Culture problem...

Celtics, AC Milan
I'm going to blow a very big whistle on something here, because performances like the shit that was dished up to the members and supporters last night is unacceptable in my opinion. This club has not played finals in eight years, has been the laughing stock of the competition for as long and it looks like continuing this year unless some very big changes in mentality and performance occur.

Now I made a statement about a certain late night piss up that I witnessed last week at a St Kilda nightspot until the very early hours of the morning and that continued past that point until the sun came up for some very high profile players. Now I know for a fact these blokes had a recovery session at 10 in the morning. The hardness at which these players were partying and the time, i was unsure whether this recovery would be held at the Football club or at Revolver nightclub! Some people on here didn't believe if it was true but it absolutely is!

Now i'm not going to name names except for 1 (maybe 2 cos i find the 2nd interesting) because he was the ring leader and that is big bad "i'll play when I can be bothered and when its not to hard" Brendan Fevola. This bloke has got a well documented inflamed heel, alcohol makes these injuries worse and his level of intoxication was unacceptable for any player mid season in my opinion let alone a player that is overcoming an injury that is hampering his performance. Interesting to note that he rounded the boys up when the place closed at close to 4am and said "lets go to CQ lads" (CQ is a nightclub in the city for those uninitiated) about 8 senior players jumped in a maxicab and away they went. My very good sources tell me that they were at CQ early in the morning!! I'll give you one guess why i think Ryan Houlihan was dropped this week.. if he looked half as pissed and hungover as the last time i saw him when he rocked up to training in the morning shit would've hit the fan.

Back on Fev, last nights performance was a disgrace, he is a cancer on the club on and off the field, when he is hot he is hot when he is not he thinks its his god given right to bring the team down with him. If he was not injured he should come out publically and apologise for that inept effort, didnt run, didnt chase, didnt want to make a hard lead, looked like he'd rather be puffing on **** and sinking piss at a poker table! This guy is on big money, he is a senior player at our club, he is the most important player on our team and he continues to take it all for granted. Not only that, he is doing his very best to lead a number of younger players astray off the field as i saw early Sunday morning of last week. This is simply not good enough.

There is a massive culture problem at the club, and my inside sources in the club (agree or disagree with how credible they are, i'll tell you now they are very credible) say exactly the same thing, off the field some of these guys are out of control, no need to guess who the number 1 problem would be!

You get the feeling that these guys couldn't care less about winning or losing, as long as they half put in on the track and on match day they'll keep their spot and get paid. Their actions off field back up my belief in this. As much as these guys should be allowed to go out and have a drink there must be limits set on time and the level to which they can take it to. These guys are not normal people, they are paid big money to look after their bodies and prepare in a way that will benefit the club on matchday, what i saw last week and what i believe and have been told is not a once off occurence doesnt help that.

Wow!

You obviously care about your footy club.

Agree re: Fev, he has more similarities with Willie Mason than just facial features, and just look how the Bulldogs are going without HIM!
To think that Fev is a 10 year player, and still plays selfish, unintelligent football is quite amazing.

This is not about an individual but a club problem. It may have been a certain 8 this week, what abot the next? There is going out relaxing and stupidity!

Good thread this, like a lot of Carlton supporters we are all disappointed and upset. And like the OP has mentioned it has a lot to do with culture. We have some great young kids in this team, we need to make sure they grow up with the right values and not look to some of these so called senior players as hero's.

It seems true as several posters have said the same so I do not doubt it. It may hep to explain last night, ID a problem and damn well fix it!

Yeah tell us the names of the group. Time to do something about this shameful culture at our club.

I cannot see why it is a problem if the entire group is named if you are a witness. We cannot shoot the messenger!

Not my place to name the whole group, just letting the people know that the blokes who happily take our hard earned every year, happily piss it over the bar til all hours and laugh in our faces when we crack up at em! They couldn't care less especially 25 who has been laughing up and playing up for ten long years! Just thought it interesting after his performance last night, the effort he put in off the ground last weekend there has to be some correlation.

Somethings gotta be done to put these idiots in their place to make them realise they are in a privileged position and to take it seriously. I'll happily also tell people that Judd was the first to leave last weekend with one or two others! Absolute professional and you can tell in his consistent performance every week. They all talk publicly about following Judd, not many followed him home at a reasonable hour last weekend!

