Health Depression

• Thread starter Thread starter smasha

No it doesn't. Co2 can knock you out in less than a second. The problem is, it takes about 5-8 minutes for death, and could result in brain damage if you were rescued.
Maybe so. But it'd take a while to set it up properly. I can't say I have experience with that particular process, but from what I heard it's harder to get it to work

I don't really want to explain it, but I've worked with heavy gasses, and in confined spaces, and I wouldn't **** around for one second when entering a confined space. If you wanted to make it work, it would be easy. I just didn't understand the hanging thing.

Kiss’ Gene Simmons Tells Depression Sufferers: ‘F*** You! Kill Yourself’
What a fuuuu flog of the highest order:rolleyes::rolleyes: .

http://www.triplem.com.au/melbourne...lls-depression-sufferers-f-you-kill-yourself/
In the candid interview recently, the 64-year-old said: "**** you, then kill yourself. I never understand, because I always call them on their bluff. I'm the guy who says 'jump' when there's a guy on top of a building who says, 'that's it, I can't take it anymore. I'm going to jump’. Are you kidding? Why are you announcing it? Shut the **** up, have some dignity and jump! You've got the crowd.”
I... uh... what?

Anyone on anti-depressants have gut problems? Been on them for two years and noticed I've been getting more and more stomach problems, I'm thinking they may be linked?
What are you on?

Paroxetine.
Adverse Reactions for Paroxetine

Common (shown in at least 10% of patients in clinical trials): Dry mouth, nausea, constipation and diarrhea.
Uncommon: Flatulence, vomiting, indigestion, increased appetite, abdominal pain, dysgeusia (altered taste perception)

When I took my anti-depressants, I had adverse effects in mainly fatigue and lethargy. No GI problems. But my adverse reactions pretty much went away after 2 weeks.

If you're on them for 2 years, and still having these effects, and if they're actually causing quite a bit of problem, might need to talk to your GP in switching to another anti-depressant.

Adverse Reactions for Paroxetine

Common (shown in at least 10% of patients in clinical trials): Dry mouth, nausea, constipation and diarrhea.
Uncommon: Flatulence, vomiting, indigestion, increased appetite, abdominal pain, dysgeusia (altered taste perception)

When I took my anti-depressants, I had adverse effects in mainly fatigue and lethargy. No GI problems. But my adverse reactions pretty much went away after 2 weeks.

If you're on them for 2 years, and still having these effects, and if they're actually causing quite a bit of problem, might need to talk to your GP in switching to another anti-depressant.

I don't remember any gut problems when I first got on them, just usual side effects. I eat extremely healthy, don't drink/smoke, so yeah just curious. I've been thinking about coming off them anyway.

May be an adverse reaction after constant use.

So it's getting to the point where I'm struggling to separate dreams from reality again. It's not a very good feeling trying to just stay awake and almost floating through everything, and never really paying attention to anything or feeling a part of anything. The only times where I feel part of something or like I'm worth anything are at band practice or recording or gigs, and that's only once, maybe twice, a week, and I can't do that more than that just because people aren't available. My coursework is suffering, which honestly I'm kind of used to at the moment, but at least I'll get through. It's more what happens afterwards that I'm terrified of: What the **** am I supposed to do? Friends are alright. I've kind of mended a couple of bridges, but it's still a bit weird. And seeing things they post up just makes me feel upset, for no logical reason. So I constantly flit in and out of facebook and the like, and I find it's much easier to connect with somebody by talking to them in person. I've kind of come to the point where I hate our constantly social-media driven society, which is kind of ironic considering I'm posting this to a form of social media. It's an outlet for everyone's opinion, including a lot of people who don't deserve the right to have that outlet, and take pleasure in bullying and belittling others, and it sickens me that people take glee in that practice. I'm really struggling with why everything is worth it right now.

I've already tried everything and I've come to the realisation that I'm always going to have these ups and downs. It's just that they're going to be a lot more severe than other people. Just writing this down and throwing it out there into the world helps though, and at the moment I need to grasp onto anything that helps even a little bit.

