Crows Squad - This Weekend

• Thread starter Thread starter mymansyd

Macca19 said:
Begley played yeah. Waterhouse gave him a bath in my opinion and the only thing stopping Waterhouse being BOG was his pathetic kicking for goal (3.5 or something). Clive was a few metres ahead of Begley all night. Begley had a good last quarter but relied on Waterhouse being double teamed.

Smith was alright. Dont think he was 3rd best but he had a top last quarter and kept Ah Chee quiet. Stevens kicked 4 in the first half.

Thanks for that Macca. I'm starting to think we may be better off playing Begley as a wingman/half forward, which is where he started with the Saints. I think he's a good player. Let's hope he can regain some form/fitness and fight his way back.

mymansyd said:
Thanks for that Macca. I'm starting to think we may be better off playing Begley as a wingman/half forward, which is where he started with the Saints. I think he's a good player. Let's hope he can regain some form/fitness and fight his way back.
Begley is good enough, but lacks match fitness since the Byron incident. Not sure if he is a HFF. For me, more suited with his poise to a HBF, with a bit of run on the wing.

mymansyd said:
Named on the 7-man bench and Not named in the SANFL: Bode, Skipworth, Johncock, M.Stevens, Begley, Van Berlo (South have a bye).

All except Begley (obviously) were at training at Wesley.

GoSarge said:
By all accounts Knights showed some pretty good form last week in the ressies, so it will be interesting to see if you are correct. Interesting thoughts about Gibson. What makes you predict this ? Hope you're right though, the more of our boys in the seniors the better.

Knights SHOULD play AFL footy before round 11. He looked all class today and has an afl ready body.

SpringChoke said:
Knights SHOULD play AFL footy before round 11. He looked all class today and has an afl ready body.
SC in the Ressies?

What impressed you about him (apart from his rippling muscles ;) )

Wayne's-World said:
SC in the Ressies?

What impressed you about him (apart from his rippling muscles ;) )

I know it's only the ressies but this kid looked all class. Gies in hard for the ball, reads the play well and his polished on both sides of his body. Kicked a couple of goals, one an absolute ripper.

SpringChoke said:
I know it's only the ressies but this kid looked all class. Gies in hard for the ball, reads the play well and his polished on both sides of his body. Kicked a couple of goals, one an absolute ripper.
Where was he playing and what AFL role would you consider he is best suited for?

Wayne's-World said:
Where was he playing and what AFL role would you consider he is best suited for?

He played on the wing, on the ball and crept down into the forward line to kick a couple of goals. I reckon we should give him a go as a tagger. More skill and class then Shirley in my humble opinion.

SpringChoke said:
He played on the wing, on the ball and crept down into the forward line to kick a couple of goals. I reckon we should give him a go as a tagger. More skill and class then Shirley in my humble opinion.
:) He certainly was given big wraps b4 he developed his knee problems, hopefully we have got a rough diamond.

The question will be whether he has the concentration and defensive skills to tag - no question on reports about his attcking flair and agressiveness.

Wayne's-World said:
:) He certainly was given big wraps b4 he developed his knee problems, hopefully we have got a rough diamond.

The question will be whether he has the concentration and defensive skills to tag - no question on reports about his attcking flair and agressiveness.
I haven't seen Knight play so I ca't comment but I wouldn't mind giving Hinge the run with role. He is a tough son of a ***** and he can find the footy himself.

Stiffy_18 said:
I haven't seen Knight play so I ca't comment but I wouldn't mind giving Hinge the run with role. He is a tough son of a ***** and he can find the footy himself.
BUT as you said we have to promote him to the main list first ;)

Don't want to have anyone long term injury but I like you would like to see him get a go.

Although i haven't seen him play i heard before the draft, as I said some time ago he was a top 10 pick but then got screwed with injuries. Good to see him performing well.

Stiffy_18 said:
I am getting carried away a bit and thinking about 2006 season ;) :o
Cmon Stiffy IMO there's an exciting 2005 season ahead as we see some of these new recruits blossom :)

Wayne's-World said:
Cmon Stiffy IMO there's an exciting 2005 season ahead as we see some of these new recruits blossom :)
I don't disagree.

I am excited about this season and I am looking forward to it but I am still keeping an eye on things that are more long term :)