Opinion Cunningham/Lloyd/Rohan/Towers/Jetta/Mitchell/Reid

Apr 19, 2013
The Swans Blog
This is a sort of what do you do with these players thread. Cunningham, Rohan and Lloyd are good, pacey young players with finals experience last year. However, they struggle to fit into our game at times because of their slight size, poor skills under pressure and almost non-existent tackling pressure.

Lloyd
Lloyd to his credit, has good well-rounded game and can find space where there is none, and as he showed last night, is very good in traffic, eerily reminiscent of Pendleberry. But when the heat is on, and he's being scragged and tackled, he really struggles to break it. It will come with experience, but he doesn't have the pace to beat it, nor endurance to outlast, or the physical strength to break it.

Cunningham & Rohan
Cunningham and Rohan are similar players - pacey forwards with good skills, capable of marking it and goaling it. They're both just as quick and can move the ball very fast. However, they've struggled to really peg down a starting position, with Cunningham rolling into the midfield in a tagging role, which he's ill-suited for against better midfielders, and Rohan rotating into the backline, where he really isn't anywhere near good enough for. I think it's too much to play both in the same side, because for their upside in pace and directness, we lose too much in physical pressure.

Towers
I really don't know enough about him, but he's been on the cusp for a while and each time he's had a chance he's shown just enough to get another chance, in the same way that Jesse White did. I personally don't think he's anywhere near good enough to play.

Jetta
His 2011 & 2012 seasons were excellent playing off the wing, but faded in 2013 with an inexplicable and quite frankly, absurd role change to get him closer to the contests. I think the flow-on impact was Hanneberry and KJack both experiencing poor patches of form together. It really hurt us too, because we just stacked the contests with too many players, and when we were able to move the ball out, which KJ and Hanners are excellent at, there wasn't anyone on the outside to release.

I feel that swapping Jetta with Rohan/Cunningham/Llyod as our release players was just bad coaching. 2014 wasn't any better with calls for his dropping and even trade (me included) throughout the season. He had a pretty good premilinary final, probably his best of the season, but still no where near as good as the form he showed in the 2012 finals series, where he was easily one of our best. His grand final was atrocious, like so many others.

It is my hope that he's moved back to the wing where he can exploit his pace and excellent foot skills and start hitting the scoreboard again. Too far forward and you risk reducing his running space, and too far back he just doesn't get involved. He's not good enough, nor tough enough (but he sure can tackle) to be an inside midfielder, and he just doesn't have the strength to break a tackle to be an outside midfielder (eg. Judd/Fyfe type). He's an out and out winger and should be played as such. It's really just bad coaching to try to shape him to something else.

Mitchell
Conundrum and mystery of the 21st century for the Sydney Swans. Practically BOG in his first 3 games, even had 3 votes towards the brownlow, and barely gets a sight since. Sure, ankle injury and a few piss-poor games aside, he was an excellent inside midfielder who had no problem getting tough and winning the ball. He was winning it more than Kennedy, and Kennedy is considered the premier inside midfielder! Considered trade bait because he can't get a look in ahead of Cunningham, Lloyd, BJack, Rohan and other youngsters, even when we're getting slaughtered in the middle. Whilst he lacks pace, he sure doesn't lack in hand skills, but couldn't kick his way out of a wet paper bag.

For me, he has to be playing, and we just have to use KJack and Hanners on the outside to move the ball fast to players like Jetta who can run with it, or McVeigh who can pin point consistently over 45-50m's.

Reid
Came on with a tonne of potential and so far has lived up to none of it. For me, this can be traced all the way back to the North Melbourne game in 2012 when he had his shoulder knocked. Before that game he was throwing himself into packs, crashing them, even destroying them, and clunking marks regularly. Something about that game really threw his confidence, because he's been shit ever since. Sure, he played most of 2012 with an injury, but so did many other players, but never did they look so inept. I watched him drop marks without pressure that you'd expect someone in Auskick to take, but before that knock, was taking screamers.

