David King on 360 tonight

some in here will never be pleased,

"Scott is soft on the players, sack him"
"Scott isn't nice to Boomer when Boomer isn't playing how he should, sack him"

and some here think the message from the coach is indecisive (and I am one), but crikey look in the mirror boys and girls, we want a hard coach, he has been soft too long, now he is being what we want and we are complaining?

Boomer can celebrate the 400 games when he has retired, for now he has a job to do.

and Kingy can keep his special comments to himself.

This.

If the media don't want a negative comment about Boomer, don't ask a negative question. And then don't complain when the coach gives the honest answer. Message for Brad - next time say nothing or just bullshit on about nothing.

It was also mentioned that the game is in Brisbane. How the hell is that North's doing? Kingy then suggested they could have had him miss a game to play it in Melbourne. What? In another team's home game anyway? And all of this was stirred up because Boomer was made sub a couple of week's back. Imagine if he'd have been dropped or rested for a whole game. That Boomer hasn't been rested is actually a credit to his fitness and his importance to the team and a slap in the face for the team that they are in a position where they have can't rest players because the below par performances so far this year has left them with no margin for error in making finals.

JB was criticized for not saying anything and Essendon praised for Fletcher's 400th. But where was Paul Little that week? And there was no speculation about Fletcher playing on next year as it would seem it's not an issue - everyone assumes he's finishing this year otherwise we'd have been talking about him breaking Tuck's record.

The club has had the presser, made Boomer available to every media outlet - including the one that was bagging his club, produced memorabilia and a special jumper for the occasion. Fans have been encouraged to make the trip. Apart from Brad's honest yet tactless response to a question, what the club done wrong?

This issue ranges from a storm in a teacup to a decent sized pile of bullshit.

Very much this.

I know we all like to vent and certainly not happy the way the club is heading at present but Brad/club have done ZERO wrong this week.

In no single universe would there be any reason to put anything like they have to print.

If any of those thick flogs listened to the million other pressers Boomer has done this week, they'll know that he'll be doing contract talks not long after this game.

FML.

Kingy if you're reading this (wouldn't put it past you to google search your name every 5 minutes) you're as good a media personality as you were a coach.

Congratulations on staying far too long in both professions.

This.

Very much this.

I know we all like to vent and certainly not happy the way the club is heading at present but Brad/club have done ZERO wrong this week.

In no single universe would there be any reason to put anything like they have to print.

If any of those thick flogs listened to the million other pressers Boomer has done this week, they'll know that he'll be doing contract talks not long after this game.

FML.

Kingy if you're reading this (wouldn't put it past you to google search your name every 5 minutes) you're as good a media personality as you were a coach.

torii_300th_homer.gif

Pretty offended at the lack of respect being shown to David King here.

I challenge you all to name someone with a better combination of needlessly loud vocal projection and inane banter since Gerard Healy took to the airways.

"Gerard if you look at the crucial "make up bullshit as you go along" stat its clear that Kingy is the club house leader"

The problem with this approach is the fact that the sub is almost certainly going to be abolished next year. Unless there is a significant reduction in the interchange cap (which is being advocated in some quarters) we've essentially missed the Boomer super sub/impact fourth interchange boat.

I'm probably in the minority here in that I think Boomer should pull the plug at the end of the year while he's still very much in our best 22. As Warnie said, when you pull up stumps, people should be saying "Why did he retire?" rather than "Why didn't he retire?". What happens if, at about this time next year, Boomer's fallen off the cliff form-wise (not a far fetched scenario at his age) and doesn't warrant a spot in the team on form? It'd be a very brave coach to drop him on the threshold of breaking Tuck's record.

Don't get me wrong, for Boomer to be performing at such a high level after 399 games is a colossal effort and he absolutely deserves to be afforded the opportunity to go out on his own terms. I just foresee that things could get a little messy in the process.

PS - I really hope that we thump the Bears this Saturday and give the little champ the milestone game he deserves.
PPS - And after each goal Boomer kicks, everyone goes to that flog Rockliff and lets him know all about it.

34 possies last week, highly doubt he won't be best 22 next year.

I have found some commentary for Ian (King, David's father maybe;)), fats forward to 3.05 and list to the commentary about oulves's goal from the wing. I now see where David get's his desire to hear his own voice

I think we can close this thread after Boomer dispelled any rumour of a rift and in fact supported Brad.

