D3 Ammos

I have spoken to someone who was at the VAFA launch last night, and there were some very interesting tidbits of information.

1. Swinburne will be lucky to field a 2's side this week. They are more certain to finish bottom than the Aussies are to win back the Ashes this summer

2. Elsternwick have recruited big time and lost no one. They were really champing themselves up and rate themselves as the team to beat.

3. Bentleigh will have Paul Dimmatina playing approximately 10 games this season. Not sure this means much myself, but the word was they have lost a few players but should be solid

4. St.Marys have also recruited well with a couple of 6'8"ers slotting in nicely to their side. Should surprise a few teams

5. Kew have also recruited well without losing too many from their solid team last season.

6. Old Westbourne have dumped Platters Fairfield as skipper as he has not been seen at training. The boys from the club actually said he will probably start in the twos and that he may have gone a little soft. They are still a good thing, and word is that their new coach is of a very high calibre according to the boys from Old Melbournians.

Not much was said by other sides, though the Gryphons have good numbers as does West Brunny, though they are unsure as to the quality of the sides and are adopting a bit of a wait-and-see approach

About time for point 6, Leon for three years was the Shaun McManus of D3.

Tibia said:
I have spoken to someone who was at the VAFA launch last night, and there were some very interesting tidbits of information.

1. Swinburne will be lucky to field a 2's side this week. They are more certain to finish bottom than the Aussies are to win back the Ashes this summer

2. Elsternwick have recruited big time and lost no one. They were really champing themselves up and rate themselves as the team to beat.

3. Bentleigh will have Paul Dimmatina playing approximately 10 games this season. Not sure this means much myself, but the word was they have lost a few players but should be solid

4. St.Marys have also recruited well with a couple of 6'8"ers slotting in nicely to their side. Should surprise a few teams

5. Kew have also recruited well without losing too many from their solid team last season.

6. Old Westbourne have dumped Platters Fairfield as skipper as he has not been seen at training. The boys from the club actually said he will probably start in the twos and that he may have gone a little soft. They are still a good thing, and word is that their new coach is of a very high calibre according to the boys from Old Melbournians.

Not much was said by other sides, though the Gryphons have good numbers as does West Brunny, though they are unsure as to the quality of the sides and are adopting a bit of a wait-and-see approach

Tibia said:

Are things really that bad at Swinburne? Is anyone from there alive on this forum that can confirm or deny? I went to uni there and a few mates of mine were running the club for a while, good bunch of blokes - nearly went there myself this year!

Who have Elsternwick picked-up? They've been exceptionally quiet in the off-season, a surprise for a Premier from the previous year.

One of the suburban leagues (Eastern?) has a page devoted to player changes. Have we got one for Ammos footy?

Cheers,

And would you believe it, not a single Elsternwick IN or OUT!!

Like the look of a couple of Kew's pick-ups. Luke Giansiracusa and Jamie (brother of Ricky?) McKerrow. This competition looks strong in 2006.

I have heard Swinburne should be right easily for two teams numbers wise, it's more the talent factor. Richmond Centrals (D4) have much the same problem - numbers OK, but talent wise its a struggle.

Just a quiet tip, expect some improvement out of Box Hill North in D4 this season. If Odza was atill able to play they'd be a real top four contender, but they may improve a bit.

Would like to see first match-up between St Mary's and West Brunswick. Jedda Wright to go toe to toe with the Brunny boys while little Armstrong cheers his mate on from the safety of the forward pcoket.

mcglede said:
And would you believe it, not a single Elsternwick IN or OUT!!

Mate, why does this not surprise anyone? They spruik themselves up at the start of every season. No competition last year, and when they were tested, they almost choked.

They will win the easy ones against lesser opponents and build up a healthy percentage, but when the chips are down and they need someone to stand up, they are soft and will crumble.

May sneak into the finals based on this premise, but will go nowhere.

Well it surprises me Tibia, because there was a post saying that they've recruited, and then on the link, there is no player moving to, or away from Elsternwick.

I saw about a dozen D4 games last season and I think you underestimate the level of competition.

The top four was very good and Hawthorn or Bulleen would be competitive in D3 this season had they made the GF.

Hark back to 2002 when Elsternwick made the finals in D3. Jack Neill was playing back then and this team was playing good footy. They got to the finals, were within 2 points of West Brunswick at HT, lost their FF to a cracked collarbone and fell away in the second half.

