NeRFaHoLIc

Oct 5, 2004
Liverpool, Boston Celtics
Okay, I've heard of some pathetic customer complaints. But today I think I experienced the worst one. Like, I didn't know if I could take this seriously. It just made me question whether there is intelligent life on Earth. I work at Dan Murphy's, I didn't witness it but I received the complaint.

Customer complained because he purchased something from another store, and when he received his change, he received a $5 note and a $2 coin. Which most people would think "Hey I was meant to receive $7 change, I got given $7 change, all is good!" No not this imbecile. His $2 coin wasn't shiny enough, it was dirty!

Goodness gracious me! How dare he receive a dirty coin! But what's this, when he asked for a shiny coin, the girl at the cashier didn't take him seriously, so he didn't receive his shiny coin!? What an absolute disgrace.

Seriously this guy wrote like 20 lines for his email complaint saying how he felt absolutely belittled that he was given a dirty coin. He went on saying how it isn't the right way to do business etc. etc.

And his closing line just made me question life in general. Something along the lines of "I can't possibly imagine how often this happens to other customers, dirty coins are insulting, I for one won't tolerate it!"

I seriously hope this guy was just pissed off his head and thought it would be a good laugh, but if you read the whole thing you would think he is being serious.

Anyone else had some absolutely petty customer complaints?

Thats unbelievable a shinier coin?

When I used to do pizza delivery one guy who lived up the street got one delivered and complained saying that the $4.50 delivery was too much for how close he was to the store - if you don't like it go to the store you lazy prick.

Not so much petty as its just downright stupid, but working for a gas/elec company I has a customer call up and complain that the light in one of her rooms wasnt working. I asked her whether any of the lights or electrical appliances were working in the other rooms and she said they were. After she called the company everything under the sun and said she was going straight to the ombudsmanand that we were a bunch of crooks, I asked her to try putting a new light globe in and seeing if that worked. The disconnected tone of embarassment was music to my ears.

Yeh some people are just ****ing stupid.

Just like with our price matching policy. People think if they buy something from us, then 2 days later find that someone had it cheaper, they expect a refund for the difference.

Can you do that with petrol? NOOOOO!

ahhhh working in customer service. isn't it fun.

i suppose in just about every job there is an element of customer service - some more than others. in very few there is none at all.

and having worked in a fair few bars over the years, the amount of pisshead people complaining about things makes you wonder...

my favourite is people complaining about the prices of things, which are just obviousbly not set by the poor fella working behind the counter, but has to cop shit for them. especially at sporting and music events where people know they are going to be charged through the nose.

ahhhh working in customer service. isn't it fun.

i suppose in just about every job there is an element of customer service - some more than others. in very few there is none at all.

and having worked in a fair few bars over the years, the amount of pisshead people complaining about things makes you wonder...

my favourite is people complaining about the prices of things, which are just obviousbly not set by the poor fella working behind the counter, but has to cop shit for them. especially at sporting and music events where people know they are going to be charged through the nose.
Yeh I'm used to people complaining about prices. More often than not it's said in tongue and cheek. But this guy, actually going home, starting his computing, and writing such a long email to complain over the condition of a $2 coin is just sad.

Not nearly as bad, but a customer walked in to my drycleaning place with a jacket and a cardigan, and told me that they were to be done under a shirt special, because that's what the senior drycleaner did the last time he was served (For the record, shirts are $4, cardigans are about $8, jackets $10). I told him that theres no way that is going under a shirt special and after 10 minutes of trying to persuade me into doing that he decided not to put the two germents in.

I then rang up the drycleaner to ask him if he had made such a mistake and he told me the customer is telling a pack of lies.

I have so many customers who belive that just because i work for a fast food company that tries to keep the customers happy we owe them a duty or something, like were elected or something like that. we had a customer come in the other day about 20mins after we closed and demanded that we cook him some food, saying it was his right and when we refused he said he was taking us to his local MP! at which point i had to butt in to inform him that MPs deal with legislation, not petty customer complaints and he does not in fact have a legal right to be served, but that we do have legal hygiene rules that mean we have to clean things properly and even if we wanted to, cant cook food on them just after theyve been washed as they would still be covered in chemicals and also even if we dont have a legal right, the kids who were working, especially the ones in high school have a right to get home at the proper time so they can be awake at school the next day!

The amount of people who think the line "the customer is always right" is a legal guarantee astounds me! especially since the customer is very rarely right!

