Crazy Johns Stadium

It basically said it got rejected in the article.

There are only a few names that I would be happy with,

Bankwest Stadium & SGIO Stadium (but who is gonna call it SGIO stadium, rather than Subi)

Ideally, I'd rather it stay Subiaco Oval, but if they are willing to throw $5 million dollars into the WAFC coffers, that would be great.

People who get worked up over this issue are missing the point.

It will always be Subiaco Oval.

Maybe we could get this company to sponsor it...

Name HOUSE OF PAIN (AUST) PTY. LTD.
ACN 100 235 569

ABN 77 100 235 569

Type Australian Proprietary Company, Limited By Shares
Registration
Date 16/04/2002
Status Registered
Locality
of Registered
Office Notting Hill VIC 3168
Jurisdiction Australian Securities & Investments Commission

I myself will NEVER call Subi oval anything other than Subi Oval so if a company wants to throw money into the coffers go ahead, i wont be changing what i call it nor be more likely to but whatever it is named after

Originally posted by eagleskickass
I myself will NEVER call Subi oval anything other than Subi Oval so if a company wants to throw money into the coffers go ahead, i wont be changing what i call it nor be more likely to but whatever it is named after

yeah same, subi for me. but if the money goes towards improving wafl football and the deal is right, i wouldn't be sour grapes over it.

Originally posted by RzrBlade
yeah same, subi for me. but if the money goes towards improving wafl football and the deal is right, i wouldn't be sour grapes over it.

Yep exactly, if they want to pay $5 million to put a big sign above Subi Oval, saying Bankwest Oval, go for it.

I'd love to see the WAFC get some free cash.

I love it when these discussions come up, because you get all these hotheads who think it's disgusting that they would change the name, but it means nothing! It's always going to be Subiaco Oval.

Originally posted by ozzult
I love it when these discussions come up, because you get all these hotheads who think it's disgusting that they would change the name

and aint it just hilarious reading it, good fun for all...;)

Gee, $5 million is a lot of money to put in2 the WAFL but hoo wants to listen to the commentators not call it subi oval???

Can't they just buy three or four stands n call them 'Crazy John's stand 1', 'Crazy John's Stadium 2', etc. Or maybe just put an ad in the goal square? I don't think that stadiums should be allowed to be renamed unless the club/oval is in a lot of strife. We must remember that it looks like a bright future for the eagles and the dockers and therefore we might not need $5 million.

guys guys guys... get used to it. only the cricket stadiums should keep their names i reckon coz that sorta sacred maybe? i dunno. they would never change the mcg or scg.. coz of heritage. i do not know the heritage of subi oval but i don't think it matters that much.. its just a name. call it crazy johns, call it subiaco.. they are just names... for a location that you go to see the boys. they are not the boys themselves

maybe this is just an outsider sentiment? seeing as though i have never been to wa

steve

Originally posted by ^Eagle^
We must remember that it looks like a bright future for the eagles and the dockers and therefore we might not need $5 million.

That doesn't mean it will be bright forever, it wouldn't hurt to have an extra 5 mil. in the bank for a rainy day.

Originally posted by mouldy_bread
That doesn't mean it will be bright forever, it wouldn't hurt to have an extra 5 mil. in the bank for a rainy day.

What are you talking about for a rainy day? The WAFC is in debt about $30 million mate.

Originally posted by Greaves
are crazy john phones even available in WA?

They are probably expanding here, hence their bogus claim and all the free publicity they are getting.

Crazy John's Stadium would take the cake for the worst name of a stadium in the history of sport.

thankfully they've rejected it.

But I really don't care, I always call grounds by the original names, Docklands or Colonial (yes I know Colonial is a company but at least Colonial Stadium sounds decent and it took me 3 or 4 months of calling to Colonial to realise it was named after a company. I always thought it was a commemoration to the explorers that discovered Australia to the European world - yes yes I know I'm dumb don't need to tell me), Kardinia, Sydney Footy Stadium, Stadium Australia, Shark Park, Lang Park and so on and so forth.

Subiaco will always be Subiaco for me, nothing ever will change it. Unless they wanted to call it Peter Matera Oval ;)

Anyone else think the AFL should give some names to a few things before companies get a hold of it, such as the premiership cup - Maybe call it the Ted Whitten Cup or something before it's called the Pepsi Cup. There are also a few other things I've noted over the years that haven't got any naming rights yet at all, but it's late and I can't remember them all.

By all means sell the naming rights if it's going to pull us $5mil, but a definate NO to 'Crazy John's Stadium', that's just stupid.

Are Multiplex WA origined or did I imagine that?

That name is so ridiculous. I know I'll never refer to it as "Crazy Johns stadium". I'd feel like a complete ****.
We'd be the laughing stock if this goes ahead.

Originally posted by Eagle_Fan
By all means sell the naming rights if it's going to pull us $5mil, but a definate NO to 'Crazy John's Stadium', that's just stupid.

Are Multiplex WA origined or did I imagine that?

They are probably owned by some conglomerate in Denmark or something, but I'm pretty sure that Multiplex are based here in WA.

Its always gonna be known as Subi Oval so theres no reason why they cant change its name if it brings money in.

The WAFC is badly in debt and the Eagles and Dockers arent making enough profit to help pay it off.... naming rights would help out a fair bit

If it meant some money being pumped into WA footy, I could live with it being called Crazy Johns Stadium for a few years. The only time the name is used is during media coverage of the venue anyway, it's not like everyone is going to stop calling it Subi.

Crazy Johns Stadium sounds ridiculous! The article pretty much says it has rejected the offer and you would hope so, the ground loses all it's credibility with a name like that.

Whatever it ends up being called, it will always be Subiaco Oval to me.