He epitomizes confidence players; without confidence, he really looks bad, but with it, he looks like he could be the next Riewoldt. I think he really needs to go back to the reserves and get that confidence back, the desire to crash packs and start clunking it. We don't rely on him as much to get 2 or 3 goals each game, but we do need him to lead up the ground and take marks, or swing into defence and do it competently. He isn't small or as skinny as he was 2 years ago. His arms and shoulders are damn big so he shouldn't be getting shifted off the ball by some midget - he should be flattening them on the way to taking a screamer.

Team changes
I think it's imperative that the team is changed so that players like McVeigh and Jetta can have a better impact in their natural positions, and that the midfield is properly balanced. We need our best ball users on the outside, playing off the wings and half-back flanks. We can't do that if that consists of Rohan and Cunningham, and Jetta being played in no-mans land.

For me, I would send Cunningham to the subs bench, Rohan and Goodes back to reserves, move Jetta and Lloyd to the wings, start McVeigh and Jones (if he's good enough) at HBF, put Laidler in the pocket, bring Mitchell into the middle as the 2nd follower, start Hanners and KJack as HFF but obviously to follow the ball around and Heeny to the forward pocket. If Reid is to play, it has to be as the CHF with Franklin and Tippet deep forwards.

The team should be dynamic and intelligent enough to figure out who players where, but we have a penchant for having too many players around the ball and not enough forwards, or even outside players to move or receive the ball.

If Jones isn't good enough, I'd rather see Shaw playing HBF than in the pocket, he just gets exposed way too much.

Lloyd is a gun and should be first 18. He turned that game yesterday. Tough, speedy, skillful with a football brain. I cannot praise this kid enough. In a few years he will have to learn to deal with a tag.

Cunningham despite a awful day yesterday is the same as Lloyd. He is our best tagger and will learn to be offensively problematic for his tag this year.

These two, plus Buddy, are the best users of the footy in the team. Automatic starters.

Rohan is getting close to Rampe defensively ans I rate Rampe a hell of a lot. Uses his pace far better in defence than attack and will be a rock down there by mid season. Leave him to develop.

Jetta is an outside offensive weapon. Play him as such. Tell him to stop trying to look tough and be tough. Couldn't give two shits about guys that grab shirts and shake it a bit. That is pointless. Cocking a fist needs to be a statement of intent not an advertising slogan. Throw it or leave it out.

Towers. I don't see it. I just don't. Gets knocked out of contests too easily. Just a player like 100's of others.

Mitchell. Will be A grade mid. Should be in the team full stop.

Reid. Dunno. Give him a role and let him play it even if it as a ruck.

Team changes.......Mitchell in, Towers out then work out who McPoint and McBabe come in for when the time is right. Goodes Reid most in danger.

PS Thought Laidler did really well at both ends and Rampe was huge in the last when switched to mid. Rampe would be interesting for the Hawks to handle up the field particularly Lewis - except Gunston would run riot back.

Towers. I don't see it. I just don't. Gets knocked out of contests too easily. Just a player like 100's of others.

I could be wrong but I thought Towers was one of our better players yesterday. He used the ball a lot better than a lot of our others. He got 16 disposals which isn't bad but I would like it if he increased that so he was averaging 20 disposals a game. If he can do that then he definitely has a place in the best 22.

Jetta - has his flaws but cops way more flak than he probably deserves compared to other underperformers. His 2014 was good, besides the GF. He easily is best 22 because he can do one thing many others in the side can't. Kick, and hit a target rare skill in our team.

Lloyd - doesn't even deserve to be questioned, has barely put a foot wrong. Best 21 for sure atm. Shouldn't have been the sub.

Reid - Underperformer so far probably needs to play KD, we don't have a better option atm so make do with what we have, makes him best 21 atm, especially if Goodes can't improve his form, but if Reid doesn't pick it up over the next couple weeks needs to find some confidence in the reserves.

Rohan - Needs to play more consistently, but has glimpses and patches of a high quality... should by no means be a best 22 lock, needs to earn his position. Still a best 19-25 player atm. On current form, in danger of getting dropped.

