D4 D4 2008

Gday Waz,

Yes we do have advertising around Bulleen. With new committee members this year and a new president we thought that this is the right time to take the club forward after the year we had last year. Advertising and letting people know about the club around our area is one of the better things we have done for the club thus far. New coaching staff and new players can only mean a better year for the mighty cobras.

huru

Yup... Pity we only get to play you guys once again this year!??!? I would have thought we would get two cracks at the teams we played only once last year... funny how that worked out. So we wont play at Bulleen this year, which is a pity as its one of the better grounds in D4.

Our cricket side (RCCC) is half way through an A grade GF on your ground at present. They have batted already, so make sure you go and rough the pitch up a bit at training this week :)

Sorry Waz, the spies are out and if a footy or footballer even touches the surface the phone runs hot. Buggers! Anyway we will be on the ground soon enough.

Practice Match Schedule

Richmond Central
- 15/3 Intra Club, 29/3 vs Monash Gryphons (D3)
Albert Park - 29/3 vs Powerhouse (D3), 5/4 vs Moonee Valley (EDFL)
Kew - Wed 19/3 vs Hawthorn (D3), Sun 30/3 vs Uni High (D3)
West Brunswick - 29/3 vs Williamstown (D3), 5/4 vs Eltham (D3)

Anyone know of any other games?

Practice Match Schedule

Richmond Central - 15/3 Intra Club, 29/3 vs Monash Gryphons (D3)

MT Lilydale - Intra Club last week, 15/3 vs Yarra Glen, 29/3 vs Chirnside Park (EFL D4)

Practice Match Schedule

Richmond Central are no longer playing an intra club game this saturday... Instead we are playing South Yarra (SFL) on the 18th.

They have probably changed to Tuesday - Thursday training I suppose... We have...

Correct - a - mundo....

Oh... and bye the way we are playing South Yarra on the Wednesday night (19th) now rather than the 18th. Training on the 18th as usual!!!!

BIGWaz

MT Lilydale - Intra Club last week, 15/3 vs Yarra Glen, 29/3 vs Chirnside Park (EFL D4)

I hear the Mt Lilydale ground is a long way off being up to scratch - can you confirm, Tunnelball? If so, where did they play the intra, and where are the games v Yarra Glen and Chirnside being played?

Re: D4 Section Ammos
Quote:
Originally Posted by spy1
Sorry to announce the passing of BHN stawlwart Daryl Brunning.
Dazza was a true charactor of the competition. For those who don't know the name, he was the BHN timekeeper, Club Member and previously Team Manager for many years.
More information can be read on the BHN website.
Rest well my friend.

Vale;
Daryl Brunning,Timekeper,Box Hill North.
Daryl and I had an affectionate greeting we used for each other whenever I umpired at Elgar park,"guday you old bastard" to which Daryl would reply"jesus not you again",we would then shake hands and have a chat,by far he was the most professional timekeeper you could find,I even overlooked his sly can of VB at half time around the back,he will be missed by all at BHN and I am sure by many in VAFA circles.I will miss him greatly on a private level and much more on a footy level.He genuinely cared for the players and the club.
Goodbye you old bastard.

Practice Match Schedule

29/3 sfx vs sydnal at beaconfield

Hello to all on this thread. Long time reader of D4 threads, but very rare poster. However needed to post msg of condolence to Stewie, all BHN people and friends of Darryl Brunning. As a former player and member of BHN, both in SFL and VAFA, I am mortified to hear of his passing. A great man was Darryl. Even when I left the club and moved across town, anytime I called in to watch BHN, Darryl was always one of the first to approach me and say hello. A sad and great loss. Sympathies to all affected by his loss and I'm sure his legacy will live on. May this loss inspire the Mighty BHNFC to great heights this season.

Billy

Can anyone from Bulleen confirm that it was Ben Cookson i just saw flogging funeral insurnace on the TV. Looks and sounded exactly like him to me:eek::eek::eek::eek:

How did MT Lilydale go this weekend? Were they the only side to play a match?

Played a 6 qtr match against Yarra Glen (Res 1st 3 qtrs & Sen last 3) at our ground, final result we got up by 6 goals. Both had plenty not playing due to cricket, work etc etc. But in saying that it was hot (understatement), ground was rock hard and was a good hit out for both teams at the end.

What about other practice match results from others clubs??

Played a 6 qtr match against Yarra Glen (Res 1st 3 qtrs & Sen last 3) at our ground, final result we got up by 6 goals. Both had plenty not playing due to cricket, work etc etc. But in saying that it was hot (understatement), ground was rock hard and was a good hit out for both teams at the end.

What about other practice match results from others clubs??

That may have been the only one in D4 that weekend.

Re: Practice Matches

Who were the stand out players in any of the practice matches?

Some of the new Mt Lilydale players did well.

Problem can be when your playing another in a practice match club central to your own who a in a paying league, exposing your players and then fear of one or two being poached for money is always a concern.

Can report we (SFX) had a solid 6 quarter hitout against South Mornington, it was basically 3 quarters of reserves and 3 quarters of seniors with plenty of overlapping due to limited numbers.

There was one end of the ground with a huge Benny Gale blowing so the teams that had it in the first and third quarters had an obvious advantage.

First 3 quarters saw SFX victors by about 50 points but had the wind advantage.

Next three quarters saw South Mornington victors by 4 goals (this time they had the wind advantage) but would still say they outplayed us. Unsure of how many they had out but we were missing about 10 from our first 22 due to cricket etc.

Ordinary day for football with the wind,heat and hard ground but good for blokes to blow out some cobwebs. Must be said South Mornington were a ripper bunch of blokes who all stayed back for a well deserved beer. Their seniors definitely look like they'll be a handy outfit, very slick and hard at it and gave us a good idea of what to expect.

Thought their number 2 (think they were referring to him as "Rich") was probably BOG. must be noted that the "Taskmaster" also took a few very good contested grabs and looks at home in the SFX forward line!

Looking forward to a hitout with Syndal in a couple of weekends.