This is going to be a tad left of centre but bare with me .

As the Melbourne Storm smashed the in-form Broncos last night to all but stitch up the minor premiership ... one could not help but sit there full of complete and utter manlove and admiration for Craig Bellamy and what he has been able to achieve with that football club this year , not just this year but his whole coaching career .

You would have to have had your head buried up your backside to not be familiar with the events that unfolded at the Storm last year , it does not get much lower than that . He had to sit there and decide the carve up of the list which would have been excruciating for the man as he treats all his players like they're his sons . He decided in short that Cronk , Slater and Smith had to say and it was pretty much open slather on the rest and the the exodus was headed by one of the best players in the world in Ingliss ..... and that "news ltd" moron Gallop stripped him and the club of all its dignity ...

I rate what he has done in re-building that list and team to where it is now in such a short space of time with the constraints he would have been under is truelly one of the greatest achievements in sport i have ever seen ... cannot over-state enough how remarkable it is .... in my view he is a dead-set legend

What sort of a bloke , mentor , coach etc. is this guy ???? ... i saw an interview with him a few weeks ago on one of the NRL channels up here and two points really struck me . He only recruits and holds onto players who he knows that A- have the ability to play how he wants them too and B- He knows 110% what they are going to give him each week ....Pretty simple philosophies , and when Steve Turner , one of his former players tweeted him on air he got emotional such was his regard for him and he said it was one of the hardest things he had ever had to do to let him go .

Clealry this bloke has an innate ability to teach and coach players in his chosen vocation that goes beyond what most can get even close to ... with the AFL creeping into the NRL backyard IE: Folau , Hunt etc ....

Do you think it would be feasable to sound out a bloke like Bellamy at the RFC and do you think it possible to make the code transformation in his position ????

I just wish our club could unearth a bloke like him ... no matter what the state of the playing roster he gets results .

He is the prime example of why i will always maintain that draft picks and the draft are not the great panacea and solution to our woes that most on here think ... its our consistant and hereditory lack of ability to get the best out of what we have that has seen us become what we have .

Very left of centre i know but i would leave no stone unturned to try and right our club ... so much so that i would consider approaching this bloke , even if it was only some form of advisory role

Great post iddy. I totally agree re what Bellamy has done. I thought I read/heard somewhere that he visited another AFL club not all that long ago. I was thinking similar things about him not that long ago and thought he would be a good one to talk to for Dimma re how he goes about things. As you say for no other reason other than to leave no stone unturned.

The LOC idea isnt the issue IDGAF, it's finding the $$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$ to get arguably the best coach going in the NRL. He would make a great development coach at RFC if we could snare someone of his ilk & character.

No doubt Bellamy could offer something. His winner's mentality is reason enough to get him down to Punt Rd. Of course his record may not be as impressive had the Storm followed the rules.

Exactly... would know a thing or two about rorting the salary cap as well... :p ...

What a sensational job he has done. Must have the tools to a very successful coach
I dont follow the sport much but i have heard that all recurits they get he makes them work at a construction site for the first few weeks & they work very very hard. He makes the players appreciate playing Footy.
He is about recruiting the right people.

agreed, has been a remarkable feat to achieve what he has given the plight of the club 12 or so months ago, I'll answer the question in two parts, No i don't reckon he'd be interested and Im not sure that someone from outside of the game could be in charge of the off field coaching. sure in a mentoring or directors type role, as that is more management and structural...The second Q...no doubt the coach plays an integral part in firstly having a vision of success that is right and secondly the ability to harness the broard resource at his disposal to succeed...No easy task in particular for a rookie coach that I continue to find bewildering is the modern day trend. i always thought in tiems of crisis, expereince is the best teacher...but that probably sounds a little crazy:confused:

would need someone like dean laidley to sit next to him on matchday but Id love to see it some day in the AFL and see how it all ended up.

Sadly IDGAF we are more followers of the rest of the competition and not innovators.

It makes me so depressed to hear Maguire talking about how Collingwood is looking five years ahead. Cannot stand Maguire but gives they are the ones who are going to try the new things like that.

We have been looking at other clubs for years rather than ever doing anything that has other clubs looking at and saying "We need to be doing that."

Sadly IDGAF we are more followers of the rest of the competition and not innovators.

It makes me so depressed to hear Maguire talking about how Collingwood is looking five years ahead. Cannot stand Maguire but gives they are the ones who are going to try the new things like that.

We have been looking at other clubs for years rather than ever doing anything that has other clubs looking at and saying "We need to be doing that."

One of the more brilliantly , succinct posts in a long time .

Another poster said that Hardwick is modelling his coaching on Clarkson , says it all really

One of the more brilliantly , succinct posts in a long time .

Another poster said that Hardwick is modelling his coaching on Clarkson , says it all really

Yeah we are always modelling on someone arent we.

Unfortunately we are like the kid who holds up a fingerpainting and says that its a house and you need to nod and say yes I can see it is.

I like the Bellamy approach though but in the same way you wouldnt get a still employable coach in AFL crossing to Rugby, doubt you would get it the other way. He would be good for Hardwick to talk to though.

Yeah we are always modelling on someone arent we.

Unfortunately we are like the kid who holds up a fingerpainting and says that its a house and you need to nod and say yes I can see it is.

LMAOO ... LMAO because its true

I like the Bellamy approach though but in the same way you wouldnt get a still employable coach in AFL crossing to Rugby, doubt you would get it the other way. He would be good for Hardwick to talk to though.

I just wish we could bottle a little of what CB has , only a few have it and he does .

Blokes like him dont sit around whinging about the list , they do something about it . If someone is not performing they get a chance to rectify themselves and if they dont they are out . If you are not "the right type of bloke" ... you are out ...

