NO TROLLS Rankine handed a 4 match suspension by the AFL integrity unit for a homophobic slur against opponent

The is zero chance in hell the AFL will suspend Rankine.
The crows will throw all silk at the matter and fight it all the way.

Quaynor will not give evidence and the audio will be argued that it was maggot.

Rankine will be schooled and briefed beforehand to say he said maggot but was told he said something else.

He apologised and proactively showed remorse. It will ultimately unable to be proven what was said.
I can't see them not, given the AFL is keen to expand it's fanbase and shed that macho image it has.

Even a couple of years ago I was speaking to a girl (well young woman) on a dating app I'd matched with about footy. She flat out said the fact I was a footy fan was a dealbreaker as the AFL was a hotbed of toxic masculinity and misogyny.

Another kind of related thing. Went to a boardgame meetup and met someone else from Perth. Asked him if he was Eagles or Dockers, he said 'I'm a nerd, I don't follow footy.' Not everyone has to, of course, but mostly arty/nerdy types in Melbourne have no interest, and they're the majority of people I've befriended here.

Would the AFL see missing a final equivalent to 2 games. Therefore, reducing a 4 wk suspension to 2 wks and spinning it that way.

So basically homophobia is half as serious in the month of September?

Even old Gill Mc would have had a hard time spinning that one.

Does it apply to MRO incidents too?

Where exacty do you work?

I'm a boomer who remembers and was a participant in the bad old days where racist and homophobic commentary was tolerated and even promoted in the media during the 70s/80s.

But those days are long gone and no one in 2025 using a homophobic slur in their workplace 'casually' would get away with it. Let alone a professional on $1m a year on the national stage.

And explaining it away as 'Aussie culture' is just a BS excuse from a foundation of ignorance. Especially when it comes to AFL professional footballers who get paid to sit through inclusion awareness presentations every bloody week.

Keep up the education programs . But reckon escalating suspensions that hurt both the professional athlete and their employing club in the worst way possible is the very best way to stop this BS in its tracks.

Heck, we might even get to a time when the Clubs themselves, rather than the AFL, start imposing harsh sanctions on players who abuse others with homophobic and racist slurs. Not because of 'rules' nut because they take community standards seriously. That's when we will really know things have changed.

In tech.

I meant moreso in the school ground/footy clubs/blokey settings. Sure, it's far less prominent nowadays (good riddance) but my point stands; it's not used literally.

Honestly, accepting the present form of deterrence really is short-sighted.

I don't think anyone is arguing it's not wrong but the punishment is wrong .

You have people getting no suspension for death threats

People getting less weeks for punching someone

The afl having snoop dog as their pre game show when he is a known misogynist, criminal and has engaged in gay slurs online to actual gay people .

They also endorse gambling in sports betting and pokies which destroys people's lives .

It's the moral double standards that people aren't happy with
This.

The AFL will absolutely bury the guy for his comment yet appointing Snoop Dog as the pre game entertainment is staggeringly hypocritical.

Are we getting a weird Tex Walker type apology on camera?

Directed by the guy that did the ISIS hostage videos and made Tex’s victim console him on camera.

The weirdest bit of AFL media since the day Kirky opened his mouth and said “Thanks Basil…”

Curious to see what people think.

For me, I'm not gay or LGBT, and even if I was I'm an individual with my own view. But I think it would depend on a lot of contextual factors. Interested to hear from those in the LGBT community as well.

From a young age I always felt a bit perplexed by why some hated gay people so much. Even growing up in the 90s when it was a lot more accepted I never felt comfortable hearing others use those terms.

As for this, initially I'd be disappointed, but I'd wonder where it was coming from, and if they apologised, if they were truly remorseful. I don't think it automatically makes them a terrible person, everyone does bad or regrettable things at times, but if they hated or advocated harming LGBT people I would lose respect for me. Same would go for racism, sexism etc. I am non white, non Anglo myself so can speak on that a bit.

