of any blame if he does go astray...if he stays on the straight and narrow and plays well it's a massive coup for us.

Can you imagine the hype if Cousins came to us in the PSD and he and Judd lined up against one another to kick off the 08 season? The mercenary VS the bad boy head to head on the G...

It's a marketing dream...the whole footballing public of Australia would watch...that in itself is very attractive to sponsors.

I'm not terribly concerned about him being around our youngsters...you'd have to be a first class idiot to want to go down the same path he has.

If the sponsors are ok with it, the club is happy after talking to him, and he's reasonable over money demands, I say draw up a conditional contract and do the deal.

We're big enough to cop the fallout.

Given the fact that there seems to be less and less quality left in the psd, we should definitely get him. with the likes of foley lids, cogs and tuck 2 we wil have one of the best midfields in the competiton and it will do wonders with our membership.

Would Cousins even want to come to Richmond?

What if we spend our PSD pick on him and heaps of money and leave him on the long term injury list next year but in 2009 he looses the passion or something. Could be a big gamble?

Not really. The pick is just about worthless now other than for Cousins. Who else could we get? And I don't expect he'll be on a huge salary, especially if he intends to sit out the 2008 season (which I don't think he will).

If he's in the draft we have to take him. If we don't and he has an All-Australian season for another team, I will be forced to bust a cap in both Miller and Wallace's asses.

Cmon you'd rather take the punt on Cousins than get Guy Richards.

Jeez, that's an impossible decision... a Trent Knobel clone or a potential Lawrence Angwin.

How about we take the best non-drafted 18yo left after the National Draft - effectively an extra rookie-list pick?

I have switched sides numerous times on should we pick up Cousins or shouldn't we?

I am still in a quandary about it as there are valid points either way.

For:

Best player available, undoubtedly.
True leader.
Notorious for instituting the Eagles legendary training regimen.
Great skills.
Will put extra bums on seats. If only to hang crap on him.

Against:

Sponsors may have issues with him.
Has obvious demons he has to deal with.
Self destructive tendencies.
Getting older.
Had hamstring problems this season.
Will get a limited, if any, preseason in 2008.

If I had to make a definitive choice, I would say yes, as long as we can provide the off field direction, help and support necessary, combined with our sponsors agreeing to the dradfting.

Otherwise, it would be a massive call.

G'day fellow tigers. This is my first post. Been reading the forum for a while, it has been entertaining reading, and a great way to keep with real RFC news while over here in the UK. So nice work, keep it up. :thumbsu: To all you Buddy lovers and the Tank Brigade, revenge will be sweet you ****s....

Anyway not sure if this point has been covered, but was thinking, if we draft Cousins and then put him on a pretty strict set of off field gudlines/rules etc and he then actually ****s up and breaks those rules. Can we then delist him and then promote a rookie for the rest of the year?

If so there would seem to be no real downsides to picking him up, no doubt he is an out and out champion on the field and by all reports a gun on the training track. This would massively help the onfield development of our young onballers, through setting an example on the track and on the field, and taking tags during games.

The question mark is offfield... So if he steps out of line, we then delist him. I think this would still show a good example to the younger blokes, and we could then promote whichever rookie is performing best at the time.

So if this is possible we be stupid not to go for him, imo.

G'day fellow tigers. This is my first post. Been reading the forum for a while, it has been entertaining reading, and a great way to keep with real RFC news while over here in the UK. So nice work, keep it up. :thumbsu: To all you Buddy lovers and the Tank Brigade, revenge will be sweet you ****s....

Anyway not sure if this point has been covered, but was thinking, if we draft Cousins and then put him on a pretty strict set of off field gudlines/rules etc and he then actually ****s up and breaks those rules. Can we then delist him and then promote a rookie for the rest of the year?

If so there would seem to be no real downsides to picking him up, no doubt he is an out and out champion on the field and by all reports a gun on the training track. This would massively help the onfield development of our young onballers, through setting an example on the track and on the field, and taking tags during games.

The question mark is offfield... So if he steps out of line, we then delist him. I think this would still show a good example to the younger blokes, and we could then promote whichever rookie is performing best at the time.

So if this is possible we be stupid not to go for him, imo.

When a player retires mid-season he cannot be replaced with a rookie, we know that.

I guess the easiest question is did WCE do it this year when he went to rehab? If so the answer is yes.

However I think the AFL would let us have such a clause in the contract anyway, even though the AFLPA would probably have a fit about it, it'd be only fair.

