D3 Ammos

rhino49 said:
thats a really good summary marty, whats your involvment with d3?

The word out of westbourne is that it it could be the year of the panda. Dropped weight, new teeth and has found new confidence/results on the dance floor. Can only carry on to his football and team mates which will help carry westbourne up the amo divisions.

Vice Captain miller may also have his upcoming wedding mid season so could have an affect on teh club that weekend.

2006 Premier: Bentleigh
Comp B&F: Adam Cannane - Doesn't matter if he doesn't get a kick, the umps want to have his children.
Biggest tool: Smyth - WB. Although St Marys are in D3 this year so there could be 30 blokes ahead of him.
Wooden spoon: Swinburne
Nicest bloke: Crackers - UHSOB. Butter wouldn't melt in his mouth.
Best player: Benjamin - WB

Invitations are out for other D3 players/followers to have a go.

Pat Bateman said:
Comp B&F: Adam Cannane - Doesn't matter if he doesn't get a kick, the umps want to have his children.
Biggest tool: Smyth - WB. Although St Marys are in D3 this year so there could be 30 blokes ahead of him.

Anyone know of any practice matches that are being played in D3 this weekend. I know that Bentleigh are playing Black Rock.

oldtimer said:
Anyone know of any practice matches that are being played in D3 this weekend. I know that Bentleigh are playing Black Rock.

Went and saw Old Westbourne play west Footscray for a half. Very impressive. Have a very good player at chf - Nickname Critter. They could be in for a big year.

Then drove past and watched Swinburne play Uni High. After what I saw both teams could be in for long years. Westbourne would have beaten both by at least 15 goals.

I know its only early and practice matches have just begun but look out for Bentleigh and Old Westbourne as the 2 favourites already in D3.

oldtimer said:
Went and saw Old Westbourne play west Footscray for a half. Very impressive. Have a very good player at chf - Nickname Critter. They could be in for a big year.

Then drove past and watched Swinburne play Uni High. After what I saw both teams could be in for long years. Westbourne would have beaten both by at least 15 goals.

I know its only early and practice matches have just begun but look out for Bentleigh and Old Westbourne as the 2 favourites already in D3.

Word on the street is that both Swinburne and UHSOB may as well be byes this season, and that when they play each other, it could be a nil all draw.

Mate, Critter is a gun I am told and will close to the comp B&F this season.

Apparently Miller for Westbourne won them the game after being switched to full forward. Kicked 6 in a quarter and a half, so a massive chance to line up alongside jucka this year up forward.

Bentleigh won a 6 quarter game against SFL side Black Rock last weekend with the reserves winning by 3-4 goals and the seniors by a couple of points. Having seen the Rock last season, I'd suggest this may mean Bentleigh will struggle to finish top two this season.

Elsternwick played Skye FC last Saturday at the back Elsternwick Oval, but I've no idea who won. They play South Districs...tonight I believe under lights on the main Elsty Oval.

St Mary's beat Mount Waverley (Southern) by 10 goals last week.

saw some of west brunswick training on wednesday night

although they have lost two absolute guns, they looked to have recruited at least 4 or 5 gun youngsters, couple of talls plus couple of hard at it skilled midfielders

large numbers on the track too

will be very very competitive

matera30 said:
saw some of west brunswick training on wednesday night

although they have lost two absolute guns, they looked to have recruited at least 4 or 5 gun youngsters, couple of talls plus couple of hard at it skilled midfielders

large numbers on the track too

will be very very competitive

Just out of interest, in the context of D3 - what amounts to "a gun"?

I presume some observers/players would have watched/played higher level footy and be able to give their opinion.

Is it someone who has crisp skills and hits targets at full tilt?
Really fit, trim and good pace?
Someone who could play D1 seniors, or maybe A grade seniors, or VFL?

I certainly mean no disrespect, I'm just interested in whether anyone wants, or is able, to make some comparison. :thumbsu:

Scribe said:
Just out of interest, in the context of D3 - what amounts to "a gun"?

I presume some observers/players would have watched/played higher level footy and be able to give their opinion.

Is it someone who has crisp skills and hits targets at full tilt?
Really fit, trim and good pace?
Someone who could play D1 seniors, or maybe A grade seniors, or VFL?

I certainly mean no disrespect, I'm just interested in whether anyone wants, or is able, to make some comparison. :thumbsu:

Scribe, the use of the word gun is overly used at most times.

Having gone to a lower section club this year from a higher section have noticed that the biggest difference between these sections are not the top 5 but the next 17. Eash side in the lower grades will have up to 4 - 5 excellent players who would play A section footy and higher without a shadow of a doubt.

