Derrek Kickett sore loser.....

Oct 6, 2007
Tassie
Liverpool , Storm
Was watching some footy show on ntv on austar (aka foxtel) last night and it came to the footy tips part and two girls came did this weeks footy tips one of the girls was Derrek Kickett girl and it got to the bombers game and she goes im tipping the lions cause i hate essendon ....... in a real smart ass voice , i wonder if she saying she hates Essendon cause of what happen to her dad at essendon or there be another reason ..

(my point is how rude lol)

Was watching some footy show on ntv on austar (aka foxtel) last night and it came to the footy tips part and two girls came did this weeks footy tips one of the girls was Derrek Kickett girl and it got to the bombers game and she goes im tipping the lions cause i hate essendon ....... in a real smart ass voice , i wonder if she saying she hates Essendon cause of what happen to her dad at essendon or there be another reason ..

(my point is how rude lol)

Kylie Mole?? She goes...she goes, she just goes!

I hate having to read posts over and over when they're poorly put together.
English learn post then.

The Kickett thing always puzzles me....Its one of those really unfortunate things that happens sometimes and i dont know why it is treated like a death. Kickett should have got over it long ago

Kickett was always a crowd pleaser and cult figure around windy hill and what happened to him was unfortunate and it was sad to part ways with him and for him to look back on those good memories with such hatred and rage. But at the end of the day it's 2008 now. 1993 was a looong time ago and it's not coming back mate. It's time to make your peace, even Sheedy has said somewhere he regrets it and it can't be changed now. In the eyes of most bombers supporters, Kickett was a legend but as long as long as he keeps up this shit, the more i lose respect for him. Come on Derek, for your fans, just let it go.

They were still talking about his missed Grand Final appearance, when Derrek Kickett was playing in an EJ Whitten Legends match a few years ago.
If the AFL adopted the NBA-style dispersment of Premiership Medallions, where everyone who played with the senior team during the year (regardless of playing in the GF or not) receives a medallion, then this issue would be put to rest, finally.
Of course this policy would have to be backdated, and how many ex-players would there be out there, asking for their medallion?

They were still talking about his missed Grand Final appearance, when Derrek Kickett was playing in an EJ Whitten Legends match a few years ago.
If the AFL adopted the NBA-style dispersment of Premiership Medallions, where everyone who played with the senior team during the year (regardless of playing in the GF or not) receives a medallion, then this issue would be put to rest, finally.
Of course this policy would have to be backdated, and how many ex-players would there be out there, asking for their medallion?

I don't know how much this would help in australian sporting culture. we have traditionally always been about the "team on the day".. hence why olympic swimmers who swim heats etc in relays.. get their gold medals as per policy.. never get the recognition back home.. only the four that swam in the final..

so basically I think it is always going to be hard luck stories for some..

The Kickett thing always puzzles me....Its one of those really unfortunate things that happens sometimes and i dont know why it is treated like a death. Kickett should have got over it long ago
I dont think you could get over missing a gf match which turns out the be a premiership, and he didnt, he left the club. and retired in the losing gf in 1996

Just saw a flash of it last night. I think (am not 100%sure) that Derek was involved in some appearance of indigenous youngsters with training and so on. Then Sheedy walked into the program and Kickett just walked out. The ill feeling is not going to go away with this guy. I do feel sorry for him because he honestly felt he deserved to be part of that Gran Final as he played all season.

I wonder why Sheedy dropped him in the first place - can anyone shed some light on this for me please?

If it helps any I don't think Dale Kickett is that keen on the Bombers since he left either, must be the entire Kickett clan that feels that way ...

Just saw a flash of it last night. I think (am not 100%sure) that Derek was involved in some appearance of indigenous youngsters with training and so on. Then Sheedy walked into the program and Kickett just walked out. The ill feeling is not going to go away with this guy. I do feel sorry for him because he honestly felt he deserved to be part of that Gran Final as he played all season.

I wonder why Sheedy dropped him in the first place - can anyone shed some light on this for me please?

My recollection is Kickett put in some shockers during the finals, and it was no surprise to me he was dropped for Wally. Flood was unlucky too, and so was Mil Hanna.

Kickett naturally expected a call from Sheeds with the bad news, but it never came.

Ron Andrews had more reason to feel aggrieved in 1983, when Kevin Walsh came in.

