News Crows eye Walker, Jacobs

• Thread starter Thread starter Ricksta13

Can we just get this trade done already?

Adelaide want Jacobs, yet all their supporters do is talk him down and say they've pantsed our ruckmen.

Yet Blue and Silver dares to label Carlton supporters as irrational traders on the draft board.

Well this is just a completely unexpected turn.

My first post:

"Honestly Carlton supporters this time of year are so embarassing. "

That was a generalisation, which you pointed out in your preceding post a much more reserved effort:

"That's a generalisation.

I assume it's based on reading the Carlton board and nothing else in the off season.

Every club has supporters throwing up their junk for gold.

The Adelaide board will melt your brain.

Sellar for Jacobs.

:o "

My answer:

"Don't get me wrong, there is a ton of idiots floating around on this site, from all clubs. But I have felt embarrassed by some of the outrageous suggestions coming out of the Carlton camp.

Given I have no allegiance to any other club, Carlton supporters are the ones whose stupidity affects me most "

all available here:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=19241560#post19241560

Firstly I never said anything about irrationality, that is an assumption you make. Secondly my point is perfectly valid, many Carlton supporters throw crazy suggestions around at trade time. Thirdly, there was no reason to bring up what I said in the context of your comment.

Finally, you have a long history of posts like this were you attack a singular poster who disagrees with your point of view. You are a completely bias and aggressive poster, who takes a "your with us, or your against us" approach. Trading is about agreement, you think it is about forcing your opponent into the worse position. You will undoubtedly reply to this, no doubt with your most scalding and abusive phrases, trying to position me as the bad guy who hates all carlton supporters, I just hope others see through your silly facade.

You are not a bad poster, and certainly you fight a good fight most of the time against trolls and idiots, but I am neither, and you are attempting to label me thus.

Blue and Silver;19251919[B said:
]Finally, you have a long history of posts like this were you attack a singular poster who disagrees with your point of view. You are a completely bias and aggressive poster, who takes a "your with us, or your against us" approach.[/B] Trading is about agreement, you think it is about forcing your opponent into the worse position. You will undoubtedly reply to this, no doubt with your most scalding and abusive phrases, trying to position me as the bad guy who hates all carlton supporters, I just hope others see through your silly facade.
I'm abusive, aggressive, biased and like to paint people as the bad guy?

If you look through the posts of a few others, I'm Bambi compared to them.

I'm only aggressive and scalding with idiots who would test anyone's patience.

I'm biased with players I rate, so we should get fair compensation for someone who is being chased by another club.

I understand and support why Jacobs and Walker might want to leave for more opportunities and a fresh start.

Yet by the same token, Jacobs, Walker and Grigg especially aren't owed a free path to their club via an inequitable trade.

It's fair you're annoyed by Carlton trades like I am.

Someone wanted to ask for Andy Otten for Jacobs just last night.

I didn't insinuate that you're a troll and try to position you as the bad guy. You're a good poster, so I was shocked that you wrote that.

Yet your posts perpetuates a myth we're the only club with fans who throw up ridiculous proposals.

That's miles away from the truth.

GC can however sign one uncontracted player from each team. They havent pinched one off us yet. Sauce is uncontracted.
Correct but they can pick up 1 uncontracted player from each club so he could go to the GC as an uncontracted player
GC's deadline for signing uncontracted players (eg Ablett, Bock...) is tomorrow (Thurs 7th Oct). They haven't shown any interest in signing Jacobs to date and I doubt that's going to change in the next 24 hours.

More to the point, Trade Week Radio (streaming off the AFL website) are now reporting that GC have done a deal with Footscray for Will Minson. Minson fills their need for a mature aged ruckman able to do the job while their younger ruckmen develop & mature.

I think it's safe to say that GC are not going to be grabbing Jacobs, so can we (please) cease with this particular fantasy?

More to the point, Trade Week Radio (streaming off the AFL website)

What are you using to get add week radio working today Vader? I had it yesterday but can't get it on chrome or explorer today. It's a bugger, I was hoping to go to Bunnings and K Mart in the next few days so I need to hear what their specials are.

GC's deadline for signing uncontracted players (eg Ablett, Bock...) is tomorrow (Thurs 7th Oct). They haven't shown any interest in signing Jacobs to date and I doubt that's going to change in the next 24 hours.

More to the point, Trade Week Radio (streaming off the AFL website) are now reporting that GC have done a deal with Footscray for Will Minson. Minson fills their need for a mature aged ruckman able to do the job while their younger ruckmen develop & mature.

I think it's safe to say that GC are not going to be grabbing Jacobs, so can we (please) cease with this particular fantasy?

can't see Richmond passing him up if he goes into the PSD - according to BIB he won't go into the PSD so it's all a mute point anyway

What are you using to get add week radio working today Vader? I had it yesterday but can't get it on chrome or explorer today. It's a bugger, I was hoping to go to Bunnings and K Mart in the next few days so I need to hear what their specials are.
Internet Exploiter 7.

Interestingly, I got it working on Firefox at home - but can't get it to working on Firefox in the office. My guess is that it's a flash problem.
can't see Richmond passing him up if he goes into the PSD - according to BIB he won't go into the PSD so it's all a mute point anyway
Looking like Richmond will be using their PSD pick on Griggs, thus eliminating our only real PSD competition.

That said, I really can't see this one going to the PSD.

