Defining Moment 19/7/2008

WASaintsFan08

I believe that St Kilda vs Hawthorn will define our season. A win or strong performance will not only see us in september action but will find us competing for the premiership.

With all our heads held high after 3 straight wins finally playing some free flowing footy. the forwards are attacking the midfield is dominating and the backline is choking up the forwards can we keep our momentium going and finally rid the burdon of being underachievers this season?

or do we go back to old ways... lose is poor fashion lose all our confidence and get the thought in our head that we cant match it the big boys. will the forward line fumble the midfield choke and the backlines allow a flurry of goals?

i do not believe its make or break but i do believe players self belief and heart and supporters faith are in the balance for the season if we dont come out and atleast challange the hawks

i know what ill be hoping for when i sit infront of my tv with a beer in one hand the remote in the other...

COME ON SAINTS SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE OF!!!!!

The fact is, that the three games we've won have been against teams that are below us on the ladder (although of course the Kangas and Blues were really hovering around us). Hawks are a different cup of tea, as we all know.

I think you're totally right WA. If we win this, it ceases to be about making the finals, and will become about how far we will go in them.

I'm gonna be there on Saturday night. Hopefully I'll get to put my victory hat on at the end of the game.

The Hawk's zoning strategy is going to be more difficult for us. Teams that beat the Hawks run hard at the man trying to block space, which hasn't been our strength.

The moves of Gram, Goddard and Fisher into the midfield have improved us in this area, so hopefully Ross has the guts to go for the win rather than containment.

If Blake can hold Roughead (rather than tying up Fisher), Gilbo on Williams, and Dempster on Cyril (assume Max gets the crack at Fuddy Duddy Buddy) we'll have a real chance - as Ball, Harvey, Montagna, Dal Santo, Gram, Fisher, Hayes form a pretty good on-ball division with support from CJ and Armo.

Think it's important to have Gardi in, so hopefully all the treatment he was getting at Casey was precuationary.

Spot on with the title of this thread mate.

I have been doing a bit of research on this game and I wanted to get your thoughts.

Let's first focus on our defensive matchups.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

* denotes that I think Blake could be used in this role. Sounds a stretch, but consider this.

Clarkson knows that his rolling zone is vulnerable against run and carry, something that Sam Fisher generates a lot of. For this reason, I believe he will hope Fisher goes to Roughead and will play Roughead deep as possible. Hence I suggest Blake to play there to allow Fish a run off role, possibly picking up a player like Osborne. Blake will be giving up a fair bit of size and strength though, but a point I thought was worth considering. I wouldn't be surprised to see Franklin try and take Hudghton up the ground if Hudghton does well early.

I am hoping that M Gardiner comes into the side as I reckon this will give us a ruck edge against a very improved combination in Campbell and Taylor. This will be pivotal as if we can break even in the midfield (a real Hawk strength) we can go a long way to getting a win.

Now here is where we have an advantage. The Hawks don't have a good matchup for Roo. Croad doesn't have the motor, Brown doesn't have the height. This leaves a player like Gilham as a possibility. Watching a fair bit of the Hawks v Swans yesterday, the Hawk backline is suspect against a forward line that can take contested marks which Kosi can. I would expect Croad to go to Kosi and a player like Ladson to play on Milne. I would love for Campbell Brown to go to Milne as I expect Brown to get sucked in to being a 3rd man up in the marking duels allowing Milne to gather the ground balls.

As a side note, this is a game that I think Lyon will enjoy coaching in. He does have a few tactics that have been effective if not surprising, see Gram on Judd. I'm not suggesting he'll revert back to the old slow ball use, but I wouldn't be surprised to see a few matchups which may not be the most logical now, but may make better sense on the night.

Anyways gang, what do you think?????

I believe that St Kilda vs Hawthorn will define our season. A win or strong performance will not only see us in september action but will find us competing for the premiership.

With all our heads held high after 3 straight wins finally playing some free flowing footy. the forwards are attacking the midfield is dominating and the backline is choking up the forwards can we keep our momentium going and finally rid the burdon of being underachievers this season?

or do we go back to old ways... lose is poor fashion lose all our confidence and get the thought in our head that we cant match it the big boys. will the forward line fumble the midfield choke and the backlines allow a flurry of goals?

i do not believe its make or break but i do believe players self belief and heart and supporters faith are in the balance for the season if we dont come out and atleast challange the hawks

i know what ill be hoping for when i sit infront of my tv with a beer in one hand the remote in the other...

COME ON SAINTS SHOW US WHAT YOU MADE OF!!!!!

I agree that its such an important game,with Eagles and Port coming up after this one can really set us up for a crack at the finals !!! PS go vote on the polls page regarding who is better Lenny Hayes or Nathan Foley !! Cheers ;)

I have been doing a bit of research on this game and I wanted to get your thoughts.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

* denotes that I think Blake could be used in this role. Sounds a stretch, but consider this.

Clarkson knows that his rolling zone is vulnerable against run and carry, something that Sam Fisher generates a lot of. For this reason, I believe he will hope Fisher goes to Roughead and will play Roughead deep as possible. Hence I suggest Blake to play there to allow Fish a run off role, possibly picking up a player like Osborne. Blake will be giving up a fair bit of size and strength though, but a point I thought was worth considering. I wouldn't be surprised to see Franklin try and take Hudghton up the ground if Hudghton does well early.

I am hoping that M Gardiner comes into the side as I reckon this will give us a ruck edge against a very improved combination in Campbell and Taylor. This will be pivotal as if we can break even in the midfield (a real Hawk strength) we can go a long way to getting a win.