So it's getting to the point where I'm struggling to separate dreams from reality again. It's not a very good feeling trying to just stay awake and almost floating through everything, and never really paying attention to anything or feeling a part of anything.
Are you on anti-depressants? If not, would be a good time to start on them.

The only times where I feel part of something or like I'm worth anything are at band practice or recording or gigs, and that's only once, maybe twice, a week, and I can't do that more than that just because people aren't available. My coursework is suffering, which honestly I'm kind of used to at the moment, but at least I'll get through. It's more what happens afterwards that I'm terrified of: What the **** am I supposed to do?
What do you want to do?

Friends are alright. I've kind of mended a couple of bridges, but it's still a bit weird. And seeing things they post up just makes me feel upset, for no logical reason. So I constantly flit in and out of facebook and the like, and I find it's much easier to connect with somebody by talking to them in person.
Get off Facebook. It's definitely something I did when I was depressed, and it immediately helped. Facebook is basically a website of personal achievements and social interaction. Two things that will drive you stir crazy in other people when depressed, because it's ultimately what you want. The catch, is that it displays a warped reality. It's not what their life (well most) is like.

Get off Facebook now.

I've already tried everything and I've come to the realisation that I'm always going to have these ups and downs. It's just that they're going to be a lot more severe than other people. Just writing this down and throwing it out there into the world helps though, and at the moment I need to grasp onto anything that helps even a little bit.
Is your depression endogenous or exogenous? As in, is it caused by some sort of trigger, environmental cause? Or it may be a genetic cause, something you can't help.

I think mine is exogenous, there are certain triggers in my life that can cause me to get depressed. I wrote these tips elsewhere on BF, but it might help you.

My last episode of depression has been nearly a year now. It's certainly been an ongoing battle since I was diagnosed in 2012, and a year before undiagnosed.

Currently, I'm in the best headspace I've been in a long time, and although I can't guarantee I'll stay this way forever, these are the things that I've done that have helped.

1) Talk to a professional. Whenever I hit a roadblock or my depression or anxiety is starting to get a hold of me, a counsellor is the first thing I book in. I love it because they don't know anything about you, so it's easy to talk about anything without getting judged, to a degree. They're also better than talking to friends or family, because they are trained to listen and show concern and empathy. If you talk to a friend or family, look at it from their perspective, they don't know how to act or say to someone who is depressed, and it will show.

2) Talk to a friend. Yeah, I'm already contradicting myself right at the 2nd point. But this doesn't have to be the same as talking to a professional, just let them know, hey man I'm going through a bit of a rough time. They'll reciprocate with empathy and care, and that'll go a long way in the future, just to know you have him or her. For example, I don't have a lot of close friends due to struggling with my depression in recent years. But I've been blessed to have 1 very good friend, who knows about my condition, and has been with me when I've been down the shithole. Now, I don't pour my heart out every time, nor have I ever, because I don't need to (personally [where that's a good thing or not, who knows]), but we catch up every week or two, and I know the support will always be there, even after not having a DnM every other week.

3) Continually monitor yourself. I'm always checking my mood these days. Any slight variation where I feel anxious, or a little down, is all noted asap. It's important for me, because if left unchecked and nothing is done about it, then I know it'll be a tough climb back in the near future.

3) Find the source of your depression. This is tough. Sometimes it's just hard to locate, sometimes you're too scared to venture down that road. But I know that whenever I'm anxious or feeling a little depressed, that there's a reason for it, and I look for it immediately. And I either talk about it, do something about it, or convince myself that I can't do anything about it, and move on from it.

4) Note what are your triggers for depression. For example, for me, exams are no good. My depression usually occurs a few weeks or a week before exams, and that's because I just crumble due to the constant anxiety I have. So what I do is, I ensure that I get my shit done on time. Sometimes shit happens, and I can't keep up with the uni work all the time, but I make sure it doesn't get out of hand, and if I'm a week behind I damn well do what I can to catch up. Because I know if I slip up, by week 8 of uni and I'm 5 weeks behind, I'm absolutely ****** leading up to the exam. Now, this comes from multiple experiences, but hopefully you won't have to suffer like I did.