Mitchell - should get more chances than he does, and he performs when he plays to, should be in the best 18-25...yet seems on the outer.

Cunningham - Good last year, so probably is getting the benefit of the doubt. Best 19-25, shouldn't be a lock and on current form in danger of getting dropped.

Towers - Obviously a fringe player was ok yesterday and at least has earned his spot though form, needs to improve his kicking if he's going to play the role he does.

Having said that Rohan, Towers and Cunningham can not all start in the best 21 at the same time (in a side that already contains Jetta, who is clearly ahead of them), unless one of them takes it to a whole new level. Too many outsiders who don't win enough ball, or at least enough of their own ball for one side to carry.
Rohan has the attack on the ball, and Cunningham has the best skills, Towers is probably in the best current form though. One needs to sub or go to the reserves next week.

Every player on this list is young even reid has time on his side

Goodes shaw pyke and lesser extent richards are my concern

Rohan played a role in the comeback yesterday when its his time he goes he has pace and shows a bit either end. I keep him in just my view

Reid should be a defender he was more use there yesterday than forward but he needs to work on body contact in the ressies

Grand final aside im not sure why lloyd is in the list??? should not be sub

Cunningham can kick a goal normally yesterdays shot was a shocker he goes missing for chunks but is versatile id pick him over jetta for speed

Jetta should be a gun but he is a lazy soft player i suspect he has been told this and he thinks a scuffle or two makes him tough when he just needs to put his head over it. Has skills and class i remember once seeing his impact compared to rioli like in 2012 that's long gone. Isnt a half backs arseh*le just play him fwd wing

Mitchell should of been traded if he is ranked so low because never gets a go he is a slowish player but he is class we neee him in the starting 21

Towers is growing on me i liked his game he has a go id rather put time into him then watch shaw stuff up and ruin his legacy

reasonable post and discussion but i still think it fundamentally misses the point.

this is a salary capped league. we have used a fair chunk of salary on some pretty decent players. this inevitably means we are going to have some foot soldiers.

i don't think lloyd is an out and out gun. he was very good last night. he was, like most of the team barely there in the gf, but even in the other finals wasn't particularly spectacular.

i think the game has gone past goodes but he will get a few more chances. i want to see mitchell in the team because i think pike has been found out and goodes who was an out and out champion at contested footy is just going. we can't rely on the hb line winning the ball all the time. we have to have players win it and get it forwards.

i am a fan of towers. i think he has repeatedly shown something going forwards. but he could do more on the tackling front tbh.

i am a fan of jetta. i think it crap that players put their head over the ball to get it knocked off on every occasion. thats brainless. you choose your battles. i didn't like the way he pulled out of the contest yesterday because it wasn't bell chambers or carlisle but i think it was collyer. jack who has heaps of courage pulled out of two contests with hurley. differently but he had the choice to bump and instead chose to run the long way round. on both occasions hurley won the contest.

im not a big fan of cunningham. but i won't bag him. i just think he takes a look before he gets the ball. so he fumbles too often.

my real concern is the stoppages and not these outside players. we are repeatedly being second to the ball against committed sides. it is pike, jack, kennedy, parker, hanners, - the inside crew - that are worrying to me. between the hawks and the bombers and even north, we were second to the ball too often. we rely so much on the back 7 to win the ball and get it back to the midfield that we are exposed when the ball is there endlessly. like the gf the first quarter was the defence holding up under wave after wave of attack. it is inevitable that this will lead to goals when the game is played between the centre square and our defensive goal square.

Mitchell and reid are highly paid
But neither of them are competing with Lloyd, Cunningham, Jetta, towers and rohan who are all the outside receiver. I've said elsewhere we should either have traded Mitchell or played him - and I don't reside from that view. Reid is harder. I still think he might make an excellent tall defender - he has good closing speed and with an uninterupted run at the ball - such as defenders get - his long arms could be very useful. But I think he lacks confidence and can get down on himself very quickly.

