Danny Meyer

• Thread starter Thread starter Blair7

nut said:
I'm sure there is big players in the VFL as well, you cant put them in cotton wool, if they get injured which is going to happen than stiff.

Dare I say occassionally you get the odd meathead playing VFL who's career is over or never started who enjoys delivering a bit of pointless biff or body pressure to a talented kid....just because they can. I thnk maybe the dangers of that dont diminish as you go down a level or two. In fact might even increase as you do.

nut said:
I'm sure there is big players in the VFL as well, you cant put them in cotton wool, if they get injured which is going to happen than stiff.

Of course there are some big blokes in the VFL ... the point being there are plenty of little blokes too. There is always another first year or rookie list player for him to match up on.

Put Tambling in the seniors this week and the lightest guy on Port's team would be Kane Cornes at 80kg. He probably ends up on Peter Walsh or Brett Montogemery who are both 82kg. He basically conceedes 10kg to his opponent.

roo_stew said:
Dare I say occassionally you get the odd meathead playing VFL who's career is over or never started who enjoys delivering a bit of pointless biff or body pressure to a talented kid....just because they can. I thnk maybe the dangers of that dont diminish as you go down a level or two. In fact might even increase as you do.

Not anymore. Very few senior players in the VFL these days.

Look at Coburg without the Richmond guys. Basically still made up of kids like Monteah, N.Raines, Rimmington, Kuret, Jorgenson and Young trying to get onto an AFL list. The VFL these days is essentially an under-23 comp.

Weaver said:
Not anymore. Very few senior players in the VFL these days.

Look at Coburg without the Richmond guys. Basically still made up of kids like Monteah, N.Raines, Rimmington, Kuret, Jorgenson and Young trying to get onto an AFL list. The VFL these days is essentially an under-23 comp.
I watched Tassie play Frankston last week...must be wrong league. Plenty of aged meat on offer there on both sides.

roo_stew said:
I watched Tassie play Frankston last week...must be wrong league. Plenty of aged meat on offer there on both sides.

They are two teams with no afl affiliate so it's a different situation for them, the players at those sides probably don't have the same goals as the players at other VFL clubs as there is probably a lot less chance of being picked up by an afl club.

jezza said:
They are two teams with no afl affiliate so it's a different situation for them, the players at those sides probably don't have the same goals as the players at other VFL clubs as there is probably a lot less chance of being picked up by an afl club.

Nth Ballarat are the third. Frankston though have a budget of about $0. They can't compete with the suburban clubs and even the ammos. Their team is basically kids from the Dandenong Stingrays. Heaps of first and second year guys in their side.

sante said:
Johnson said he will try for this week but most likely be back for Carlton. I think Hyde will be replaced by Tambling and drop someone for Meyer.

IN : Pattison, Meyer, Tambling

Out: Chaffey, Pettifer, Hyde

Weaver said:
Gilmour is only a 2nd year player and was the youngest player in the league last year. He is only 2 months older than Meyer and Tambling.

Understand that Weaver but i reckon the extra year in the VFL/AFL system has to count in his favour.

jezza said:

My point was there is still lots of aged meat in the VFL affliliated or not that would take considerable pleasure in roughing up young blokes on the way up so if our good young ones can survive the VFL they can most likely cope reasonably well with the same at AFL level.

Meyer might be in the following week against Carlton if Krak continues to show little. Would be a good swap.

roo_stew said:
My point was there is still lots of aged meat in the VFL affliliated or not that would take considerable pleasure in roughing up young blokes on the way up so if our good young ones can survive the VFL they can most likely cope reasonably well with the same at AFL level.

Frankston's squad of 25 from last week (we play them this week). In order of heaviest to lightest (age in brackets).

D.Clake 205cm, 113kg (31)
Ulms 198, 90 (20)
Pollard 188, 87 (24)
Butler 187, 87 (21)
O'Dell 188, 85 (22)
Roberts 181, 82 (25)
Black 180, 82 (25)
Marigliani 179, 82 (19)
Ablett 180, 80 (24)
Phibbs 181, 80 (23)
Robertson 179, 78 (23)
Cadd 178, 78 (19)
Barry 179, 76 (19)
Berry 177, 76 (24)
Goldsack 183, 76 (22)
Ongarello 186, 75 (18)
Goddard 183, 74 (23)
Anstey 181, 74 (23)
Murphy 181, 72 (20)
McCormack 170, 67 (24)
(John Hynes, Bevan Molloy, Winterton are rovers, Burns is a forward, Paxino I don't know - don't have numbers for those 5).

So as you can see, it is basically and under-23 side, and the heaviest / most solidly built player they can come against is the equivelent to Port's lightest. There are about 10 lightweights for us to choose match-ups for the likes of Gilmour, Tambling and Meyer. Far fewer in the AFL and Deledio and Raines have already claimed one.

Weaver So as you can see said:
Stats tell it all I guess so point taken. I have to say that that certainly looks (in statistical terms), a lot different to the blokes I saw running round last Sunday but no argument here.

Weaver So as you can see said:
Stats tell it all I guess so point taken. I have to say that that certainly looks (in statistical terms), a lot different to the blokes I saw running round last Sunday but no argument here. I guess seeing Gilmour play VFL for a season here before being drafted has coloured my opinion also.