arrowman

Just some random thoughts about the crowd on Sunday (which forever shall be known as Glorious Sunday :) ):

Attendance

What’s the record for a Showdown - 47-48,000? at 44,800 it was about 3,000 down on what I would have thought was a “great” crowd, but given the factors (below) it wasn’t too bad.
1. Weather - yes, it was fine, but the morning was threatening and a lot of people don’t seem to look beyond what the sky looks like at 10am - they don’t look at the forecast, they don’t see the relatively high cloud and realise the (light) rain is likely to clear. Personally I think that’s dumb, but people do it.
2. A lot of people would have expected the Crows to lose. Again, I don’t accept that attitude but it is a fact of life.

So all things considered, the crowd was about 3,000 below where it should have been, but not a terrible result.

Numbers rating: 9/10, allowing for weather and result expectations.

Noise

Very good. OK, we were winning, and winning well, so let’s not hang too much on that. But the crowd was very good, especially as evidenced by the spontaneous roar(s) during the 3Q time break.

Still the same old “Adder-layde, clap-clap-clap” but then again, we’re not the only crowd in the comp that can’t improve on that. Even the much vaunted Port crowd basically relies on “Pow-er, clap-clap-clap”.

My personal favourite, Mr Negative who sites behind me, had only a few opportunities to complain about the players’ mistakes. Other than that, he was pretty much silent :rolleyes:

Cheersquad contribution: barely heard them. Port cheersquad was at least as good, and they were losing.

Noise rating: 8/10 but nothing to get excited about given the situation. Bonus point for booing Rucci :)

I thought the noise level was great yesterday and I know it's easy when you're winning but at the same time we get maligned for being quiet but I didn't hear the Port crowd too much yesterday at all when they were down. Fact is, if you're team's losing it's a lot harder to cheer, and every team does it.

The great thing was basically that the crowd was involved in everything. Even decisions that went against us that were pretty clearcut we were booing, we were jeering Tredrea when he finally got a touch on the half back line, jeering Ebert when he finally held a mark on the wing, same goes for Primus and cheering madly when any of our players did one percenters. I thought it was great, one of the best atmospheres at Crows home Showdown's I can remember.

Good assessment snakebite, you bring back good memories and make a case for upping my rating to 8.5/10 :) but I'll wait for a more even game before I give them (us) 9 :)

One other thought - as the Coodabeen Champions would say...

"Bringing the team huddle over to the outer wing at three quarter time - BRING IT BACK!!"

OK, it's not a weapon to be over-used, and we didn't need it on Sunday, but it is one of the most spine-tingling things that can happen at the footy and I love it :)

I missed alot of the game but it looked like the crowd was getting right into it on TV.

snakebite01 said:
I thought the noise level was great yesterday and I know it's easy when you're winning but at the same time we get maligned for being quiet but I didn't hear the Port crowd too much yesterday at all when they were down. Fact is, if you're team's losing it's a lot harder to cheer, and every team does it.

The great thing was basically that the crowd was involved in everything. Even decisions that went against us that were pretty clearcut we were booing, we were jeering Tredrea when he finally got a touch on the half back line, jeering Ebert when he finally held a mark on the wing, same goes for Primus and cheering madly when any of our players did one percenters. I thought it was great, one of the best atmospheres at Crows home Showdown's I can remember.

And you think that this is a good thing? A part of being a good crowd is barracking hard for your team. However, another part that Adelaide crowds seem to lack is a degree of sportsmanship shown through acknowledging spectacular play by the opposition (OK, you don't have to clap but at least allow the opposition to enjoy it) and not looking like complete morons by booing blatant free kicks.

Before you bite back, yes I acknowlege that some Port supporters also boo blatant frees and do not acknowledge good play by the opposition. However, if you attend a Port game (not a showdown, where both sets of supporters bring out their latent feralness) you will see such 'educated' behaviour from much of the crowd.

MrMeaner said:
And you think that this is a good thing? A part of being a good crowd is barracking hard for your team. However, another part that Adelaide crowds seem to lack is a degree of sportsmanship shown through acknowledging spectacular play by the opposition (OK, you don't have to clap but at least allow the opposition to enjoy it) and not looking like complete morons by booing blatant free kicks.

Before you bite back, yes I acknowlege that some Port supporters also boo blatant frees and do not acknowledge good play by the opposition. However, if you attend a Port game (not a showdown, where both sets of supporters bring out their latent feralness) you will see such 'educated' behaviour from much of the crowd.

Not where i've sat! And i go to most Port games...blatant free kicks are booed by most crowds, not just one particular team!

MrMeaner said:

i can't believe that you actually posted this - i've been to many Power games in over the last few years and they boo the most when they don't get a free - i think its part of the fun most people know that it was a blatant free kick but its funny to boo

Stinger... said:
Not where i've sat! And i go to most Port games...blatant free kicks are booed by most crowds, not just one particular team!

Let me amend what I was saying to simply say that those who boo blatant free kicks are morons regardless of who they support.

It's just that I notice it more at Crows games. Admittedly those are Showdowns, so I may be a little more sensitive to it. ;)

MrMeaner said:

You are kidding right?

Capitalist said:
i can't believe that you actually posted this - i've been to many Power games in over the last few years and they boo the most when they don't get a free - i think its part of the fun most people know that it was a blatant free kick but its funny to boo

You're assuming that they are ironic boos. As I do not agree, see my above post.