Now here is where we have an advantage. The Hawks don't have a good matchup for Roo. Croad doesn't have the motor, Brown doesn't have the height. This leaves a player like Gilham as a possibility. Watching a fair bit of the Hawks v Swans yesterday, the Hawk backline is suspect against a forward line that can take contested marks which Kosi can. I would expect Croad to go to Kosi and a player like Ladson to play on Milne. I would love for Campbell Brown to go to Milne as I expect Brown to get sucked in to being a 3rd man up in the marking duels allowing Milne to gather the ground balls.

As a side note, this is a game that I think Lyon will enjoy coaching in. He does have a few tactics that have been effective if not surprising, see Gram on Judd. I'm not suggesting he'll revert back to the old slow ball use, but I wouldn't be surprised to see a few matchups which may not be the most logical now, but may make better sense on the night.

Anyways gang, what do you think?????

I am but a grasshopper in your worldly presence - nay, a fly in your chopsticks.

The Hawks came out firing after the week off & regained some form which had been dwindling away in previous weeks vs a team they haven't beating for 5 years. But more importantly no injuries/suspensions!

With the possible return of Bateman, Lewis & Dew we could potentially field our strongest 22, although there's a question mark over Crawford. It's been awhile since we had to omit performing players but it's very likely this week.

Buddy is coming off an inaccurate game so we all expect him to come out all guns blazing for redemption this week. His last effort at the Dome was the best performance of a forward for 2008. Close the roof at your own peril!

A win to the saints under these circumstances would be phenomenal as we have no hard training block/injuries/suspensions to fall back on this time. It would indeed be a season defining win for St. Kilda with Hawthorn building towards finals having secured a top 3 finish with 7 games remaining.

This post isn't meant to shake any supporters confidence but just give an insight into where the Hawks are at right now. Forget losing to the likes of the Bulldogs & North Melbourne whilst we were down on personal & form...lose this game & it would be devastating for the hawks.

Look, Hawthorn are a far superior to Saints as of current. Stronger bodies, better skills and supreme confidence. I think Ross Lyon will need to pull one out of the hat with his coaching and every single player on the ground will need to make a sizable contribution. We can't afford 2 players to have games like Gwilt and Allen did on Friday night. Whatever weaknesses we have will be exposed on Saturday night. Like Codec said, we are playing a full strength Hawthorn side, so give ur heart and soul Saints and show the football world we are not a wasted generation.

GO THE SAINTS

This is a career defining game for Lyon imo. Well not really, but if he wins, he's certainly set himself up for a long haul as Saints coach. If we go down gallantly by a couple goals, he'll win some admirers (as long as it's attacking footy, not shut down footy). If we get pumped, well we'll just be making up the numbers come September.

It's my blind faith....what can I say?

Good work with the avatar - can't use the chicken in the window reference any more.

Edit (Kildonan)

Look2me4guidance.jpg

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

I'd rather see Blake or even Fisher on Franklin. Max on Roghead might be a better match up.​

PS go vote on the polls page regarding who is better Lenny Hayes or Nathan Foley !! Cheers ;)

Just done that thanks Middo. Geez, they're even.

Personally I think our season's defining moment was in round 3 against the Bulldogs. Just for that one quarter it seemed like we were in for a ripper year, then it slowly fell apart in the remaining 3 quarters and afterwards the 2 teams went their separate ways, Dogs to the top 4, us struggling for a finals spot.

Anyway Hawthorn should win, but should we spring an upset we can lock in finals.

Here's how I see it:

Maxy H on Franklin
Sammy Fish on Roughead *
Gilbo on Mark Williams
Goddard on Osborne
Dempster/Baker on Rioli

I'd rather see Blake or even Fisher on Franklin. Max on Roughead might be a better match up.​

Yes thats what I think too. A big ask for Blake, but he has the endurance to stay with Buddy. I think Max on Roughhead would keep him very quiet for the whole game, where Franklin will probably get a few no matter who is on him. I think Franklin would run up the ground a bit to far for Max.

Osborne , Williams , and Rioli are all able to kick a few so it will be a big challenge to our defence. Need someone very quick witted on Rioli, I'm not sure if Dempster is the man.

Need someone very quick witted on Rioli, I'm not sure if Dempster is the man.

Harsh SS.

Dempster has taken various sneaky little turds this year, so he would be a good option. His form in the last 3 weeks has been part of the reason we have won.

Blake on Franklin would end in brutal embarresment. Franklin is at least 3 classes ahead of him and would just push him aside or burn him with pace, Max is our only option really.

I reckon take a risk in the first quarter, cos he isnt gonna rip us apart in just 1 quarter and see whether his kicking boots are on. If they're not, persist with whomever is on him, if they are, switch Max onto him. That way Max can go to Roughead who is more accurate (I think). Well anyway, he's much less unpredictable in front of goal.

I got an idea, how about we borrow the Geelong backline for this week? GT has a bit of cash on him after that court case, im sure he wont mind :P
Onto serious matters, Buddy can't be stopped one on one, so doesnt matter whos on him. I reckon flood is our only way out if we want to keep the score to a minimum, then hurt them on the rebound when we have it.

Blake on Franklin would end in brutal embarresment. Franklin is at least 3 classes ahead of him and would just push him aside or burn him with pace, Max is our only option really.

From what I remember, Blake kept Cousins pretty quiet for three quarters last year, he could do alright against buddy.

some player will have to cover the space around the 50 to stop buddy and roughead leading and kozi and roos may become important taking marks in our back half