5) Don't be afraid to change your lifestyle. For example, I never thought I'd start drinking water. I never thought I'd wake up early in the morning, or go to bed before 2am. I never thought I would actually set a schedule for myself, and follow it for more than just 1 week. I never thought I'd go to the gym and exercise, stick to a plan, for more than 2 weeks. Well you know what? At one point, I just went, **** this shit, I'm doing it, because I know doing this will make me happy, even though it sucks doing it.

For you, **** the energy drinks. **** the gambling. It's as simple as that. It won't be as easy as me saying it, but it won't be as hard as you'll be telling yourself it is.

6) Prioritise. Find out what's important in your life. What are your goals? What is it, that will make your lifestyle so much better?

For me, the 3 most important things in my life right now are the friends who matter, the course I'm studying, and my dream to play local footy.

So basically, my day mainly consists of studying and exercising, and catching up with important friends here and there. Things like, bigfooty, even Collingwood, TV shows, movies and video games, they all take a back seat until I've met those 2 or 3 main requirements. That, when I've studied enough and exercised for the day, then I'll fill the time in my day with free time things like video games and tv shows.

I think that's a real important mentality to have. I used to place too much importance on menial things like Bigfooty, like video games, like TV shows. My day was centred around these things, and everything else took a back seat. It was always, shit I gotta get to this level on this video game, or I've got to finish this season by Wednesday. Nowadays, I view these things as things to do when I've got the time for it, and don't place any requirement as to when I need to have watched them by.

7) Lastly, be comfortable and confident with yourself. Personally, I think this may be one of the most important things you can do. Maybe I've always had a bit of a lone wolf in me, or maybe it's come about from being lonely, but I make sure that my company is the best company. And what I mean by that, is that I'm not reliant on anybody. Yeah, support systems are important, friendship is important, relationships are important, but I don't rely on them to get me through the day. I'm content with staying at home on the weekend, watching a few movies by myself. I'm human, and yeah I lament the fact that I don't have many close friends that I can just call on hand to come over, but I know from personal experience that during depression, or even outside of an episode, you can become your worst enemy. Watching a movie, would purely be something to do to pass the time and to take your mind off things. These days, watching a movie by myself is something enjoyable, something I don't need to do with someone else (although it is preferred).

Are you on anti-depressants? If not, would be a good time to start on them.
Already on anti-depressants, I'm on fluvoxamine. I might talk to my psychologist/doctor about upping the dose.

What do you want to do?
Music. Yeah great career choice idiot :rolleyes: Dream is to be a musician, but the course I'm doing is a degree in Audio Production. They try and help you to get a job after the course is finished, but there's no real system in place and it's not the easiest or stablest industry to get into.

Get off Facebook. It's definitely something I did when I was depressed, and it immediately helped. Facebook is basically a website of personal achievements and social interaction. Two things that will drive you stir crazy in other people when depressed, because it's ultimately what you want. The catch, is that it displays a warped reality. It's not what their life (well most) is like.

Get off Facebook now.
The thing is that I actually need to be on Facebook. This isn't a teenage girl going OMG WHAT WILL I DO IF I GET OFF OF FB??? I WON'T KNOW ANYTHING! This is me going that everything that's organised for my band, practices, gigs, recording, communication, is predominantly done via Facebook. I'm also organising recordings, gigs, projects etc. and I bet you can guess where all of that organisation goes on. I've deactivated it for times before, and while it does relieve the pressure in terms of you don't see the social interaction, it ramped up the stress because it was harder to organise and communicate with people about assignments or recordings or anything along those sort of lines. It's another situation where I feel like I can't win.

Is your depression endogenous or exogenous? As in, is it caused by some sort of trigger, environmental cause? Or it may be a genetic cause, something you can't help.

I think mine is exogenous, there are certain triggers in my life that can cause me to get depressed. I wrote these tips elsewhere on BF, but it might help you.
I know that it's not genetic, I've already researched that. And I already know the triggers, unfortunately they're triggers that I don't have much control over.

