Central District, Moorook
Crows visit Riverland
by Paul Mitchell - Loxton News

Up to 1000 primary school students are expected to converge on Berri Oval next Tuesday afternoon to mingle with the Adelaide Crows.
Adelaide players, coaches and support staff will arrive in the Riverland on Tuesday for the AFL’s Community Camp program.
The contingent will stay in the region for the following three days, with the visit culminating in an internal trial game at Berri on the Friday morning.
Children aged between five and 12 will take part in Tuesday afternoon’s ‘super coaching clinic’, involving the entire Crows playing list.
“Last year at Mount Gambier it was huge and we’re predicting about 1000 kids this year,” said SANFL regional develop-
ment officer Jason Lehmann.
“We want to encourage as many kids as we can to come along – boys and girls.
“We’ve got about 400 footballs and we’ll divide the Crows players into groups of three or four and just rotate them on stations.
“The kids will all get to have a kick and a catch with a couple of Crows players. They have a ball, and so do their parents.”
An autograph session will be held immediately after the coaching clinic, which runs from 5pm to 6pm.
The clinic will be followed by a civic reception dinner for the Crows at the Barmera-Monash Football Club, starting from 6.30pm.
As a warm up to next week’s activities, Crows junior development officer – and former premiership star – Shane Ellen and ‘The Camry Crow’ will pay a special visit to Loxton Primary School on Tuesday morning from 9am.
Crows players will take part in school and community visits across the region next Wednesday and Thursday.

As most of us would know Port Adelaide's country stint this week is at Murray Bridge.

A wag rang up 5AA on the rumour file today and sucked them in with the story that Port were conducting a "friends and family day" while they were up that way - at the Mobilong Prison!! :D

Many a true word said in jest.

Originally posted by macca23
As most of us would know Port Adelaide's country stint this week is at Murray Bridge.

A wag rang up 5AA on the rumour file today and sucked them in with the story that Port were conducting a "friends and family day" while they were up that way - at the Mobilong Prison!! :D

Many a true word said in jest.
ROFL. :D What a smartarse:D

Kane - I will do my best to match the great Macca.
However, I may struggle. I was actually working on the day, chasing stories and photos.
Will come back later with direct quotes from Gary Ayres and his after match interview.

Youngsters stand out at Berri
1:25:22 PM Fri 6 February, 2004
Alan Shiell at Berri
afl.com.au
The good form of youngsters Ben Hudson, Brent Reilly, Hayden Skipworth and Trent Hentschel was one of the most encouraging features of Adelaide’s intra-club practice match in high 30s heat at Berri Oval on Friday.

Former Werribee ruckman Hudson, an ex-basketballer who has been playing Australian football for only four years, put in a strong and competitive performance in ruck and field play, Reilly exuded class in the midfield, Skipworth was a nippy, prolific kick-winning onballer and Hentschel did some fine work at full back.

Half-back Andrew McLeod, ruckman Rhett Biglands, wingman Graham Johncock, centre half-forward/full forward Ian Perrie and midfielders Matthew Bode and Simon Goodwin were the most prominent of the regulars in a match of four 15-20 minute quarters, with most players donning ice-vests during each welcome break.

The Crows were pleased and relieved to report no injuries, although Brett Burton had an ice-pack on his left knee as he sat out the last quarter and McLeod went off late with cramp in a leg.

Scott Welsh showed no ill-effects from a fearful collision with Tasmanian rookie Rowan Andrews, and Ronnie Burns let Nathan Bassett know he did not appreciate a late tackle.

The only ‘casualty’ was a streaker, who, clad only in a flowing cape, was reminded none-too-gently by two Adelaide trainers that he had no right to be on the ground during the second quarter.

Adelaide coach Gary Ayres said he thought the man, from a local radio station, was ‘a bit cheeky’.

Ayres was full of praise for the Riverland hospitality over the past four days.

“Thanks to all the Berri people,” he said. “They’ve been fantastic, the accommodation and facilities were very good and you saw what good condition the ground was in.

“We couldn’t ask any more of the Riverland supporters. It’s been terrific. As an AFL club, we have an obligation to go back to the grassroots football and promote it as well as we can.

“We don’t want to see soccer or rugby or the basketball overtake what I believe is a great game. So if we can encourage as many kids to want to play league football, if they’re good enough, I think we’ve done a reasonable job.”

Of the match, Ayres said: “You’re only playing among yourselves but I think there were some encouraging things. There have been three or four aspects of our training over the summer and it was pleasing to see the players are trying to do them.

“Whether they do them right or not is not a big issue to me at the moment, but I think we can get a bit better.