Neill went o/s in 2003-4. They were relegated in the first season (too many injuries) and finished fifth the year after (only team in VAFA to win 11 games and not play finals that year).

In 2003 they had no ruckman, in 2004, they wew undefeated until ruckman went down. They struggled without him after that.

Saw them only twice last season (inc GF) but they were clearly the best team in D4. Thought they were a six goal better side on GF day.

You'll have to explain that last comment of yours though. May make the finals but will be going nowhere?

Doesn't make sense. Surely if you make the finals in the year after a promotion, you ARE going somewhere!

If Neill falls over this season I think this team will stuggle but survive the drop, however if he's fit for 18 games, they're a top four side.

mcglede said:
Just a quiet tip, expect some improvement out of Box Hill North in D4 this season. If Odza was atill able to play they'd be a real top four contender, but they may improve a bit.

He might not get 40 touches a game this year (though he still might!), but he will certainly be a very handy player this year. Has looked good in the pre-season.

mcglede said:
Hark back to 2002 when Elsternwick made the finals in D3. Jack Neill was playing back then and this team was playing good footy. They got to the finals, were within 2 points of West Brunswick at HT, lost their FF to a cracked collarbone and fell away in the second half.

Neill went o/s in 2003-4. They were relegated in the first season (too many injuries) and finished fifth the year after (only team in VAFA to win 11 games and not play finals that year).

In 2003 they had no ruckman, in 2004, they wew undefeated until ruckman went down. They struggled without him after that..

Mate, this is exactly what I am talking about. Every team has injuries, and it is just that we hear more about them from the Wickers than anyone else. All these comments are to me are excuses, nothing more. Thanks for justifying my point.

mcglede said:
You'll have to explain that last comment of yours though. May make the finals but will be going nowhere?

Doesn't make sense. Surely if you make the finals in the year after a promotion, you ARE going somewhere!

Once again you have shown your lack of intelligence and I really do not know why I am bothering answering this question in here, but I will do so for you simpletons out there.

If you make the finals and go out without a win, you may as well have finished 8th. It is no different in the final wash up, as only 1st and 2nd get promoted.

I am sure the boys at Wick Park will be slapping themselves on the back after their great season to "make the finals after being promoted" and say we did really well, but if you talk the talk preseason, my friend you must walk the walk.

The Wickers are champing themselves up as the flag favorites but I am telling you they will underachieve by "just making it".

Now Tibia I do not know you, so I can't understand the vitriolic personal attacks.

I would like to clarify that I have nothing to do with Elsternwick AFC. Rather, my opinions were based on what I have seen/heard.

I respect you may not like EAFC tibia, however that does not justify you having a personal attack on someone talking about them.

Point 1 - Every club has injuries.

This is a given as they're impossible to avoid, especially in lower grade ammo footy. My point was more based on the belief that eafc are considered front runners. Six or seven games undefeated, los of talisman ruckman, struggle after that.

Now, what would be the key factor in their struggles? Seems about the time their ruckman went down in 2004 they started losing. Am I wrong?

Point 2 - Going places

Now I'm writing this on the fly and can't recall if Old Westbourne made the four or not last season. I consider OW to be a team that is certainly going places. Their facilities may be ordinary at best, but they have an excellent squad that if it continues to improve could easily find itself in D1 by 2010.

If they finished fourth a year after promotion from D4, I would be disappointed if I were a club follower and found out that the club President or coach believed that the club wasn't going anywhere.

Back-to-back promotions are difficult to get. Clubs like Rupertswood and Fitzroy Reds can do it, but they have excellent set-ups/support. I don't know about eafc's finances, but given their small clubrooms set-up, my guess is they don't have $$ behind them (can anyone correct this?).

Should eafc make the four, I would be surprised if they didn't think they were in a position for bigger and better things in 2007. Surely a third/fourth place finish a year after promotion is a positive sign?

Point 3 - Editorial

Personal attacks Tibia may make you feel much better when you hit the submit reply button, but I'd suggest to you that they don't do much for your reputation among other forumites. If you wish to make personal attacks, come out from behind your pseudonym.

McGlede, I think you have once again missed my point entirely, but I will try to answer your comments/criticisms, while trying to not turn this into a he said/you said essay.

mcglede said:
Back-to-back promotions are difficult to get.

Agree, and once again you have missed my point. I am not talking about success being judged by promotion. Clubs have various goals, and EAFC have come out and said publicly they are the team to beat.

