Game Day Crows vs Saints Round One 2025

Who wins?

• Crows

Votes: 22 53.7%
  • Saints

Votes: 19 46.3%

Jones straight in instead of boxhall, underdone Clark as sub, pushed Marshall out of his wheelchair to sit in the forward line, no Keeler or trav. Whatever the **** that was from Hill. Cordy.
How many debutants did we have? How many do Melbourne had?
Ask yourself, am I whinging just because?
What good would it have done to throw Travaglia to the wolves today? He gets 4 touches and goes home demoralised? Sweet.

How many debutants did we have? How many do Melbourne had?
Ask yourself, am I whinging just because?
What good would it have done to throw Travaglia to the wolves today? He gets 4 touches and goes home demoralised? Sweet.

Melbourne have 5 today I think.
Or he plays well and provides a spark and some excitement in this team while getting experience at the level playing with this group. When is it ever not going to be thrown to the wolves in this team? Do we just play jones forever because it might be a widdle bit tough for boxhall or trav?

Much more demoralising being one of the best in preseason, losing your spot and seeing the team get demolished.

Melbourne have 5 today I think.
Or he plays well and provides a spark and some excitement in this team while getting experience at the level playing with this group. When is it ever not going to be thrown to the wolves in this team? Do we just play jones forever because it might be a widdle bit tough for boxhall or trav?

Much more demoralising being one of the best in preseason, losing your spot and seeing the team get demolished.
Who was one of the best in preseason? Only ever read of him being pantsed by Hill and Wood

Good for you champ. Scream into the ether, carry on like a toddler.
I have watched his all preseason. Knew we could only compete with a full list, even then without Battle we would struggle.

With the outside I knew we wouldn't win. They are trying but too small too inexperienced.
But you go with your passion mate.

On SM-S908E using BigFooty.com mobile app
I guess you were not one of the ones that said an abysmal first quarter in the practice match meant nothing then. So I don’t really have a problem with you.

Off you go then, floating down the street high on mediocrity because, you know, you always knew we would have excuses to be so abysmal.

Round 2 Team

 B. Sch'maker Wilkie Webster

H.B. NWM Caminiti Sinclair

C. Wilson Macrae Hill

H.F. Steele Cordy Hall

F. Wood Owens Higgins

Foll. Marshall Garcia Windhager

I/C. Boyd, Keeler, Clark, Jones,  Boxshall-sub

Out. Byrnes, Hastie, O'Connell

I’m a huge Boxshall fan, but can also see why you’d pick the others before him. Can’t select on hindsight. Can’t imagine the coaches are all to pleased with any mid besides Macrae, we’ll see him soon enough.

I didn't notice Windhager much during the game, but his stats say he had 14 contested possessions ( 19 Total ), and more tackles and clearances than most of our insipid team.

Hill and Jones are the only ones i can really single out as underperforming badly.
Otherwise it was a team event.

Your argument is “we are only 2 months younger” and then simultaneously refuse to break down what you’re actually looking at.

We are 2 months younger whilst literally playing every available bit of experience to us.

Boyd inflates the age of the side and yet is also a debutant.

Hall & Irish - 0 games before today (both 23 this year)
Arie 4
Hastie 5
Hugo 9
(All will be 20 this year)

Adelaide.
Draper - 0
Curtain - 9

Worral - 31 (25 next month)
Keane - 31 (25)
Pearling - 45 (25 August)
(Atleast one 1/2 full season of games into them)

Irrelevant where they finished. They recruited hard and went after players already in the system.

We cut further into our list - Membrey would have been handy today for example.

Stocker didn't play. In terms of games played, he's the 17th most experienced player on our list.

I just think the youth thing is a little overplayed. Inexperienced at the level, yes. But not super young.

One of the key metrics that told one that the Richo era was poor was in games we were consistently the older team but had played fewer games. Through the first two years of Ross 2.0, that swapped. If we are really going down a productive youth path, at some stage you need to be consistently younger but more experienced in games played than your opposition.