The decision to drop Derek proved to be the right one from Sheeds. Wallis kicked a couple from memory and put Hanna out of business. Derek had not done much for the dons for a few weeks. Did kick 7? a few weeks before against the dogstough. Derek was stiff but the fact Sheeds did not tell him face to face is pretty poor. Apparently Sheeds had a bit of history in that regard of not being able to tell players the bad news to their face and calling on others to do his dirty work.

Kickett had played the majority of the H & A season (20 games); kicked 37 goals & showed some great form from about Round 8 right peaking in Round 20 with 17 touches & 8 goals (IIRC this was also the day he kicked the famous barrel from the centre square?).

In the 3 finals he had 8; 2 & 5 disposals respectively, and only slotted one goal (Prelim) after being our 3rd or 4th highgest goal kicker all year. Was probably on notice before the Prelim going off those stats.

IIRC Michael Symons was also very unlucky to miss out (dropped for Prelim)

Kickett was always a crowd pleaser and cult figure around windy hill and what happened to him was unfortunate and it was sad to part ways with him and for him to look back on those good memories with such hatred and rage. But at the end of the day it's 2008 now. 1993 was a looong time ago and it's not coming back mate. It's time to make your peace, even Sheedy has said somewhere he regrets it and it can't be changed now. In the eyes of most bombers supporters, Kickett was a legend but as long as long as he keeps up this shit, the more i lose respect for him. Come on Derek, for your fans, just let it go.

Sheedy regrets the handling of it and not telling Kicket, he doesn't regret that he left him out.

Kicket didn't get a kick for a month and was on his last legs the game or two before the grand final. He had his chance to cement his spot but somehow finds a way to blame Sheedy for himself not getting a kick. To me he just looks like a sook and should grow up.

Kickett had played the majority of the H & A season (20 games); kicked 37 goals & showed some great form from about Round 8 right peaking in Round 20 with 17 touches & 8 goals (IIRC this was also the day he kicked the famous barrel from the centre square?).

In the 3 finals he had 8; 2 & 5 disposals respectively, and only slotted one goal (Prelim) after being our 3rd or 4th highgest goal kicker all year. Was probably on notice before the Prelim going off those stats.

IIRC Michael Symons was also very unlucky to miss out (dropped for Prelim)

Good post, couldn't be bothered looking the stats but knew they were something similar. 15 touches in 3 finals and he hates Sheedy's guts for not picking him. Pleeeeeeease

In the 3 finals he had 8; 2 & 5 disposals respectively, and only slotted one goal (Prelim) after being our 3rd or 4th highgest goal kicker all year. Was probably on notice before the Prelim going off those stats.)

Not too many of us like becoming aware we are dispensable, and the fact we were never going to lose that GF from the first minute, made it painfully obvious to Derek. I suspect that made it all the more bitter for him.

no, not really .
Sheedy has never told him why he was dropped for the grand final :cool:.
Any player dropped for ANY game must be told by the coach why they were dropped , that is only fair and correct .

For what its worth, I think Sheedy did the right thing. Kickett was in woeful form, it's Sheedys job to pick the best team to win the game which is what happened. Derek played for the local club I support (West Perth) and was an electrifying player so I am a great fan of his, but he sucked in that finals series no doubt.

Ron Andrews had more reason to feel aggrieved in 1983, when Kevin Walsh came in.

And even more reason the following year given he was sent to Collingwood for being caught smiling on the night of the 1983 seniors loss and Ronnies reserves premiership earlier that day (Thats how the story goes.).

Sheedy took the stage that night and demanded that no-one in the room be caught smiling and Ronny had a big grin all over his face with beer in hand and the next year had to play in that premlinary final where you flogged them by 100 odd points in miserable conditions.

I remember Kickett needing to be calmed down by Harvey in the qualifying final of 1993 against West Coast Eagles after Sheeds obviously delivered some home truths to him. From where we were sitting it wasnt quite Zantuck-Barassi but it was noticeable that he was upset with Sheeds words that day.

no, not really .
Sheedy has never told him why he was dropped for the grand final :cool:.
Any player dropped for ANY game must be told by the coach why they were dropped , that is only fair and correct .

His stat's for the finals series spoke for themselves. I remember clearly that he sucked big time. The team is always bigger then the individual and Sheedy made the right choice. The way Sheedy delivered the news also sucked from the sound of it. If true, it was gutless.

Derrek Kickett sore loser.....