Right now, Adelaide are trying to do a balancing act. We want to get at least 2 of Jacobs, Walker & Tambling. More than likely we'll only get one of Walker & Tambling. The problem is all 3 players are worth about the same value - the Bock compensation pick. We only have 1 compensation pick to give away, so someone is not going to be happy. We have to try and find a way of getting the deals done so that everyone ends up happy.

Whilst we're on the point of ragging out Petroro, this goes to show the mans lack of footy knowledge...

I think Shaun could certainly give them some polish in their midfield and probably relieve a little bit of the workload guys like Nathan Foley and Brett Deledio have been carrying in the middle.

Sauce

Firstly, I'm not so sure how much 'polish' Grigg is going to bring to their midfield, but I guess it is a matter of opinion. Secondly Deledio was relieved almost entirely of his midfield role this season and played the 'QB' role off the hbf in the mould of Hodge and Goddard and how many games would Foley have played in '10?

:o

Thanks for that mate, your form around this time of year is usually pretty good :thumbsu:

I wasn't myself using the GC as a potential suitor but more was attempting to interpret a couple of posters thoughts on the trading of Jacobs.

I'm abusive, aggressive, biased and like to paint people as the bad guy?

If you look through the posts of a few others, I'm Bambi compared to them.

I'm only aggressive and scalding with idiots who would test anyone's patience.

I'm biased with players I rate, so we should get fair compensation for someone who is being chased by another club.

I understand and support why Jacobs and Walker might want to leave for more opportunities and a fresh start.

Yet by the same token, Jacobs, Walker and Grigg especially aren't owed a free path to their club via an inequitable trade.

It's fair you're annoyed by Carlton trades like I am.

Someone wanted to ask for Andy Otten for Jacobs just last night.

I didn't insinuate that you're a troll and try to position you as the bad guy. You're a good poster, so I was shocked that you wrote that.

Yet your posts perpetuates a myth we're the only club with fans who throw up ridiculous proposals.

That's miles away from the truth.

Knee-Jerk reactions get the best of us. We aren't the worst traders (Freo and Brisbane are in competition for that). I was offended in the manner you represented me, I had just come off reading some ridiculous stuff on our board and it was an in the moment thought, which represents a deeper annoyance in the way tools seem to own threads.

When I read your post I also had a flashback to last year when my support for drafting Maguire drew your ire and you lambasted me.

I apoligise, I over-reacted. I stand by my belief that there are fools on this site who support Carlton and will offer up peanuts for guns though.

I don't have a lot of patience and time for fools, but I didn't mean to offend you.

Sorry.

It is all good, now lets get back to purging this board of trolls, SurfingtheVoid is still around

Internet Exploiter 7.

Interestingly, I got it working on Firefox at home - but can't get it to working on Firefox in the office. My guess is that it's a flash problem.

Looking like Richmond will be using their PSD pick on Griggs, thus eliminating our only real PSD competition.

Right now, Adelaide are trying to do a balancing act. We want to get at least 2 of Jacobs, Walker & Tambling. More than likely we'll only get one of Walker & Tambling. The problem is all 3 players are worth about the same value - the Bock compensation pick. We only have 1 compensation pick to give away, so someone is not going to be happy. We have to try and find a way of getting the deals done so that everyone ends up happy.

despite Richmonds poor list management skills over the last few years theres no way they would pick Grigg over Jacobs if they had the choice in the PSD

Suspect the Crows were always wanting to get Jacobs AND Walker. That pretty much confirms we've got pick 14 as a base minimum. The tricky bit is the other stuff they'll need to throw in i.e. Talia and a compo pick. They're also after Tambling? Seems the Crows are desperate for ready-made types this year after all the retirements.

:)

Internet Exploiter 7.

Laycock just delisted by Essendon - they could be in the market for another ruckmen

They still have Hille, Ryder, Bellchambers and Bock. The first 2 are proven, the latter pair still developing (but so is Jacobs). Hille is 29 (30 next June) and not showing too many signs of slowing down just yet.

You're sounding desperate. Richmond, Essendon, Brisbane and the Dees would all take him in the PSD before the Crows. Weagles might as well.

:)
Besides Richmond, why not take a look at the team's lists that you just mentioned, and figure out why this post is so wrong? If Grigg decides to go the PSD along with Jacobs, Richmond will still take Grigg IMO, leaving Jacobs for us. Essendon, Brisbane and the Dees don't need more ruckman. Do you know anything about other lists besides Carlton?

No way Richmond or anyone else would be silly enough to take Grigg before Jacobs in the PSD. Regardless of that, BIB has stated so many times that Jacobs just won't go in the PSD.

This moron adds nothing to this discussion.

Back to the bay and argue over with Port fans over who isn't the worst SA team.

Interesting that port is now in the bidding war for Walker. I dont see why they would need him. Port might be worried adelaide will take a player they need at pick 14 because port have pick 16. maybe they have come to terms with carlton to try and take 14 from adelaide that will allow them to get the player they are after.

Highly doubtful just my two cents

Interesting that port is now in the bidding war for Walker. I dont see why they would need him. Port might be worried adelaide will take a player they need at pick 14 because port have pick 16. maybe they have come to terms with carlton to try and take 14 from adelaide that will allow them to get the player they are after.

Highly doubtful just my two cents

Just a rumour. Just heard over here in Adelaide, Port have denied this. Adelaide want to put Jacobs/Walker together in a package. Still see you guys getting Pick 14 at bare minimum as well as a player (Talia, McKernan, Cook, Sellar)