David Johnson

• Thread starter Thread starter cats56

DJ played well but then most of the guys did. He was not trying to tag grant rather than just run with him. He was loose so whenyou are that far up im sure the word came out to just play and not negate. I think DJ can be a good player for us but I would not have given him any votes thats for sure.

worthogs said:
DJ played well but then most of the guys did. He was not trying to tag grant rather than just run with him. He was loose so whenyou are that far up im sure the word came out to just play and not negate. I think DJ can be a good player for us but I would not have given him any votes thats for sure.
Well written worthogs, yes agree DJ did some good things but doesn't take away from the fact that he was beaten by his immediate oponent on the day.

As a former Coach one of my main criteria's was to beat your immedite opponent. The majority of our player's did on the day.

Anyone who underates Grant's game just need to have a look at the Kangaroos board at their voting. Some even gave Grant the whole 6 or Grant 3 then daylight. I like to give credit to opposition player's where it's due.

It's a pity i had to criticize but felt it was needed after reading diamond8's critiscm of people voting for H which i felt was unjust and then putting DJ as more deserving. I actually read it while watching the game for a 3rd time and seeing Grant giving DJ the run around. The thread was originally on the Votes board but was understandably moved.

Re: Rnd 9: Votes vs. North

trizzles said:
You are most entitled to do so, Cats56. Just don't come running back to me and giving compliments when I comprehensively beat my opponent. :rolleyes: That will continue this Saturday.
And, sore spot? Don't believe you affected me too much. You are most welcome to express what you like.
What's your excuse this week Trizzles? You guaranteed me that DJ was going to comprehensively beat his opponent yet he was given an absolute football lesson by Jeff Farmer.

Two week's in a row where his opponent has been the best for the opposition.

Don't know whether Sanderson can get back to form or fitness, but even half fit he would do a better stopping job thn DJ.

Re: Rnd 9: Votes vs. North

cats56 said:
What's your excuse this week Trizzles? You guaranteed me that DJ was going to comprehensively beat his opponent yet he was given an absolute football lesson by Jeff Farmer.

Two week's in a row where his opponent has been the best for the opposition.

Don't know whether Sanderson can get back to form or fitness, but even half fit he would do a better stopping job thn DJ.

Show some class, mate. Stop picking fights with your fellow supporters! You're not presenting the best example of maturity.

Please desist.

No excuse this week, Cats56. Farmer was playing at his very best and when that happens, he can be very damaging. It was unfortunate that we were on the receiving end.
Thought the team's effort in marking-up was, at the very best, poor the whole day long. I'd like you to think about the players who let the Freo boys run amok around the ground, chipping the ball to opponents 20m in the clear in the final 3 minutes, when clearly man-on-man was needed. Who is responsible for this?
DJ was edged out by his opponent on the day, but so too were many others. I'd be happy to see the result if Sando were to come in and play on a player like Farmer. DJ was soundly beaten, playing on a bloke who had significant impact on the overall result. Who could have stopped him, Cats56?
I must stress, however, that he also did some good things. He took some good grabs and was fairly solid in defensive contests. When an entire team is beaten by their direct opponents, you expect a loss is on the cards. For a bloke to gather 15 possessions, and taking 10 marks (yes, some were uncontested, but some were also not bad), he obviously did something ok.

I also thought Josha's kicking was appalling! He had a day at the office that he'd rather forget, and I know he wasn't happy with his game, yet we have people saying he was BOG for the Cats. It's a funny thing how these opinions can vary in footy.

trizzles said:
No excuse this week, Cats56. Farmer was playing at his very best and when that happens, he can be very damaging. It was unfortunate that we were on the receiving end.
Thought the team's effort in marking-up was, at the very best, poor the whole day long. I'd like you to think about the players who let the Freo boys run amok around the ground, chipping the ball to opponents 20m in the clear in the final 3 minutes, when clearly man-on-man was needed. Who is responsible for this?
DJ was edged out by his opponent on the day, but so too were many others. I'd be happy to see the result if Sando were to come in and play on a player like Farmer. DJ was soundly beaten, playing on a bloke who had significant impact on the overall result. Who could have stopped him, Cats56?
I must stress, however, that he also did some good things. He took some good grabs and was fairly solid in defensive contests. When an entire team is beaten by their direct opponents, you expect a loss is on the cards. For a bloke to gather 15 possessions, and taking 10 marks (yes, some were uncontested, but some were also not bad), he obviously did something ok.

I also thought Josha's kicking was appalling! He had a day at the office that he'd rather forget, and I know he wasn't happy with his game, yet we have people saying he was BOG for the Cats. It's a funny thing how these opinions can vary in footy.

