McGun

Were will Deledio play next year? With the Addition of Grigg, you could even say Houli and the chance of us drafting Heppel will we see Deledio go into the middle or is he now a back flanker a good thing about him playing on the flank is he dosent get tagged but he cant have as big as an influence, Thoughts?

I think he has a fair bit of an influence playing from Half Back i just watched the replay of the Adelaide game where Douglas tagged him from the backline and lids tore him to shreds!

Lids will be in the game no matter where he plays! Kids a star!

IMO I want him in the middle, though probably play a more outside mid role. Dimma wants elite kicks and he is the best you're gonna get. Bringing Lids into the mid means that the opposition will either go for him or Cotch for the tag as Foley has missed a lot of footy and it's not like Dusty is going to take notice of some scrub trying to block him from the ball, meaning whoever gets the tag we're going to have atlaest 3 elite ball winners no matter what. As for Lids' position on the HB, plonk pick 6 assuming he's a mid in there to ease into AFL level.

Pretty much spot on IMO. Deledio will play where we need him as our side gets better. :thumbsu:

If it was up to me I would have him starting on the wing with 1 instruction: Go where you think you're needed.

I don't care if he is floating around the backline as loose man in defence and picking off the ball coming in. At the same time it could mean he pushes forward and gives Jack and the other forwards a hand by drawing an opposition player out or he simply just runs around the middle of the ground and racks up possessions at will.

If it was up to me I would have him starting on the wing with 1 instruction: Go where you think you're needed.

I don't care if he is floating around the backline as loose man in defence and picking off the ball coming in. At the same time it could mean he pushes forward and gives Jack and the other forwards a hand by drawing an opposition player out or he simply just runs around the middle of the ground and racks up possessions at will.

The good thing about that RT is he will still take the number one tagger for most of the time.

Grigg, Foley and Tuck to feed it out to our better ball users in Cotch, Martin and Lids makes for an exciting year ahead.

For me, IMO i think he needs to play the same role as he did this year. He still had (from memory) the most kicks inside 50 which shows he was still up around the middle during attack.

It's a strange feeling but we are building a really strong side from the right position. A strong midfield is what we have always lacked, but we are to the point where we can to have Lids playing from the backline and coming through the middle when needed.

I'd love to see him play a goddard type role, maybe a hodge role? I dunno

Hope he is good enough to do it

Don't hope mate... He already is!! Watch him tear it up next year as we start playing for one another and move up the ladder... Agree on the Utility move, HBF with a license to roam wherever he sees fit..

Our midfield is getting very exciting!

Like previous posters, my thoughts are that Delidio should take on a Hodge type flexible role where he starts on the hbf but has the room to move to where he is needed. This already happened this year alot anyway, with delidio pushing foward (see the number of I50 he achieved).

I unfortunately don't think we should start lids in the centre as taggers seem to get under his skin. If Delidio was put in the middle every game then as an opposition coach I would always put my number one tagger on him regardless of who else was there, he is that good!

The good thing now is that we have other players who whilst not quite as good, are just as dangerous. I think Martin, Foley and Cotchein should start in the centre as they seem to manage the taggers better.

If Grigg is all he is cracked up to be i see the following happening:

The HB position will be vacated by Lids and taken by Grigg - our 3 backline generals will then be Newman, Grigg and rotate with Connors.

The HF position that has now been vacated by Collins i would like to see Lids/resting mids go to. With Foley, Martin, Cotchin all starting in the middle as inside mids (and rotating with Tuck / pick 6?), and the likes of Deledio and possibley Houli out on the wings we are in a very good position :thumbsu: It means that after a stint in the middle, one the inside mids can take this HF position without needing to be interchanged (Tuck, Martin and Cotchin are all good around goal as we have seen). Foley, Martin and Cotchin will all be massive headaches for the opposition to tag, without even mentioning Lids!

It also allows Lids to pretty much collect on the wing from the inside mids and charge toward the foward line circa 2007/2008. Houli on the other wing can also use his long kicks to goal as we saw when Essendon played the Saints.

