afl genius

Indiana Pacers
When is this happening, really interested to know if Slade and Playfair will be delisted
Koula
Gardiner
Spencer
Riccardi(R)
Kingsley(Q)
Any one im missing

nananana catman said:
can still get chopped though.

Is that right? You'd have to pay them out, but they wouldn't be on too much, would they? Would have to be in the salary cap though, so it may limit who you can get in the psd.

Of the rookies, I think Grima must stay, and maybe (or maybe not) Sam Hunt. Would be very disappointed if any of Batchelor, Sheringham or Slade were retained.

Other delistings:
Koula
Kingsley
McCarthy
Ricco (ret)

I can't see a future for either of Spencer or Gardiner with the Cats, so if they do stay they'll just be playing out their contracts in the VFL. Would rather pay them out and delist them as well if we can.

Might think long and hard about Domsy too. WOuld be a tough call, but this is a tough business. Actually, whoever suggested delist and rookie (like Slade last year) is on to a good thing, if he's still young enough.

contracts schmontracts... Gardiner, Spencer and McCarthy are deadwood... Surely if the club is fair dinkum, at least two of these hacks will get the chop.. Better to invest in young talent who might step up? What's the point of keeping these blokes on the list when they'll only play VFL footy in '07?

Given we have picks 7, 25, 41 (Hawkins), 57, 73, 89, 105 in the national draft, the first question is how many picks are we going to use. Given the (supposed) depth of the draft and history of good players emerging from late picks, I think we could take five or six players. The question is whether we think they have more potential to develop than players already on the list.

My order of existing players with least upside are:

Ricardi (retired)
Kingsley (resigned, not re-signed!)
McCarthy
Koulouriotis
Spencer
Gardiner

I think even pick 105 has more potential upside than any of these players. I can't see that the club can lose anything by replacing these players with new kids - who knows, one might be the new Simon Black? I reckon the rest on the list have a reasonable upside (ie. potential improvement).

Another option to consider is Lonergan. He is young enough to be de-listed and then rookied. Gives us another draft pick and gives him more time to decide what he wants to do. I wouldn't be surprised if the Cats go down this path, delist the six above (maybe one of Spencer and Gardiner will get a reprieve) and draft six at the national draft. Forget about the pre-season draft unless there is someone specific we are after because unless you are in the first two or three it's very hard to get any quality. I also don't think any of the rookies demand promotion although haven't seen enough to comment more. Keep the ones showing potential on the rookie list, replace the rest with new rookies.

My5t3r10u5 said:
Given we have picks 7, 25, 41 (Hawkins), 57, 73, 89, 105 in the national draft, the first question is how many picks are we going to use. Given the (supposed) depth of the draft and history of good players emerging from late picks, I think we could take five or six players. The question is whether we think they have more potential to develop than players already on the list.

My order of existing players with least upside are:

Ricardi (retired)
Kingsley (resigned, not re-signed!)
McCarthy
Koulouriotis
Spencer
Gardiner

I think even pick 105 has more potential upside than any of these players. I can't see that the club can lose anything by replacing these players with new kids - who knows, one might be the new Simon Black? I reckon the rest on the list have a reasonable upside (ie. potential improvement).

Another option to consider is Lonergan. He is young enough to be de-listed and then rookied. Gives us another draft pick and gives him more time to decide what he wants to do. I wouldn't be surprised if the Cats go down this path, delist the six above (maybe one of Spencer and Gardiner will get a reprieve) and draft six at the national draft. Forget about the pre-season draft unless there is someone specific we are after because unless you are in the first two or three it's very hard to get any quality. I also don't think any of the rookies demand promotion although haven't seen enough to comment more. Keep the ones showing potential on the rookie list, replace the rest with new rookies.

Has Lonergan 'vowed to play on'?

Good post though, pretty much sums up the situation. If Callan is on a low wage, I'd hazard a guess that he will leave the club, too.

