stokesy

The night after our loss to West Coast, did you struggle to get to sleep? I did, I reckon I spent a couple of good hours with my head on the pillow going over the game again.

I remembered Fevola celebrating his goal on the half time siren, Eddie Betts crumbing and running into an open goal, and Nick Stevens kicking what I thought was the game winning goal.

I just struggled to get to sleep because I was remember the boys celebrating when we kept kicking goals, and I just went over it again and again in my head - I actually believed that we had won.

And then, what really kept me awake, was the boys faces when West Coast hit the front and then when the siren went. We were shattered, I'm sure Fev was just about crying.

I was distraught, like many of us.... so many ifs and buts kept me awake, I was also thinking about the newspapers the following day if we had of won - the reaction from everybody from one of the greatest upsets ever.

Heck, what kept me awake was the fact there was only minutes left on the clock and all we needed was another goal and we were pretty much home!

Anyone else struggle to get to sleep that night?

Try and concentrate on the positives that we can take out of the match, rather than the end result.

I honestly thought we'd get flogged over at Subi, and only to go down by 10 points was a very good effort, even though we were so far in front.

I have a young son who woke me up at 5am and then when I tried to get back to sleep I just had it going through my head. Like yourself, I just kept thinking about how brilliant it would have been to want to read the carlton game in the paper.

Thinking about the positives is the only thing keeping me sane.

Damn

HugeBluesFan said:
Try and concentrate on the positives that we can take out of the match, rather than the end result.

I honestly thought we'd get flogged over at Subi, and only to go down by 10 points was a very good effort, even though we were so far in front.

Yeah I know, but we were so close to actually winning the game!

The position we were in I was sure we were going to cause one of the greatest upsets ever and take one of the best victories in recent years and to have that stolen in minutes... is just, heartbreaking.

I think I need to get councilling.

stokesy said:
Yeah I know, but we were so close to actually winning the game!

The position we were in I was sure we were going to cause one of the greatest upsets ever and take one of the best victories in recent years and to have that stolen in minutes... is just, heartbreaking.

I think I need to get councilling.

It's not that bad mate.

It was a game we weren't expecting to win, and at the end of the day, we didn't. It's only because we were 7 goals up and still lost that hurts.

Take a step back and look at the bigger picture. We almost pinched the game from the second best team in the comp, behind Adelaide, without Waite and Fisher. Of course, Judd was missing from West Coast as well.

Our kids are getting better and better and who knows where they'll get to.

HugeBluesFan said:
It's not that bad mate.

It was a game we weren't expecting to win, and at the end of the day, we didn't. It's only because we were 7 goals up and still lost that hurts.

Take a step back and look at the bigger picture. We almost pinched the game from the second best team in the comp, behind Adelaide, without Waite and Fisher. Of course, Judd was missing from West Coast as well.

Our kids are getting better and better and who knows where they'll get to.[/quote]

That's exactly right! The kids matched up well on one of the best sides. It's green lights from here! Trust me, positive thinking does the world of good no matter what the sitch

HugeBluesFan said:
I had to go to work today, went to the game yesterday and felt pretty good at 3/4 time after my 7th crownie but it was obvious there was a major defensive on the horizon. I watched the last 1/4 with some joy but not that surprised at the outcome. The weagles are a class outfit, Cousins is a star and Hunter and Embley needed to be sedated but weren't. The other 'obvious' was that we're on the right track. Worsfold would've spent the week worrying about few of our players and the weagles needed to go about business as usual. What a delight to see man on man footy and, more importantly, our team back themselves to the max. Can't remember when I last saw Stevens get free and dispose so well. We all know Murphy can play, Fevola one out is pretty good and Tex looked after Cousins as best he could. Eddie was Eddie and Lance was being talked about by opposition supporters in glowing terms. HE IS A FUTURE LEADER, I say . Could go on but I won't. Our turn will come.....had trouble sleeping due to constant dreams of glorious blue days aheadrolleyes:

Yes,a win would have been great but I did sleep easy knowing that our future is looking bright and that the Weagles aren't going to win a premiership any time soon

Feh! But, go for it. y

You're all jealous coz I got name-checked in the Hun and you guys with all yr positives and apologising for mediocirty got zip! :p