CrowHop

Rugby
Ok, it’s great to watch the tv when the Crows are in full flight, but what happens when you’ve waited all week for the big game and the Crows put in an insipid display? Are you a sore loser and turn the tv off? Do you throw things around? Yell obscenities?

Generally, I tend to get pretty worked up and swear at the tv a bit. The umpires cop it, and Craigy cops it sometimes for not making ‘that’ positional move. The wife comes in quite often and tells me to ‘keep it down’ and stop swearing, but I can’t help it. One example was that game (in 98?) when we were pinged HTB 5 times in the last quarter against North and Rehnny was pinged in the last moments of the game. That’s the only time when I felt I really ‘lost it’.

I tell the wife, that I require 30 minutes after every Crows loss to dwell and mope around (generally with beer in hand) and then I’ll be back to normal.

What do you do? (please give examples!)

I used to cry until 2007 when I was more grown up, on the 2006 Pre Season final we got beaten I ran up to my bedroom and cried but now I just get a bit pissed off and go on the computer :)

The couch cusions get a fare working out.

I'll usually beat the piss out of them with right hooks mainly, then I go all quiet and suicidal...lol, how emo of me.

This is in excess of the mass amount of shouting I do during the game, to give an example of that, my dad and I were watching a Crows game downstairs when I was about 12, my mate was upstairs (not a big footy guy) in the 'kids' area just mucking about.

My mum went up to check on him and he was crying due to the amount of vocal and the level of which insults were being hurled at the tv.

not sure if he knew is we were going at the tv or eachother but I have come a long way since 12 so he may be the one on suicide watch if he were to come around during a crows game now.

For home games, im usually there. Theres a period of sullen silence, usually followed by some heavy drinking.

Away games, theres a period of TV screaming which usually ends in the dog hiding out back. Then, theres a period of non talking, the TV turned off immediately at the siren, and stomping around the house.

Both are accompanied by a week of anger, grumpiness and possible recriminations against opposition supporters i know.

Depends on the circumstances, Hawks 2007 final I just booted my footy around Telstra dome and was just generally mad.

2006 Prelim I just sat in my chair for a good 30 minutes just couldn't move was shattered.

Usually I get mad for a few hours then try and cheer up.

Although the odd chair/cushion has been know to be sent flying across the room :o

Depends on the circumstances, Hawks 2007 final I just booted my footy around Telstra dome and was just generally mad.

2006 Prelim I just sat in my chair for a good 30 minutes just couldn't move was shattered.

Usually I get mad for a few hours then try and cheer up.

Although the odd chair/cushion has been know to be sent flying across the room :o

Was as upset and shattered as i've been, bar funerals/deaths

I went quiet for a long tim, tv off and sat in the chair stairing at a blank screen.

2006 Prelim me and my mate just stood there for about two minutes after the final siren, didn't look at each other, and just walked off in silence. Until we got to the car and then we had a yell.

Also, I come on here and bag Drummond, makes me feel better sometimes :o

I try to avoid Bigfooty for a period after particularly bad losses, to avoid me posting something completely idiodic and irrational that stays on the permanent record.

I get ****en blind with a loss.

On the odd occasion I'm home at the time I will post complete and utter tripe on Bigfooty which makes me feel better, but otherwise just get stuck into the piss.

Bagging Drummond is always fun though but a little easy.

I find it much easier dealing with a loss after an away game as i don’t have to drive home. After watching the game on the TV i can then just come onto Big Footy and vent some major frustrations whist listening to the numbnuts ring up 5AA and start playing the blame game. I can just chill out on the puter at home without the worry of running someone over.

After a loss at AAMI and i have to drive home, if i am really pissed off (like the final last year) i will try and get out of AAMI as quick as possable by continually beeping the horn until everyone is out of the way. On the way home i just yell at the radio and the idiots who ring up to vent frustration. It will only last an hour or so.

As someone else said, the couch cushions definately get a fair workout. I use a lot of 4 letter words. After the game finishes, I keep drinking.

Ok, it’s great to watch the tv when the Crows are in full flight, but what happens when you’ve waited all week for the big game and the Crows put in an insipid display? Are you a sore loser and turn the tv off? Do you throw things around? Yell obscenities?

Generally, I tend to get pretty worked up and swear at the tv a bit. The umpires cop it, and Craigy cops it sometimes for not making ‘that’ positional move. The wife comes in quite often and tells me to ‘keep it down’ and stop swearing, but I can’t help it. One example was that game (in 98?) when we were pinged HTB 5 times in the last quarter against North and Rehnny was pinged in the last moments of the game. That’s the only time when I felt I really ‘lost it’.

I tell the wife, that I require 30 minutes after every Crows loss to dwell and mope around (generally with beer in hand) and then I’ll be back to normal.

What do you do? (please give examples!)

I build myself a bridge and 'get over it' its football and like all sport there is a winner and loser and you cant win them all.

I try to avoid Bigfooty for a period after particularly bad losses, to avoid me posting something completely idiodic and irrational that stays on the permanent record.

Yeah that's something I need to stop doing, especially if I have had some brewskies.

I build myself a bridge and 'get over it' its football and like all sport there is a winner and loser and you cant win them all.

Hahaha you might say that now but I have seen you carry on like a little child on here plenty of times so don't give me that shit.

You are basically saying you don't care if the Crows lose. What a stupidly, inaccurate statement.

It depends on who we're playing:
Collingwood/Essendon/Port/pretty much any Victorian team - I get angry and start taking it out on other people...you really don't want to be around me haha.
Sydney - I don't really mind because Sydney is my "second team".
WCE - well, that's just embarrassing now because they're so bad haha, but when we lost to them in 08, I turned the TV off at half time and pretended it wasn't happening.
Freo - again...embarrassing! :p
Brisbane - meh, depends on how we played

When I'm at the game, it varies because I base it on how we played, how much we lost by, if we were up by a fair lot and lose (wait, no, sorry, only Port does that haha :p).
e.g the Hawthorn game at home in 08, it annoyed me! I HATE losing by less than a goal! :mad:
As for the 2006 Prelim, I burst into tears. It hurt, it REALLY hurt to lose that game :(.

Yes you CAN win them all! We just haven't worked out how...
It reaaally annoys me after a loss and I'm "fragile" when someone says to me "geez, get over it, its just a game". No, it's NOT just a game! If it was just a game, there would be no emotion in the game, and I wouldn't be drawn to Aami every second weekend in Winter. Football is pretty much my life and I'm not ashamed to admit it!! :D

2006 Prelim loss against Eagles. Following day I was looking for a new mobile phone because I snapped mine into 2 pieces. It was a flip phone. The Crows cost me $300 Pfft

Lota of obscenities if no one else is home, and I swear one day I will just flip the tv oer and throw it through a window. Always watch the whole game though.

Home games, are usually just stunned silence walking back to the car :(

Home games, I'll usually flick on some talk back in the car on the way home. Always hilarious! It seems those stupid umpires are to blame, yet again. When I get home if I'm not doing anything else I will watch the game again and really try to pinpoint just what Shirley, Doughty and Stevens did wrong.

Away games I either miss because I am playing footy or if it's not on Saturday afternoon I will watch it with friends at a pub somewhere. Usually just kick on as normal afterwards, a couple of hours later you can't even remember who won. At some stage over the weekend I will try to watch a replay as you miss heaps watching the game at the pub and what you do see you forget.