The way the PSD pool is looking we'd be stupid not to get him atm.

When a player retires mid-season he cannot be replaced with a rookie, we know that.

I guess the easiest question is did WCE do it this year when he went to rehab? If so the answer is yes.

However I think the AFL would let us have such a clause in the contract anyway, even though the AFLPA would probably have a fit about it, it'd be only fair.

The way the PSD pool is looking we'd be stupid not to get him atm.

G. Miller we know your reading... Just let us know mate!!! Or just do the right thing and draft him.

Maybe I've been away from Melb too long, but back next year and would love to see an absolute elite midfielder in the yellow and back for a change, even if it does come with some baggage...

I have switched sides numerous times on should we pick up Cousins or shouldn't we?

I am still in a quandary about it as there are valid points either way.

For:

True leader.
Great skills.

Against:

Getting older.

If I had to make a definitive choice, I would say yes, as long as we can provide the off field direction, help and support necessary, combined with our sponsors agreeing to the dradfting.

Otherwise, it would be a massive call.

No risk at all....

Its risky for a team that is currently top of the pile and has everything to lose. Its not so risky for a team that is last by a very long way and has nothing to lose!

Cousins comes to us FREE and we have everything to gain by having, as you say, the best midefielder in the comp come to our club.

All AFL players must be on the standard AFL contract. Not sure how much scope there is for variations. Would possibly need to pay out his contract if we drafted him then delisted him mid-season.

For:

True leader.
Great skills.

Against:

Getting older.
Those sum up the pros and cons. I think there is a fair bit of naivety from some posts about how significant some of those cons are. And its nothing to do with moral stances. Personally I think we have been lacking some ***** at Richmond. But self-destructive tendencies are a different matter and usually aren't self-confined.

But having said that, I think in the unlikely event that the AFL allow him to nominate, the club may try some sweet-talking to sponsors (and parents of current/potential players) and then get him.

would love to see an absolute elite midfielder in the yellow and *blue for a lifetime*, even if it does come with some baggage.

get him if you can, he's probably the best player on the park week in week out.... I'd put my house on it :(

It pains me to see him leave our club and it pains me even more seeing him leave under these circumstances :thumbsd: Ive already started psyching myself up for the day he runs out in a different colour :confused: and believe me that takes preparation!!

To me he is the James Hird of Essendon, the Mark Ricciuto of Adelaide and the Shane Crawford of Hawthorn all combined into a football genius! If he's available you'd be a fool not to consider it.

To be honest though if any other club's supporters think he could walk onto the field with an aura of leadership about him I cant see it myself. He did that for us because he bled blue & gold, I think he could offer any club in the AFL a ship load of skill but sadly I feel his leadership qualities are behind him.

Thanks media, you succesfully destroyed him :thumbsd:

Depends on a number of factors, such as who else is available, and of course whether he's got his mind right. The other thing is that he is 29 with a bunch of hamstring problems in 2007.

Jury's still very much out on this for me.

Be silly not to take him for no other reason than to give lids and foley a break from the heavy tag for a while...

And while there are some major negatives to do with sponsors it would be easy enough to pass them off by saying that since his rehab he has done absolutely nothing wrong and richmond are a club that believes in second chances, so it could be worked around...

and if he was fit for round 1 against Judd, we are off to a winning start financially as well

Be silly not to take him for no other reason than to give lids and foley a break from the heavy tag for a while...

And while there are some major negatives to do with sponsors it would be easy enough to pass them off by saying that since his rehab he has done absolutely nothing wrong and richmond are a club that believes in second chances, so it could be worked around...

and if he was fit for round 1 against Judd, we are off to a winning start financially as well

im pretty sure thats a Carltank home game jontz.

I'd take Brennan first, purely due to longevity reasons. We dont get Brennan, then give the Cuz to me anyday.

2 years of Cousins roaming our midfield is better than a half-baked Steve McKee in Guy Richards.

100% agree on that.

Also I'm Sick of people winging that he will have a bad influence, if you think RFC players don't do drugs you have got your head up your behind.

These are all young men, that have plenty of mates etc.

Footy club culture is to party hard at all levels.

I don't give a stuff what these blokes do outside of footy, I pay a membership to watch them give 110% on the feild, if they don't give that I judge them on that.

Bring on cousins, he will teach Lids how to break a tag and split a pack or 2.

Judd will struggle at Carlton without Cousins and Kerr as he would have at RFC, Cousins is a gun