As for your points, I still think point 7 is the most important, so of course the hardest thing to achieve. I've tried doing it, and I've come to like certain parts of myself, but absolutely hate other parts of myself. Most of the time I'm ok spending time with myself and actually enjoy watching movies and the like by myself (just to use your example). But I still don't really like myself. I've tried to change things about myself, but I honestly just can't become motivated. I'm not the strongest person, mentally or physically, so I can't do that. I want more friends for example, but I freeze up when I see someone and try to go up and say hello, or even online talking to people I freeze up sometimes. Like it took me about a half of football to actually go up and talk with some of the guys on here at the VFL the other week, I'm just not good at pushing myself with anything which makes it difficult to do anything.

So it's getting to the point where I'm struggling to separate dreams from reality again. It's not a very good feeling trying to just stay awake and almost floating through everything, and never really paying attention to anything or feeling a part of anything. The only times where I feel part of something or like I'm worth anything are at band practice or recording or gigs, and that's only once, maybe twice, a week, and I can't do that more than that just because people aren't available. My coursework is suffering, which honestly I'm kind of used to at the moment, but at least I'll get through. It's more what happens afterwards that I'm terrified of: What the **** am I supposed to do? Friends are alright. I've kind of mended a couple of bridges, but it's still a bit weird. And seeing things they post up just makes me feel upset, for no logical reason. So I constantly flit in and out of facebook and the like, and I find it's much easier to connect with somebody by talking to them in person. I've kind of come to the point where I hate our constantly social-media driven society, which is kind of ironic considering I'm posting this to a form of social media. It's an outlet for everyone's opinion, including a lot of people who don't deserve the right to have that outlet, and take pleasure in bullying and belittling others, and it sickens me that people take glee in that practice. I'm really struggling with why everything is worth it right now.

Personally, I dont think Im qualified enough to help with what youre experiencing, but I may be able to offer an opinion on the last paragraph.

You may definitely have this as an on-off sort of issue. The key is making people aware of this. You may not have to have a heart to heart with someone, but definitely try to make sure someone knows what youre dealing with, whether its a friend/family member, colleague, counsellor or teacher. Posting on social media like this most assuredly helps, as well as just writing in general. I always prided myself on my public speaking abilities and I find myself writing speeches to people and groups (mainly school kids as a way of raising awareness) in order to help me cope.

I hope this helps in some way mate. Just remember, you're never alone in this and there is always someone to talk to

If only some of my dreams were reality, I'd seriously be living the rockstar life. Seriously thou I can relate to what you are saying. Lately I keep very strange hours. Especially if I've had a week of big drinking. Some days I'm up and ready to go at 3am on a Wednesday yet come 9am on a Tuesday I just want to sleep, be entirely on my own or Friday/Saturday night I just want a quiet one while everyone is out and about. Feels like your body clock and/life is out of sync. Sadly I don't think there is an easy answer. Just have to find a way to get done what needs doing, whatever to survive and then gradually look to form a structure that will allow you to transition and live life on your own terms as close as possible.

While maybe some peoples well meant suggestions are unhelpful they are sort of on the right track in that working for someone else is very much unsustainable long term and you just have to find a way to survive and live on your own terms. Not easy I know. But what else can you do?

Although, according to the results I don't have depression, I go through good patches and bad patches. Most typically my down periods result from a feeling of loneliness, feelings of being ignored, not having a girlfriend for so long due to some level of social anxiety. However I've been making some really good progress of late, firstly by not scripting everything prior to the event, and secondly just being myself, changing my attitude, and making an effort to talk to people.

The problem is, and its really frustrating. If I don't talk to people, message them, or make the effort. They will almost never contact me or make the effort to see me. And its kinda frustrating putting in the effort and getting nothing in return. I can't really remember the last time someone waited for me, or wanted to see me, or invited me somewhere. Even after the last 7-8 days of really putting in a solid effort, not one person has made any attempt to want to know me as a person. I just wish for once, I could be doing my work at school and someone would want to come up and ask me how I'm going, rather than those people I seem to get along with really well in class give me the 'look through me' thing when they see me.