To be honest, I also realise many AFL players have flaws, like we all do, but can appreciate them as players. I don't expect them to be upstanding role models all the time, but also agree certain standards should be maintained on and off field.

I don't know much about say Jack Graham and honestly only vaguely knew about the incident. But the fact he self reported shows me he really is pretty accountable and interested in being better, which I respect.

I don't think anyone is arguing it's not wrong but the punishment is wrong .

You have people getting no suspension for death threats

People getting less weeks for punching someone

The afl having snoop dog as their pre game show when he is a known misogynist, criminal and has engaged in gay slurs online to actual gay people .

They also endorse gambling in sports betting and pokies which destroys people's lives .

It's the moral double standards that people aren't happy with
This 100%.

Probably the same as when two other Indigenous players (Finlayson and Collard) made homophobic slurs. Gave them the hefty suspension they deserved.

The meme isn’t nearly as clever or insightful as the person who made it thinks.

Even a couple of years ago I was speaking to a girl (well young woman) on a dating app I'd matched with about footy. She flat out said the fact I was a footy fan was a dealbreaker as the AFL was a hotbed of toxic masculinity and misogyny.
You dodged a bullet mate . Nice of her to show you all her red flags up front

You need an option between 2 and 3, for people who prefer it didn't happen so "don't care" is too strong, but at the same time it doesn't upset them or require "forgiveness" of the player
Yeah there is a lot of nuance to it.

I guess I don't really assume too much about a person's character before I know them: whether they're the man at the bar or a celebrity. There's this idea AFL players should be some upstanding citizens, when many are far from it, like all of us in general.

Getting away from casting any judgement on their moral integrity, which I'm in no position to point any fingers, anybody casting a homophobic, racist, bigoted, pedophilic etc. slur, after seeing the sanctions already imposed upon a number of transgressors, can safely be described as a bit of an imbecile.

Probably the same as when two other Indigenous players (Finlayson and Collard) made homophobic slurs. Gave them the hefty suspension they deserved.

The meme isn’t nearly as clever or insightful as the person who made it thinks.
Difference is that was two reserves players in Finlayson and Collard.

So will Rankine get the superstar discount?

I completely reject homophobia. It has no place in society and must be eradicated. However,...
Had my heart in my mouth for a second there...

Your basic point "the AFL lacks authority" is correct. If Rankine gets less than 5, they will somehow have even less.

I see.

My interpretation of the 1977 Carman suspension was they just thought, belted him, you're out, not much else to consider. No mitigation, no concern about ruining the GF.

Carman though was not a sympathetic figure, and Tuck was. That certainly didn't help his cause.
At the time, a random assault like that was one week. Absurd to modern eyes, but Carman got two (for being a thug, which he was) and it cost us.

100% his own doing but we cried hard.

Avoiding people who make sweeping generalisations is a win for you.

Had my heart in my mouth for a second there...

Your basic point "the AFL lacks authority" is correct. If Rankine gets less than 5, they will somehow have even less.

At the time, a random assault like that was one week. Absurd to modern eyes, but Carman got two (for being a thug, which he was) and it cost us.

100% his own doing but we cried hard.
Yeah the 2 weeks was a double kick to the cajones with the GF replay.

I am thinking a lot of AFL players are still in the habit of saying dumb shit and arent that bright, like a few guys still kept saying racist stuff for a bit even after the rules came in (see Spider Everett, Sherman much later). So I judge it case by case, I think in most cases it's careless stupidity. All players know the rules, so they can't claim to be shocked.

Kind of ironic that a player is going to rubbed out for most/all of the finals for calling a Collingwood player an offensive name whilst Maynard was allowed to play after knocking out one of the oppositions best players.

I get why the AFL need to crack down on this shitty behavior but geeze it's a strange and sometimes rigged system.

NO TROLLS Rankine handed a 4 match suspension by the AFL integrity unit for a homophobic slur against opponent