1 example this year being - Paul and Andrew Dimattina both playing d3. the runner up in c section goalkicking playing d4.

In closing, guns can generally be attributed to a 3 - 4 players in each team, whereas in A section it can be attributed to 8 - 10 players.

oldtimer said:
Scribe, the use of the word gun is overly used at most times.

Well put oldtimer. I could not agree with you more.

oldtimer said:
In closing, guns can generally be attributed to a 3 - 4 players in each team, whereas in A section it can be attributed to 8 - 10 players.

Though I would have to disagree there. While most clubs would have 1 or 2 that would make the top grade, I would say it is stretching it a little to think that St.Mary or Swinburne have 3 or 4 running around.

Heard on the grapevine that Kew have recruited well and not really lost anyone from a side that consolidated well last year. Certainly a dark horse in the group and one to be wary of. Should be a corker of a game between them and the Warriors round one, and one that will go a bit of a way at showing us how both will fare in the season ahead.

Tibia said:
Well put oldtimer. I could not agree with you more.

Though I would have to disagree there. While most clubs would have 1 or 2 that would make the top grade, I would say it is stretching it a little to think that St.Mary or Swinburne have 3 or 4 running around.

Heard on the grapevine that Kew have recruited well and not really lost anyone from a side that consolidated well last year. Certainly a dark horse in the group and one to be wary of. Should be a corker of a game between them and the Warriors round one, and one that will go a bit of a way at showing us how both will fare in the season ahead.

Not sure about nowadays, but a couple of years ago, in the Swine's premiership year, players like Simon Fragiacomo (3 club B&F's) and Jason Murchie (116 goals) would easily have slotted into the starting 18 of a top grade side. There was probably quite a few more that would've got a game in the top grade as well. Not sure about now though - appears as though the wheels have fallen off a little since then.

Barry Bogan, your grapevine seems to be reliable after witnessing Kew Vs Ivanhoe Assumption 2 weeks ago. Ivanhoe won by a few goals but Kew had a heep of players and may not have been at full strength?

Simon Frang is currently playing with Old Ivanhoe (A Grade 2006). In his 1st year with OIGFC (2005) Simon came 4th in B&F. He was invited by a friend to try OIGFC. Amazed that he was procured earlier.

Proves any team in any division can produce quality players.

I saw bentleigh play blackrock, bentleigh had 15 senior players not playing from there side last year, so I couldnt really judge them. I followed them down to see them play Hampton (SFL) Bentleigh absolutely smashed them, once again speaking to one of the commitee members they still had 9 or 10 senior players out and alot of guys who played in the 2's earlier played on into the seniors. They have one of the best midfield combinations I have seen for a long time, quick small young players who not only have skill but are hard at the ball. Rumor has it Pual Dimmattina from the bulldogs is playing 10 or so games, apparantly he trained down their last Tuesday. Chris Sharp willl kick 50-80 gaols this year, not bad for a 37 yr old. Two more Dimmitinas have also made there way down to Bentleigh, Frankie who won the league best and fairest a few years ago returns from overseas. Dave Martin who represented Victoria A grade a few years back has shown interest in resuming his footy after a couple years off with a knee reco. I have seen a few teams play some Praccy matches already in 2006, but I think bentleigh looks the goods once they have all players on the park. They seem to have a good mix of skilled and hard at it players young and old.

Does anyone know much about there coach? Apparantly played SANFL in his younger days?

Hope to have more info on other teams soon.

Cheers

D3 AMMO Spy :)

Go Old Westbourne

koby01 said:
I saw bentleigh play blackrock, bentleigh had 15 senior players not playing from there side last year, so I couldnt really judge them. I followed them down to see them play Hampton (SFL) Bentleigh absolutely smashed them, once again speaking to one of the commitee members they still had 9 or 10 senior players out and alot of guys who played in the 2's earlier played on into the seniors. They have one of the best midfield combinations I have seen for a long time, quick small young players who not only have skill but are hard at the ball. Rumor has it Pual Dimmattina from the bulldogs is playing 10 or so games, apparantly he trained down their last Tuesday. Chris Sharp willl kick 50-80 gaols this year, not bad for a 37 yr old. Two more Dimmitinas have also made there way down to Bentleigh, Frankie who won the league best and fairest a few years ago returns from overseas. Dave Martin who represented Victoria A grade a few years back has shown interest in resuming his footy after a couple years off with a knee reco. I have seen a few teams play some Praccy matches already in 2006, but I think bentleigh looks the goods once they have all players on the park. They seem to have a good mix of skilled and hard at it players young and old.

