CaptainDangerfield

Veteran 10k Posts
Glenelg
I happened to look over a co-workers shoulder this morning ( yes captain my boycott still stands - I go on a nude hunger strike starting Monday )
and noticed the photo of Thompson wrestling with 2 Collingwood players. Does it p*ss anyone else off that certain AFC players refuse to go in to help out a team mate? I will even go as far to name names: Shirley, Skipworth, Doughty. Can anyone else think of any other players that need to lift in this area?

I maybe be making something out of nothing, but IMO this has been a real problem at the AFC for the last couple of years.

SpringChoke said:
I happened to look over a co-workers shoulder this morning ( yes captain my boycott still stands - I go on a nude hunger strike starting Monday )
and noticed the photo of Thompson wrestling with 2 Collingwood players. Does it p*ss anyone else off that certain AFC players refuse to go in to help out a team mate? I will even go as far to name names: Shirley, Skipworth, Doughty. Can anyone else think of any other players that need to lift in this area?

I maybe be making something out of nothing, but IMO this has been a real problem at the AFC for the last couple of years.
Try adding Roo(except for games against Port), McLeod & everyone else! You are spot on with this and it has been a problem for a while. Think back to the Burton-Port fight, how many Crows helped out? Or the Farmer deliberate knee last year - did anyone step in? Answer = NO! You can bet that Brisbane don't let that kind of thing go unpunished, and in the last two years Port have learnt from them. I'll be watching with interest this week because I will bet anyone Thompson is scrapping someone like Wilson within minutes of getting on the ground!

whens the last time a fair dinkum fight/melee happened in a crows match, geez i cant even remember when, i think sunday is the day to show some spirit, maybe not so hawthorn last year spirit, but at least some niggle, the crowd love that ********. Unfortunately they prob think of the fines and dont want to get involved. Stupid over policing afl

SpringChoke said:

In fairness to Skipworth and Doughty, the rasslin' happened on the dock side of the ground, and they were both on the city side of the ground. Don't know where Shirley was. It'd want to be a fair old donnybrook before I want to see our guys charge from 100 metres away to fly the flag.

To be honest, I was quite happy that while Cloke the younger got sucked into the Thompson wrestle, his direct opponent Rhett Biglands took the opportunity to charge inside the forward 50 and take an uncontested mark.

The fact that he missed a set shot from straight in front was what p*ssed me off.

marvin said:
In fairness to Skipworth and Doughty, the rasslin' happened on the dock side of the ground, and they were both on the city side of the ground. Don't know where Shirley was. It'd want to be a fair old donnybrook before I want to see our guys charge from 100 metres away to fly the flag.

To be honest, I was quite happy that while Cloke the younger got sucked into the Thompson wrestle, his direct opponent Rhett Biglands took the opportunity to charge inside the forward 50 and take an uncontested mark.

The fact that he missed a set shot from straight in front was what p*ssed me off.

Exactly, i'm sure if Thompson would have needed help he would have got it.

Even from Doughty. :rolleyes:

marvin said:

Yes, begs the question...is Rhett Biglands currently the worst shot for goal on planet earth? :eek:

marvin said:

So can I read this as no you don't think this an area of concern???

marvin said:
... It'd want to be a fair old donnybrook before I want to see our guys charge from 100 metres away to fly the flag.

To be honest, I was quite happy that while Cloke the younger got sucked into the Thompson wrestle, his direct opponent Rhett Biglands took the opportunity to charge inside the forward 50 and take an uncontested mark...
Yeah, much as I'd like to see a bit more mongrel in the players, if it's one of ours on two of theirs with the ball in play, I'd be OK with that...

noddy said:
Exactly, i'm sure if Thompson would have needed help he would have got it.

Even from Doughty. :rolleyes:

I wonder if Doughty said to Thommo at training this week, "don't worry mate, if one of those 2 guys you were wrestling with had have hit you, I would been staight over". If, if, if..................

SpringChoke said:

This has been discussed before, but I reckon this is exactly why we've had a penchant for losing close ones in the past few seasons - as well as not being able to get over the hump in September in 2002 and 2003.

Look at the gaping difference in the overall hardness of our personnel compared to Brisbane and Port, the two biggest guns of the past three seasons.

Brisbane: Pike, Scott Bros, Brown, Leppitsch, Michael, Lynch, Voss etc can all go when the need arises.