I work at Woolworths delis. I've only been there about a month but some of the customers I have to deal with...unbelievable....

I've got three story.

1. When you want to buy something at deli and theres a lot of people, you grab a ticket right? Well this one sucker yelled at me to be served because he wanted a roast chicken. He thinks just because he only wants a single roast chicken, he can cut in front of about 10 people. I told him mate you gotta have a ticket otherwise its unfair for the rest of the customers who have a ticket. The guy just makes a face as if thats the most ridiculous thing he's ever heard and goes GET STUFFED and storms off. Unbelievable....
the arseh*le comes back 20 mins later and asks for a chicken, I didnt wanna serve him in case i start a fight so got my mate to serve him.

2. There was two ham legs for around 1.20 each. An old lady comes in and asks which one has more meat on it. I go i'll weight it for you, and she's like ok ok so i weight them both and give her the prices. She's like nooo but i want to know WHICH ONE HAS MORE MEAT! so i had to end up checking the weight and price about 3 times and still she's not satisfied. She wouldn't leave until she knew which one actually had more meat on it. FFS its 1.20 each who gives a crap if theres about 5 grams difference. My manager came and told her to just choose one.

3. Some customers are just cry babies. This didn't happen to me but i witnessed it happen to my mate during work. It was really busy and this guy was waiting about 5 mins and when my mate went to serve him he's like YOU DIDN'T APOLOGIZE ABOUT KEEPING ME WAITING! you have to apologize! apologize right now! and my friend actually did apologize except the arseh*le didn't hear so my friend just refused to apologize again and just left the guy waiting and after a while he's like **** this and just gave his order. He comes in every week and just tries to start crap, like accusing the number of staffs we have. I hate customers who complain about not enough staffs working, go to a bloody factory if you want to see heaps of workers. It's not like companies don't try to employ workers, its because of customers like that, that there are lack of workers in the first place.

Okay... I think instant karma came after me. Because today I received THE WORST CUSTOMER EVER. This lady was a ****ing bitch and I hope to god she dies in her sleep tonight.

Earlier in the day she rang up to place an order for delivery. The person took her order, went to charge it, but the credit card didn't go through. So they've rung her up, left a message saying card didn't go through, please call back to confirm all details.

So she called back about 3 hours later, I was LUCKY enough to get her call. Then it began...

She absolutely screamed at me for saying her card didn't go through. It somehow implied that she was a criminal and dishonest. She went on and on about how it makes her extremely upset. I apologised (I don't know what for) but finally move on to confirming her credit card details. I run over the credit card number, the expiry date and the verification number. Try to charge it again, but it didn't go through.

So again, she has a massive sook and demands that I tell her what is wrong. I said I don't know, a problem with the card maybe, talk to your bank. She screamed again, saying she was being belittled. I say well the details you gave me aren't working. I confirm them with her again, and then she realizes the expiry date was wrong (but again it was my fault). Order finally goes through.

I was hoping that would be the end of it, but no...

She now wanted to add to the order. She asked for another case of wine (ordering Cleanskins so obviously this bitch has no taste). The one she wanted was out of stock at the moment, so could take a week to order in. This didn't go down well (surprise) she said it wouldn't take a week, I said it could, she said no, I said it could, she said no, I said it could (this went on for like a minute).

Then she demands to know when it will arrive. I go it's done by Australia Post, so I can't give you an exact time. She yells "TELL ME!" I said I don't know. She yelled it again. I was about to swear at her, seriously how childish could she be. But I somehow kept my cool and told her I can't give you an exact time or day, and yelling at me isn't going to make it get there faster.

We FINALLY moved beyond that, and she said I wasn't treating her like a human, and that she feels as if she is going to go and cry now. I shouldn't have, but I apologized for the whole inconvenience etc. etc. Then she called me a robot and that I didn't care about her (I don't know about the robot part, but hell yeah I don't care about you).

She then cracked the shits and hung up.

She turned a small problem that should take about a minute into a 25 minute argument.

To Mrs. O'Connor of Prahran... I hope you die a terrible painfully slow death. :thumbsu:

Okay, I've heard of some pathetic customer complaints. But today I think I experienced the worst one. Like, I didn't know if I could take this seriously. It just made me question whether there is intelligent life on Earth. I work at Dan Murphy's, I didn't witness it but I received the complaint.

Customer complained because he purchased something from another store, and when he received his change, he received a $5 note and a $2 coin. Which most people would think "Hey I was meant to receive $7 change, I got given $7 change, all is good!" No not this imbecile. His $2 coin wasn't shiny enough, it was dirty!