“I thought we entered our forward 50 a little too wide at times. But we had some plays we were trying to implement, which maybe meant that was going to be the case, anyway.

“But, by and large, for where we’re at, I thought it wasn’t a bad start.”

The Crows will play two trials – against SANFL clubs Glenelg and Norwood – at Norwood Oval next Friday night.

Originally posted by Jars458
Hentschell at full back is an interesting one.
I found that a bit interesting too. I was thinking they might play him at CHB.

Could it be a bit of a hint that Hentschel might play as a 3rd tall defender this year????? He can certainly provide a lot of run from defence where his delivery to the forwards can be a real plus. He can also play smaller than his height might suggest. He also put on 5.5 kg so here is to hoping.

Some encouraging signs from the trial. I think Watts might have sat out the match as he has a bit of soreness in his achillies but the form of other youngsters is encouraging.

Reilly's continual improvement is what we were after. If he can step up and make a wing his own it will be a huge plus for the club.

As I said Hentschel playing at FB is a bit of a surprise but not really surprised he has done well. After all I am one of only a small handful of posters here who believe in the lad.

Ben Hudson. Could this bloke be the big surprise?????? Could he be the ruckman who can offer us something in field play as well as ruck contests. Really looking forward to watching this fella play in Wizard Cup.

Skippy can get his hands on the ball but has he improved his disposal????? Time will tell.

Some encouraging signs but after all its only an internal trial and probably as competative as a training drill.

Interesting to learn that Bassett and Burns were not on the same team. Who is the one that is on the fringe?????? I reckon its Burns but with the "incident" late last year anything is possible.

Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Reilly's continual improvement is what we were after. If he can step up and make a wing his own it will be a huge plus for the club.

As I said Hentschel playing at FB is a bit of a surprise but not really surprised he has done well. After all I am one of only a small handful of posters here who believe in the lad.

Ben Hudson. Could this bloke be the big surprise?????? Could he be the ruckman who can offer us something in field play as well as ruck contests. Really looking forward to watching this fella play in Wizard Cup.

Skippy can get his hands on the ball but has he improved his disposal????? Time will tell.

I'd be disappointed if our #12 draft pick of 2001 wasn't ready to play regular AFL footy in 2004. Reilly had a taste of it last year and should be a permanent member of the 22 this year.

Is a handful 2 Stiffy?? :D The only posters I know of who believe in Hentschel are you and I!!! :p No surprise for him to play well in defence though because he has played some great SANFL games in defence, although generally at CHB.

I'm really pleased about Hudson, although not totally surprised. I really liked the look of him at the last training session I went to, and he was definitely starting to adjust to the tougher training regime at AFL level. He'll be worth a close scrutiny in the pre-season games ahead.

I think Skippy has worked on his disposal, as it has been pretty good at training. A little more depth in it and quite accurate. Match conditions will be the true test of this though.

I'm really looking forward to Norwood Oval next Friday.

Is a handful 2 Stiffy?? :D The only posters I know of who believe in Hentschel are you and I!!! :p No surprise for him to play well in defence though because he has played some great SANFL games in defence, although generally at CHB.

Yes I will put my hand up as one who has and continues to have serious doubts on the lad.
As stated no doubt on his skill level, height, speed... - all clubs would salivate over the prospect.
But all sportsman who succeed at the elite level have one thing in common - mental strength.
He hasn't demonstrated yet that he has this attribute - maybe it is self confidence, as has been demonstrated by Perrie.

Still all his peers give him praise; captain, football dept, key players:

From the Adelaide Advertiser
With Carey intending to retire after this season Goodwin said 193cm Darwin recruit Hentschel was ready to fill the "King's" boots in attack.
"Trent's put on 5.5kg and worked pretty hard. He has the ability to be there and with the guidance of Wayne and the coaching staff I'm sure he is the next bloke that is going to step up for us," 2000-01 All-Australian Goodwin said.

Must be something I'm missing?
Interesting though that he started today at FB, has played his best football in defense, yet Goody is talking about him replacing Carey in attack?
Is the club seeking to work on his confidence level, by playing him in defense and looking after a player, rather than be hasled by defenders who could dent his confidence at this point of his career.
It might also be the fact he doesnt have the physical strength to take front position neccessary from good forwards.

Perhaps it indicates our lack of depth in the full back position. Presumably Bassett was the other full back. Smart is injured. Doesn't leave many options really.

I wonder where Parker played (assuming he did)?

I'm really pleased about Hudson, although not totally surprised. I really liked the look of him at the last training session I went to, and he was definitely starting to adjust to the tougher training regime at AFL level. He'll be worth a close scrutiny in the pre-season games ahead.