You don't reckon when push came to shove and Bellamy had to make some gut wrenching decisions about who to let go ... you dont reckon Ingliss' wrap sheet wouldn't have had anything to do with the decison to let him go ??? .Believe me , from what ive read and heard ... no-one was more surprised that Greg Inlgiss was leaving than Greg Ingliss .

Its been done to death but seriously , Isolate the whole Shane Tuck saga ... why the f..k was he kept on our list when you have no intention of playing him ???? .... i just dont get it ... baffling

Now he gets a game when its all over and there is nothing left to prove this year ... now is when you play the kids isn't it ???? :confused:

The only reason I can think of for bringing Tuck in when he has been left out all year is to help prevent a mauling from the Cats. Bit of damage control as a thrashing is the last thing Hardwick needs.

Our young midfield looks tiring but bringing Tuck in now serves nothing for the future as there is no way Tuck will want to hang around another year.

The only reason I can think of for bringing Tuck in when he has been left out all year is to help prevent a mauling from the Cats. Bit of damage control as a thrashing is the last thing Hardwick needs.

Our young midfield looks tiring but bringing Tuck in now serves nothing for the future as there is no way Tuck will want to hang around another year.
Yeah ... thats most probably the reasoning for sure , and if you re-read my original rambling , it was apparent we were haemmoraging in the middle before the Carlton game and he didn't act

Why stem the flow of what is now a "dead carcass" .... i find it infuriating

It wreaks of the him being sat down in the boardroom this week and being told by Benny Gale and co. ..."We need to stem the flow and salvage something out of this season ... PR reasons ... memberships next year blah blah blah etc. etc. "

It wreaks to high heaven because to make certain changes "now" makes no sense in respect to what Hardwick has been trying to do all year

Storm make carlton look like rank amateurs when it comes to cheating and are still profiting from it even if they they had theri premierships strpped from them.

Only question is why couldn't Brian Waldron do it when he was with us?

LMAOO ... LMAO because its true

I just wish we could bottle a little of what CB has , only a few have it and he does .

Blokes like him dont sit around whinging about the list , they do something about it . If someone is not performing they get a chance to rectify themselves and if they dont they are out . If you are not "the right type of bloke" ... you are out ...

You don't reckon when push came to shove and Bellamy had to make some gut wrenching decisions about who to let go ... you dont reckon Ingliss' wrap sheet wouldn't have had anything to do with the decison to let him go ??? .Believe me , from what ive read and heard ... no-one was more surprised that Greg Inlgiss was leaving than Greg Ingliss .

Its been done to death but seriously , Isolate the whole Shane Tuck saga ... why the f..k was he kept on our list when you have no intention of playing him ???? .... i just dont get it ... baffling

Now he gets a game when its all over and there is nothing left to prove this year ... now is when you play the kids isn't it ???? :confused:

Just a tad easier in the NFL than the AFL to pick and choose the players you want...

And easier to rort the salary cap to get your players of choice...though Storm would argue otherwise...

Though your point is valid...bellamy gets things done... :thumbsu: ...

Yeah ... thats most probably the reasoning for sure , and if you re-read my original rambling , it was apparent we were haemmoraging in the middle before the Carlton game and he didn't act

Why stem the flow of what is now a "dead carcass" .... i find it infuriating

It wreaks of the him being sat down in the boardroom this week and being told by Benny Gale and co. ..."We need to stem the flow and salvage something out of this season ... PR reasons ... memberships next year blah blah blah etc. etc. "

It wreaks to high heaven because to make certain changes "now" makes no sense in respect to what Hardwick has been trying to do all year

I agree with you. I have never understood why he wasnt brought in earlier. Its hard not to think that there may be some other problems behind the scenes because his Coburg performances against our weakening midfield has made it a no brainer. Ive heard he and Campbell were on testy ground but that shouldnt impact selection.

To bring him in now seems pointless. He will head elsewhere next year either by his decision or the clubs.

To bring him in now does seem to be based on saving face rather than a decision on the future and It does sound as if Benny has sat down with Dimma and talked about what we need to do from hereon to not lose memberships.

The Cats being uninterested will win by twenty something points tommorrow and some people will pump it up which is what the club wants.

Storm make carlton look like rank amateurs when it comes to cheating and are still profiting from it even if they they had theri premierships strpped from them.

Only question is why couldn't Brian Waldron do it when he was with us?

are they the loan rangers ???? ... makes their achievements even more remarkable .

Oh wait , thats right ... your a new south welshman arent you Crum ??? :p

Just a tad easier in the NFL than the AFL to pick and choose the players you want...

And easier to rort the salary cap to get your players of choice...though Storm would argue otherwise...

Though your point is valid...bellamy gets things done... :thumbsu: ...
That is a very valid point JAK ... no draft does make it easier to do what you want with your playing roster

are they the loan rangers ???? ... makes their achievements even more remarkable .

Even bellamy could not get the NSW State of Origin side a series win...

So even he is not a super coach... :p ...

Wash your mouth out iddy. I'm a Canberran, not a new south welshman. The Raiders did it the right way - they got to keep our premierships when they got caught cheating on the salary cap. :thumbsu: A local enterpreneur even did a good trade selling green caps at the time that had "Raiders Salary Cap" printed on them, which for some reason riled the new south welshmen. :p

IIRC there was an article a little while ago about Dimma sharing ideas with the Basketball coach , Brian Bjorgan ( however you spell it ) ?

I think there is a G in there somewhere :p

Seriuosly i was majorly pissed off when i read this. We (Aussie Rules) can learn nothing from basketball - the sports are not even on the same planet in this country. Oh i am sure the club and dimma felt all goody good about this thinking "this is the way to go - sharing ideas with other sports and coaches".

Well i say Bollocks. Let stay right away from basketball. It has no relevance to our sport what so ever.