I for one applaud Brad for playing a straight bat. Please let it continue Mr Scott

This.

Very much this.

FML.

fat-kid-celebrates.gif

The club has celebrated Boomer like it should. However, Brad Scott has been ordinary this week. It is not the time to be speculating about his future or whether he will start as sub.

He should be saying to the media we are not interested in talking about Boomer's future at the club this week, we want to celebrate a great & rare achievement by a club champion. Poor effort BS.

The club has celebrated Boomer like it should. However, Brad Scott has been ordinary this week. It is not the time to be speculating about his future or whether he will start as sub.

He should be saying to the media we are not interested in talking about Boomer's future at the club this week, we want to celebrate a great & rare achievement by a club champion. Poor effort BS.

Right, let's get one thing straight and this is not just aimed at you Sticksy, Scott never questioned Harvey's future at the club. What he did say was the Boomer will be assessed like they have have done together the last 4 years. Boomer confirmed this and even went as far to say that he and Scott had a "great relationship" and then went on to defend Scott to boot. So I reckon it's time give this notion the boot.

unnamed.jpg

To me it all smells of desperation from the club. Harvey has never lost in any of his milestone games and im thinking they are very nervous about us losing to the lions. History suggests thats exactly whats going to happen as we look for inspiration to get these mentally weak group of men up for each game.
We haven't won in brissy for a long time and i think this is the reason they are happy for him to play his 400 up there. Lets see if this all backfires and a genuine legend of our game is humiliated on his 400th.

GazzaRoo if it backfires then the WTFF are those people doing playing senior footy? If players can't motivate themselves for a game like that what makes you think they'll be able to do it for a final? If you want anyone to improve their mental performance under pressure you need to provide opportunities for them to do it.

David King:

King said he couldn’t understand why Scott’s assessment of Harvey had suddenly soured.

“To me, if he’s fit and he’s playing reasonable football — he doesn’t have to be best on ground — put his magnet on the board, forget about what he doesn’t do and look at what he does do.

“There is a perception Boomer — and Lindsay Thomas has paid the price for this as well — don’t put enough pressure on in the forward 50. They haven’t relied on that for the past 18 months so to single those two out now is unfair.”

What??

The current side needs to improve and if you can't put pressure on your leaders to lead that improvement who will you put the pressure on? Your pet dog? the forward line needs to improve its pressure so lets do nothing?

Bloody hell. What about the next 18 months and the next step?

How is "forget about what we don't do and look at what we do do" going to work when we aren't leading the comp with a percentage of 200? Is he really arguing that we should maintain this level of mediocrity?

clearly not going to happen but id imagine boomer would have pretty strong links with management at NMFC.

Scott is talking a strong game for 2016 because so far the hardest call he has made in his coaching career is dropping LT for 3 weeks.

How about scott gets his tongue out of Macmillan and Gibson arse and drop them for a couple of months. And delist Waite
This is just a shit post mate!
Pull your head in!

Im not going to read the thread, but my thoughts are:

Boomer is a club legend and deserve praise of the highest order.

Bard is a f***ing w***er.

Last edited by a moderator:
Pretty hypocritical from Kingy.

If he really wanted this week to be all positive about Boomer why would he say such explosive negative stuff?

He's media savvy enough to know this would only add to to negativity.

Agree.......not impressed that kingy made it a story this week, now others including muppet mooney are going with it

I have found some commentary for Ian (King, David's father maybe;)), fats forward to 3.05 and list to the commentary about oulves's goal from the wing. I now see where David get's his desire to hear his own voice

its actually Ian Day....was a long time commentator in 70s and 80s in SA

David King is first rate knob-jockey, and fat-arsed one at that. Since when did it become compulsory for a coach to love all his players and vice-versa. Both just have to do their jobs. It wasn't felt that Boomer was doing his, so he received some tough love, doesn't seem to have hurt him. Don't get caught up in the bullshit King and his mates vomit up. Boomer will start tonight, sign for next season, break the record that will never be broken, end of story.

its actually Ian Day....was a long time commentator in 70s and 80s in SA
It was actually a joke, this bloke says Ourlves kicked the goal and then his co-commentator confirms that Ross Glendinning was in fact Ourlves, sorry you did not get it. Alves passed the ball to Glendinning who then kicked the goal. is he saying Oves or Ourlves?

David King on 360 tonight