Thats really encouraging to hear, given that he has struggled PS.
At least we're going to get a fair dinkum effort, by the sounds of it, from our number 3 ruckman.

Disappointing Krueger is injured. If I remember, I think he said he had a few niggles B4 Xmas, freshened up over the layoff, and now has re-injured himself.
Looking forward to see this fella perform.

I'd Is a handful 2 Stiffy?? :D The only posters I know of who believe in Hentschel are you and I!!! :p .

Take your blinkers off. I have always said Trent looks like a natural footballer and should be good player in the future.

I can't believe you don't hang on my every word;)

Is a handful 2 Stiffy?? :D
It would appear so, although Macca19 from the other mob is a pretty big wrap for the lad. He watched a lot of SANFL footy and rates Hentschel very highly. So I guess a handful is 3:D

EDIT: I forgot about Jars believeing in the lad so I guess that makes 4 of us.:D

Talk about all guns blazing. Did anyone see the collision between Welsh and Andrews?????? Bring back the biff I say:D

According from the news reports Begley has also performed very well across half-forward and in the midfield. Another encouraging sign.

Ayres was impressed with Hudson's hitout against Biglands but he rightly said that the big test will come against other teams where he doesn't really know how the opposition ruckman move.

Overall it sounds like a good hitout and good signs shown by youngsters.:)

Originally posted by Wayne's-World
Yes I will put my hand up as one who has and continues to have serious doubts on the lad.
As stated no doubt on his skill level, height, speed... - all clubs would salivate over the prospect.
But all sportsman who succeed at the elite level have one thing in common - mental strength.
He hasn't demonstrated yet that he has this attribute - maybe it is self confidence, as has been demonstrated by Perrie.

Still all his peers give him praise; captain, football dept, key players:
I think Perrie is prime example of what a bit of confidence and self-belief can do to a player and as far as skills go give me Hentschel's skills and footy smarts over Perrie's anyday of the week.

Must be something I'm missing?
Yes!!!!!! He can play both ends and has played most of his footy as a forward. Last year he started the season like a house of fire, kicking anywhere between 3-7 goals and picking up 16 odd possesions.

Interesting though that he started today at FB, has played his best football in defense, yet Goody is talking about him replacing Carey in attack?
Is the club seeking to work on his confidence level, by playing him in defense and looking after a player, rather than be hasled by defenders who could dent his confidence at this point of his career.
It might also be the fact he doesnt have the physical strength to take front position neccessary from good forwards.
I think you got that one spot on. He is light and can get pushed out of position easily by bigger defenders. I think he will start his AFL career as a defender and will eventually move up forward. Even in the 3 games he played last year he has improved in each one of them and played his best game against Freo where he played as a defender.

I so wish I could have been there - damn work!

Still I can't wait for next friday night - bring on the trials at Norwood! yay!!!!

k
xx

Most trial games its the old dependables that tend to play well.
Good to hear that it's our new recruits that are standing up and playing well.

Good to hear of the Andrews/Welsh clash - can't remember Marsh being involved in any clash's

They were both running to mark the ball but where running towards each other. Andrews was running with the flight of the ball and collected Welshy. After the clash both of them layed on the ground for a while as they were a bit dazes and winded.

I already like this Andrews kid:D:p

How soon we forget.

There were rumours that he was involved in a vicious clash some time back when he fought the kid with the oranges when he didn't get a piece of one at three quarter time.

Nearly beat that smart arsed 12 year old girl too!! :p

How soon we forget.

There were rumours that he was involved in a vicious clash some time back when he fought the kid with the oranges when he didn't get a piece of one at three quarter time.

Nearly beat that smart arsed 12 year old girl too!! :p
:D

They were both running to mark the ball but where running towards each other. Andrews was running with the flight of the ball and collected Welshy. After the clash both of them layed on the ground for a while as they were a bit dazes and winded.

I already like this Andrews kid:D:p

Would have made the coach's :) :) :) :) :)

I think you got that one spot on. He is light and can get pushed out of position easily by bigger defenders.

If Trent is played in defence, I hope we don't see him pushed out of the way by bigger forwards - Lynch, Rocca, Tredders.

Unfortunatley, I didnt see the footage from Berri on TV last night, so I am a bit annoyed with the Tiser's coverage.

Why would ypu run a story on Ben Hudson in todays edition and not run a photo of him in action
:confused:

The photo of Macca doing nothing was waste of space (as was the Matt Smith pic but at least Stiffy looked good) and didnt complement the article at all. Sloppy editing.