Shocking comeback triz. To dish out on Hunt is absolutely disgraceful. Terrible statement to say an entire team is beaten by their opponents. I thought Hunt, Chappy and possibly Bartel had the better of their opponents.You obviously don't watch the game closely because if you did you would have noticed Hunt clearly had the better of the dangerous Medhurst (who managed just 1 behind for the day). His spoils on Medhurst and at times 2 or 3 other loose opponents were superb. He clearly held our backline together and i felt without him the margin could have been closer to 9 goals rather than 9 points. He also gave great drive from the backline and set up Kingsley's goal in the 3rd superbly.

Yes he stuffed up a couple of kicks but it was endemic throughout the side on the day. From your statement's you obviously put no thought into how an opponent performs in your assesment of a player's performance.

If you wern't happy with Hunt's game you really do need to reassess the way you appraise a player's performance.

The reason i mentioned Sando if you think back Sando has alway's had Farmer's measure in the past. Unfortunately he is sadly missed at present.

No, Cats56! I can comment on Josha's performance and if you don't think I can, then stuff you! It has nothing to do with a come back, but you are obviously extremely insecure about the issue.
How the hell would you know why or how I can comment on his or any other player's game! I don't deal out much criticism, unlike many of the Geelong supporters, but I reckon you should be coaching the team the way you are going! You are obviously an expert on all issues concerning football, as you have strongly emphasised to all your coaching prowess. Maybe a position on a club's match committee is the place for you and not here where you seem to be treating the opinions and knowledge of fellow supporters with contempt.

Sando has alway's had Farmer's measure in the past. Unfortunately he is sadly missed at present.

I would have wished him all the best, had he played on him in his current state. I think Farmer would have made up some significant ground.

I find it amazing that no one else’s opinions seem to matter but your own cats56! Correct me if I’m wrong but the whole concept of a message board is to discuss your thought and opinions with others...well cats56 you don’t seem to want to hear others opinions and are only on here to cause trouble! Personally I think Dave played really well in the Kangaroos game and again last week against the Dockers. DJ has played his best ever footy this year and has finally found himself a spot in Geelongs best 22. I think on the whole Geelong fans are thrilled with the improvement of Dave myself included.
Everyone is entitled to their own opinions but when you lash out at a player and single them out from the rest your asking for trouble.
As for grinspoon its ridiculous comments like your own that are unnecessary and stupid and sure to offend people. :rolleyes:
Good luck DJ for this week and the rest of the season!

Now is one time that I must criticise DJ for his endeavour and attitude. It is fully deserved, because to quote Cats56, some of his efforts in the second term were nothing short of "pathetic." I have been watching the game at home, and while Collingwood have been dominant all over the ground, one reason for this was the influence of Alan Didak.
Cats56 pointed out last week that DJ, at one stage, stood dreaming on the mark, and yet again, he has done it tonight, allowing the dangerous Didak far too much space. As Lyon and Dermie pointed out, a player (DJ) must be aware of a player's left foot (Didak) and cut down space inside the ground quickly.
This is an aspect of his game that he clearly must fix.
On the other hand, to note one positive, his effort for a mark was what we like to see, however it has been what we have become accustomed to. DJ must improve his weaker areas, and one obviously is his awareness whilst standing on the mark.

His hamstring injury was unfortunate.
For those of you interested, I shall give you an update tomorrow evening.

trizzles said:
Now is one time that I must criticise DJ for his endeavour and attitude. It is fully deserved, because to quote Cats56, some of his efforts in the second term were nothing short of "pathetic." I have been watching the game at home, and while Collingwood have been dominant all over the ground, one reason for this was the influence of Alan Didak.
Cats56 pointed out last week that DJ, at one stage, stood dreaming on the mark, and yet again, he has done it tonight, allowing the dangerous Didak far too much space. As Lyon and Dermie pointed out, a player (DJ) must be aware of a player's left foot (Didak) and cut down space inside the ground quickly.
This is an aspect of his game that he clearly must fix.
On the other hand, to note one positive, his effort for a mark was what we like to see, however it has been what we have become accustomed to. DJ must improve his weaker areas, and one obviously is his awareness whilst standing on the mark.

Good to hear that you have acknowledged the deficiencies that DJ has that i have been trying to point out for weeks. Your PM to me was a nice touch and i hope you felt mine was o.k. too.

I hope my insights into the game can enlighten many other's as the year goes on.

cats56 said:
Good to hear that you have acknowledged the deficiencies that DJ has that i have been trying to point out for weeks. Your PM to me was a nice touch and i hope you felt mine was o.k. too.

I hope my insights into the game can enlighten many other's as the year goes on.

If they are presented in a mature and reasonable fashion then I see no reason why they shouldn't be..... but you missed the mark right there.

Have another go. None of us are the be all and end all of football knowledge and insight.