Croatians

Well I reckon I'm yet to reach my peak, but it's an interesting theory. ;)

Slappo was never quite the same after he did his knee, but there have been others I guess who faded out of the game quite early - Slappo's bro, Sumich, even Scott Watters is half Croatian and he was finished before 30. Darren Gaspar is finding a new lease on life and his career now that he's over his injury so he can't count, Travis Gaspar is one big walking injury, Tony Modra could have kept going - how old was he anyway?? Grgic, Jurica were guys whose talent (or lack of) finished them early, Didak is still young enough, and appears to have enough of "it" to maintain an AFL career for a few years yet, and old Grizzleguts is still capable of pulling on the boots and getting out there (well according to his good self anyway). I think as a "group", the Croatian players probably fair quite similarly to nay other group in the competition. But to answer your question...

Has Pav reached / past his prime?

Umm.... no.

ImperialPurple said:
Well I reckon I'm yet to reach my peak, but it's an interesting theory. ;)

Slappo was never quite the same after he did his knee, but there have been others I guess who faded out of the game quite early - Slappo's bro, Sumich, even Scott Watters is half Croatian and he was finished before 30. Darren Gaspar is finding a new lease on life and his career now that he's over his injury so he can't count, Travis Gaspar is one big walking injury, Tony Modra could have kept going - how old was he anyway?? Grgic, Jurica were guys whose talent (or lack of) finished them early, Didak is still young enough, and appears to have enough of "it" to maintain an AFL career for a few years yet, and old Grizzleguts is still capable of pulling on the boots and getting out there (well according to his good self anyway). I think as a "group", the Croatian players probably fair quite similarly to nay other group in the competition. But to answer your question...

Has Pav reached / past his prime?

Umm.... no.

There's a Phd in there somewhere: Croats and body function.

And IP, everybody knows girlies peak later than blokes.

Ever thought of nominating for the draft?

Exeter said:
Croats and body function.

:eek:

Believe me, you don't want to go there. What with all the smoked meats, pickled onions, salted fish, pigs on spit, lambs on spits, blood sausages... is it any wonder I became a vegetarian???

Why are we talking about Croatians, the people we are referring to are AUSSIES whose descendents came from Croatia.

No wonder we have trouble at the soccer, aussies fighting aussies in the name of countries most of them haven't stepped foot in.

It would be better to say some Aussies peak early, some later...... some never.

masai said:
Why are we talking about Croatians, the people we are referring to are AUSSIES whose descendents came from Croatia.

No wonder we have trouble at the soccer, aussies fighting aussies in the name of countries most of them haven't stepped foot in.

It would be better to say some Aussies peak early, some later...... some never.

Fair call masai. I'm an Aussie first and foremost (well a Fremantlian above all... ;) ), but my genetics and bloodlines are Croatian. I can't change that.

Why are all the fastest runners in the world African-American? Well partly because they are African because of their genetics, which pre-disposes them to being physically faster and more lithe than others, and partly because they are American and therefore their country of birth has the big $$$ for the training programmes.

I'm both, plain and simple. Just because my grandparents chose (were forced) to migrate to Australia doesn't make me any less proud of the place where my ancestry originated. I am also grateful that they did, and perfectly happy to be an Aussie also. But I don't like it when people try and tell me I'm not Croatian just because I wasn't born there. I can't not be Croatian. It's in me blood!!

Anyway... whatever.

To even suggest that Pav has even reached his peak yet is ludicrous. He will be totally dominating this competition in a couple of years time - I just hope that the team around him can lift and give him the incentive and reason to stay at Freo for his entire career.

ImperialPurple said:
Why would I want to do that? Are you suggesting I should shun my ancestry???

Why not, I've shunned mine - they're too intent on knee-capping each other in Belfast.

I'm joking IP.

Freo Big Fella said:
******** off you useless bandwagoner!

I bet you loved the hawthorn game mate. You and ripper mediocracy united.

Back to the thread. If Pavlich can keep this form for the rest of his career he will finish as one of the best ever. Especially if he can pull this group towards success and flags.

He is the one and only true champion this club has.

I will not condone performances like what freo have served up for the majority of the year. I do not want to be associated with them when they play like ********. I am glad that you will support mediocracy. I am happy to be there for the good times. I will not care through the bad times. ******** I will even say I am a WC supporter in the bad times.

I don't want to watch crap football and argue that players such as Siegert, Sandilands, Grover and Webster are actually good players. The fact is they are not and the team is not a good team.

The rat $hit must be sought from the pepper. Starting with connolly.

docker_johnno said:
I will not condone performances like what freo have served up for the majority of the year. I do not want to be associated with them when they play like ********. I am glad that you will support mediocracy. I am happy to be there for the good times. I will not care through the bad times. ******** I will even say I am a WC supporter in the bad times.

I don't want to watch crap football and argue that players such as Siegert, Sandilands, Grover and Webster are actually good players. The fact is they are not and the team is not a good team.

The rat $hit must be sought from the pepper. Starting with connolly.

So Bitch and Moan like the rest of us. Jumping ship all together when times get rough.. I cant think of anything more pathetic from a 'supporter'.

docker_johnno said:

And you're proud of that?

Christ almighty.

docker_johnno said:
The croatians peak early. Just look at Jakovich

Is Pavlich peaking?

Has he past his prime?

He's not Croatian he's Serbian mate - you would have been safer saying Slav Players

masai said:
Adjudication on this issue please IP.

Croat v Serb, never the twain shall meet.

A bit like calling an Orangeman a Catholic.

I can say with 100% assurance that both of them are Croatian. Jako I've known since he was in primary school, and my son once asked Pav, "are you Croatian?" He replied, "Yep, that's my background". To which my son replied, "Same here", and Pav replied, "Cool".

No big deal was made, and there shall be no big deal made here... I shall just say that Contra Mundum is wrong.

:)

ImperialPurple said:
I can say with 100% assurance that both of them are Croatian. Jako I've known since he was in primary school, and my son once asked Pav, "are you Croatian?" He replied, "Yep, that's my background". To which my son replied, "Same here", and Pav replied, "Cool".

No big deal was made, and there shall be no big deal made here... I shall just say that Contra Mundum is wrong.

:)

I myself is Croatian, my family lived on the Swan when they came over. I don't really buy into the whole Catholic/orthodox thing myself - we are all Slavs under God as far as I am concerned - but I have seen his Mum interviewed in South Australia and she described him as a "Good Serbian Boy" so unless I am going mad [which is a distinct possibility the way the Roos are playing at the minute}