News Dale Tapping ...

OK, it's been a slow news day coming out of the Weatpac Centre today. May as well create some news ;)

Dale Tapping dropped past our podcast studios recently and had a chat with one of our VFL regulars the mighty T about how things went in the VFL this year. He had quite a candid chat about our VFL season and the development of some players.

Listen out for it on our next podcast :thumbsu:

We owe a debt of gratitude to the Collingwood Football Club for making Dale available, and to Dale himself for being extraordinarily generous with his time.

And a big thank-you to all folks who have tuned into the podcast during the year. Keep listening! It's your continued support that allows us to attract interviews like this one. :thumbsu:

FYI lukem

It was an absolute pleasure having Dale on and it was so refreshing to speak to someone who was so upfront and matter of fact about footy. Really impressed me. Definitely worth a listen, as all of our podcasts are.

By the sounds of it, Dale Tapping's forthright and honest nature would have been sort by Buckley in deciding the de-listing of Jolly, Krakouer, Didak, Russell, RIchmond and Hartley.

Had a ripper first season as coach of the VFL side.

:thumbsu:

Dare we say a fine move under Buckley?

No wait, I'm doing it wrong. If things go well it's the club, if things go badly, it's Buckley.

Dare we say a fine move under Buckley?

No wait, I'm doing it wrong. If things go well it's the club, if things go badly, it's Buckley.
Excellent point and one that gets no exposure here. Under MM our Vfl outfit was a joke. But now we seem to be taking it more seriously & professionally.

Let's be honest, that would have had more to do with the youth of the list during the 2011 season. We made the VFL finals in 2009 and 2010, and 2012 was Buckley.

Why doesn't he become a senior assistant to bucks?
Well, he already is isn't he - or, at the very least, he's one of the most important members of the coaching staff. My understanding is that he was given the Twos coaching gig because the belief was that we were under-performing there and Bucks etc. believed it was absolutely imperative that we improved. I'd be very surprised if Tapping's views were not taken at least as (and perhaps more) seriously than any other member of the coacking staff (with the possible exception of Eade).

Let's be honest, that would have had more to do with the youth of the list during the 2011 season. We made the VFL finals in 2009 and 2010, and 2012 was Buckley.
Geez, my mistake i didn't think we made the finals in 2009 & 2010.

Why doesn't he become a senior assistant to bucks?
I would dare say that with the amount of young talent at the club and the amount that we are about to inject over the off-season...the VFL coach is one of the most important positions right now.

Fast-tracking the likes of Grundy, Kennedy, Broomhead, Josh Thomas etc to the senior side is the key.

Also getting the VFL team into finals will be essential if we want a tilt at the flag next year or year after.

Late to the party here, but great work 76woodenspooners and all of the BF Magpies crew. You guys are doing a super job with the podcasts (amongst many other things). :thumbsu::) Onwards and upwards over the pre-season and into 2014!

Our Pleasure Luke.

Geez 1st Time you been on here for Ages Mate

Great VFL coverage this year Luke.

Liked some of your new posters on the chat, Luke Mason Dancers seems like a funny but weird bloke though.;):D

Great VFL coverage this year Luke.

Liked some of your new posters on the chat, Luke Mason Dancers seems like a funny but weird bloke though.;):D
A good coverage but lacked a direct and honest assessment of the efforts of individual players or the opportunity for supporters to be anything other than sycophants if they wished to be included in the chat. Still better than nothing at all which is the alternative.