My5t3r10u5 said:

Simon Black was pick 30 odd not 105. Realistically we will only use up to pick 57 with 73 being a possibility if we commit to Davenport or another mature player from the VFL/SANFL/WAFL. We will also be looking at 4 or 5 new rookies this season so using pick 105 and handing out guaranteed two year contracts is not necessary. I'm all for cleaning out the dead wood but I don't think the club is going to be of the same opinion. Personally I would cut out our KPP rubbish and promote Grima this season as a back up/squad depth player. I know he can stay as a nominated rookie but we would only have to promote him to the senior list next year anyway. He would at least be on par with what Gardiner and Spencer could offer to the side and potentially he offers a lot more. Too bad everyone we should be getting rid of is contracted :rolleyes:

Cut Koula, McCarthy, Gardiner, Slade, Kingsley and Riccardi. Delist Lonergan if he is not up to it (which me feels he might not be.)

Elevate Grima.

Put on notice Spencer, Playfair and Owen for 2007.

catempire said:
Grima won't be elevated. There's no need at this stage. He'll probably be the nominated rookie next year.

Agreed.

Little sense in unnecessarily filling up a list spot and carrying forward the subsequent financial burdens. Being the nominated rookie allows for the same benefits as far as playing eligibility is concerned, and only half of the football payments is counted toward the TPP.

Writers on this thread really bore me sometimes. How stupid can you be to delist players under contract ??

Their salary still goes to next years allotment, therefore if the club is nearly paying its full 100%, which the GFC stated during the year, how are we going to pick players out of the draft ?? (both PSD and Rookie).

The only delistings I can see are Macarthy, Ricco (Ret), KK and possibly one other.

Not too sure if Koula is contracted, however I definitely know that Gardiner is, therefore will not be delisting. Henry is the exact same.

We have 4 picks in the draft, therefore if we only pick up rookies that will only cost us about 420K, as the rookie salary is about 105k.

If we delist all the players mentioned on this thread, we will not have enough room to even get these 4 picks as the salaries of many of these maligned players will count to next year's cap.

It's an important point you make. I made the very same point on CC yesterday.

We will get relief from half of Ricco's salary, probably about $150,000, I'd think.

We'll also get relief from Kingsley's salary, probably about $200,000-$250,000.

Then we'll get rid of McCarthy and Koula who couldn't be on more than about $200,000 combined.

That's about $600,000 max.

Bringing in 4 draftees will cost, as you say, about $420,000. That leaves around $180,000 max.

So, at most we could only afford to chop 1 contracted player which would leave us room enough for 1 more draftee.

fishman said:
Cut Koula, McCarthy, Gardiner, Slade, Kingsley and Riccardi. Delist Lonergan if he is not up to it (which me feels he might not be.)

Elevate Grima.

Put on notice Spencer, Playfair and Owen for 2007.

I probably wouldn't put Owen on notice. He is one of our younger players and hasn't been around the club that long. I would start giving him more responsibility (get him to be a ball winner in the vfl and get him to maybe come into the team the same way prismall has ... bit by bit that is).

I would delist Koula, McCarthy, Kingsley and Charlie. No rookie promotions with only Grima being retained as the nominated rookie. This gives us Hawkins plus three other picks along with 4 rookie selections.

Slade and Hunt (Sam) are probably not going to get much better so there is no point promoting them and they are too old to re-rookie.

The only other delisting / retirement may come from Lonners but I think the cats have committed themselves to save a spot on the list for him if he decides to play on which I think is fair enough. He wont play for most of 07 so that means that Grima will pretty much be senior listed anyway without having to promote him.

If Tommy calls it a dathen you would look at Davenport, Edwards or someone along those lines to be a ready made player.

Rosso said:
I would delist Koula, McCarthy, Kingsley and Charlie. No rookie promotions with only Grima being retained as the nominated rookie. This gives us Hawkins plus three other picks along with 4 rookie selections.

Slade and Hunt (Sam) are probably not going to get much better so there is no point promoting them and they are too old to re-rookie.

The only other delisting / retirement may come from Lonners but I think the cats have committed themselves to save a spot on the list for him if he decides to play on which I think is fair enough. He wont play for most of 07 so that means that Grima will pretty much be senior listed anyway without having to promote him.

If Tommy calls it a dathen you would look at Davenport, Edwards or someone along those lines to be a ready made player.

Pretty much agree but if they delist Charlie his salary would still be included. Would hope he wasn't on much. Like most people here, I would hope he never gets another game.

As for Lonners, the decent thing to do would be give him a one year contract so he is under no pressure to make a decision, and as you say, Grima as the nominated rookie.