Danny Meyer.

• Thread starter Thread starter Bentleigh

tugga said:
Why would a kid deliberately put everything he's ever wanted and worked for by deliberately underperforming and risking never getting traded or picked by another club again. The ludicrousness of that comment would make me laugh if it weren't so stupid. Simply, there is no spot for Meyer at present. He'll get his chance and from what I've seen, he has poise and will take a while. Don't give up on a No 12 pick just because others seem to have overtaken him. Let's judge the class of 2004 in two years time.

belive me tugga, you always add the cream last, dont you? ;)

CoggaRules said:
belive me tugga, you always add the cream last, dont you? ;)

Magnificently said Coggs. he may just end up being the birthday candles on top of the icing. ;)

tugga said:
Nut, I don't care if he was born on planet Venus. You don't tank your AFL career before it even takes off.

Maybe. But think about it, if he wants to go home he has two options,

1. With an agreement already in place, underperform and get picked up in the National draft when he falls to the club he has the agreement with.

2. Play well and ask to be traded where we would play hard ball and maybe even force him into the PSD where he could go anywhere.

First one sounds feasable to me.

This situation is not without precedent. I personally know a senior AFL player who deliberately underperformed when coached by Ken Judge so as to be traded back to his home state.

Nut, I take your point and to be fair, when we drafted Hughes, casserly and JON last year to go with Meyer in 2004, I thought "Oh God, what are the chances of keeping ALL these kids?". The fact is that the club must provide the type of environment to make it impossible for these kids to leave. Looks at the Bobby Bears players of the three flags in row. They knew that by leaving, they were throwing away certain premiership medals, so they stayed. That's the type of environment we've got to produce.

tugga said:
Magnificently said Coggs. he may just end up being the birthday candles on top of the icing. ;)

dont get to Coburg games nowadays, but have a couple of tigerheads that do, that kind of know where its at. Think about the doggies, think about who they have now, that we would have loved to have. Then think about what TW was suggesting about the kid when he arrived at the club. ;)

tugga said:
Nut, I take your point and to be fair, when we drafted Hughes, casserly and JON last year to go with Meyer in 2004, I thought "Oh God, what are the chances of keeping ALL these kids?". The fact is that the club must provide the type of environment to make it impossible for these kids to leave. Looks at the Bobby Bears players of the three flags in row. They knew that by leaving, they were throwing away certain premiership medals, so they stayed. That's the type of environment we've got to produce.

Agree.

But I'm worried about Meyer

IDGAF said:
Yeah ... but you reckon plough talks schit :p

yeah true, but he hasnt talked alot about the kids of 2004 lately, has he? In fact apart from the obvious Lids, it would be safe to say, he hasnt said a word. So you can gather from that what I regard as schit, eg. "Tiger supporters should not expect much from Brownie", if you know what i mean. ;)

CoggaRules said:
yeah true, but he hasnt talked alot about the kids of 2004 lately,
Interesting you raise the class of 04`

Delidio , Tambling and Polo all playing senior footy . Patto has had a couple BOG`s in the magoos ... we know Meyer has the tools , Weaver has always said that if you can scrounge two players a year out of a draft you are doing well ... so far that is looking good

IDGAF said:

Delidio , Tambling and Polo all playing senior footy . Patto has had a couple BOG`s in the magoos ... we know Meyer has the tools , Weaver has always said that if you can scrounge two players a year out of a draft you are doing well ... so far that is looking good

When you've had 5 picks in the first 20, you'd be hoping for a much better strike rate than 2.

IDGAF said:

gonna look better, dont forget, Meyer -12 Polo -20 and no Greg Beckisms any more.

Meyer -Medium forward / midfielder with terrific athletic ability, very competitive, strong overhead, smart around goals and has a sharp footy brain. His vertical jump of 87cm was ranked in the top few at National Bank's AFL Draft Camp.

Polo -Medium insider midfielder who is a hard runner and very competitive. Strong overhead.

and to compare Lids -Medium inside midfielder who can go forward or back. Super competitive, strong overhead and smart around goal.

gotta feeling a bit more education is being done to an already sharp footy brain. ;)

Weaver said:
"Sharp footy brain" is code for "can't win his own footy but cheats better than most to have others get it to him".

yeah definetely,at last we have someone smart enough to know that you dont need 5 guys in and under, since you wont have anyone to benefit if eveyone gets his own footy, you understand how a sharp brain works. When that player can kick it the way Danny does, well you can take it from there. Always had time for cheats man, you tend to get away with more when you cheat, likd the buckleys and nowadays like the "gilbees" of this world. ;)

GhostofJimJess said:
This situation is not without precedent. I personally know a senior AFL player who deliberately underperformed when coached by Ken Judge so as to be traded back to his home state.

What about A.Krakouer?

IDGAF said:
Jarman :eek: ?

Scandalous stuff ghost

Nah, not Jarman, Id. Not from my knowledge anyway.

There was at least three players under Judge's tutorage at the time - I can't confirm without question the exact stance of the other two players, except by the anecdotal evidence of my mate - who absolutely despised Ken Judge and the way he ran the football club. This manifested itself in deliberate fumbling and laziness at training and purposely breaching the club's discipline policy so as to enhance their chances of being traded.

It worked for two of them.

Now, I'm certainly not implying in any way that Danny Meyer is undergoing this - I wouldn't know even if he was, as I don't know the guy at all. I was just adding my little bit that it was not unprecedented in modern footy, despite many footy followers wrongly believing that nobody would jeopardise their financial future. Being on an AFL list is not all that it's cracked up to be for some young blokes.

nut said:
I'm very worried about Meyer. My gut feeling for some reason is he wants to return to SA and is making him self less valuable trade wise.

But we know the kid has talent and would surely demand atleast the pick 12 we got him for. Lets be patient with Danny. He just needs time to build up his strength and fitness, when he does his confidence will no doubt improve as well. Look how much Raines improved in his 3rd year, when he got his body upto AFL level.

banzai said:
But we know the kid has talent and would surely demand atleast the pick 12 we got him for.

If we were to trade Danny Meyer, we'd be lucky to get any draft pick for him, let alone pick 12.

Would you expect Richmond to give pick 12 for some other club's reject pick 12?

Big Punt said:
If we were to trade Danny Meyer, we'd be lucky to get any draft pick for him, let alone pick 12.

Would you expect Richmond to give pick 12 for some other club's reject pick 12?

Have to agree with that. Drafting kids is pretty much like buying a new car. The moment you take them off the lot their 'value' halves.