Effectivley we are going to have goal kicking midfielder's - and a lot of them which are essential to winning games (Geelong, Collingwood etc). Should ease the strain and pressure on Jack up forward too.

Goddard - I see as an elite everywhere man, more suited to the backline. Hodge is the same.

Deledio - I want to see as an elite everywhere man, but more suited to the forward line, like James Hird in his prime or similar to a Goodes type role.

With the trades made, and the fact we no longer need to find room to fit in Tambling and Collins there are exciting times ahead... very exciting times :thumbsu:

I'd love to see him play a goddard type role, maybe a hodge role? I dunno

Hope he is good enough to do it
That is the exact role he will be playing IMO
More then capable as well we have seen him dominate all over the ground, he isn't exactly the easiest player to match up on either with his size, strength and speed:cool:

A strong feeling he will take his game to the next level next year. All he needs to do now is become a consistent game changer and he has the tools to have major influence. Will line up on the HBF, he led us in rebound 50's and inside 50s, it doesn't diminish his attacking capability but his strong marking is brilliant for the defence.

Grigg will not have been recruited as a big body to ease pressure on our outside mids only to line up on a half back flank.

Deledio will roam the field next year - but I really think he found his niche reading the play in the backline this year.

Same as this year but stints up forward or in the midfield when we are in control of games. Why fix something that isn't broken .

He'll pick up his 3rd B&F in 2011 and be 3rd in the Brownlow. Can't wait

Tempted to say 'if it aint broke, don't fix it' but one thing we have missed from Lids since his move to defence has been his goalkicking ability. I tend to agree with Rusty. Leave him where he is, but if I were coach, I wouldn't be afraid to use him goalkicking prowess more.

Grigg will not have been recruited as a big body to ease pressure on our outside mids only to line up on a half back flank.

Deledio will roam the field next year - but I really think he found his niche reading the play in the backline this year.

Totally agree ! Grigg in the guts or bust IMO . He will allow Lids to shine even more. Great pick up.

ahh Rusty - T

looks like your man crush for andy collins have rubbed off on the carlton board & they are even taking it to the next level lol....... you should take a look their comparisons to james hird is uncanny.

also why the name change tigertroy was ok ?

He should go ahead extremely in 2011 at the beneift of the sides development, Cotchin , Martin have developed enough in 2010 to warrant oppossing tags in the midfield whilst showing some goal kicking form( cotchin has played well off HB), Mortons late season form in the midfield and obvious ability in the forward line , recruitment of Grigg hbf / midfield, Conners year off Hb and previous HF/midfiled form whilst Edwards has shown abitlity off HB/Mid , all this means that Lids can be rotated through the midfield, HB or HF without losing as much in those spots as we may have in the past.
I think we'll see all these players rotate through HF/HB/Mid, add to them the depth of Tuck who has been tried in 2010 in these roles, and all of a sudden we commence to have some flexibility which I think will significantly assist Lids.

ahh Rusty - T

looks like your man crush for andy collins have rubbed off on the carlton board & they are even taking it to the next level lol....... you should take a look their comparisons to james hird is uncanny.

also why the name change tigertroy was ok ?

I know Gun I read that this arvo , had to get on my wifes I phone to read it as I've been banned from the Carlton board since late 2007. I gotta say I had a tear in my eye as I read it. So proud that the legacy we built here over the last 4 years is going to continue in the future.

Andy certainly has special powers and my only fear about this trade is that he will turn the Cartlon players and their fans into human beings. Scary thought !

Back to the topic of this thread! I think Dimma will have Deledio down to kick 30 goals this year hopefully all in junk time while we are leading. I don't know the stats but I'd like see what our % has been ever since 1980. That is why I'm so pro Grigg and didn't slit my wrist with the Collins trade. I really do believe he'll free Lids up to dominate down back but play that Robert Murphy type roll and kick some goals through out games.

I'd Like to see this years Club motto be

75:110

meaning 75'000 members and 110% both on the field and on the ladder.

110% might just get us into 8th and not 9th.

Go Tigers !