Does anyone know much about there coach? Apparantly played SANFL in his younger days?

Hope to have more info on other teams soon.

Cheers

D3 AMMO Spy :)

Go Old Westbourne

Koby01, you're a long way from home if you're following Bentleigh around the traps and support Old Westbourne. I notice you've put in a couple of posts re Bentleigh - are you a follower of either club or just a keen observer of D3 ammo footy?

Pat Bateman said:
Koby01, you're a long way from home if you're following Bentleigh around the traps and support Old Westbourne. I notice you've put in a couple of posts re Bentleigh - are you a follower of either club or just a keen observer of D3 ammo footy?

I have been to see both in practice matches. Both are impressive, but I think Bentleigh are definitely the team to beat. I think it will be out of 6 teams this year - Bent, Old W, West Bruns, Elsternwick, South Melb and Kew. I have seen Swinburne and UHS and both are very ordinary. Don't know about Monash or St Mary's.

I know that Kew have recruited very well (as someone has already mentioned), however, they have lost at least 10 seniors players from last years list - most have gone overseas, 2 retired.

oldtimer said:
I have been to see both in practice matches. Both are impressive, but I think Bentleigh are definitely the team to beat. I think it will be out of 6 teams this year - Bent, Old W, West Bruns, Elsternwick, South Melb and Kew. I have seen Swinburne and UHS and both are very ordinary. Don't know about Monash or St Mary's.

I know that Kew have recruited very well (as someone has already mentioned), however, they have lost at least 10 seniors players from last years list - most have gone overseas, 2 retired.

You've certainly put in a bit of homework this year oldtimer. Are you pulling on a jumper for someone in D3 this year?

I wish i could still pull on a jumper 47 this year might just be a little to old I think.

Grew up around westbourne when i was a kid and now live in bentleigh, one of my nephews plays juniors at bentleigh so i just take and interest in there senior side, live across the road from the ground.

Pat Bateman said:

how do you define a tool in d3?

smokingjoe49 said:
how do you define a tool in d3?

That is easy. If you look the word up in a dictionary there is a photo of Boycey from UHSOB in there!

Very interesting discussion going on form, I reckon there may be a few sleepers out there, however there is no doubt Bentleigh are the team to beat at present.

Bring on Round One!!

Been reading a few predictions for the coming year. As a former sth melb districts jnr player i know they are rating themselves a big chance this year. Have picked up a gun in billy mcgee will kick 80. Big loss at full back in adam ray. Lack dicipline at stages and skill level on a few palyers is low especially there small forward jack cronan. Could be anything if he could kick.
Heard from a few they miss an old player of theirs in luke kealy, now playing with port colts and apparently playing in the wafl next year. really miss his skill and awareness.
Look for the bloods to get to d2 next year. Paul Cheevers and Steve Acqualina to tie in league voting.

Go Bloods! Dean Phillips = Gun

Pat Bateman said:

Not sure where you get your oil from Pat, but can can guarantee a fair way of the mark with a few of your tips:

Agree with Bentleigh & Crackers, but unless D3 is palying in other countries and states, Cannane and Benjamin will not feature in any awards this year. My oil is that Wests have lost 6 of there best 8 from last year, with replacements scratchy at best.

Agree with Tibia that Boycey is the biggest tool in D3 (in the world for that matter), and for anyone else to be nominated is so far off the mark its not funny.

Suffolk Lad said:
Round 1 Predictions
Bentleigh to beat WB @ Bentleigh 24 pts
Monash to beat UH @ Monash 66 pts (Biggest tool to be present in his glasses, ho-mo, mullet and size 28 shorts)
South to beat St Marys @ St Marys 48 pts
OW to beat Kew @ Kew 24 pts
Ewicks to beat Swinnies @ Elsternwick 72 pts

Agree with all results SL. However, your points margins are a bit off the mark.

Bentleigh 60 pts
Monash 45 pts
South 20 pts
OW 6 pts
Elsternwick 120 pts (Will continue their front-running form from last year. They do it well)

As for my earlier post re Smythe being the biggest tool in D3 I stand corrected. You could also have Boycey as the biggest cheat, worst haircut and most likely to be Mr Cruel. I'm sure I heard him say to Fatty Wallace a few years ago, "Listen missy, don't be such a worry wart".

However, if you are looking at players alone then Smythey rises above the pack to take the cake. Even his walk is irritating - what's with that, is the bloke a gimp???