macca23

Adelaide Crows
Be interested in what others thought. It was a tight hard scrap which didn't rise to any great heights. The closeness of the game is what saved it, because the umpires certainly didn't add to the spectacle.

I thought we looked flat with very little run, while the Kangaroos also slowed it down with their possession style of footy.

My best were

Goodwin - good game all night. one of the few to add some run into our game

Ladhams - terrific game playing in a variety of positions and used the ball very well.

Perrie - delighted to swallow humble pie re past comments on this fellow. He was the shining light up forward. Well done Ian.

McGregor - very good game at CHB. Continues to improve, and showed plenty of courage all night.

Btenglein - not dominant but did a lot of good work in close.

Hart - typical Ben Hart effort where he never gives up and stood up and kicked the winning goal when everybody seemed to be too nervous to do so.

Bickley and Reilly did well for the limited time they were on.

Can't quite understand the use - or rather the lack of use of Bode. Also why Ronnie Burns is not playing close to goals.

Not the best win in the world eh?

The umpires crucified us.
The crowd attendance was that dismal it resembled a Pork Power match.

I thought we made a lot of mistakes tonight; and we’ve got a lot of work to do to beat Collingwood next week.

Best players for the Crows were McGregor, Smart, Ladhams Perrie and Biglands.

Im certain Burton is not a winger he found some of the ball tonite at the expense of “frees against” but his footpassing on the run looks so unco. Id like to see him out of the forward pocket next week
Gallagher can give his spot up for Ricciuto next week, too slow

Originally posted by topjars

You are a bit harsh on Gags topjars. He did a couple good things and his disposal was excellent tonigh. He found Perrie with a pinpoint pass.

Overall a very scrappy game. Biglands was very good especially his marking around the ground.

Goodwin was on and off as was the majority of our players.

Perrie has won me over for life with his past 2 weeks and Stevens need a LOT of goal kicking practice with Jars this week. Ronnie Burns need to learn how to handball.

The crowd attendance was that dismal it resembled a Pork Power match.

Best players for the Crows were McGregor, Smart, Ladhams Perrie and Biglands.

Im certain Burton is not a winger he found some of the ball tonite at the expense of “frees against” but his footpassing on the run looks so unco. Id like to see him out of the forward pocket next week

The lack of a crowd is not surprising when there is a direct telecast. I'm one who chose to watch it on telly rather than go to the game.

Should have mentioned Smart and Biglands as they both were good games.

As for Burton his usage of the ball from the mid-field has been terrible and coupled with his undisciplined play overall makes a move up forward likely.

Like you I was disappointed with Gags tonight, although he only had limited game time. I don't think he will make the final 22.

I also think Mattner did a few good things tonight. While Harvey gave him a runaround especially in the 1st half. To his credit Mattner stuck to his jib and did a few good things himself.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I also think Mattner did a few good things tonight. While Harvey gave him a runaround especially in the 1st half. To his credit Mattner stuck to his jib and did a few good things himself.

Agreed Stiffy. Mattner is a player of the future - I think it was only 7 games that he played last year. He got a bit of a caning overall but showed a bit himself.

What is about Harvey and the Crows. He loves playing against us, and usually gets their best player in these games.

Tonight was no exception.

Burton runs around most of the time like a chicken with his head chopped off. He might be great aerobically but his disposal is never going to hurt the opposition up field (and when was the last time he ran anyone off their feet?) A return to somewhere up forward where he can jump and fly at the contest is needed (with stints in midfield if need be).

Originally posted by ant
Burton runs around most of the time like a chicken with his head chopped off. He might be great aerobically but his disposal is never going to hurt the opposition up field (and when was the last time he ran anyone off their feet?) A return to somewhere up forward where he can jump and fly at the contest is needed (with stints in midfield if need be).

His running capacity has to be utilised but playing his on the wing wastes a lot of the ball. I would much rather see him as a HFF or a forward pocket with a very occasional run on the wing.

I think he should try and use his running capacity in the forward 50....run his defender off his feet if possible. He can be really damaging and a matchwinner....right now where he's playing he's not.

Superbly put.
Burton should mirror what Harding done to Torney (although full credit to Torney; he was up against it but will be a real find for the Crows)

As long as he finds space we should be able to find him...but he needs to be on the move from a FP

Plus he needs to put away the "intended speccy" for awhile and get out on a lead like Perrie.

If Carey doesnt play next week we are in danger of becoming one dimensional to Perrie, and it could cost us the game if he gets shutdown which is reason enough to move Burton forward

A few comments:

The match was one of the worst I've seen. Our players looked really flat, difficult to pick outstanding ones, except Perrie and Smart, and a good sign that despite playing so badly we escaped with a win.