Now if you take OWAFC, they finished in the finals, but lost. However, the difference between them and EAFC is that they have not spruiked to all and sundry that “they are the team to beat”, or that “we have recruited on an already awesome side and no one will come close”. These are the bold statements that we have heard before in D4 and now D3, and quite often, they have failed to live up to these brash statements.

I am suggesting that they may be in for a surprise this season given the strength of D3. I guess the only way we will know the answer to who is correct here is in September.

Also, while speaking about OWAFC, they have just moved across the road to a $2 million facility that I understand will be one of the best in the VAFA, not just D3. Agree they are a club going places.

mcglede said:
Now Tibia I do not know you, so I can't understand the vitriolic personal attacks.

I consider comments such as “does not make sense” or “have to explain yourself” as a comment as to my own intelligence, so I just responded in kind. I make no apologies for defending my comments or firing back at questions against my point of view.

After all, isn’t this what forums like these are all about?

mcglede said:
Now, what would be the key factor in their struggles? Seems about the time their ruckman went down in 2004 they started losing. Am I wrong?

I am sick of hearing about injuries/excuses from the Wickers. Trust me here, whenever they lose, it will not be because the other team played better than them it will be because there were injuries, bad umpiring, weather not good, moon not in alignment, black cat crossed Dennis Grace while walking to the ground etc etc.

They have to accept that if they continue to champ themselves up, they have to be able to back it up.

mcglede said:
Should eafc make the four, I would be surprised if they didn't think they were in a position for bigger and better things in 2007. Surely a third/fourth place finish a year after promotion is a positive sign?

I agree, if it were any other club. But I will repeat myself here, if you say you are the team to beat, not winning the big one is a failure. I am saying, therefore, that by their lofty standards, they can expect failure.

Anyway, that’s my two bits worth, lets now move on to more meaningful discussion such as, who is going to beat the real frontrunners, Bentleigh?

mcglede said:

I would like to clarify that I have nothing to do with Elsternwick AFC. Rather, my opinions were based on what I have seen/heard.

I respect you may not like EAFC tibia, however that does not justify you having a personal attack on someone talking about them.

Point 1 - Every club has injuries.

This is a given as they're impossible to avoid, especially in lower grade ammo footy. My point was more based on the belief that eafc are considered front runners. Six or seven games undefeated, los of talisman ruckman, struggle after that.

Point 2 - Going places

Now I'm writing this on the fly and can't recall if Old Westbourne made the four or not last season. I consider OW to be a team that is certainly going places. Their facilities may be ordinary at best, but they have an excellent squad that if it continues to improve could easily find itself in D1 by 2010.

If they finished fourth a year after promotion from D4, I would be disappointed if I were a club follower and found out that the club President or coach believed that the club wasn't going anywhere.

Back-to-back promotions are difficult to get. Clubs like Rupertswood and Fitzroy Reds can do it, but they have excellent set-ups/support. I don't know about eafc's finances, but given their small clubrooms set-up, my guess is they don't have $$ behind them (can anyone correct this?).

Point 3 - Editorial

Personal attacks Tibia may make you feel much better when you hit the submit reply button, but I'd suggest to you that they don't do much for your reputation among other forumites. If you wish to make personal attacks, come out from behind your pseudonym.

Hey buddy
Can you please explain to everyone how you are more likely to receive injuries in the lower grades then the higher grades?

Will get to you at a later time Tibia, but Mr Harvey raises a genuine question.

In regards injuries being higher in lower grades, IMHO, the standard of the grounds in lower grades are far inferior to that in the higher grades, with Hawthorn and Elsternwick standing out in my mind. Don't like the covered wicket on Syndal's ground either and Swinburne when wet is dangerous.

Yes, top grade grounds do go bad (Sportscover Arena in the centre for one and Beaumaris used to be when wet) but they are far more commonplace in the lower grades.

You also have players who are more likely to be unfit (I doubt the fitness level at say Power House or Richmond is similar to that of Old Xavs), and are subsequently more injury prone. Unfit players competiting in a highly physical sport cannot stand-up game after game. Yes, top grade players get injured too, however they're more likely to be 'fit' and able to avoid soft tissue injuries.

I would further suggest that with most lower grade games having one VAFA umpire that incidents occur in lower grades that cannot happen in top grades.

