Derby

• Thread starter Thread starter Seren

Seren

Rookie
Hi Guys, being a West Coast supporter who lives in Melbourne I have never been lucky enough to see our guys play at home so have seen more loses then wins. However this year I was determined I was going to go to Perth to watch a game no matter what. I visited your great city in January and can see why you all love it so much, it's a beautiful place. When deciding which game to go to I thought the last round Derby would be the best as by what I've been told by ex-pat WA people over here they are the best games to see. Any thoughts on what I should expect from their supporters as being in a cheer squad over here I have had to put up with some shocking supporters of opposition clubs. Going to this game means at least I got to see the boys play nearly every second week if you forget the bye as I travelled interstate to all the away games to hold up the banner. I'm hoping for a victory in round 22. So far I've seen a great victory up in Brisbane, a close one in Tassie which we definately should have won, a loss against Sydney because it appeared the boys didn't come out to play until after half -time and two shockers in Adelaide. I'm confident we should win this one and set us up for another finals battle which should be interesting.

Hey, good to see another fresh face.

Derby's are always great, and this one promises to be one of the best of all time, with two teams with a lot to play for going up against each other.

The only thing I'd say is that a derby is actually closer in atmosphere to a game between two Melbourne rivals then a genuine 'home' game. Support is usually split about 60/40 in favor of the home side (us, in this case), so its nowhere near as partisan as most of our home games. With a fair chunk of Dockers supporters there, you can expect to to cop and give out a bit of good natured (or not) crap as the game progresses. If you don't mind that, then all good- the atmosphere has to be expereinced to be believed, and you pretty much guarantee you'll see an absolute gem of a game.

My suggestion- if we win the derby and clinch a home final, try and get a finals ticket and stay an extra week. The only thing which comes close to a derby is a final, and depending on how results pan out, there's a chance of us getting a derby final, and playing off against Freo again in the first week of the finals.
If that happens, it promises to be one of the most memorable games ever.

Thanks for the welcome Mead, I've been reading the Big Footy Boards for awhile and thought I might join in. Sounds like I picked a good game to come to, it should be fun. I can not only dish it out to the opposition but I can take it as well. Rest assured the dockers supporters will be in for a real treat if they give me a hard time as I've never forgiven their club for what it did to Ready and co in that famous brawl a few seasons back. I hate the Dockers and their feral supporters just as much as I hate the Vic sides. I may live over in Melbourne but I've been waiting for years for an all interstate grand final to happen to upset this mob {not that it takes much to upset them } and this year we should get one. I'd love to stay the extra week to watch the final should it be at home which I hope it is but unfortunately my partner can't get any more time off work. I'll have to be content watching a final played over here if it happens hopefully the big one. The cheer squad is prepared for that one weeks ahead of schedule so fingers crossed with some home finals it will become reality. Bring on round 22.

Welcome aboard Seren.

I think you're going to have real trouble getting a R22 ticket. It's an Eagles home game so you're not going to have many tickets spare anyway, and given Freo's form of late their supporters will be in there like a shot. Of course, if you already have a ticket, disregard all of the above. Well, all except the welcome.

You'll have a great time. Derbies are great, I love 'em. The crowd interaction is always entertaining. Despite the fact that we lost, I still rate the demo derby as one of the most entertaining games I've been to in years.

Thanks for the welcome carneagles and co. Carneagles I appreciate your advice re tickets. I was warned by friends the Derbies were always sellouts so my partner, daughter and I booked tickets for the game months ago in the two tier stand. Somewhere called block 315 not sure where that is as I don't know the ground but someone said it's above the home based squad. This is the game I've been waiting for all year, plus the chance to take another look around Perth. I arrive on the thursday night and leave monday morning which should give me a bit of a chance to look around. So far I've been to City & Cottesloe Beaches, Hilary Aquarium, Subi oval for a tour and Carousel shopping centre. I also went to a play at King's Park which has a great view. Any suggestions on other places to visit would be handy. :)

This derby will definitely be a classic. It is shaping up as a decider on who finishes above who, and even though the clubs won't admit it, each of us would love to finish above each other at the end of the season.

As for places to go, going by what you said, you might like Araluen National Park. No matter how much it hurts to say this, Fremantle has some good stuff to check out as well.

Originally posted by Seren
Somewhere called block 315 not sure where that is as I don't know the ground but someone said it's above the home based squad.

A most excellent choice of block Seren (although a tad cramped) :). Its actually on the middle tier of the three tier stand directly behind the goals at the Subiaco end.

Gday Seren - great to see another Eagle flying high on BigFooty.

The Western Derbies won't get the same atmosphere as the traditional Essendon vs Collingwood/Carlton vs Collingwood blockbuster because there will always be a majority of supporters opposed to the other side's members/general public struggling to get tickets.

If you get the time maybe take a look around the city, Leederville, Subiaco.