Roast Darren Jolly

• Thread starter Thread starter Vendrell

Never should have got rid of Fraser wood richards fanning McNamara cellar mckee and tex walker all much better options

what does this tell us about our development of rucks, because our ruck coaches have been the worst in the league for the last 10 years! as has been even pointed out by jolly when he came to the club with articles stating he had called to talk to his previous coach at Sydney when he had form slumps. If we arnt careful we will go through the Fraser scenario(which is starting to turn into the Fraser/Jolly scenario) with Grundy and Witts.

Currie?

He's undersized in body weight, slow, unathletic, poor mark, and is reminiscent of Stretch Richards

At the moment our ruck division in 2014 will be - Jolly??? might be retired and if not will be terrible, already over the hill.

Witts - No where near ready, easily beaten when he has to defend and not good enough in the ruck yet

Grundy - Hasn't even played yet.. maybe he is the bright hope but after a back stress fracture his work load will be carefully managed and at best only play a dozen AFL games

We desperately need someone like Currie

Dawson had a ten minute cameo, in the last, after jolly rucked well all night

May as well take him out the back and shoot him
FFS some sanity at last, I didn't see the match, listen to half on the radio & looked at SC scores.

Still think Jolly was better than some people here that actually watched him!!

Jolly is finished, he may be a good tap ruckman but around the ground he is bad. I feel embarrassed that I would rather have Hudson than Jolly in the team.

Got to develop the Ruck position ASAP.

Get game time into Witts and Grundy to prepare for 2014. Can't have this situation which has been going on since mid 2011 any longer :eek:

Jolly has been poor for a long time.. it is an area that has killed us since 2010, the last time we had a good ruck division.
I think we should sign him to a 10 year contract since he helped us in a premiership. We can look past his poor performances for a few years still.

His game last night reminded me so much of Josh Fraser's game in the 2009 ANZAC day game.

other ruckman goes down early, beaten all day by 2nd & 3rd rate players, looking slow, error after error and looked like he didn't want to be there.

He is Finished. Okay in Tapouts but go straight to Oppostion Players and does nothing arouond the Ground.

Might as well get games into Witts

*yawn*

Was one of Jolly's worst games.

Should have absolutely dominated after Griffin went down. Thought our mids MIT get some first class service. Instead, he was beaten by Zac Dawson. New all time low.

Jolly is cooked...still competitive in the hitouts but thats about it. Around the ground he is way too slow for the modern game and although older suprisingly Hudson seems a better fit for our current side these days.

Jolly has done great things for this footy club and I admired the way he has played his football, for the rest of the season he and Hudson should play stretches of games each, the club should sit down with Jolly towards the end of the season and be honest with where he is at, he cannot go around again next year. At the moment he is a liability at most contests. We need to get some further games into Witts and Grundy before drafting a stop gap (whose not 34) whilst these talented lads develop. I have no doubt that Grundy could be played as the second ruck/forward next year but we cannot throw him to the wolves and make him do it all himself.

Jolly dominated the hitouts but hardly any of them were to our advantage, was really disappointed with him last night

Jolly didnt lose us the game, he was okay. Given the loss of Griffin we hoped he could win us the game, he didnt.

We Collingwood supporters need to be a little fair on Jolly. The only predictor of the rest of 2013 is the immediate past. Jolly has been only okay ( but head and shoulders our best ruckman), staying fit he will continue to be largely, okay. He will not be Cox or Goldstein..
He needs to be around to develop Grundy/Witts and do his bit. There is good evidence to suggest Grundy has the skills to be a very good player, we have young Moore ahead too.
I'll leave it to Knighta and Snoop to debate as whether we need another interim ruck and who it could be.

But there are no hiddens with Jolly...

Was one of Jolly's worst games.

Should have absolutely dominated after Griffin went down. Thought our mids MIT get some first class service. Instead, he was beaten by Zac Dawson. New all time low.
Im still with you Ed. Would rather Hudson play over Jolly.

You were panned in your thread last week after one good Jolly game, which comes around every 8 weeks.

He's finished unfortunately.

Im still with you Ed. Would rather Hudson play over Jolly.

You were panned in your thread last week after one good Jolly game, which comes around every 8 weeks.

He's finished unfortunately.

Jolly has been finished for a long time but his very occasional good game makes everyone forget that.

I am really excited about Witts, I think we need to get at least 8 games into him before the end of the year.

Not sure why we didn't play two rucks last night.. at least last week when Witts was in, Jolly was given some valuable time outside of the ruck and by the end of the game he was providing a good contest if not winning the majority of the taps in the last vs the saints.

Jolly's always been overrated at Collingwood IMO, i don't think he's ever been a top 10 ruckman, not in his time with us anyway, he's been serviceable but not much more IMO, this will be his last year i reckon.

I thought Jolly's hitouts were fine. We just got absolutely dominated in the middle, so much pressure and the players didn't know what to do with it. I don't know how many times I counted us getting first possession in the middle, then just turning it over less than metre away and it going to Freo's end.

Jolly has been finished for a long time but his very occasional good game makes everyone forget that.
Jolly is not finished. He's finished in the sense that he doesn't have the stamina to be constantly playing week in week out, but as last week showed, when he has the proper rest, his body is right, he can be dominant. This is why the inclusion of Ben Hudson is a great addition, and having Witts in the sidelines is good as well.

Witts is not the answer to our ruck problems. Jolly is the only competitive ruckman we have this year and Hudson is our second best ruck. At season's end, we may need to consider picking up yet another ruck. Our older guys are looking to be close to or past their use by date, and our young guys will not be ready to carry the ruck in season 2014.

15 possessions, 8 marks, 31 hitouts

Was hardly useless, easily best ruckman on the ground.

It's not his fault that the Fremantle midfield torched ours, or that our only player getting his hands dirty clearance wise was a fifth gamer.

We have far far bigger issues then jolly who has been the best ruck in his last two games

Cmon mate he lost the last quarter to Dawson who helped Freo back into it, he should of smashed Dawson similarly to how Rocca spanked him back in the day.

The very 1st contest Jolly should of ran through him with a knee to Dawsons chest.

It was a poor effort by him imo.

At the moment our ruck division in 2014 will be - Jolly??? might be retired and if not will be terrible, already over the hill.

Witts - No where near ready, easily beaten when he has to defend and not good enough in the ruck yet

Grundy - Hasn't even played yet.. maybe he is the bright hope but after a back stress fracture his work load will be carefully managed and at best only play a dozen AFL games

We desperately need someone like Currie

There comes a time where you have to back in the younger rucks and just let them play to gain the experience needed and cop the fact they may get pantsed here and there.

Most the good rucks had bad patches when they started out even Jolly was poor early on.