Agree with all of that

I think reid can be a good defender, just maybe go to ressies and get confidence first

Mitchell yep play or trade plenty want him, id like to see us give him a go though

I agree that the midfield is getting cut up too often. I think that's down to outside players being forced to play inside. 2 or 3 seasons ago you would never have associated KJ or Hanners with being inside midfielders. They weren't then and they certainly aren't now. Jetta's role was changed to utilise his pace on the outside of contests, to almost like a tagging role, but thank **** that changed mid-season with Hanners being played in that position, and his output immediately lifted, like as if it was a switch being flipped.

Why the hell we have our best ball users at the bottom of packs beggars belief. We yell and complain and scream at the TV when Jetta squibs, but he isn't a contested ball winner, and he'd be lucky to win 1 or 2 a game. He's an out-and-out wide player with exceptional pace and excellent foot skills, and better yet, can kick it 60m accurately, consistently.

I personally think that we're 2nd to the ball a lot of the time because we're undersized in the contest. It really isn't a coincidence that Parker moving into the midfield had a sudden upturn in contested ball wins, because he was a player like O'Keefe. We don't need 20 Jude Bolton's, but we can't play 4 Schneiders or Buchanans as inside midfielders. Captains don't need to be the plebs at the bottom of every pack getting their heads kicked in, they can be just as effective anywhere on the pitch. The whole notion that we have to have 10 outright inside midfielders on the ground at any time is just absurd. You don't see teams like Collingwood, North or Hawthorn with 10 inside midfielders. They've got a core of 4 or 5 midfielders and that's what they go with all game.

It's about time we set our team up in a similar fashion, and it's no bloody wonder that the team started performing after they were rejigged.

I liked Lloyd's game when he came on, but bear in mind the Bombers were a rotation down due to Myers being subbed off so early.

No they weren't since both teams had 3 on the bench. A sub is not a rotation. Conversely, the Swans were a rotation down from the start of the 4th.

True that, I meant that Lloyd was able to have more impact in the last quarter because their sub was forced to come earlier, but I guess Parker's injury cancelled that out.

I find it amazing that a team who's down a rotation always seems to be more desperate and plays better for a shorter period of time than their opposition. Of course in the end they wear out, but we've been down players before, even 2 players, and played out of our skins.

Interesting analysis ..
I think Rohan, Mitchell and Lloyd have the best young potential, granted they havent played their best but they need time to be developed properly, rohan has had some interrupted seasons so I think he needs a good solid year without injury to rediscover his form. I think when he and jetta finally click in the defence we will be a force to reckon with, due to the run and carry these two will provide. Reid well hmm he needs to find a position and stick with it..Cunningham has shown potential, I think they all need time. I think we need to give the younger boys such as nankervis and Naismith a go otherwise they will do a membrey and leave.

Interesting analysis ..
I think Rohan, Mitchell and Lloyd have the best young potential, granted they havent played their best but they need time to be developed properly, rohan has had some interrupted seasons so I think he needs a good solid year without injury to rediscover his form. I think when he and jetta finally click in the defence we will be a force to reckon with, due to the run and carry these two will provide. Reid well hmm he needs to find a position and stick with it..Cunningham has shown potential, I think they all need time. I think we need to give the younger boys such as nankervis and Naismith a go otherwise they will do a membrey and leave.

Welcome aboard

I really believe mitchell will burn us if he goes to another club
He'll become our version of Hawthorn's JPK. Father-son selection, one-paced midfield extractor with a poor kick, current club not willing to shift their current setup to accommodate him. Goes to new club and becomes one of the AFL's elite inside mids.

Hawks didnt keep kennedy on the list for years though when he should of been playing

Lloyd has superstar written all over him. Really surprised he was made sub. It's something I hate in round 1 that a talented kid who had finished last season off pretty well is made sub. I know it's not make or break but it's a kick in the guts, shows a bit of a lack of confidence in him IMO and can sometimes undo a lot of good work and confidence built up throughout pre season.

Opinion Cunningham/Lloyd/Rohan/Towers/Jetta/Mitchell/Reid