FTW_

Hi, I'm just wondering if he's any good and I'm looking for a bit of info about him.
He's playing for my local club next year.
:thumbsu:

Thanks mate.
Wish him all the best from us.:thumbsu:
Pity he didn't work out.
Had some injuries at the wrong time, but showed enough to be elevated from the rookie list. I'd expect he'll be a pretty handy player at that level.

lol. the Goulburn Valley? Isnt that where they make that SPC Fruit or something? At least he'll have great refreshments at half time!

I can see it now, Flinty shooting a commercial with the goulburn valley men. haha.

lol. the Goulburn Valley? Isnt that where they make that SPC Fruit or something? At least he'll have great refreshments at half time!

I can see it now, Flinty shooting a commercial with the goulburn valley men. haha.
Haha nah, they make that fruit at SPC Ardmona, I have no idea why they market it as Goulburn Valley fruit... I don't even know where Ardmona is, but their footy team is in the Kyabram and district league.

He'll be a good player at that level me thinks. Would probably hold down CHB there.
Yeah, well almost anyone is good at this level though... Hopefully he'll help us to a premiership. I think he's only signed for one year though.

I would have liked to have seen him get re-rookied, I think he has the talent to play at the top level. It's a pitty he isn't playing with the Bullants in 08

What does this have to do with Flint's football?

Flint played with the Gippsland Power in the TAC cup and came from Sale so he's headed home which is good for Country Football. :thumbsu:

I'm surprised he didn't stay in Melbourne and play with another VFL club.

Craig was elevated to the senior list and would have played a game if he didn't break his leg.

Craig is a slower and shorter version of Thornton because he isn't big enough to play on the power KPP, nor is he quick enough to take a HFF. Setanta's development into a backman and the likes of Bower, Jamison, Waite and Austin pushed him off the list. Not a bad decision when Anderson, Armfield, Pfeiffer, Browne, Bower and Walker are better equipped to take the HFF or give us more run from the backline.

Unspectacular is the word to describe Flint as a footballer. He's not flashy, he's not quick, he's not overly tall, his skills aren't the best, he's not a goalkicker and he's still fairly young and skinny. His biggest assests are his ability to read the play and shutdown an opponent in defense.

That's Craig Flint in a nutshell.

Haha nah, they make that fruit at SPC Ardmona, I have no idea why they market it as Goulburn Valley fruit... I don't even know where Ardmona is, but their footy team is in the Kyabram and district league.

Yeah, well almost anyone is good at this level though... Hopefully he'll help us to a premiership. I think he's only signed for one year though.
The Goulburn is a long river with a big valley..........lots of places are in the GV.:thumbsu:

Flint played with the Gippsland Power in the TAC cup and came from Sale so he's headed home which is good for Country Football. :thumbsu:

Craig was elevated to the senior list and would have played a game if he didn't break his leg.

Craig is a slower and shorter version of Thornton because he isn't big enough to play on the power KPP, nor is he quick enough to take a HFF. Setanta's development into a backman and the likes of Bower, Jamison, Waite and Austin pushed him off the list. Not a bad decision when Anderson, Armfield, Pfeiffer, Browne, Bower and Walker are better equipped to take the HFF or give us more run from the backline.
We apparently got him because Craig Kelly plays for us and they know each other somehow.
I'm also pretty surprised that he didn't go play for a VFL club or somewhere better than here.
In an article in the local newspaper it said that he likes playing in the midfield but he grew up mainly playing in defence, so I guess he could play in either the midfield or the backline.
So he was delisted not because of his lack of talent but because there was better players on the list?
That sounds alright, I'm pretty sure he'll do well here, ex-Carlton players always do (Trent Hotton has been very successful with his footy here.)
Thanks for the info. :thumbsu:

Sale is slight south and east of Melbourne

TBH, I don't think you need our opinion to know that a bloke on an AFL senior list is going to go reasonably well at any other level.

We've had delisted AFL players play for us before that have been crap...

You should check out a GV game, it's one of the best standards in Victoria.

Flint should do well at Mansfield. They struggled since entering the league in 1997 but have played in the last 4 or 5 finals series' (winning a flag in 2004). They have recruited well.

However, he's going to be shocked when he sees the Mansfield oval. It's appalling.

About 3 hours :eek: I drove from Melb to east Gippsland today....drainer of a trip:thumbsd:

Yep. Think The General might want to get the Melways out before he heads off on his next Sunday jaunt.

Flint should do well at Mansfield. They struggled since entering the league in 1997 but have played in the last 4 or 5 finals series' (winning a flag in 2004). They have recruited well.
I think we've got a great chance of getting into the finals in 08, we've struggled a lot with consistency. We haven't gone that well in recent years but we've got some of our better players back (one returning from the WAFL), we got a guy from the Tassie Devils and Craig Flint of course.
To be honest I don't think Flint will stay here for more than a year, I reckon he'll have better opportunities elsewhere (probably with the VFL.)

However, he's going to be shocked when he sees the Mansfield oval. It's appalling.
It's not that bad, don't know when you were there but in the last couple of years it's improved quite a bit. Although I say it's "not that bad" in comparison to grounds such as Swanpool and Bonnie Doon.

Here's an article out of the local paper about Craig Flint if anyone's interested. :thumbsu:

It's not that bad, don't know when you were there but in the last couple of years it's improved quite a bit. Although I say it's "not that bad" in comparison to grounds such as Swanpool and Bonnie Doon.

Last played their in 2005. However, I guess the drought didn't really help.

I think we've got a great chance of getting into the finals in 08, we've struggled a lot with consistency. We haven't gone that well in recent years but we've got some of our better players back (one returning from the WAFL), we got a guy from the Tassie Devils and Craig Flint of course.
To be honest I don't think Flint will stay here for more than a year, I reckon he'll have better opportunities elsewhere (probably with the VFL.)

Here's an article out of the local paper about Craig Flint if anyone's interested. :thumbsu:

Cheers.

This bit was my favourite
and Ross Hopkins wasn't able to get near his top form after riding his push bike in Africa for almost the whole season
Not sure what that's about but it tickled a little funny bone somewhere.:D:thumbsu:

Don't knock the GVL as a league. I lived in Kyabram until I was 24 and followed the Ky Bombers quite closely and went to many games over the years.

When I moved to Adelaide I was interested in how similer the GVL would be to the SANFL and to my surprise there seemed to be very little difference with the SANFL only slightly ahead. Admittedly this is only from a viewers point of view, but i still believe that the GVL is quite a good standard of football.