As for your points, I still think point 7 is the most important, so of course the hardest thing to achieve. I've tried doing it, and I've come to like certain parts of myself, but absolutely hate other parts of myself. Most of the time I'm ok spending time with myself and actually enjoy watching movies and the like by myself (just to use your example). But I still don't really like myself. I've tried to change things about myself, but I honestly just can't become motivated. I'm not the strongest person, mentally or physically, so I can't do that. I want more friends for example, but I freeze up when I see someone and try to go up and say hello, or even online talking to people I freeze up sometimes. Like it took me about a half of football to actually go up and talk with some of the guys on here at the VFL the other week, I'm just not good at pushing myself with anything which makes it difficult to do anything.

Watch this video

For someone who is naturally shy, and because of depression, has become socially inept, I completely understand what you mean by "freezing" up.

What I discovered was though, that getting the best out of yourself, is all about becoming used to uncomfortable situations. A paradox, I know.

And I'll tell you, that in the past half a year or so, I am definitely seeing improvements in myself. In situations where I second guess myself, and pull out, don't ask a question, don't approach someone, don't do this, don't do this, don't, don't, don't. Now, I still second guess myself, but I somehow am capable of just gritting my teeth and doing it. Sometimes. It's always a work in progress.

And yeah, you'll get situations where afterwards you go, shit, I wish I did that differently. Or, I should have asked them this question, or gone up to them sooner. This happens to me all the time. And I beat myself up for it, for like 10 minutes. Then I move on. Because at the end of the day, I'm going to process what I did wrong, and learn from it.

And onto why I linked you the video. Tonight, I took my first cold shower. I think the theory behind it makes sense. Getting used to comfortable situations is like anything else you need to master. Practice. Taking a cold shower is a great replica of the situation. Before I took my shower, I stood outside it, thinking "why the **** am I doing this". Eventually what got me in there wasn't logically talking myself into it. It was, shutting my mind off, gritting my teeth, taking the plunge. And once you're in there, you're in too far to back out. You come out of it, feel good that you did it, and go "hey, that wasn't so bad". Just like how every other uncomfortable situation should play out.

Now, this is my first time, out of what will be at least til the end of the month. I can't guarantee it actually works, I'll let you know after 30 days.

Although, according to the results I don't have depression, I go through good patches and bad patches. Most typically my down periods result from a feeling of loneliness, feelings of being ignored, not having a girlfriend for so long due to some level of social anxiety. However I've been making some really good progress of late, firstly by not scripting everything prior to the event, and secondly just being myself, changing my attitude, and making an effort to talk to people.

The problem is, and its really frustrating. If I don't talk to people, message them, or make the effort. They will almost never contact me or make the effort to see me. And its kinda frustrating putting in the effort and getting nothing in return. I can't really remember the last time someone waited for me, or wanted to see me, or invited me somewhere. Even after the last 7-8 days of really putting in a solid effort, not one person has made any attempt to want to know me as a person. I just wish for once, I could be doing my work at school and someone would want to come up and ask me how I'm going, rather than those people I seem to get along with really well in class give me the 'look through me' thing when they see me.
Yeah man, completely get what you mean.

I don't have any particular solution to this though, just that for me (and by no means is my social life perfect, I can probably say only 2 maybe 1, I can say are good friends that will want to catch up) time was really factor for me.

Are you in high school or uni?

Yeah man, completely get what you mean.

I don't have any particular solution to this though, just that for me (and by no means is my social life perfect, I can probably say only 2 maybe 1, I can say are good friends that will want to catch up) time was really factor for me.

Are you in high school or uni?
I'm in uni, but interestingly I found a website that answered every single one of my questions.

http://www.succeedsocially.com

They cover every aspect of every situation, to stop thinking negatively about situations, but importantly realize reality, that some people just wont like you.

