Dean Polo

• Thread starter Thread starter wheels4

Jackson is also taller, can play defence or up forward, has a booming kick, is very accountable and overall whips the crap out of Polo in almost every area, other than as you said endurance. One of our most underrated players imo, versus Polo who was initially our most overrated but now enjoys about the right rating (a handy fringe player).

Yep, he's certainly also more adaptable than Polo RB, good addition.

I'd say a much better natural football brain, Ray. And while Jackson may be harder, Polo stands up better in tackles and is still able to get a quick handball away. Apart from Tuck I reckon Polo is one of the few on our list who can still get the ball away when tackled.

I think standing up in a tackle is just about Jackson't most improved area Crum - if you include the fact he's probably become the best at fending off a would be tackler that we have in the side.

Occasionally he'll let himself down getting pinged holding the ball while he's being slung around the hips (with hands well free), but I like that mistake from a young player who is clearly looking for a decent disposal opportunity and has clearly been told not to just dispose at random for the sake of getting rid of it.

It's a good mistake and the right thought processes are behind it.

I wouldn't argue against the fact Polo came to the game with a much better natural football brain, but I would argue that Jackson is more intelligent (top 1% in his year for Victoria) and that he's rapidly beginning to apply that intelligence more and more to his football with solid results and solid improvement.

I agree we aren't going to get anything more than a 3rd or 4th rounder is we trade him (if that), but I'm worried he'll get delisted anyway if he isn't traded. We don't have many left to pick from to delist, I think Polo, Casserly, JON and Meyer. I reckon at a minimum we'll be looking at 3ND picks and a PSD pick, so at least two and possibly all of those will go.

I think we'll pass on the PSD this year mate and our first two picks in the ND plus Thomson and a few rookies will do us nicely.

Casserley is gone (re-rookied) surely - we spent last draft on McMahon solely due to the fact Casserley hadn't been able to claim that same role - which is what we recruited him for.

I don't remember off-hand what Collins' contract status is, but I'd imagine he'd be more likely to go next than Polo, JON or Meyer.

I think Collins was on the list of 10 players re-contracted.

yeah thats right, also casserly was signed to a 2-year deal last year.

i wouldnt mind picking up an early 2nd rounder for polo as it is predicted to be a strong draft

We need depth, we need depth, we need depth!!!! Just 'cos he isn't in our best 22 doesn't mean we should pack his bags and send him away! He's only 22 and has his best footy ahead of him!!!!
Just as the judge said to Tiny Pinder "stop picking up teenagers"
NO player is untouchable.
You need to learn that, and whether you like it or not, players have to be moved on, its not a choice either.
And we also can't aford to keep players on too long in the hope that they will eventually come good, we have been doing that for ****ing years and it has gotten us nowhere

Its a strong draft this year so a late 2nd rounder would be great for POLO. that will give us about 8, 26, 30, 58 and Thommo.

And we also can't aford to keep players on too long in the hope that they will eventually come good, we have been doing that for ****ing years and it has gotten us nowhere

Except Moore, White, Jackson and no doubt more to come who we have been patient with and are now reaping the rewards - rather than having delisted them for a bunch of fresh draftees to abuse because they're not instant superstars.

Obviously there has to be enough talent and commitment there to bother being patient, but the fact we're struggling to find enough players to delist would suggest that there's far more calls we've got right than wrong.

Going into last season White, Moore and Jackson were all on the chopping block according to many.

It's history now that they all took big steps last year, don't be surprised if the last ones retained this year do the same next season.

Imagine if we traded a 22 year old readymade AFL player for a late 2nd round pick! All we'd be doing is putting that spot on the list back 4 years. The 18 year old wouldn't have the skill or body to cope, would play 2's footy for a couple of years so he could develop and then a heap of people on here would be calling for his delisting just like Travis Casserly is copping!