Port Adelaide: Primus, Wilson, Hardwick, Pickett, Josh Carr, likewise - even the Burgoyne bros can produce a hard hit or spear tackle when the time comes.

Who have we got/had past Ricciuto and a declining Bickley in recent years? The likes of Goody, Edwards, Macca and Hart are jets in their respective fields, but they're not going to win any stoushes or strike physical fear into the opposition.

dyertribe said:
This has been discussed before, but I reckon this is exactly why we've had a penchant for losing close ones in the past few seasons - as well as not being able to get over the hump in September in 2002 and 2003.

Look at the gaping difference in the overall hardness of our personnel compared to Brisbane and Port, the two biggest guns of the past three seasons.

Brisbane: Pike, Scott Bros, Brown, Leppitsch, Michael, Lynch, Voss etc can all go when the need arises.

Port Adelaide: Primus, Wilson, Hardwick, Pickett, Josh Carr, likewise - even the Burgoyne bros can produce a hard hit or spear tackle when the time comes.

Who have we got/had past Ricciuto and a declining Bickley in recent years? The likes of Goody, Edwards, Macca and Hart are jets in their respective fields, but they're not going to win any stoushes or strike physical fear into the opposition.

Thanks DT, I rest my case.

Generally, doesn't it go hand in hand that the player who more often than not will go into help out a teammate also is the player that normaly will intimidate the oppositon to a certain degree. Premiehship teams over the last 5 years have shown that having at least 6 players who can intimidate is a vital ingredient for GF success.

SpringChoke said:
So you reckon that's alright??
No, I agree with you in general, and I'd like to see more aggression and "flag flying" from our players.

But I also wouldn't want to see a player going in to "fly the flag" when there's a ball to be won.

dyertribe said:

No doubt about it, and it's not just hitting the contest and the ball hard, it's also things like executing and breaking tackles.

On the whole, I think in recent years we're just not as effective at pressuring the ball handler and the opposition, our tackles don't stick quite as well as the best teams in the comp.

And our ability to break tackles and handle the physical pressure of the best opposition is generally quite poor.

I believe that goes some way to explaining our disappointing record against a team like the Power, when I've often compared respective team lists before games and thought we're a really good chance, and yet we've continually fallen short against them.

Aggression is fine, as long as it's directed at the ball. I recall Ruccuito losing his head a few showdowns ago and it cost you guys bigtime.

Don't get mad, kick goals!

marvin said:
In fairness to Skipworth and Doughty, the rasslin' happened on the dock side of the ground, and they were both on the city side of the ground.

yeh im suprised skipworth doesnt through his weight around a bit more

arrowman said:
No, I agree with you in general, and I'd like to see more aggression and "flag flying" from our players.

But I also wouldn't want to see a player going in to "fly the flag" when there's a ball to be won.

So what are you saying then half time/quarter time/full time would be a more acceptable time???

If two opposition players are laying into one of ours someone should jump in. Surely.....

dyertribe said:

Its interesting that in the Melbourne press a couple of weeks ago, Adelaide was rated one of the top 5 sides for toughness. Referred to Roo and Biglands as our tough guys. Hmmmm

SpringChoke said:
So can I read this as no you don't think this an area of concern???

In that particular incident, no.

It's not like Thompson was getting the suitcase beaten out of him. The whole incident lasted 10-15 seconds. If Biglands could have kicked straight, I'm sure both he and Thompson would have taken great delight in telling Cloke and Licuria (?) all the way back to the centre all about the fact that not only did they not win the fight, but that it cost them a goal in a low scoring game.

In general, I'd like it if we had a more robust key position player or two. Both Kenny McG and Trent Hentschel have been in the system a few years, but neither exactly has the sort of physique that intimidates. I'm not calling them soft, but they don't look to have the hard body of a Primus or a Michael, even a Fevola or a Lloyd. Clarke is no Primus, Welsh isn't that big, neither is Bassett. The closest we have is Biglands (who I would bet is so careful about avoiding a tribunal visit at the moment that he's under strict instructions to avoid getting embroiled in any wrestles), Rutten (who's still establishing himself) and Perrie (who Is prepared to fly the flag as appropriate).

Wood_Duck said:
Its interesting that in the Melbourne press a couple of weeks ago, Adelaide was rated one of the top 5 sides for toughness. Referred to Roo and Biglands as our tough guys. Hmmmm

Who did the rating, Matthew Robran??