I'm in uni, but interestingly I found a website that answered every single one of my questions.

http://www.succeedsocially.com

They cover every aspect of every situation, to stop thinking negatively about situations, but importantly realize reality, that some people just wont like you.
I'll check it out later.

I think it's quite common to happen in uni though. Not sure what your uni situation is like, but I find it really hard to make friends at Uni, and likewise with friends from high school as well.

A big factor is whether you join a club. A lot easier to make really good friends if you join a club of some sort. Unfortunately, my uni is pretty small for that stuff.

It is so ****ing frustrating, to not feel happy. I have no reason to be upset, I have a fantastic girlfriend and a fantastic life at the moment but all I can do is mope around, unmotivated and so so tired, and feel so shit about what the future has to hold.

Which is pretty silly! I know I'm being silly too, and that's why it is so damn frustrating that I'm not happy. It makes me incredibly angry at myself for not being the person that I really am.

I have been with my girlfriend for about 3-4 months now, and at one stage about 4 weeks ago I had felt the happiest that I had been in a very long time. Then for the lat two weeks I've hit a mood, and now I just feel nothing. It hardly bothers me if I see her or not (but part of that is because I'm depressed and angry due to being depressed, and I don't want to snap at her). It just makes me so angry that I can't control it.

I'm in the process of getting off my medication (fluvoxamine 100mg). Did 2 weeks of alternating between 50mg and 100mg each night, which for the first few nights made me feel pretty rubbish, but now I'm taking 50mg each night and will probably start the next phase when I see my doctor next.

The combination of dealing with chronic fatigue syndrome and depression has been pretty challenging, but I felt like it was time to get off my medication. I'm getting back into work, am in a good relationship and am generally seeing things better/more positively. I'm still not where I want to be, I still really struggle with tiredness and lack of energy, but I'm 10 times better than where I was 6 months ago.

I'm in the process of getting off my medication (fluvoxamine 100mg). Did 2 weeks of alternating between 50mg and 100mg each night, which for the first few nights made me feel pretty rubbish, but now I'm taking 50mg each night and will probably start the next phase when I see my doctor next.

The combination of dealing with chronic fatigue syndrome and depression has been pretty challenging, but I felt like it was time to get off my medication. I'm getting back into work, am in a good relationship and am generally seeing things better/more positively. I'm still not where I want to be, I still really struggle with tiredness and lack of energy, but I'm 10 times better than where I was 6 months ago.

Feel for you. While probably not chronically fatigued I am sick to death of being up at 2, 3 and 4am and then literally struggle to keep my eyes open all day. Something major on and I can guarantee I won't sleep the night before. Gotton to the stage where I now have to second guess myself which days I will be up and about for and which to miss.

What can you do thou? Can't ignore it but can't let it rule your life either.Just have to find a system that works for you and are comfortable with. Problem is how do you deal with the practicalities. Certain things happen at certain times and some stress is unavoidable. However trying to push through is burning me out.

It is so ******* frustrating, to not feel happy. I have no reason to be upset, I have a fantastic girlfriend and a fantastic life at the moment but all I can do is mope around, unmotivated and so so tired, and feel so shit about what the future has to hold.

Which is pretty silly! I know I'm being silly too, and that's why it is so damn frustrating that I'm not happy. It makes me incredibly angry at myself for not being the person that I really am.

Sometimes you just have to survive. Hate to say it but the world isn't always a good place/happiness is not round every corner and survival is half the job. I get the frustration of just feeling like you are eeking out an existence but what else can you do except try and live on your terms and set a structure you are comfortable with.

I know I don't have depression, but If I had $1 for every time someone said 'if you feel down you should talk to someone' I'd be a rich man. The fact is sometimes you don't feel comfortable talking to anyone about it, trust wise, or you don't have many friends. What do you do in those situations. Today was one of those, I was frustrated about being alone and feelings of being ignored, I probably embarrassed myself on Facebook, by asking anyone if they wanted to catch up, and got nothing. Going to the gym helped, then the best decision I made was to see something someone else put up on Facebook, and basically asked them if they were ok, rather than get frustrated with my own situation.

But when you feel like you've noone to talk to what you do?