25_DanielStanley.jpg

DETAILS
JUMPER # 25
DOB 18/02/1988
HEIGHT 187cm
WEIGHT 88kg
FORMER CLUB Collingwood, VIC

http://www.goldcoastfc.com.au/the-team/player-profiles/daniel-stanley/

Hardworking midfielder Danny Stanley joined the Gold Coast SUNS as a rookie following a stint at Collingwood.Taken by the Pies with pick 21 in the 2005 AFL Draft, Stanley spent four years on Collingwood’s list. His endurance and work ethic saw him consistently feature in VFL ‘best on ground’ lists but opportunities at AFL level eluded him. He managed only five games in Collingwood’s senior side before being delisted after the 2009 season.

Stanley was invited to train with Fremantle in the 2009 preseason but the GC SUNS swooped by picking him with its fifth selection in the 2010 Rookie Draft.Once described as ‘a bull of player’ by Collingwood coach Mick Malthouse, Stanley’s dynamism, physicality and maturity was a standout feature of the GC SUNS 2010 VFL season, one that saw him deservedly finish among the leaders at the club’s 2010 best and fairest count.

Very solid performance, did what he had to when it was his turn.Certainly would have cemented a position in a normal H & A game.His in and under and hard run should see him play first up.

Another great game. Boy do I love this kid..
His hardness and pressure is relentless. He protects the young and forces the ball out time and time again. Does not get the recognition he deserves at times. Now my favourite player along with Swallow and Gazz....

He's come a long way since Russell Robertson kicked 7 goals on him in his first game.

I always liked what he did at VFL level when at the Pies... thought he could have been the ideal replacement for Scott Burns with the way he played in the guts.

But whenever he got a chance at AFL level he always looked really slow and kept getting caught and butchering the ball. I felt that he didn't get enough of a chance to string games together in the midfield at AFL level and was played out of position down back.

Good to see him doing well at your mob.

Nice article on the AFL website

Second-Chance Stanley

DESPITE four years in the AFL with barely a game to his credit,
Danny Stanley kept the faith.
Drafted by Collingwood with the no.21 pick in the 2005 NAB AFL
Draft, Stanley plugged away at the Magpies for four seasons and
finished with a total of five senior matches before being delisted.
He then trialled at Fremantle at the end of 2009, which didn't work
out, before being snapped up by the Gold Coast in the 2010 Rookie
Draft.
It's a journey that might have forced others to question themselves,
but not 'Bull'.
"I always believed in myself that I could play at the highest level,"
Stanley said.
"Unfortunately at Collingwood that wasn't to be, but I always knew in
myself that I was good enough.
"It was a bit of a kick in the guts being delisted but I just had to keep
really positive and now it's turned out for the better."
The 23-year-old came to the Suns knowing he would have to play
2009 in the VFL before getting another shot at the big time, but that
was anything but a deterrent.
Stanley says he remembers assistant coach Ken Hinkley telling him
about the unique opportunity he would have once the Suns made
their AFL debut.
"I certainly didn't see it (VFL) as a step back, because I wasn't playing
AFL anyway," he said.
"I'm loving being up here and having the chance to play AFL footy. I
can't be thankful enough to the Gold Coast footy club to give me the
opportunity and second chance. I'm loving it at the moment."
And Stanley is repaying the Suns' faith in spades, having played all
15 matches this season and starring in last Saturday's win over
Richmond.
He kicked three second-quarter goals to wrest the momentum from
the Tigers and was one of Gold Coast's best in the 15-point victory.
Along with good mate and housemate Sam Iles, Stanley will face his former Magpie teammates at Metricon Stadium
on Saturday night, but he said there was nothing personal in the contest.
"They're the best team in the competition, so it should be good," he said. "I'll do what I've been doing the last few
weeks and do my role.
"Shane O'Bree, Bluey (McKenna), Josh Fraser, Sam Iles and myself were there a few years under Mick and in the
system so we have a rough idea what they're going to play like and their style, so I suppose you could say we have
a bit of inside info on them at the moment."
Stanley's two-year contract finishes at the end of this season and he is more than keen to extend if given the
opportunity.
"With the young kids we've drafted and the uncontracted players we've got, we've got a pretty unique group and a
great opportunity going forward to have a pretty deadly sort of team in two years' time and that's exciting and I'm
keen to be part of that," he said.

Some interesting news regarding the bull.

Has signed a contract extension for half of what his salary was. It's good that he has that commitment to the jumper already, but apparently from my source, he is not the only player to of done so recently . . . Not good news if the Suns are already running out of money or salary cap room :/

Could this mean Tippett is coming?

HALF??

We should be DOUBLING his salary after the efforts he put in this year. That makes me mad. :mad:

Tippett or not, we should not be giving our already existing stars huge pay cuts, especially if they're our leading goal kicker.

Maybe there's a deal now to pay them a smaller amount and front-load Tippett, and then pay guys like Bull more later on. I hope that's the case, anyway.

--

If we don't get Tippett, the only reason I can think of that's behind this move is that we are currently re-signing future stars that have contracts expiring next year. I'm talking guys like Bennell, Matera, McKenzie, etc. Perhaps we needed to offer them bigger-than-normal contracts, thus the Bull has had to miss out a bit. Still annoying. I hope we can pay him what he deserves later.

Stanley was one of our best players in 2011. No doubt about that. I'm rapt that he's re-signed, but he's not an AFL star.

There was some discussion on another thread about whether he'd be in Collingwood's best 22, if he went back there. It was inconclusive, but seemed like maybe he'd either just get in or just miss out. A player at that level shouldn't command a huge salary.

I don't know what his salary is, but I reckon it would be pretty decent. It will get harder & harder for the Suns to fit everyone into the salary cap, as our young blokes develop, so I doubt he'll get a big increase later in his career unless he can stay in our best player list year after year.

Stanley was one of our best players in 2011. No doubt about that. I'm rapt that he's re-signed, but he's not an AFL star.

There was some discussion on another thread about whether he'd be in Collingwood's best 22, if he went back there. It was inconclusive, but seemed like maybe he'd either just get in or just miss out. A player at that level shouldn't command a huge salary.

I don't know what his salary is, but I reckon it would be pretty decent. It will get harder & harder for the Suns to fit everyone into the salary cap, as our young blokes develop, so I doubt he'll get a big increase later in his career unless he can stay in our best player list year after year.

I just don't like rewarding one of our best performed players with a pay cut.

Sorry know the family and he has not signed !!!!! So Suns your source is incorrect.....

Yeah in the excitement and shock of getting the message jumped the gun a bit lol. He is being offered a contract of less than half of another certain players salary.

No sorry SUNS still not right !!!!

No use guessing you are way off the mark with this one. But what would I know according to some I do not know the family !!!!!

I am fine mate, just hate reading crap that is totally not factual.
As this is a public message board I can have my say too, I would have thought.

I am fine mate, just hate reading crap that is totally not factual.
As this is a public message board I can have my say too, I would have thought.

Of course you can have your say, It was more to do with your excessive exclamation marks sitting on your pedestal in the supposed "know". :rolleyes:

Danny Stanley