Kangaroos style of play reminded me of Port when Williams first coached them with little chip kicks all over the place and eventually so much handling of the ball causing a mistake. They flooded a bit, too. Obviously their running game took its toll as they tired in the last quarter. I can see them winning games early in the season until teams get used to them but I think it will be a long second half of the season

Great to see Perrie succeeding. He's been one of my favourite players as I think he give 100% when not blessed with natural talent. I mentioned about 6 weeks ago that he had changed his style of kicking for goal and looks much more assured now.

I though we looked better when Bode eventually got onto the ground. Has he done something wrong ?

Bassett really worried me. He didn't have the excuse of playing in Darwin last week and looked shocking last night. I wonder whether his days are numbered. Maybe we could interchange Stevens, McGregor and someone else at CHB and FB and put Perrie at FF with Carey at CHF. Thoughts ?

I said a couple of weeks ago to go easy on Burton. APOLOGIES to you all who disagreed with me. It must be dreadful playing in front of him wondering what he will do and he needs to stop going for "speccies" and in the process spoiling another player who could take the mark. He looks to have put on 10kg compared to last year.

Cheers,

a.j.

I was bitterly dissapointed that it was such a close game against an ordinary team like North Melbourne. Mind you, in that first half the umpires molested us like altar boys in a catholic church.

The real highlight was Perrie's kicking. When he took that mark near the boundary line in the second quarter I said to myself, "I'll be amazed if he kicks this". And I was! Stevens' kicking however seems to have gone backwards, it was shocking. Why hasn't he similarly worked on this?

Originally posted by DaveW

The real highlight was Perrie's kicking. When he took that mark near the boundary line in the second quarter I said to myself, "I'll be amazed if he kicks this". And I was! Stevens' kicking however seems to have gone backwards, it was shocking. Why hasn't he similarly worked on this?

Perrie's kicking for goal from a set shot has been terrific this year - thanks to Darren Jarman who has spent a lot of time with him.

Gone is the stuttering run-up and the awkward kicking style, which Jars has replaced with a smooth straight run-up, ball held straight in front of the leg and the leg kicking straight through the ball.

Stevo need to go to the same classes after some of the shots he has been missing. As Brereton pointed out last night., he is kicking to the left, which means he is either holding it slightly inside the line of the leg, or not swinging his leg straight through.

Either way he needs to go back to kicking school.

Interesting how old habits come to the surface under pressure. Perrie's worst 2 kicks of the night were in the line of general play when under pressure - and out came the old kicking style and technique, with the old results. :)

Gotta take my hat off to Perrie at the moment though - he has really stuck it up us Crow fans in general with his fine form at FF. And good on him!!!

Spot on. Burton does most of his damage around goal, so should be playing as a floating HF flanker who runs all over the forward line. We need to play our good decision makers in the midfield & Burton isn't one of them!

Originally posted by macca23
My best were

Goodwin - good game all night. one of the few to add some run into our game

Ladhams - terrific game playing in a variety of positions and used the ball very well.

Perrie - delighted to swallow humble pie re past comments on this fellow. He was the shining light up forward. Well done Ian.

Looks like Goody could take the extra step this year moving into the top tier of AFL midfielders. Such a smooth mover & his disposal is back to its damaging best.

Ladhams is all class. Love the way this guy has played since middle of last year - very consistent. Would play him mainly off a wing where he plays his best footy, but also at home up forward.

After seeing Perrie (albeit @ CHB) play an ordinary game at Norwood, I have been pleasantly suprised by his form. Jars' kicking lessons for set shots look like they have worked (& to think he was worse than Tredrea!) Gives us an intersting selection dilema when Carey comes back.

Originally posted by DaveW
I was bitterly dissapointed that it was such a close game against an ordinary team like North Melbourne. Mind you, in that first half the umpires molested us like altar boys in a catholic church.

Think your a bit harsh on the Roos Dave,

To be honest lasts nights display by the Crows was probably expected given that we played up in Darwin the previous week under extreme weather conditions plus the Roos played a hands off game for most of the night,

Like every one else was impressed with Perrie at full forward once again & also thought Biglands put in an improved effort but would like to see a bit more foot coordination from him,

TJ i hope your still eating a bit more humble pie mate?? reckon you better get a taste for it, :D

Think you guys have done a fair job on Burton's performance, has he got an upstairs blank or what?? or is he just trying to impress & live up to expectations to much??

My best for last night are Perrie, Nige, Goodwin, Ladhams & Biglands,

If Carey doesnt play next week we are in danger of becoming one dimensional to Perrie, and it could cost us the game if he gets shutdown which is reason enough to move Burton forward

A very good point there topjars. I heard Reidy say on the news that Carey definetly will not play in the final. One negative from last night's game that stood out is, up until about 18th minute mark of the 4th quarter we only had 3 goal kickers (Perrie, Stevens and Smart), and 5 for the game. I think we also need to play Burns closer to gaol especially in the final next week. We need a major improvement for next weeks final. I am so pis*ed off at the AFL's decision to play in Melbourne, that it would mean the world to beat Eddie's wan*ers especially after his comments on 5aa today:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: