GWS, NA Roosters, ATL Falcons
I've given him time
But after tonights costly game
and a few games below my expectations he is just not up to AFL standard

Cut him, and give someone who has a future in the AFL a spot on the field

At half time some were saying how good he was and now people are saying how bad he his.

Just like a yo-yo, just like a yo-yo.

I am yet to develop any strong opinion on him.

he has moments where he looks like a star, a real player.

Then he misses a target and the ball goes over his head. However I am blaming the coaching staff for this because every single one of our players this year have had terrible disposal.

I'd like to see him after we have a pre-season where they actually concentrate on footy compared to WTF they were doing this summer.

Not the worst there tonight. Not totally sure if the backlines are where his home is.

he is a list filler, a depth player. He has served a purpose wth our injuries and I think he has done a decent job, but I think he has done his dash. Symes for Schmidt next week I think.

He's young and will make mistakes but it's what he learns from them that counts. I think we should wait until the end of next season to see if he has improved and warrants a spot on our list.

I am not prone to saying anything on this site, but yes is the answer to that statement. If you are under six foot, your have to be a little bit better than Chris is.

Good SANFL player, weak link against a good/average AFL team.

Argue away

he lacks the quality and decision making to be a consistently good player at this level

you can describe some of his errors as school boy errors

Panicky tonight. Had a case of the fumbles and was very defensive with his thought.

Run back in the SANFL to regain confidence and push for future selection.

This is a regrettable thread...

He is making some mistakes yes... but that kickin from Davis was a good foot over his head and more the reason for the turn over.

Other mistakes are a reflection of the immense pressure he is often under.

He has played 10 AFL games...

I expect we could easily replace him with Johncock next week... but he is giving an honest effort each week and I can forgive the mistakes along the way as long as he develops over time.

This is a very very harsh thread in all honesty... I'd be happy if someone aborts it.

Probably his worst game for us tonight, made several costly mistakes, conversely he was involved in a couple of our better passages of play.

I think he has quite reasonable in the main, no star, but gives an honest effort, certain to be retained on our list IMO.

If you reckon Schmidt was bad, you obviously weren't watching Walker tonight, absolutely insipid performance!!!

I've already learnt my lesson on Walker
if I hadn't I would of already of made a thread under the title of what Dunstall said
"He doesn't do enough without the ball" - Dunstall on Walker

I must admit that I am not yet convinced he will make it as an AFL footballer. He appears to make a lot of mistakes and he was beaten one on one a couple of times tonight. Then again he is still young and could improve.

Cut Riggy from Bigfooty.

That is all.

Great Point mate . Half the posters on here are a joke. Everyone was praising Schmidt up until the last quartereven on the radio. he was really good. he stuffs up one kick in the last quarter and everyone on here goes crazy. How abot Armstrongs , Reilly and Thompson kicks that missed targets tonigh. Mcleods miss of sitter mark, even one of favouruites Mackay missed the target horrribly in the last quarter and also spilled a mark that cost a goal.

Everyone makes mistakes but as always onlt the same few are always maligned. I watch each game twice each week and Scmidt has been good, not the best but definitely good.

We have too many followers who do not create the play but just follow the man and are waht I call reactive players rather than creative player. You cant win playing like this today. Reilly,Scmidt, Doughty, Davis, Van Berlo, Patrenko. Their main part of their play is defensive so we get little crativity out of them. They are always following their man and do this well however get no offense out of this kind of play.

Looks like a half decent rebounder with limited defending ability.

And I'd know, Port invented that role!

This is a regrettable thread...

He is making some mistakes yes... but that kickin from Davis was a good foot over his head and more the reason for the turn over.

Other mistakes are a reflection of the immense pressure he is often under.

He has played 10 AFL games...

I expect we could easily replace him with Johncock next week... but he is giving an honest effort each week and I can forgive the mistakes along the way as long as he develops over time.

This is a very very harsh thread in all honesty... I'd be happy if someone aborts it.

Good post. I think he will be serviceable player in the future. When he first got in the team his decision making and awareness was quite good and he has a really nice handball, which is pretty uncommon nowadays. I think he could do with some time in the SANFL though

Possibly handy depth, but he's very, very average.

No redeeming features that stand out at this level. Medium sized, average disposal, dodgy defensively would be a kind description - there's not a lot that screams AFL footballer to me.

I know some posters here do like him, but I just can't see a future.

Our defence is just so ridiculously indecisive when they have the ball - and this leads to numerous significant errors. Stevens, Schmidt, Doughty and Reilly having the ball in the back half so frequently is just plain scary.

Possibly handy depth, but he's very, very average.

No redeeming features that stand out at this level. Medium sized, average disposal, dodgy defensively would be a kind description - there's not a lot that screams AFL footballer to me.

I know some posters here do like him, but I just can't see a future.

Our defence is just so ridiculously indecisive when they have the ball - and this leads to numerous significant errors. Stevens, Schmidt, Doughty and Reilly having the ball in the back half so frequently is just plain scary.

Summed up beautifully, hes just your average 5/10 player, we have too many of those at the moment, i'd rather Symes, at least he goes in mega hard and is good defensively. Craigs known for getting the best out of his players, but all i can see is a worse version of Doughty.

this boy is only 21, new to the club and has played what...10 games. He's by no means flashy or quick, but seems to read the ball well. Could be a consistent workhorse for us and who knows what could happen if he comes out of his shell a bit? At the mo he seems pretty poised...until you get a close up of his expression which modulates between a deer in the headlights and a look of mild terror.