Tell us who the others were. I have a feeling we are going to be disappointed when we find out who they were.

Why not your place - you were there we were not?
And why should Fev and Hoops be named whilst others not?

I was there guns, its not my place to name them especially the young players they dont need that, Fev and hoops after fevs performance and the fact that he pretty much has been doing this for 10 years without a care in the world and that he is a senior player, and hoops who was dropped after he wasnt in bad form stuck out at me and i thought it needed to be said.

People need to be aware that there is a problem, maybe the whole group needs to be put under notice.

cos he doesnt know anything and is big noting himself - easy to pull out names like fev and houla as they have done stuff like this before

no worries grro you sit back there in Perth and let the people who go out on the town and see things with their own eyes come and report back to the people that care. I'm not going to name players individually apart from 2 senior ones because they should be setting the younger players on the right path and not the wrong one.

ok , you go and out and get on the piss and come back here and big note yourself and feel all important whilst you drag the club through the mud and the 2 select players you have some vendetta against whilst you hold back some bullshit info so you can get off on the thrill of the attention of having other posters asking you for information

pathetic thread serving nothing more than your ego and to fuel further rumour and innuendo against the club and players

ok , you go and out and get on the piss and come back here and big note yourself and feel all important whilst you drag the club through the mud and the 2 select players you have some vendetta against whilst you hold back some bullshit info so you can get off on the thrill of the attention of having other posters asking you for information

pathetic thread serving nothing more than your ego and to fuel further rumour and innuendo against the club and players

I've got no vendetta against anyone, i happen to love the club and pay a heap of money every year on membership and attend every game in melbourne, i want the best for the players and the club, its no secret that Fev loves a good time. I havent and i will not name any other players apart from him because he has got to pull his head in and start realising that the club is bigger than him. I was disappointed in the behaviour and i've left it at that. I dont know what you are on about, the club is bigger than these guys, it was there before they arrived as players and it will be there long after they are gone, and guess what as long as i'm on the face of the planet and every other fair dinkum supporter is to so will we!!

Its high time they started putting the required effort in, because after performances like last night i'm starting to get very fed up with putting my hard earned in and seeing bugger all return!

I've got no vendetta against anyone, i happen to love the club and pay a heap of money every year on membership and attend every game in melbourne, i want the best for the players and the club, its no secret that Fev loves a good time. I havent and i will not name any other players apart from him because he has got to pull his head in and start realising that the club is bigger than him. I was disappointed in the behaviour and i've left it at that. I dont know what you are on about, the club is bigger than these guys, it was there before they arrived as players and it will be there long after they are gone, and guess what as long as i'm on the face of the planet and every other fair dinkum supporter is to so will we!!

Its high time they started putting the required effort in, because after performances like last night i'm starting to get very fed up with putting my hard earned in and seeing bugger all return!

Top post BB, you speak the truth. We put in our hard earned cash for these guys to show little to no respect to us the supporters. We have tolerated this crap for too long. The reason we used to be a great club was because we had discipline, and conduct like this was not tolerated. I worry for our young guns who look up to these idiots.

The Houlihan thing sounds about right. Why else would he have been dropped?

Scotland was dropped earlier in the year for being out on the piss one night at crown, not sure if he missed a training session or was out too late. Just lucky for the match commitee his form was down the week before (13 touches...i think?)

The nightclub they actually ended up at wasn't CQ it was Tramp in King St.

And for you people saying it doesn't need to be brought up, thinking it is rumour and innuendo you are simply denying the fact that these are high profile players on very large salaries, they are employed to perform at their physical optimum. I would suggest that by going out until the sun comes up the night after a loss is no way to look after your body.

Even more disappointing is the fact we see every week Fevola is struggling with his ankle/foot injury. Going out to the crack of dawn surely couldn’t be good for you could it.
As I stated in another thread, these blokes deserve and are entitled to head out for a drink on a Saturday/Sunday night after a match, but NOT until 7-8-9am. Especially during the MIDDLE of the football season.

Very unprofessional, very selfish. Letting the club and all involved down.