D3 Division 3 - 2016

• Thread starter Thread starter Fosters

S
Because Killerwasp, it's a side made up of predominately Monash Gryphons players parading as Glen Eira Saint players in a lower division. Simple.
snorlax , what do your sources tell you? Is that predominately 75% - 80% of firsts players?

Because Killerwasp, it's a side made up of predominately Monash Gryphons players parading as Glen Eira Saint players in a lower division. Simple.
Agreed

Stinks to High Heaven. Should be playing in D2. Makes me sick to see on the VAFA sponsored tv show that "Monash Gryphons" are being talked about as the story of the year. I don't ever recall seeing anything about Glen Eira being in any danger of collapsing across the Summer months, but rather given a free kick to claim as many Monash players as they feel free. I am sure there was a rule preventing more than six (stand to be corrected) transfers between clubs. But no dramas if you are going through a strategic alliance.

At least the Gryphons are getting beaten in Clubbies div, will be a bad look if have a repeat of the St Francis shambles of last year.

It's a pity that the Vafa powers that be are so clouded and out of touch. Just because you are struggling, being given the best possible result may have the unintended consequences of punishing the other sides.

Too early to make any calls but I for one won't be wishing the non-merged entity any good will.

I've played against Glen Eira on the back end of last season and also already this season - there's certainly minimal blokes running around who were there last year. They will go far this year you'd think.

Agreed

Stinks to High Heaven. Should be playing in D2. Makes me sick to see on the VAFA sponsored tv show that "Monash Gryphons" are being talked about as the story of the year. I don't ever recall seeing anything about Glen Eira being in any danger of collapsing across the Summer months, but rather given a free kick to claim as many Monash players as they feel free. I am sure there was a rule preventing more than six (stand to be corrected) transfers between clubs. But no dramas if you are going through a strategic alliance.

At least the Gryphons are getting beaten in Clubbies div, will be a bad look if have a repeat of the St Francis shambles of last year.

It's a pity that the Vafa powers that be are so clouded and out of touch. Just because you are struggling, being given the best possible result may have the unintended consequences of punishing the other sides.

Too early to make any calls but I for one won't be wishing the non-merged entity any good will.

I watched with the same disgust as those nuffy's fluffed and mumbled their way through handing out the Gryphons undeserved accolades. Who'd have thought taking the best dozen players from a divison 2 side, putting them in a division 3 side and allowing them play in division 3 would create instant success?

The VAFA haven't got the greatest stock up in HQ and unfortunately they were beaten by a marginally stronger opponent in the president of the Glen Eira FC.

19 Monash players transferred. 7 played senior games. Reserves don't count.
21 Glen Eira players transferred to MG. 8 went elsewhere.
Most of Glen Eira's recruits are from Monash.
Of that 7 players who played ones, all are handy. As one would expect.

19 Monash players transferred. 7 played senior games. Reserves don't count.
21 Glen Eira players transferred to MG. 8 went elsewhere.
Most of Glen Eira's recruits are from Monash.
Of that 7 players who played ones, all are handy. As one would expect.
26 players transferred from Monash Gryphons to Glen Eira according to the clearances. If that's not a merger I don't know what is.

I think the issue here is not the merger per se, rather that the ammos hierarchy made the ludicrous call to allow the 'merged' entity to play in the lower grade. Had they been placed into d2 where the gryphons were, probably fair to say we'd all think that was fair play.

Clearly the GE prezis shouting sholly his ireland junket this year!

It's a strategic alliance gents - with the goal of maybe merging. But let's just combine the non key parts like players this year, and the most important stuff that creates premierships, like names etc next year.

Not that I think they will, but would be interested to see if win a flag this year how it will be recorded. Glen Eira, or the new strategic alliances name?

It's a strategic alliance gents - with the goal of maybe merging. But let's just combine the non key parts like players this year, and the most important stuff that creates premierships, like names etc next year.

Not that I think they will, but would be interested to see if win a flag this year how it will be recorded. Glen Eira, or the new strategic alliances name?
"Strategic alliance" Please, this is a farce. Too many Gryphons in the mix. Seems the inclusions increase each week. This is not tidy.

Whats happening down at Parkside.
Had a great finish to 2015.
Have the 19s kids that qualified and played finals stayed playing the juniors or left. Did many of the older blokes retire. They were fantastic in last years finals series.
The best few sides in Divvy 4 generally become very good Divvy 3. Would seem a shame and waste of hard work to see them drop back so quick.

Canterbury look set for finals. Havent tracked exactly who they have beaten but look to be good enough from outside looking in.

Whats happening down at Parkside.
Had a great finish to 2015.
Have the 19s kids that qualified and played finals stayed playing the juniors or left. Did many of the older blokes retire. They were fantastic in last years finals series.
The best few sides in Divvy 4 generally become very good Divvy 3. Would seem a shame and waste of hard work to see them drop back so quick.

Canterbury look set for finals. Havent tracked exactly who they have beaten but look to be good enough from outside looking in.
Probably came up too early. Finished 5th and you would have to say were not the 2nd best team in div 4 last season just had a ripper finals series with everything going right. The juniors that came up and played last year are all still eligible for under 19s this year and they are smashing teams. The future is bright with the junior club going from strength to strength but the seniors are struggling big time. Would be 10 players worse off than last year by the looks of it and I don't think have recruited any senior players at all.

A couple of tight wins in the last two weeks, but we've managed to continue the winning start to the year. 3-4 due back into the senior line-up too :). GE and Hawks back-to-back in rd6 and 7 will be a huge challenge.

St James Park needs to be removed from the fixture, far, far too small for senior footy. Credit to Swinburne though, they play it very well.

Don't even know how st James Park gets a mention when there's grounds like Elsternwick Park Oval 2 in our division. We had to play Mt Lilydale on their swamp last year and wow that place is horrid. I can't imagine players would be thrilled to train there on cold Tuesday nights in July.

When it comes to grounds that need to be removed from senior fixtures, I think there are a few that come before St James.

Not sure if you ever had the pleasure of playing at Preston Bullant's home ground when they were in Div 3. Went there once and saw two goals directly from the centre clearace with a bit of wind

Strange comment. I assume you're from Canterbury? Canterbury Sportsground would be almost exactly the same length as St James but skinnier.

Correct, I do hail from Canterbury and St James would be a good 30 metres shorter than the snake pit and similar in width.

Just did the measurements and Canterbury Sportsground is 3 Cobras longer and 2 Cobras wider... I'll leave the length of the Cobra up to the imagination. :snake::snake::snake::)

Bit of a blue at Albert Park on the weekend? Bloke from work went to watch a mate and said there was a huge dust up and supporters were involved.

He is a kiwi so may be completely clueless, anyone witness it? Apologies if I'm way off the mark.

Just did the measurements and Canterbury Sportsground is 3 Cobras longer and 2 Cobras wider... I'll leave the length of the Cobra up to the imagination. :snake::snake::snake::)

Some shockers around in D3 from memory Hawthorn, Swinburne Elsterwick - no idea about Canterbury but Latrobe was great but heavy.
Which Div 3 has the best ground and facilities?