Goodness gracious me! How dare he receive a dirty coin! But what's this, when he asked for a shiny coin, the girl at the cashier didn't take him seriously, so he didn't receive his shiny coin!? What an absolute disgrace.

Seriously this guy wrote like 20 lines for his email complaint saying how he felt absolutely belittled that he was given a dirty coin. He went on saying how it isn't the right way to do business etc. etc.

And his closing line just made me question life in general. Something along the lines of "I can't possibly imagine how often this happens to other customers, dirty coins are insulting, I for one won't tolerate it!"

I seriously hope this guy was just pissed off his head and thought it would be a good laugh, but if you read the whole thing you would think he is being serious.

Anyone else had some absolutely petty customer complaints?

Perhaps that chap should take a visit to the children's cancer ward at a hospital to try & gauge how important a shiny coin is in the scheme of things.
What a self-indulgent twat.

I have worked with customers all my life & have had plenty of colourful experiences. One that springs to mind was when i was traning a young teller on the counter and as to be expected he was slightly slower (& i mean only slightly) than the experienced folk.
He was doing a great job in his initial days & was very polite to the customer whom the majority would end the transaction with kinds words such as "well done", good luck", "good job" & the like.

One joker though thought that the extra 10-15 was too much for him (even though he did not hurry off & seemed like a bloke whith alot on) & when the transaction ended he looked at me & said "train your staff in your own time" WTF ??

I have so many customers who belive that just because i work for a fast food company that tries to keep the customers happy we owe them a duty or something, like were elected or something like that. we had a customer come in the other day about 20mins after we closed and demanded that we cook him some food, saying it was his right and when we refused he said he was taking us to his local MP! at which point i had to butt in to inform him that MPs deal with legislation, not petty customer complaints and he does not in fact have a legal right to be served, but that we do have legal hygiene rules that mean we have to clean things properly and even if we wanted to, cant cook food on them just after theyve been washed as they would still be covered in chemicals and also even if we dont have a legal right, the kids who were working, especially the ones in high school have a right to get home at the proper time so they can be awake at school the next day!

The amount of people who think the line "the customer is always right" is a legal guarantee astounds me! especially since the customer is very rarely right!

[youtube]-eREiQhBDIk[/youtube]

Here is the email he sent through:

TO WHOM IT MAY CONCEDRN

I shopped today at Coburg Victoria store today. And I was not impressed by the customer service of your company staffs. The check out girl Phill and store manager Jade. I thought that I pass this message to the management. Usually I never do this but I had to because of my involvement as a manager at Carlton restaurant in the hospitality industry. General service is expected no matter how value you give it to the customers in terms of money. And I know Dan Murphy takes pride in its price value given to its customer.

The situation:
7 Dec 2007 Thursday at 1pm.
I went to purchase some liquor. I purchased liquor worth A$50 by credit cards. I missed the key ring which was near the counter. I did not intend buy it when I went to the store. But I liked it so I decided to buy it. Since it was worth A$2.99 I decided to use cash. I gave A$10 and the check out girl game me a change. The A$2 coin was very worn out and it is very hard to give it to any shops. As I am involved in business it is easy to give it back to bank. So I politely asked the Phill(lady the name may sound as gentleman) to change it for me. The reaction was not good and I had to ask her 3 times for it. Not only her reaction but also her words to me"If you don't take it someone else will" I am pretty sure no person would take it in a right mind as it is very difficult for individual to use it. Business can give it to bank. It was a very simple thing for her to do it.
I said to her that may be I need to speak to her about this behavior. There was a lady beside her who said that she was the manager. Her name is Jade. She said to me that she would handle the case and said good day. But her non verbal reaction was different. I am a manager too and I have a genuine customer complaints sometimes about the staff member. And there is a pattern to deal with this. We all do. It is human nature. I was not impressed with her.
I was not very impressed and I am pretty sure that every body noticed it including customers.

I am pretty sure that my one complaint may not be important but surely it is a sure sign to deal with your staffs for future customer dealings. Bad coins are insulting and I felt looked down.

I hope to hear from you soon.

I also love the fact how he couldn't even get the date right in his complaint. (Speaking of, I was bored working on Sunday so this is how I stumbled across this old complaint.)

I like the need for stating that it was Australian dollars he was negotiating. What other currency's do you use ??

