Player Watch Daniel McStay

• Thread starter Thread starter TradeDraft

All I saw is the same player I watched many times at Brisbane. Esava made 1 spoil that pretty much no forwards could have an answer for. Dan let his man lead him to the ball & was too stagnant on most occasions in my opinion. Like you I wasn’t a fan of the contract offer. But I know I’d much rather be incredibly wrong & look like a dill from Dan kicking butt, than be right on this one.
Mate Esava was voted second best on ground by the coaches, he had a ripper night. If McStay had got 2 goals (keeping in mind a 2 goal per game average is better than any of our forwards have ever done) instead of 1.1 would you be saying the same thing? Fact is that while he wasn’t the most influential forward of the night, he could very easily have walked away with 2 or 3 goals still. I’m not expecting dominant performances from him, that’s not who we recruited, and if he continues at a goal a game or less then the criticism will likely come and rightly so, but one game against an opponent who played the game of his life and dominated aerial contests to an extent that he polled 6 votes in a losing team isn’t a game we should be making solid judgements from.

Mcstay and hill have both played one game. Hill may not touch the ball this week, mcstay May kick 3. The sample size is far to small to judge either

Nah. McStay is a dud and Hill is a ripper. Just watch the Cats game.

Let’s see how well Esava does playing on Curnow or McKay tomorrow night. If he keeps them quiet then your post makes sense. If he gets his arse handed to him, then Mcstay was perhaps just poor.

Or Esava’s new to the role and inconsistency should be expected. Either way, a poor game this week doesn’t counter the suggestion his good game last weekend would have him beating any forward in the league.

Nah. McStay is a dud and Hill is a ripper. Just watch the Cats game.
I hate that word. McStay is not a dud and will be an excellent acquisition. It is not just about stats and goals. He frees up other players. He will have his day in the sun and I promise you when Bobby has a quiet game I will not brand him a dud.

Mate Esava was voted second best on ground by the coaches, he had a ripper night. If McStay had got 2 goals (keeping in mind a 2 goal per game average is better than any of our forwards have ever done) instead of 1.1 would you be saying the same thing? Fact is that while he wasn’t the most influential forward of the night, he could very easily have walked away with 2 or 3 goals still. I’m not expecting dominant performances from him, that’s not who we recruited, and if he continues at a goal a game or less then the criticism will likely come and rightly so, but one game against an opponent who played the game of his life and dominated aerial contests to an extent that he polled 6 votes in a losing team isn’t a game we should be making solid judgements from.

Pretty sure both DeGoey and Elliott have.

I hate that word. McStay is not a dud and will be an excellent acquisition. It is not just about stats and goals. He frees up other players. He will have his day in the sun and I promise you when Bobby has a quiet game I will not brand him a dud.
You're doing it wrong. Premature judgements are where it's at. It doesn't matter if you're right or wrong, it's about having the kahoonas to be first.

Pretty sure both DeGoey and Elliott have.
You’re right, JDG has twice and Elliott once. Regardless, may point still stands, nobody at Collingwood has achieved goal numbers like that since 2019.

I may have misunderstood the comparison, I meant 5 goals in a match.
Yeah it was 2gpg. In terms of 5 goal games, of our listed players, Elliott, JDG, Moore and Ginnivan have all achieved that milestone.

Esava made 1 spoil that pretty much no forwards could have an answer for.
It was an incredible spoil, but I don't think he would have made it against a lot of the gun forwards. The reason why McStay is a workhorse and not a gun is that he's slow and struggles to get or maintain separation.

McStay was under average. Surely you're not arguing with that?

I hope he will be a good addition. But I wasn't massively impressed against Geelong. So 6 of one half dozen the other.

I have seen a few say it will happen because he is no longer 3rd wheel, even the coach went with that. Truth is he was 3rd wheel at Brissie only for some part of his last 2 seasons. Interestingly they were also his best ever goal scoring years. 2020 was the last season he was exclusively sharing the forward line with only I other KPF, Hipwood, and the resting ruck, McInerney, same as our current set up. Brissie finished 2nd on the ladder. McStay kicked 11 goals at 0.7 a game with only one game kicking more than 1 goal. It prompted Brissie to "Get Joe".

2020 was the COVID season where noone kicked any goals. McStay also lead their contested marking that year.

I think thats a fair qualification but doesnt change that there were 6 team mates who both averaged and totalled more goals than Dan that year and he was 116th in the AFL for goals per game that season.

My point is to be realistic about his potential not to run him down.

McStay was under average. Surely you're not arguing with that?
McStay had a “could have” game. He doesn’t rush his second shot, and Esava doesn’t turn in to superman, suddenly he has 3 goals.
His game wasn’t great, but it’s not as bad as some here are making out either.

I think thats a fair qualification but doesnt change that there were 6 team mates who both averaged and totalled more goals than Dan that year and he was 116th in the AFL for goals per game that season.

My point is to be realistic about his potential not to run him down.

If he can take some hits and pressure of Mihocek and/or be a spare in the event of an injury to Cox/Cameron I think we have done well.

Agree here, He will have good games and better games, maybe a stinker or two, he was part of the team that won against the reigning premiers, tough ask carrying passengers. I think he did his job and whilst I wasn’t sold on him coming across , I can see why he is here and he will play better games for sure.