Blueboys7

Pheonix Suns
It's probably nothing but I just wanted to pass on the information that I received from a brother of one of the senior players.

Apparently alot of the senior group are very upset about the treatment of Brad Fisher considering he was dropped after playing only 1 game where he had limited opportunities. He was also set to play his 100th game if he hadn't been dropped.

Walker was also devastated that he had been dropped but he probably needed a break anyway. I personally think he should suck it up and work his butt off to get back in the line up which I think he will do.

He also said that the club is aware that Grigg is on the GC's radar but that there had been no word of him actually being signed.

I know some may find this information useless but I just thought that I would pass the information that I received. Make of it what you will.

Disclaimer: I didn't get this info from the physio. :p:D

Thanks for that.

Dont doubt it. Fish is very popular - great work ethic and great guy. Its just that he's not up to it anymore. I'm sure they'll give him his 100th somewhere this year, but those who think all 44 or so players love each other and the Club and the Coach at all times are just naive in the extreme.

Well pretty obvious and believeable stuff. The players are in their own right to be dissapointed as are most of us supporters that Fisher has not got to his 100 games yet but that's league footy, they need to grow up as does Walker and cop it on the chin, that's footy.

I guess these guys have been used to being the best players in their team, being undroppable and their sides top players right up to AFL where for the first time they are having to fight hard to get a game. Most players who get drafted probably have bever expierenced being dropped until they make AFL, it would be a real eye opener for them, a real learning curve and character building moment.

Hope Grigg stays, was definately his best game ever against Essendon.

Given the predicament the club found itself in by last Thursday, I reckon the Senior group should have been pulling their head in and worrying about going out and winning a game !!

... and same applied this week !!

You don't bring a forward in against the best team in the league, have the ball barely go into the forward 50, and then drop him.

You either play him again, or don't pick him in the first place - simple.

Fisher played a passable game, dropping him was just ridiculous.

You don't bring a forward in against the best team in the league, have the ball barely go into the forward 50, and then drop him.

Lets break that sentence down though....

Why bring him in for that game alone?

Its not 'our' fault it didnt work. We played one too many talls / marking players and it backfired; we had no realy way in the end of moving the ball through midfield and so much of the Pies game was spent on our HB line.

Selection mistake. We shouldnt have played him in the same team as the three amigos; we needed another 'hard' mid sized option plus much more run from defence to make it work.

Fisher had no impact.

He made one 50/50 contest count and kicked a goal. Good on him.

Poor selection - lets say risky selection - and back he goes because he isnt in the best 22.

Fisher would not have fitted in our forward line against Essendon, where we needed players who could chase, tackle & generally apply forward pressure, while at the same time being able to exploit Essendon's weak defence on the rebound by running into space in the forward line. Unfortunately for Fisher, who has been a loyal servant of our club for several years, he is not suited to doing any of the above.

The club had to come first after the horrendous performance against Collingwood & if that put some noses out of joint, that's too bad.

You think Fisher was the cause for this?

He was in our best 10-15 players against the Pies, and he certainly wasn't the worst forward.

Under these circumstances, it is ridiculous to drop him, once you have included him.

Obvious ploy by the MC!

Play Fish in an unwinnable game :eek:
Drop him so the boys beat Essendon in anger :mad:
Bring him back in vs Richmond so everyone is fired up to win for Fish's 100th :heart:
Secure spot in finals! :thumbsu:

:footy::footy::footy::footy:: I give their plan 4 out of 5 footies.

If he was the 21st best player, for argument sake, it doesnt entitle him to a game the week after in which we needed some hardness and ball carrying?

Agree he shouldnt have played in the first place, in hindsight, but not much use picking faults with his demotion when he was a) not in the best 22 start with and b) lucky to get a game.

Fisher did kick 10, is a chance to get a game to get him to 100, but can't see him getting to 101. Would be good to get him to 100 but we are in such an awkward position. Season on the line and coming of a very strong and even performance, it's hard to fit him in. Lets face it, he is probably lucky to have played 50 games let alone 100.

You think Fisher was the cause for this?

He was in our best 10-15 players against the Pies, and he certainly wasn't the worst forward.

Under these circumstances, it is ridiculous to drop him, once you have included him.

As I pointed out in the rest of my post, Fisher is not suited to the game style that we needed to play to beat Essendon (or most other teams for that matter).

I would love to see Fisher reach the 100 game milestone, but more importantly I want to see our team win games & to do that we have to pick the right team. That is why we don't see Wiggins getting a game anymore & why Thornton has fallen from favour. All have been great servants of our club, but all of them do not have the necessary attributes to succeed in the game as we now know it. A game that has changed even over the last 2 seasons.

Forwards who cannot chase or tackle & who cannot afford to get too far from goals because of kicking deficiencies do not fit in the modern game. Sad, but true.

The MC got the team right for last Friday night's game & I can't see how any Carlton supporter would not see this. We can't go picking our team based on sentiment. We no longer have to pick ordinary players because our list is lacking in quality. Fisher is no longer in Carlton's best 22. Once again, sad, but true.

What a crook of shit. If you sad about someone else being dropped.. be thankful it wasn't you. For the last 8 weeks anyone in our 22 could have been dropped. pathetic display

If we end up going into round 22 with no chance of moving in our spot, it wouldn't surprise me to see a couple of players rested for the Freo game and some players come in for their last hurrah.

Fisher, Wiggins and whatnot.

I'd say they'll consolidate our form and ladder position over the next few weeks and give him a 100th late in the year.

At any rate, the fact that we won by 80 points vindicates the MC decisions.

What a crook of shit. If you sad about someone else being dropped.. be thankful it wasn't you. For the last 8 weeks anyone in our 22 could have been dropped. pathetic display

TBH I kind of felt the same but I do think it was unreasonable to bring in Fish for one game against Collingwood where we had a shockingly low amount of inside 50's which gave him no hope of getting involved.

Agree with you there.

Why are the players so upset for Fish when it was them that put the club in this predicament in the first place.
If they had pulled their fingers out earlier and won a couple more games to secure a spot in the 8 he would of all ready played his 100.

As for Walker he should of been dropped much earlier than he was.
I would rather Hoops and Yarran in before him, he got real lazy in his last few games and didnt do the team things. He even started doing what Thornton use to do and give his team mates the glare. I for 1 dont want him back until he starts playing for the team and not himself.

There's always the chance that they are planning on giving him another year or shifting him to the rookie list.

If anyone should be disgruntled it's us supporters having to go and watch that crap they where surving up. The form Fish and Walker had in the Bullant's against a very poor opponent, does not warrant a call up for them. I read an interview with Ellard the other day and what impressed me was he said he is out there to do what the COACH asks of him. You can see the look in his eyes when he is out there he would die for that jumper and not think about his own welfare.

The other senior players should take note. There have been a few players in this side that have taken their spots for granted, I would rather see players like Ellard and Hadley in the side that throw their bodies on the line.

Walker was also devastated that he had been dropped but he probably needed a break anyway. I personally think he should suck it up and work his butt off to get back in the line up which I think he will do.
Great to hear that Walker is hurting after being dropped.

If he's that dirty at being dropped, Walker will definitely bounce back and do the right things to take back his place in the side.

Easily in our best 22.

There will be more disgruntled players as the fight for spots intensifies in the next few years. Lucas, Houlihan, Walker, Kreuzer, Jacobs, Yarran, White, Mclean, Setanta, Thornton and Austin were all on the sidelines for the last round. Will be a nice problem to have if Davies, Tuohy, Kerr, Browne, Buckley, O'keeffe and this year's picks develop in the VFL next year.