MrMeaner said:
And you think that this is a good thing?
Yes, actually - within reason.
MrMeaner said:
A part of being a good crowd is barracking hard for your team. However, another part that Adelaide crowds seem to lack is a degree of sportsmanship shown through acknowledging spectacular play by the opposition (OK, you don't have to clap but at least allow the opposition to enjoy it)
You will get the occasional “oh, good kick” muttered through clenched teeth out of me, but anyway, that is not the subject here.
MrMeaner said:
…and not looking like complete morons by booing blatant free kicks.
On the one hand, I’m one of the biggest critics of crowd ignorance, especially over things like holding the ball decisions. On the other hand, shrug, it’s part of the atmosphere and the fun of the game.

Actually what happens around me most of the time is that we boo a free kick, then we see the replay, and we all look sheepishly at each other….
MrMeaner said:
…Before you bite back, yes I acknowlege that some Port supporters also boo blatant frees and do not acknowledge good play by the opposition. However, if you attend a Port game (not a showdown, where both sets of supporters bring out their latent feralness) you will see such 'educated' behaviour from much of the crowd.
Oh, B***S**T. I’m sorry, but that is a ridiculous thing to say. Such behaviour is universal in the football world and to claim that your club’s supporters are somehow more football educated and less likely to boo a free kick etc, you are kidding yourself.

I do like “latent feralness” though :)

MrMeaner said:
Maybe we're more genteel in the members.

I went to a Power Carlton game a few years ago and saw the most feral behaviour I have even seen (admittedly from both lots of fans)

I think all fans are the same in this area.

Though I was having a go at Woodcock yesterday for giving US a free kick. The deliberate out of bounds against James was a disgrace! :D

Jars458 said:
Though I was having a go at Woodcock yesterday for giving US a free kick. The deliberate out of bounds against James was a disgrace! :D

Was it ever?!? If they start paying those regularly (or at all) in the future, we should probably just pack up and leave the game to the umps. Let them play amongst themselves. After all, they are the reason we go to games.

MrMeaner said:
OK, OK, I went to far with my last para. I think that I made the mistake of extrapolating from the unique (my father and me) to the general.

My apologies.
Accepted :) You and your father must indeed be, if not unique, then unusual among football fans of all colours :)

Jars458 said:
I went to a Power Carlton game a few years ago and saw the most feral behaviour I have even seen (admittedly from both lots of fans)

I think all fans are the same in this area.
The Footy Park members put on one of the most awesome displays I have seen / heard a few years ago - against Essendon, the umpiring had been atrocious (no, really) and at half time the Members gave it to the umpires in a huge way, chanting "Cheat! Cheat! Cheat!" - I could FEEL it on the other side of the ground. :)
Jars458 said:
Though I was having a go at Woodcock yesterday for giving US a free kick. The deliberate out of bounds against James was a disgrace!
One of my better moments was calling an umpire a "DISGRACE!!!" after he had paid the Crows a dud free kick. Got a big laugh out of the crowd.

I dunno about the James one - straight to the boundary, one bounce (more or less) and over - I don't think he had any other intent, but it was a bit tough.

What about the Port player running the ball over the line in the forward pocket, then passing off for a goal??? Where was the boundary umpire????

arrowman said:
What about the Port player running the ball over the line in the forward pocket, then passing off for a goal??? Where was the boundary umpire????
The ball had moved pretty quickly to there and the boundary umpire was miles behind. To give him further benefit of the doubt the ball was pretty much in front of Lade and he would have found it hard to see the ball. The real problem to me was the goal umpire - he was in perfect position to see it and did nothing.

Four boundary umpires here we come !!

MrMeaner said:

Cripes, I nearly fell off my chair when I read this.

Did you go to the Port-Brisbane game?

I did. The booing of the crowd was deafening, and I reckon the umpires would have been crapping themselves with its ferocity.

I never heard one complimentary word re Brisbane but plenty comments along the line of

"Kill the bastards'

"Kick their fking heads in"

etc etc.

Nothing educated at all about what I heard or saw!!

Nothing!!

MrMeaner said:

I have been to a few Port games and to be honest I think Port supporters are worse than Crows supporters for this. I have never heard a Port supporter at a game agree with a free against them.

To quote myself in response to some later posts:

MrMeaner said:
OK, OK, I went to far with my last para. I think that I made the mistake of extrapolating from the unique (my father and me) to the general.

My apologies.

And no, I did not get to the Brisbane game. I'm based in Melbourne now and only get back for the occasional game (plus both showdowns).

Also, as I said before, perhaps we're more genteel in the members?

MrMeaner said:
It's just that I notice it more at Crows games. Admittedly those are Showdowns, so I may be a little more sensitive to it. ;)

Admittedly, I did hear some cheering when Chadly hurt his knee. Wasn't happy with some of the Crows crowd

MrMeaner said:
To quote myself in response to some later posts:

And no, I did not get to the Brisbane game. I'm based in Melbourne now and only get back for the occasional game (plus both showdowns).

Also, as I said before, perhaps we're more genteel in the members?

:D

Mate, I was in the members for that Port - Brisbane game. I would have shat myself if I was in the outer. At one stage I thought it was starting to drizzle, but it was only spittle spray from the screaming banshees across the oval!! :eek:

And, yes, I did miss your follow up post. ;)