And, if he is in business, he would probably takes bags & bags of coins to the bank anyway which would be bloody well weighed & thrown to the side in a split second. They are not going to sift through every coin in the bag FFS.

He could also put it in some sort of machine the dopey clown.

I like the need for stating that it was Australian dollars he was negotiating. What other currency's do you use ??

And, if he is in business, he would probably takes bags & bags of coins to the bank anyway which would be bloody well weighed & thrown to the side in a split second. They are not going to sift through every coin in the bag FFS.

He could also put it in some sort of machine the dopey clown.
Yeh so true.

There are just some people who like to complain for the sake of complaining. Like the lady I dealt with last night, she just wanted to pick a fight. No matter what I said she was going to take offense to it.

We get a lot of clearly made up complaints as well becuase generally its just easier to replace them then have to deal with peoples attitudes. I mean to lie just to get a couple of dollars worth of food is fairly stupid so i dont have high expectations of their intelligence but the other day we got an emailed complaint from someone saying that instead of a fillet of chicken in thier burger they got a drumstick! this was cleary a lie as even if we had run out of fillets and couldnt be bothered arguing, there are a million other things we would use instead of a drumstick! and also, even if the person who made it put it in there as a joke, the person who served it would have noticed.

seriously people like this frustrate me - sometimes i get homeless people coming in and making up lies about getting the wrong food and i give them free stuff, but for someone to go to the trouble of calling our head office and potentially getting us in serious trouble just for a free burger is just mean - risking some 15-18 year olds thier job just for $4.75 worth of food - get a life!! at least be realistic and say it was undercooked or a hair in thier or something - but a completly different piece of chicken, kept on the opposite site of the store?? grrrrrrrr :mad:

We get a lot of clearly made up complaints as well becuase generally its just easier to replace them then have to deal with peoples attitudes. I mean to lie just to get a couple of dollars worth of food is fairly stupid so i dont have high expectations of their intelligence but the other day we got an emailed complaint from someone saying that instead of a fillet of chicken in thier burger they got a drumstick! this was cleary a lie as even if we had run out of fillets and couldnt be bothered arguing, there are a million other things we would use instead of a drumstick! and also, even if the person who made it put it in there as a joke, the person who served it would have noticed.

seriously people like this frustrate me - sometimes i get homeless people coming in and making up lies about getting the wrong food and i give them free stuff, but for someone to go to the trouble of calling our head office and potentially getting us in serious trouble just for a free burger is just mean - risking some 15-18 year olds thier job just for $4.75 worth of food - get a life!! at least be realistic and say it was undercooked or a hair in thier or something - but a completly different piece of chicken, kept on the opposite site of the store?? grrrrrrrr :mad:
Yeh I know it sucks. Especially when they get away with it.

Like I did this order for a wedding, they wanted it delivered on a weekend, cold. Normally we don't do this, as it's AusPost however if really needed we can. I felt generous so I thought I would do it for this guy. I double checked all the stock etc. verified everything. Wedding comes, guy calls up on the Monday saying he asked for a certain vintage and didn't get it. Now I know for a fact he didn't ask for a particular vintage. Because I went over everything that many times, that had he mentioned it, I would have made sure it was that vintage.

So he complains to my boss, she goes by my word and says no you didn't etc. so now he takes the complaint higher up, and is probably going to get something for free out of it.

Shits me.

The only thing that makes me feel better when dealing with people like this, especially ones who pick fights about nothing, is the knowledge that if they are this petty and stupid over such small things, they probably dont have very exciting or fullfilling lives and more then likely dont have any friends:D

What a knob. Someone should tell him that putting it in a glass of lamonade or coke for a few hours and the coin would be fine. What a precious, self-important little ****wit.

I'm lucky in the sense that at my current job, the first thing my boss told me was; "the customer is right when the customer is actually right". As soon as they realise that you aren't going to put up with their shit, annoying people like this usually just give up.

Years ago when I worked in a bank branch there was a customer going off at a young girl teller -swearing and carrying on. The manager came out of her office and had a word, but he didn't stop.

So, she wrote out a bank cheque for the balance of his account and gave it to him. Told him his account was closed, and the bank didn't want or need customers like him - very cool.

Another time I had a customer withdrawing a fair bit - about $5000 in cash. He wanted all in hundreds, which is fair enough, except we only had about $4000 in hundreds in the branch. He couldn't (or wouldn't) get that we only had what we had - we don't print the stuff.

Customer Complaint