If one of the three debutants from Sunday ended up playing 50 games for the club, I reckon that would be a success considering where they were acquired (mid-season, Category B rookie, SSP).

Stocker didn't play. In terms of games played, he's the 17th most experienced player on our list.

I just think the youth thing is a little overplayed. Inexperienced at the level, yes. But not super young.

One of the key metrics that told one that the Richo era was poor was in games we were consistently the older team but had played fewer games. Through the first two years of Ross 2.0, that swapped. If we are really going down a productive youth path, at some stage you need to be consistently younger but more experienced in games played than your opposition.

If one of the three debutants from Sunday ended up playing 50 games for the club, I reckon that would be a success considering where they were acquired (mid-season, Category B rookie, SSP).
I’m not sure how it’s overplayed.

6 players with <10 games.
3 of those debutants.

“ If we are really going down a productive youth path”

Why is there doubt here? Are we not the club who has gotten the most games into <23 year olds for each of the last 2 seasons?

It just appears you would have been happier seeing Travaglia Boxshall Dodson over Hall Irish Boyd. Because of where they have been acquired. Hall looks every bit like he has a few years in the system at worst.

I’m not sure how it’s overplayed.

6 players with <10 games.
3 of those debutants.

“ If we are really going down a productive youth path”

Why is there doubt here? Are we not the club who has gotten the most games into <23 year olds for each of the last 2 seasons?

It just appears you would have been happier seeing Travaglia Boxshall Dodson over Hall Irish Boyd. Because of where they have been acquired. Hall looks every bit like he has a few years in the system at worst.

The points I am making is:

• Sunday is a poor example of what we are trying to do, it what we are trying to do is youth
  • Yet somehow we didn't play Stocker which means I am not sure what we were trying to do on Sunday

We were obviously one tall short on Sunday. Where was Keeler? Why doesn't he get gifted games the way Collard did last year?

Just seems a little pick and choose at times. But it's one game so I'm not that worried long term. But the facts are we were well beaten on Sunday by a younger, less experienced side.

• Sunday is a poor example of what we are trying to do, it what we are trying to do is youth
  • Yet somehow we didn't play Stocker which means I am not sure what we were trying to do on Sunday

We were obviously one tall short on Sunday. Where was Keeler? Why doesn't he get gifted games the way Collard did last year?

Just seems a little pick and choose at times. But it's one game so I'm not that worried long term. But the facts are we were well beaten on Sunday by a younger, less experienced side.
The overall age stat is distorted in this argument as a debutant was Boyd. A 27 year old.

Again the key points in this argument is that our side had 6 players with sub 10’games.

After curtain and Draper. The crows rest of sub 50’gamers were 30+ games.

I.e they had minimum 1 1/2 seasons of AFL games into them.

I’m a huge Boxshall fan, but can also see why you’d pick the others before him. Can’t select on hindsight. Can’t imagine the coaches are all to pleased with any mid besides Macrae, we’ll see him soon enough.
I’m a huge fan of you 😘

Rankine, Rachelle, Thilthorpe, Draper all genuine top 5 picks. Other early picks like Fogarty hitting their prime.

2 players come in from a top 4 side in giants.
Premiership player comes in from the Dees.

A young captain dominating. The comp's leading hit-out winner fully fit.

They were younger and they still beat us is a pretty empty isolated observation imo. They're a stacked side with enormous talent at all age levels. We're expecting Box Hill, Irish, SANFL, Blues preseason flash-in-the-pan and Tassie pisspot to get it done. Our best players were having their first runs, and a third of our team was watching on.

Thankfully bloke who couldn't make the dog's midfield came over or it would've been a hundred points.

Individual facts can be picked out to suit any narrative. We're in terrible shape and doing what we can to blood kids but try to compete. As for picking or not picking players, there's always round 2. Or 3 etc.

Game Day Crows vs Saints Round One 2025