Look at Odza at Hawthorn last season for one. Off the ball indicents (late tackles, shepherding etc) go more unpunished in lower grades. In C and above these are far more stringently policed. I remember seeing one umpire (Olive?) give five frees for late tackles in a game last year in C grade. Saw 5 given for the entire season in D3 and D4 despite there being about 15-20 per game that were 'there'.

That's my opinion anyway.

Now, for Mr Tibia.

You wrote:

Agree, and once again you have missed my point. I am not talking about success being judged by promotion. Clubs have various goals, and EAFC have come out and said publicly they are the team to beat.

(I seem to miss lots of points, but anyway...)

Can you show me where EAFC have said they're the team to beat?

Platters stepped down from the captaincy at the start of pre-season to devote more time to work and new fatherhood. Has still had a solid pre-season and has been picked in the seniors vs Kew tomorrow.

The Hunter said:
About time for point 6, Leon for three years was the Shaun McManus of D3.

Only second year for OW in D3 this year.
Don't think Shaun McManus ever captained a senior premiership.:thumbsu:

Good to see Fairfield still playing Old Warrior.

From what I have heard about OW in the off-season, they should be right up there at the end of the season. In fact, they're my tip for the Premiership over Bentleigh in the GF.

Guess that means OW are going places, though someone may correct me!:)

Tibia/ said:
EAFC have come out and said publicly they are the team to beat

However, the difference between them and EAFC is that they have not spruiked to all and sundry that “they are the team to beat”, or that “we have recruited on an already awesome side and no one will come close”. These are the bold statements that we have heard before in D4 and now D3, and quite often, they have failed to live up to these brash statements.

Mate you, you are an absolute handbag, spinning absolute codswallop. I will go ahead and say it now - I am an Elsternwick player and i can say straight out that these over the top predictions outlined above are a load of fabricated nonsense by a bloke who for all chances was probably just a sour member in a losing side in the D4 ressies last year.
To be blatantly honest, our pre-season has been nothing to write home about at all - we have recruited a few good players, and havnt lost that many at all from last year, but training numbers/praccy matches etc have been fairly ordinary.
I can say right now that we are confident of doing OK this season, but for some pathetic piece of plankton to go ahead and launch a scathing attack based on pure fiction on a club he most likely knows nothing about is fairly ordinary.

Tell me "tibia" which club do you play/support/cut oranges for?

Hawthorn, who apparently should go well this season based on their previous season, withdrew from a practice match because of a social function scheduled the night before... Obviously they are a team "going places" as well?
D3 football is as predictable from year to year as Nepalese politics.

Still no evidence Tibia, which suggests you're telling porkies, especially with an Elsternwick player getting on the site with some rebuttal.

How did the flag unfurling go Angry Steve? Saw you blokes in the GF last season and you were worth your victory.

mcglede said:
I consider OW to be a team that is certainly going places. Their facilities may be ordinary at best, but they have an excellent squad that if it continues to improve could easily find itself in D1 by 2010.

If North Brunswick improve on last season, recruit a dozen players from the Calder Cannons each year and don't have any injuries or lose any players, they could easily be in D1 by 2010 also.

angry steve said:
Mate you, you are an absolute handbag, spinning absolute codswallop. I will go ahead and say it now - I am an Elsternwick player and i can say straight out that these over the top predictions outlined above are a load of fabricated nonsense by a bloke who for all chances was probably just a sour member in a losing side in the D4 ressies last year.

Mate, these comments came from senior people directly in your club to a friend of mine who told me about them. I was simply passing on these comments and offering my own opinions on them.

As for my own allegiances, well I have to say that I am just a D3 observer these days. Go to a few matches when I can and have played against most of the teams involved in the comp.

angry steve said:
To be blatantly honest, our pre-season has been nothing to write home about at all - we have recruited a few good players, and havnt lost that many at all from last year, but training numbers/praccy matches etc have been fairly ordinary.
I can say right now that we are confident of doing OK this season, but for some pathetic piece of plankton to go ahead and launch a scathing attack based on pure fiction on a club he most likely knows nothing about is fairly ordinary.

My sources tell me whoever it was from Elsternwick that went to the vafa function held last week were spruiking themselves up to anyone who cared to listen how they were going to take D3 by storm in 2006. I heard this from more than one person from more than one club.

knackers_2 said:
Hawthorn, who apparently should go well this season based on their previous season, withdrew from a practice match because of a social function scheduled the night before... Obviously they are a team "going places" as well?
D3 football is as predictable from year to year as Nepalese politics.

2006 is Hawthorn's second year in D4.:confused: